Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of HoneyPot Bed and Breakfast 3 stars

11 Hilken Drive, 4319 Durban, South Africa

#37 of 152 B&Bs and Inns in Durban

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 106 B&B reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - 2
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was a bit concerned that the bottles of mineral water that were new and sealed the first day and then the same bottles that we had drunk were re filled every day - using the same bottles. What water was used to fill those bottles which I marked when I suspected that they were just being refilled.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms were dirty, there was dust everywere, blinds were dirty, camcot was filthy couldnt use it, microwave had something rotten,hard and smelly inside full of flies; kettle was dirty very brown inside, NO VIEWS FROM THE ROOMS

    The effort to get halaal breakfast was appreciated, but the breakst was horrible, didnt have much of a choice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Bedroom Suite - HoneyPot
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was good, but I would have liked bacon as a option. We stayed in the apartment( 4 bed) which is fine ifs its family as the one and only toilet/ shower is in the second room and there is no door between the 2 rooms, so not great if you are traveling with friends and need the bathroom in the middle of the night.

    Very welcoming hosts, nothing to much trouble for them. Excellent service and staff. Bed super comfy and great linen. Excellent security. Resturants, shops in both directions, but you do need to drive

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Suite - HoneyPot
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None

    Hi we were treated with a smile from the team, and felt welcomed there. I like the security at night and we never felt uncomfortable about any crime. The Breakfast were exceptional, and we could eat from an array of food available

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - 3
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everyone there was so helpful, friendly and just made one feel at home. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, variety offered, and serving ladies...just smiled!!! Well done....we thoroughly enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Suite - HoneyPot
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thank you for a lovely stay. The hosts Bob and Heather were very welcoming and friendly. Very comfy bed and scrumptious breakfast. Very nice pool and the bar area is super.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Suite - HoneyPot
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great breakfast, comfortable beds, well equipped kitchen and quite and peaceful location. Bob and Heather were very welcoming and made us feel at home. Thanks for your hospitality.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - 3
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is great (near the beach, restaurants, etc.), Bob and Heather are very friendly and welcoming and helped us with our questions. The rooms were big and very clean, with an amazing bathroom. We enjoyed the breakfast as well and our short stay here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Suite - HoneyPot
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor kitchenette arrangement. Could rather do without it. Place also smelled of mothballs every time it was cleaned

    Good Breakfast selection. Comfortable beds, nice and clean. Excellent WiFi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Group
    • One Bedroom Suite - HoneyPot
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What they should add in the rooms. the kitchen they need to add a tray or dish rack. next to the sink is only the wood and in the long run the water will ruin it. other than that. Perfect!!!

    I liked everything with the place. very comfortable and staff are friendly including the owner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - 4
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in Room 4. Unfortunately the geyser in our unit seemed to supply adjoining rooms and we found that to be a noisy disturbance early morning and late at night. The B & B was full and the parking space was a challenge for our Hilux. There was a Dutch family staying in rooms on either side of us. They were very excited to be in SA and so it was not as peaceful as we had hoped. No fault of the hosts.

    The hosts and staff were super friendly, welcoming and ever helpful. The room was lovely and provided for every need. Large comfortable bed and pillows. Loved the outdoor area around the pool and the quaint verandah off our room. The old world charm and birdsong.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - 4
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult property to get to without car, airport shuttle was not available even though advertisement offered airport shuttle. Beach took 20 minutes to reach by walking, not 10 minutes as advertised.

    Lovely rooms, owners were very helpful, great restaurants available in the town area. Didn't feel safe walking back from beach, so caught a taxi.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - 5
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything negative about it. Except maybe having to get across busy roads to get to shopping area

    Quiet. Spacious. Kettle, fridge , hairdryer and microwave in room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Suite - HoneyPot
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the flowers every where, the pool area was adorable, the breakfast area was vintage and cosy. The rooms had everything we needed. It's a home away from home.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - 5
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking was quite a challenge, in view of the limited space available.

    Bob & Heather are very welcoming and friendly, without being overbearing. The relaxed and friendly atmosphere was conducive to a lovely holiday. It is always pleasant to have an honesty bar with a wide selection of drinks to hand, and saves a lot of hassle. The availability of a (spotless) braai meant we could enjoy our own barbecue as and when we pleased. The staff were delightful, and contributed a lot to our enjoyment.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - 2
    • Stayed 3 nights

    far from beach , one can not walk all the way to beach , there is a very busy highway and not safe at all. the property and room are outdated and a bit shabby.

    good hosts. very comfy bed. good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - 4
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the Welcome to the Farewell, the service was 100% superb! Perfect in every way. Wonderful host and hostess, friendly helpful staff.. Can't rate this gem high enough.. Will certainly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - 4
    • Stayed 3 nights

    truely nothing.The owners are so welcom ing and chatty it was as if we were old friends loved it.

    comfy beds,lovely gardens, very welcoming hosts,near to all ammenities.can not praise it highly enough.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service was excellent and we loved the rooms. The guy who runs it , ensures that he is there to greet and bid farewell even if it means at 5am in the morning. They voluntarily packed breakfast for us so that we could have it at the airport. Touched by that simple gesture.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not appealing or varied, seemed stale. Shower was leaking, but we fixed it.

    Cosy and small private rooms, with personal service from the owner. Love the location in Umhlanga. Pool bar works on goodwill and honesty which is so nice and refreshing. Aircon is great.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    No problems found!

    Everything was absolutely awesome and the welcome was most valued! We loved our stay and will definitely make use of Honey Pot B&B in the future again!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Suite - HoneyPot
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a great find. Our family room was perfect with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in apart from my own. The breakfast fit for a king, great location. Will return again...and again!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - 3
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Suite - HoneyPot
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    thank you all for making our stay such a wonderfull time , see you next year

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Opening the doors for sometime before we arrived,and also checking items.we have found that the kettle was leaking.

    The room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - 4
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative. Lovely stay.

    Good location. Great attention to detail. Friendly service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Suite - HoneyPot
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was perfect

    Excellent reception from Bob, Heather and the staff. Felt like back at home. Very helpful to guide us to the beach and the malls.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bob and Heather are amazing hosts. Fantastic location. Loved the wild monkey outside our door in the morning :-)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • King Room - 3
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fan and aircon not opperational.

    Heather and Bob were super hosts and the guard was most friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bedroom Suite - HoneyPot
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to beaches and amenities

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - 1
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff lady(she looks pregnant) has a very unwelcoming face

    The owners of the guest house were accommodating

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - 3
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Excellent for everything! Couldn’t have been more helpful!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - 5
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels and linen not clean, and are old.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bedroom Suite - HoneyPot
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent hosts and venue. Only small issue is that parking is a bit restricted.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Suite - HoneyPot
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A friendly welcome awaited my daughter and I at the premises. Room was large and beds were comfortable. Nice spread at breakfast too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - 5
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They make the best omelette we have ever had in our lives, anywhere in the world!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - 1
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appliancies could be upgraded

    Great place to stay clean & comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Suite - HoneyPot
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast-helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Suite - HoneyPot
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was ok for us.

    The breakfast was very good and the owner and his wife were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows

    Lovely breakfasts and the staff were grrat

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was amazing!!! So much more than I anticipated! Lovely staff, lovely place, excellent overall!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - 3
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints

    Owners gave a vpersonal service . Nothing was too much trouble Lots of sound advice. Room and garden delightful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very cosy and felt like home

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - 5
    • Stayed 1 night

    Attention to detail - really made my stay comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Suite - HoneyPot
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Suite - HoneyPot
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, lovely friendly hands-on owners.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Suite - HoneyPot
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wonderful staff and very accommodating owners. A wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - 4
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very comfy, great breakfast, friendly Bob, Heather and staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - 1
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was very excellent. I loved the food.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - 3
    • Stayed 1 night

    They thought of everything you would need to relax and be free to do your thing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Suite - HoneyPot
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was a bit of a discomfort.

    Awesome location very friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were put in a family room and this saved us costs. Heather and the team are super friendly and we will most definitely be back!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - 3
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely lovely. Attention given to every detail.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room location to the kitchen was a little noisy

    Brilliant breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - 1
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything!!!! Great owners, staff, food and accommodation. Definitely will return. Loved the reception "Staff" too, Chilli & Flame.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a major negative but the bed was not very comfortable.

    Heather and Bob are friendly and very helpful - great staff - breakfast was plentiful - Location central in Umhlanga Rocks and Gateway Shopping Centre near by. There is a small refrig and microwave in the room. Would stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Windows and doors (wooden framed) in need of maintenance - bolts in stable door did not engage and blinds in poor condition. Bottom sheet did not fit properly and mattress topper came loose from mattress during night.

    Pleasant if rather small bedroom, nice pool and gardens, excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor bedding - bottom sheet and mattress topper didn't fit bed. Door bolts didn't work due to warped woodwork. All wooden windows and doors in need or maintenance. Bathroom small and no extractor fan.

    Welcoming hosts, good breakfast, nice pool and surroundings, good location for Umhlanga.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything was very nice, the people very friendly and everything was very uncomplicated. We felt like at home from the very beginning.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Professional, friendly. Warm and welcoming. Very accommodating. Food and service were great.

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room a bit small no view

    All the small things that count were taken care off

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly helpful owners

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Couple

    Staff was friendly, it was quiet, breakfast very good

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Struggled with the parking with all the big cars.

    Friendly staff, cozy room and a great breakfast!

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Guests also reviewed these properties: