Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Houtkapperspoort 4 stars

Hout Bay Main Road, 7806 Constantia, South Africa

#17 of 26 hotels in Constantia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 82 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom (4 Adults) Wisteria #21
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only criticism we had was that the cottage we stayed in, whilst having the best views, was in need of some TLC. The decoration and carpets needed refurbishment as well as the outside chairs.

    You cannot fail to enjoy a stay at Houtkapperspoort, it always provides a wonderful atmosphere,calm and relaxing,and the staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite #12
    • Stayed 5 nights

    we were in cottage 12. very disappointed no wifi... the hair dryer not working properly. the bed too small 1.5 mts wide. only a thin blind at a window in the bed room, wake-up with the sun... the B.Q. area at the back, not convenient at all, and you should advise the client that there are stairs, specially when they are over 65! no dining table, so we could not invite our friends to share our meals, they were staying at the 25 and they were far more comfortable than us!!! so we had to go at their place every day to share our meals.

    the garden is beautiful and quiet! nice places around to go.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet #20
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Arriving late at night and the fact that the house numbers is not clearly visible made finding the unit a bit difficult, but security quickly sorted us out

    The scenery, the peace and quiet and the free wifi is a bonus

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Three-Bedroom Cottage (6 Adults) #06
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly it was value for money.

    It is an outstanding getaway place.very helpful & friendly staff especially the lady & gentlemen @ the reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage #23 Hydrangea
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival the TV did not work and had to be fixed on the next day, the underfloor heating did not work and had to be fixed and it was disappointing that there were no logs to burn in the fireplace on the cold winter evening of our arrival. Surely a supply of logs should be standard?

    We have stayed in this resort before so knew what to expect. The cottage (23), was comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet #20
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice if there was DVD's mostly for kids' entertainment. And I missed some salt and pepper in kitchen for cooking. Not something one travels with.

    Great option for a family. Beautiful setting. Tranquility and charm in the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Queen Suite with Balcony #14
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slightly outdated equipment. Towels were a bit hard and needs to be replaced. DVD player with USB function would also be nice as the TV itself does not play videos through USB

    #14 cottage is cosy and clean. Comes with all the basics

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom (4 Adults) Wisteria #21
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have been nice to have coffee and tea available in the cottage

    Have often stayed at the property with family, as my father likes the outdoor, park-like setting.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom #22 (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom needs attention. Shower over bath leaks every time regardless of how you use the shower

    Serenity in an unexpected location. Paramount security

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom #22 (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is absolutely beautiful! My son loved the squirrels and buck and coming home in the evenings to our cottages heaters on added such a nice touch! We will definitely be back soon!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Cottage #19 Stinkwood
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I do understand that the cottage was self catering but Coffee would have been nice. 2 Rolls of toilet paper were provided for 3 days for 4 people. At the cost I would have expected new rolls to be provided daily. On Thursday morning we reported a terrible (sewerage) smell to the front office. It was especially bad at the car park but could also be smelt from the cottage. Absolutely nothing was done about this. We struggled to pack the car on Saturday morning because of the smell. It was sickening.

    The location was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet #20
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Odour similar to a septic tank malfunction particularly in the evenings when it would have been pleasant to sit on the verandah. Not sure about the source of the odour.

    Location, relaxing environment, space, views

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom #22 (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is a little tired and in need of updating but suited our needs

    A great location in beautiful tranquil surroundings. Our cottage overlooked the mountain at Haut Bay and the sun set was beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet #20
    • Stayed 9 nights

    No casserole for meat when you braai. The cutlery needs improvement Shower/bath combination doesn't work well. Water is leaking onto the floor. The mattress was very uncomfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite Ground Floor #26
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, well maintained cottages in secluded and pretty grounds. Very quiet - ideal for couples or young families. Friendly concierge and good security at all times. Location is terrific for the entire peninsula.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet #20
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not fantastically clean. The front door was very difficult to close or open. Not enough indications outside on the road, a bit dangerous because the signage is not well indicated when going up Main Street.

    the security was good, the guards were very friendly, and the setting was very good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Three-Bedroom Room #05 Jacaranda
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was beautiful

    What a stunning location. The cottage was beautiful. The facilities were more than adequate and the springboks walking around were gorgeous. Christel was a wealth of information and full of hints and tips about the area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The cottage was charming and had a well-appointed kitchen. The staff was very helpful, sharing information and making suggestions when asked. The springbok milling around the property were a sweet surprise, too. This location seems safe and family friendly.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet #20
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The unit is in need of a deep clean. Carpets are dirty as well as the couch. Couldn't locate an iron?

    Fire place really helped and the unit had heaters on which was great. Bedding is clean. Cosy.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom #22 (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spectacularly beautiful scenery ! Quite and peaceful . Just an amazing stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Cottage with Balcony #15
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very relaxing place, peaceful and quiet. Lovely to see some of the wild life roaming about

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Cottage with Balcony #15
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mountain environment, beautiful gardens

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Three-Bedroom Room #05 Jacaranda
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    Warm welcome feedling.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Cottage #19 Stinkwood
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location Large grounds, great units

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Cottage (6 Adults) #07
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Love this Place, We always stay there, Comfortable and Quite, Great Restaurant just up the Road on Kloof Neck

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage #24
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of complimentary tea and coffee was a disappointment

    Lovely premises,peaceful and quiet. The small herd of springbuck was an added bonus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Three-Bedroom Room #05 Jacaranda
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no undercover or lighting at the back

    It was not hard to find and it was central to where I needed accommodation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Three-Bedroom Cottage (5 Adults) #02
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appliances outdated, stove needs to be replaced, buttons does not function properly.

    Enjoyed the underfloor heating during the cold winter nights.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Cottage with Balcony #15
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Olde stuff n

    Olde and stinkt cottage!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Queen Suite with Balcony #14
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cottage 14 furniture shabby and uncomfortable. Outdoor furniture was disgraceful.

    Beautiful grounds and nice pool.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Cottage #19 Stinkwood
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What's not to like!

    Love the setting and location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom #22 (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridges were totally frozen up and not clean. Various crawling insects No switches on bedlights on top

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom/ 2 Bathroom Cottage #09
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bed could have been more comfortable and shampoo and conditioner could have been made available

    the space was so spacious for our size family

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard One-Bedroom Cottage with Balcony #15
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noizy from the road.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet #20
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The existence of eg the pool could have been mentioned.

    Beautiful environment. Close to Hout Bay. Springbok add to the lovely gardens.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet #20
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People working on guard hut parked in my space.

    Beautifull area very central with lots to do nearby. Lovely walking trials.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage #25
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no cupboard for the groceries and the kitchen was a bit cramped.

    Tranquility.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Queen Suite with Balcony #14
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We really enjoyed our stay couldn't have ask for any better place to spend our weekend.Most certainly will come back again

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet #20
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet environment

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Need new sofa & chair.....both uncomfortable. Two many sports channels on TV......More movie channels. A launderette on site would be nice.

    Bed good

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The one we stayed in was up for sale so was a bit tired looking. Close to the busy main road too and not the cleanest.

    Good location for constantia access.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Family with young children

    The setting of this amazing lodge in the Constantia hills is unrivaled for beauty and peace! The unit was impeccable and the grounds made for wonderful playtime for the kids.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Couldn't find matches to light the fire and it was pretty cold at night. We are non smokers so had no lighting tool.

    Beds were comfy. Cottage was perfect size for family of 4. Beautiful location.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing to do with the quality of the facilities, but you need a car!

    Great mountain-side location, very relaxed setting, lots of space to walk around, good, clean facilities with everything you need

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cottage, number 16, is in need of total redecoration and some of the furniture needs replacing! The pool area is very nice, but the sun beds are atrocious and need discarding.

    Amazing location, comfortable cottage.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We were informed about a security incident that had happened on the property the night before we checked in. In light of this, we found the security personnel were apathetic and in no way proactively trying to ensure the safely of the residents in the cottages. When a car arrived at the main gate, they would open without checking the list to see if the car was registered to be there during that period. We had a few visitors who drove in to the property without being stopped by security at all. Each unit has an alarm system, and on the last morning of our stay, we accidentally set off the alarm. The security did not call or come to the cottage to see if there was a problem. The staff in the office were also not very warm and welcoming when we checked in, and also disinterested when we handed back the key.

    Beautiful setting and lovely cottage. Cottages had aircon in the bedrooms which was a great help in the heat of December.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cottage we were allocated was number 12 (I think) which was dark and smelt very musty it also backed onto the road so very nosy. We asked to move and did get moved to number 22 which was much better but no air con! The swimming pool was also closed during our entire stay and a pool is always a must for us so very disappointed not to be informed about this before we arrived or during check in. Lastly, I feel for the cost of the accommodation the standard and service (i.e. Wifi not in cottages) isn't value for money in comparison to other places we stayed during your trip to SA so next time we will be looking elsewhere.

    We have stayed at houtkapperspoort last year and wanted to return as we had a great stay but unfortunately this year wasn't as great. The location and staff are lovely but more downsides than upsides this year

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Numerous insects in the upstairs bedroom resulted in multiple insect bites to my daughter on the first night of the stay. We thought it might be mosquitoes, but was then informed by reception that it is some kind of bug from the surrounding trees and we just need to keep the aircon running as that will chase them away. Talk about cold comfort after the fact. Surely we could be forewarned about something that is clearly a recurring problem. The unsightly bites were very itchy and caused much discomfort during the second night and made the rest of our stay rather unpleasant.

    Quiet and tucked away form the busyness of Cape Town.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    After discussion with reception who kindly sent pictures of the available chalets, we stayed in Chalet No. 2. As a paraplegic wheelchair user, I required a chalet with a suitable bathroom and level access. The bathroom was manageable and I was able to transfer into the bath. The kitchen was great as was the lounge, bedroom and patio. Access to the front door was done by going around the path on the grass. A single step into the chalet was also not too difficult. With slight changes to the main access, this accommodation would be quite straight forward for a wheelchair user.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Could not get DSTV working on first night and arrived just after 17h00, so no one available to help and the young member of our family was very disappointed. The next morning we were informed that DSTV had only selected channels and all others would not work. Presumably the channels available were ones we had not tried to select. All we saw was the red light on the decoder which means that the connection was down.It would be very helpful if the specific channels available could be recorded in the cottage book. If that had been done we would not have wasted our first evening.

    Lovely cottage and heating comfort

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi only available at reception, nothing in the chalet. Was upset to see guard dog tied to a pole when we came back one evening.

    Chalet was spacious and had lovely view. Beautiful area.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing.

    The location was superb. The kids enjoyed the springboks running around. The cottage was very comfortable with central heating. Perfect to unwind and relax

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The cottage and equipment were in 'used up' status. When we want to prepare a dinner we found there is no salt, no sugar (reception closes 5PM so there was no one to ask for it). Assuming this the price was too high.

    Place (mountains, antelopes, squirrels in the estate)

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Furnishing tired. Swimming pool green and not at all enticing.Our room was dark with a huge overgrown shrub near the patio so no view.

    Good position. Bedroom had a good view and was a nice size.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Entering the property unbelievably hazardous especially at night! Aren't you allowed signage?? All the written instructions regarding our stay felt institutional...no personal touch. Decor in cottage a bit tired. Cottage clean and functional but felt pieced together with mish-mash of furniture. No indulgences e.g. Cheapest soap and loo roll, therefore felt very basic and just a huge "how can we do this on the cheap and still get away with it?" exercise. Wouldn't stay again or recommend as wasn't cheap.

    Location. Peace and quiet. Security.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very cold cottage, trees need cutting in front of patio so sunlight can get in to rid of musty smell. TV outdated, no wifi ! Pillows need replacing.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No place to do laundry!

    Peace and tranquil, Forest in the City!!

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beautiful spot, nicely located, great atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great cottages, set in lovely gardens with nice open views.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful location & peaceful.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Maybe just a few packets of coffee, tea, milk, sugar for people not eating there and just staying one or 2 nights?

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stayed in cottage 15. It was dark; dated, dreary and depressing particularly downstairs. In need of a makeover.

    The setting and grounds.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautiful and peaceful location. Staff very friendly & helpful. Good location for local wine tasting Vineyards.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location was great

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Entering the main road with speeding vechiles is a bit scary .

    Central , clean and beautiful surroundings

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    None

    The kids loves the Springbok within the complex. The accommodation was great and having the mountain in the background was great

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    PoorTVreception

    Location Well kept surrounds

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not inaccessible to all parts of Cape Town and not much traffic. Can come and go from lodge at all hours as very good security.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Stunning location, beautiful accommodation, nice pool, gorgeous gardens.

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Guests also reviewed these properties: