Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Indaba Hotel, Spa & Conference Center 4 stars

Corner William Nicol and Pieter Wenning Street, 2196 Fourways, South Africa

#5 of 16 hotels in Fourways

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 74 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't happy as I discovered that the room.rate is R 1200 and I was charged R 2080 per day and when I asked I was told it's because I booked online.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Always an excellent breakfast at this hotel. Wide selection of choices. Relaxing atmosphere. Two restaurants to choose from. Rooms are a nice size, with bath and shower. Two swimming pools, a gym and tennis courts. My hotel of choice when I visit Johannesburg.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dinner buffet in the Epson Restaurant was disappointing and the waiting staff did not explain that the outdoor braai which looked good was part of the buffet.A waiter failed to bring ice after 2 requests

    Well designed thatch country style property with attractive decor. The reception and some of the restaurant staff were excellent.The buffet breakfast was good with plenty of choice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast and the restaurants should cater for Muslims as it was hard to look for places for halal food.

    The hotel service were friendly the activities were perfect for a family stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Customized service for us cyclists. I was there to take part in a cycling event and they had special arrangements for cyclists breakfast and even provided facilities for us to freshen up post checkout

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have enjoyed a table and 2 chairs outside the room so that we could sit outside for a smoke - no chairs outside to sit and enjoy a cigarette and coffee ........

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They need more golf carts to transport guests to and from restaurants, as they clearly did not have enough to cope with Friday night's guests. Waiting 45 minutes for a ride is not on and if we were advised that the hotel is so fully booked, we would rather use our own transport instead of waiting, especially since one of our guests were on crutches.

    The reception when one arrives was absolutely poor. Considering this is the first impression one gets, I could not believe that a very poorly trained staff member was left all on her own at a time when most people check in. She was on the phone and ignored guests that arrived and then we also had to find out our rooms were not ready yet - at 14h20 in the afternoon. We were asked to wait a moment in the waiting area where the reception staff totally forgot about us. However, despite the shoddy service at reception, the rest of our stay was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs revamping, the decor is old fashioned, carpets in the room are not so clean, bathroom is are also worn out.

    Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were comfortable and restuarants were excellent. Like the idea of spacious feeling when at the property. Many options in and around the htel to make you feel like you're in a big getaway outside town. Felt secure with great security.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booking the Spa was difficult and food at the a la carte restaurant was disappointing

    Spacious, comfortable and quiet rooms serviced by friendly and kind staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room long way from the restaurant / bar and the shuttle service was so slow I walked twice out of three times. Porters never at their counter. Rooms a bit tied and very limited DSTV.

    Large comfortable room with a large comfy bed. A good bit of outside space to sit and relax. Food good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that I had to leave !!

    I travelled alone and therefore it was very comforting that EVERYONE, even gardening staff were very friendly and helpful. I was taken to and from the casino by Carol. I was the only passenger and I felt safe and comfortable at all times. Breakfast staff treated everyone as if we were VIPS! !!! The spa was amazing too and even there, everyone did their best to make you feel valued and special.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Where should I start from!? It was the most horrible stay in South Africa ever! We were a group of 5 in 3 rooms: 1. We have just booked this hotel for 3 nights since they have a SPA but guess what, the SPA was fully booked and they had only a place full the night packages. So if you do not want to pay for the night package then we were not welcome! 2. The rooms were smelling like SEWAGE!It was really horrible and disgusting. You cannot sleep because of the bad smell. This smell was around the whole place especially the reception as well! 3. Once you shower, the toilet gets FULL with water. 4. You cannot have your peace in the room. There is always noise going on outside. 5. The light bulb was burned in one of the rooms. 6. We were 2 staying in 1 room and we had only 1 pair of towels and only 1 mug. 7. Our safe was not working until we asked them to come fix it. 8. They knock on your door twice before the checkout time to remind you that you have to checkout! And much more... I really wonder how this place is rated with 4 stars. I guess 1 star would be even more that fair. They have highly managed to ruin our vacation. Thank you Indaba for such an experience!

    Only the breakfast is good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Tiny little gripe - next time the rooms are refurbished - add more power points.

    The staff were really helpful and friendly and couldn't do more for their guests. They offered us a late checkout on departure at no charge. This was very welcome. I should say that a family member stayed here for an extended work trip a few years ago and recommended it t us, and informed the manager that we were coming.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the hotel should consider providing other services such as airticket confirmations for its clients.

    food was great. I did not use the business centre because my meeting was outside the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee service in the bedroom is just basic - a few cookies would be more welcome and only one bottle of water was provided - this will enhance the value proposition for customers.

    The Bed was very comfortable with clean and really good quality linen.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You must pay cash or credit card for all food and drinks. You can't charge to your room. Everywhere is noisy, often with Muzak and TV on simultaneously. The bed is uncomfortable. When in the eating areas the staff ignore you unless you are loud and insistent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fitness centre is TERRIBLE!! Really!! You call that a fitness centre?

    The air conditioning unit in the room worked flawlessly! Bonus! The buffet lunch and dinner was also amazing.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we only stayed one night

    The food was incredible, the service was amazing the staff go out of their way to accommodate you, the Mowana Spa is out of this world !!! I will be back soon

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The doors of the rooms have a large gap between the bottom of the door frame and floor, allowing some 'creatures' in.

    I was there with my parents and siblings. All three rooms that we booked were of an exeptional standard in terms of facilities and spaciousness. I also appreciated that they offer both bath and shower in each room. Friendly staff and quick and efficient responses to requests for repair or room service. We were there for a New Year's Eve Celebration- the hotel was kind enough to extend breakfast serving time until 12 o'clock the next day.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and poorly stocked (soap etc missing the first night) Poor service at breakfast. Pastries of poor quality. Not fresh. Demanded cash for breakfast! Could not bill it to the room.

    Location was good. I liked the garden setting. Was convenient for my purpose of doing a cycle race

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom corners are dirty. My room didn't have a remote control for air conditioning. We had to do it manually .

    Reception area. The music that they are playing. The bed was comfortable. it's quite and very nice. Marimba music in at chef's Boma was superb.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms should be renovated or improved replacing the bathtub to shower...

    The location is superb, a really hub to airport, shopping centres, theatre, concerts. One of the best place for weddings, birthdays or training... The effort to provide facilities for umpaired people is an achievement...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WIFI in the room didn't work and hot water not available everyday - Bathrooms could do with updating

    Plenty of parking and the room was large

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist was amazingly friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked my experience.

    Indaba has various recreational options for visitors. The staff were lively. The Porter Service was useful to me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tiredness, lack of cleanliness, staff could not care!

    Not much, it’s old tired and dirty, position is good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Must try to cater halaal breakfast for muslims

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Keep it up

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost for very average room

    Check-in & out efficiency was good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non

    People the property

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spring rolls were fantastic

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff. The lady who checked us in was a little standoffish and condecending.

    The buffet for lunch was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite

    Good 100%

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are many road works in that area, it will be easier getting in and out when they are done.

    Lovely firm mattress!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room near to conference centre IT support very good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None

    Personnel friendly. Food choices excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was forced to pay for the shuttle that did not collect me from the airport and no communication was made to me.The rest was excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most Gym equipment was broken; Bar service left something to be desired; Meal at Pool was poor

    Location, Swimming Pool area

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    All in all the service was great

    We liked the both the service and warmth we received from the staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    Excellent service. friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Nil

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at Indaba was so excellent,food was delicious and the place was super clean.so nice to have a spa right there too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms dark and the elephant towel disturbing

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    You have to call every time to get a tooth brush, iron, still water, non of these things available in the room The reception is quite far from the room u need to walk up and down a lot , no lift

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No towels, had to ask on 2 occasions, despite requesting shuttle, failed to arrive, clearly a communication problem between front desk and the rest. Fridge in room not working, no attempt to ask if we would like the fridge stocked.

    Bed good, room spacious. Breakfast excellent.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are a little small when booking double room

    The staff are very friendly and helpful. The Boma restaurant was enjoyable and again the staff were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    TV remote control didn't work. Towels weren't clean at all. No amenities except for a SPA. The room safe didn't work. Bathroom was very small. Not enough plugs

    The hotel landscape is nice and the check in & check out procedures was nice. Security was tight. The Chef restaurant inside the hotel had great food.Free Wifi inside the room was nice & fast.

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff attitude. 1. I was humiliated in the morning by some three male restuarant staff who thought i was gonna eat without paying when i went straight in to where my colleagues were sitted. 2. Another humilliation came in the afternoon during the time we were enjoying our meal when i was shout at by a lady who said i did not pay to the amazement of other patrons. i was going to my room to get a mobile phone charger while my friends remained behind. She left them and chose to run and yell at me. 3. There were other experiences from hotel staff as well that my friends were concerned about and mentioned

    Location

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    - poor room maintenance. Toilet continuously running. Water was not hot enough - I left my plates outside the door after room service and they were still there 24hrs later - Some staff are not polite. you can sense some arrogance with the way they communicate with customers - poor wi-fi reception in room 541 - very poor TV signal on the 1st night.

    tranquil environment

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi sketchy in my room (better in the restaurant).

    Hard to believe you're in the city - really feels like you're in the African bush, especially at the Mowana Spa

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is shabby and in need of a complete make-over. The bathroom was dirty with mould growing in the grouting and cracked tiles. The quality if food served at The Chiefs Boma restaurant and breakfast was of poor quality.

    Comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Air conditioners are always a problem every time I stay there. The A/C's rattle and shake and I have to turn them off so I can be hot or cold depending on the season. It seems all of the ones in the 9 blocks have the same problems from my experience. I like to stay in that block but they ruin the experience every time. They all need to be replaced for sure

    Everything is really great accept the one item of the A/C units.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was not outstanding, The rooms was not cleaned properly. Roof shades will be welcomed for Gauteng rain, car stand outside in burning sun. Not nice..

    I liked the security. And driveways to the rooms, the gym and pool

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Reasonably priced for the area, business friendly hotel.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Air condition was not working

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel is rated four star, which I don't feel is suitable.

    The location was ideal for our cycle event that we attended.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Relaxed, comfortable and friendly environment and staff! They made our anniversary unforgettable THANKS!

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The linen and carpet feel dirty and there is a unpleasant smell in the room 910.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of communication regarding facilities and services

    Breakfast variety, room

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Solo traveller

    On Sunday room not serviced fully. Coffee cups not replaced with clean ones. Showercap removed. Not replaced

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    AC noise problems / rattle shake etc

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    a little uplift on bathrooms will be great

    reception staff good customer service cart service

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dozy staff

    Spacious grounds

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    General hospitality

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: