Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ingwenya Lodge

163 Hornbill Street, 3936 St Lucia, South Africa

#4 of 18 Holiday rentals in St Lucia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 173 apartment reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 72

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    Nice view, host very helpful with suggestions about where to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool pump was incredibly loud in our room, and I could not sleep. I requested that it be turned off but it still kept coming on, and was on early in the morning again. This really had a negative impact on my stay and I feel it should have been considered without me having to raise this with hosts. I also feel they should have ensured the pump was actually off when I raised the issue.

    Nice view, host very helpful with suggestions about where to go locally.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Watch out for hippos!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to say goodbye and thank you to someone when we left but there was no one around so we just had to leave the keys at reception.

    We were offered a choice of 2 apartments - one by the pool and one by the entrance (free upgrade). We chose the latter as we were staying for a few nights, it was HUGE and with a private garden,and a great base for our st lucia trip.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    Ideal for a visit to St Lucia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool a bit cleaner. Air conditioner not working in 1 bedroom. Fixed the next day

    Wonderful views across to the sea, with no intervening habitation. Large, relaxed and private. Helpful and friendly manager. Lovely to have a swim in the pool. Great early morning birding within the property.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    It was an amazing place, beautifully situated and quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was an amazing place, beautifully situated and quite classy....indeed! The host Madeleine was such a gem, she even gave us the option since it was not that busy to upgrade to a more bigger, even more luxurious room all for the same cost! Beautiful stay, beautiful place!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay, would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps A more comfortable sofa would have been good

    Very spacious apartment, good walking access to the town, excellent wifi signal, nice outside space with BBQ

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.5
    It was a decent, clean place. A reasonable budget accommodation and takes 5 easily.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooker/stove did not work properly. No mosquito nets on Windows. No mosquito area spray for the rooms. Poor pans for cooking

    The place was clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location and helpful host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I needed to unplug appliances to use others. Its not a serious thing but it could do with an extention with more plug points in the kitchen.

    The beds were comfy and everything was very clean. Great view from the upstairs room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.3
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchenette I told you before

    We liked the environment the most. The kitchen smell very bad and all of the furnuture plates glasses tablecloth the same

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.3
    Not luxury, but what a fabulous setting!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Damp odour and early morning noise from dogs barking...but value for money and the view more than compensate.

    The view....the Bird life...just lovely...value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    A nice stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The badroom was small and didnt smell that nice! But other than that, it was perfect.

    A great stay at the lovely st lucia. It's a quiet en nice village to do a lot of stuff. The house was perfect to relaxx, really nice and cozy. A nice host as well!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice stay, good vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really to complaint about

    The house was clean and the host was pleasant to talk to. She took interest in our vacation plan and was happy to assist us with what we needed. Thanks Madeleine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really lovely host very knowledgable about the area. We'd booked the small house but she saw I was heavily pregnant and upgraded us to the ground floor two bed which was very kind and much appreciated. Made a fuss of our dog who had fun playing with owners dogs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.8
    Lovely and quiet position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The crockery was very tired, plates and bowls very scratched. Mugs had cracks in them. Cupboard doors needed adjustment to fit correctly. Only little issues. Certainly not bad enough to spoil our stay.

    We were upgraded to a larger lodge. We had a sea view, in the distance. The pool was right outside our apartment. Madeleine was very helpful and informative.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    7.1
    very nice staff, and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the first room we received was very uncomfortable, the stairs going to the bedroom where not safe, its too cramped.. but the host was good enough to give us another room, which was great and spacious. they should do something about the dogs, i stepped on dog poo twice.. over all experience was good.

    the mattress could be improved

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.2
    Ingwenya Lodge is the perfect place for your stay at Ste...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ingwenya Lodge is the perfect place for your stay at Ste Lucia, everything is clean and very nice and there are a lot of things to do in the area. We had a really nice stay there.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.2
    Very nice guesthouse at a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked everything, so there is nothing to complain about

    Very friendly owner and staff, nice garden and we had an upgrade, so we had a beautiful two bedroom appartment with two bath rooms. Sometimes there is a visitor in the garden in the evening. When we were there a rhino came drinking from the pool. And in the early morning there were many monkeys playing in the garden. We liked watching them very much.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    8.8
    Nice stay in St Lucia, friendly owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative. The TV could be in the room instead of the kitchen, but that was a minor thing.

    The owner was super friendly, explained a lot about the area and gave us some good advice. The apartment we got was big and comfortable with a fully equipped kitchen. There was a balcony with a beautiful view into the iSimangaliso national park.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    3.8
    Owner cares about money not the guests!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was horrible, caused severe back pains! We want directions to tour the place there was no one in the office only talking to the owner on the phone.it was crap because we were not from SA and incurred roaming charges.our experience is that in such places there's someone to attend to you but there were were stuck with the security guard and the cleaners!!!

    Room was clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    7.1
    Nice setting with it being on the banks of the estuary but I wouldn't go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -The fact that I booked a sea view chalet and it was given to someone else.

    Location- the lodge is set back from the noisy busy high street and is in the isimangaliso park itself.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Madeleine was an excellent host who made us feel welcome. The apartment and location were stunning. We would highly recommend Ingwenya Lodge.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Everything we needed was there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything we needed was there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Wonderfull stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good facilities (braai and pool) and spacious and clean rooms! Located close to the village centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice place in St. Lucia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big place with ocean view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Super
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Consideration for our needs was exceptional. Views, location, professional and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Nothing it was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    6.7
    Very good location for St Lucia!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The appartement we stayed in was a little outdated (especially the bathroom can use a fresh up) Problem with ants!

    Very good location for St Lucia!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The special effort of our host, to give us a bigger room.. Was our honeymoon.. Thank so much

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Beds perfects
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds perfects

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    It was wonderful and peaceful
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only need a TV extra in the main bedroom

    The mkuze house the pool and the friendliness of magdalaine we felt at ease and at home very clean and tidy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    6.3
    Okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairway to room very small. No refreshments provided.

    View, pool.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door between bedroom and toilet

    Friendliness of host Madeleine

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    We had a great stay!!good location and affordable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Friendly owner, clealiness and 24h WiFi.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    Very nice place to stay in St.Lucia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all was fine

    Very nice owner, location was great, nice place to stay in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Excellent and we will go again and tell everyone of this place.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Madelein helped us in everything. Rooms were clean and everything was spot on.-

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Madeline the owner is a very warm friendly person.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mosquitos

    Madeline the owner is a very warm friendly person.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.8
    Great location, amazing host, and overall good value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, amazing host, and overall good value!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.9
    Cumfortable accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The door to the second bathroom does not close the opening properly

    Value for money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.6
    We had a very pleasant stay at Ingwenya Logde. The hostess was very friendly. Nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a very pleasant stay at

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable apartment with excellent views !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in the family apartment on the first floor and I should recommend this one because it has a very nice view!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.5
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mouldy smell and dogs droppings in parking

    The view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we booked only one night - will definitely be back

    The Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    7.9
    I had a great time in St Lucia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that there's a lot of mosquitoes.

    The stuff is friendly and Igwenya lodge felt like home, away from home.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    10
    it awesome
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Accommodation

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    10
    It was self catering.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    It was self catering.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    6.7
    Beds and pillows were in a terrible state considering it is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beds and pillows were in a terrible state considering it is supposed to be a 4 star lodge. Kitchen facilities and equipment were not up to 4 star standards.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    6.7
    Seeing Hippo's up close drinking water out of the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower was dripping the entire time,very annoying.The linnen was old and washed out, the towels has seen better days and needs to be replaced.

    Seeing Hippo's up close drinking water out of the pool.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The accommodation allocated didn't in the least resemble the advertisement. It was cramped, uncomfortable and poorly fitted. I've always relied on Booking.comm on the premise that the accommodation and facilities have been screened - obviously not in this case. I can safely say this is the worst experience I've had! Pity I can't download photo's to substantiate my case.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful place with comfortable rooms and well equipped...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beautiful place with comfortable rooms and well equipped kitchen. Friendly staff, very helpful. The sea and shoreline are great, finding millions of sea shells and some nice beaches. Best are the whales passing by at least every half hour, we were so happy seeing them. Dolphins playing the waves as well. Best place of our 5.5 week trip through South Africa

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    3.3
    Dogs were very friendly but noisy at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The apartment was in quite bad conditions, old, poor maintenance and uncomfortable. Dangerous stairs to access the bedroom. The bathroom was horrible. The feeling with the owner was that she is an untrue person who is only moved by her own interest. Worst accommodation in all south africa during 2 weeks.

    Dogs were very friendly but noisy at night. The area was quiet.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.1
    Nice chalet with enough space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Comfort of patio table and chair not nice. Very uncomfortable to sit there. cubbords in bedroom broken. Could not put our clothes in on the one side. All the racks were on top of each other.

    Nice chalet with enough space. Clean and neat. Children can play outside.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    10
    This place is just awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This place is just awesome. Th owner is a lovely women who upgraded our room. It was really clean and comfy. Would love to go there for a second time. Great location as well.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    5.4
    Location and very slight seaviews.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Unfortunately the place with filthy dirty. There were cockroaches inside the unit. The shower floor was filthy. The unit's curtains pulled off there "Clips" each time they were open or closed. The unit needs a serious revamp, there is half plastered walls inside the unit. The aircon did not work

    Location and very slight seaviews.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    7.9
    Pool, big, nice appartement, terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Dog poo in the garden, there must have been a broken pipe and thus moisture in the walls and furniture

    Pool, big, nice appartement, terrace

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    10
    Traquil setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ??????????

    Traquil setting. No noise. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    7.9
    The area was very peacefull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The area was very peacefull

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    6.7
    Quite place and a nice host
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Dogs

    Quite place and a nice host

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    10
    The owner is friendly, the amazing part is by 8 o'clock...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    The owner is friendly, the amazing part is by 8 o'clock evening, two hippos walked to the house and drank the water from swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    9.6
    Very warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very warm welcome. Recieved a room upgrade at no extra cost. Definitely recommend it.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    6.5
    The area and it's heritage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Accommodation could improve. Bedding is very dark so doesn't feel or look clean.

    The area and it's heritage. Relaxing environment. Animals.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    8.8
    The location is at the border of St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location is at the border of St. Lucia village and Hippos come regularly to drink at the swimming pool. What an enjoyment!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.5
    The location and the friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location and the friendly staff. Extremely warm and helpful bunch of people:)

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    10
    nice area, kind owner, spacious appartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nice area, kind owner, spacious appartment

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    7.5
    Nice apartment on the inside
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Outside of property is ugly and a bit scruffy

    Nice apartment on the inside

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Shabby shower

    Location

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    9.6
    hippos at night at the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    in wintertime no sun in the afternoon

    hippos at night at the pool nice landlady

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    7.9
    Wonderful view out back of property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Some of the furniture is getting old and needs to be repaired or replaced.

    Wonderful view out back of property. Hippo visiting swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    9.2
    Location is very close to the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is very close to the center. The appartment we had was very big.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    10
    We had a beautiful room and the host was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had a beautiful room and the host was awesome. Gave us ideas for things we could do in the area and the best places to eat

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    8.3
    swimming pool, tv, wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staircase

    swimming pool, tv, wifi

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    8.3
    Chilling out in the swimming pool after a morning walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The resident house dogs are barking a lot at night and early morning.

    Chilling out in the swimming pool after a morning walk.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    5.0
    The view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea in the room steps to climb uncomfortable chairs to sit on and very cramped space

    The view.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    10
    Thec place was very clean and confortable to live it,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thec place was very clean and confortable to live it, serviced daily and i loved watching the hippos come out to drink water at night.

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 72

Guests also reviewed these properties: