Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Isibindi Zulu Lodge

Isibindi Eco Reserve, Elandskraal, Rork's Drift, 3300 Rorkeʼs Drift, South Africa

#2 of 2 hotels in Rorkeʼs Drift

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 22 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Safari Package
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were a little small and hard if I wanted to be picky but it didn't ruin my time there at all

    Bed extra comfy, food excellent Staff great,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Safari Package
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were extremely courteous and welcoming, they couldn't do enough to ensure that we were comfortable and happy. The location is gorgeous and very peaceful and we even saw a distant giraffe wandering by the river.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Safari Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Secluded reserve ideally placed for a tour of the Battlefields with very attentive staff. Enjoyed a game drive and Zulu demonstration evening. The food was very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Safari Package
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rustic, and it certainly is not for people who prefer hotel anticeptic accommodation but we loved it.

    Beautifully presented meals that were delicious. The chef prepared everything from afternoon tea cakes to filllet steaks to perfection. Manager was extremely helpful and arranged walks and game drives to suit us. Our guide was informative about flora, birds and wildlife. It was a delightful surprise to see all the giraffes! We enjoyed the Zulu evening. The dancers were not professional which made it feel more authentic.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Safari Package
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic staff and great facilities. Really enjoyed our stay. Very high standard of furnishing in the beehives. Food was great. Game drive very enjoyable. Battlefield tour arranged with an excellent guide. Zulu cultural evening was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Safari Package
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great time. The personal touch by the staff was a highlight. The managers make you feel like you’ve arrived at home.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Safari Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Supplied directions were open to mid-interpretation.

    Friendliness of all staff. Food was very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was very friendly and the battlefields tour met up to my expectations

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Safari Package
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Safari Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible manager - unprofessional and poor communication skills

    Local staff in kitchen and safari guide were lovely

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Safari Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Safari Package
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find. Expensive

    Very nice location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Safari Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just perfect.

    The setting with all rooms overlooking the reserve. The staff were most helpful and it was a pleasure to have met such good people.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Safari Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view! Hidden in the forest which was claustrophobic

    The roundavel huts where we slept were charming and comfortable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Safari Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guest need to be aware no wifi and limited mobile service.

    Beautiful views, very peaceful. Limited wildlife on the reserve.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was nothing that we didn't like.

    We loved the whole ambiance of this place. Loved the beautiful accommodation with the private balcony and wonderful views over the reserve.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    couldn't find it in the dark. our fault. Advice to others.. use the map sent to you by the lodge and not sat nav.

    Excellent caring people. Princess and her zulu beer and cooking were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is eco but still missed WiFi Tv and fridge. Accommodation is expensive in this area but at the price did not feel it was good value for money.

    Good location for battlefields. Welcoming staff and good food.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I can't think of anything

    This is a real gem in the country around the Battlefields. The staff are really wonderful, the warmth of greeting amazing, the accommodation is breathtaking. The Zulu evening was lovely entertainment, and the trip to the battlefields with Mike Nel was interesting, moving, educational and will remain with us for a long time. The food and the restaurant produce good quality, well prepared meals, and the outdoor breakfast is great. There is a small pool on the side off a large valley with incredible views.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Be prepared. Its a long way from anywhere!

    Brilliant location in the midst of bush in Zululand. Very small (up to 12 people) so friendly and intimate service. Great battlefield and wildlife tour.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked everything. The food was fabulous, management was very friendly and helpful but for me the staff was what I enjoyed with this stay. They work so hard to please you and work hard when you can't see them. They earn very little and really would appreciate a cash tip if you like what they are and did. Management can take a coke when they want but the black staff has to pay for it. So please give them cash don't put it on your creditcard because in my opinion it then will not always get to the people that it was meant for. Cash so they can spoil themselves with a coke once or twice in the straight 21 days they work day and night. I loved every minute of being there and would go back in a heartbeat if I had the money. It never can be too busy because they only have 6 beautiful huts with views to dream off. Loved it. Sincerely, margriet and Steve

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    BattlefieldsTour

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bruce and staff were superb; location, views and landscape: magnificent

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poorly stocked bar. No game drives on offer

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The roads for the last 14k are unmade.

    Rooms are well thought out with respect to their construction in the style of a zulu beehive home.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beds need updating

    The manager was excellent and could not do enough for us

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: