Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Jardin d'ébène Boutique Guesthouse 4 stars

21 Warren Street, Tamboerskloof, 8001 Cape Town, South Africa

#7 of 249 B&Bs and Inns in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 140 B&B reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - Zebra
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simply excellent! Situated in a quiet and safe neighbourhood, this jewel of a guesthouse will spoil you with excellent service, delicious breakfast and beautiful rooms. Roland, our host, took an extra 10 minutes every single day to give us perfect recommendations on where to go and what to do! We'd love to come again in the future! Thanks!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - Zebra
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eggs over were a little dry

    First class service from the staff and Roland helped us plan our meals out making reservations and called taxis for us as needed. You can tell he likes what he does and it shows in his courteous smile as he effortlessly provides first class service to his guests.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - Elephant
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing could have been better!

    The Elephant Room was beautiful, as was the whole house and garden. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and a fantastic night's sleep was had! The breakfast in the garden was perfect and all the staff were so attentive and helpful. Roland was brilliant in giving us advice about the area and where to go and what to do. The location is great - close enough to the centre but in a really quiet neigbourhood - all you could hear in the morning were birds in the trees!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Just be aware that the pool is really small

    The house, the deco and the facilities are great. So is the breakfast served in a small, beautiful yard by the guest house's most accommodating team. Roland and his team is in general super nice people that really makes sure you can enjoy your vacation in Cape Town. Rolands knowledge about the city and his eager to share and help with recommendations, bookings etc. is outstanding!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - Cheetah
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would highly recommend Jardin d'ebene for its perfect location, great and warm personal service! All the trendy spots are on a walk distance. At the location itself you can enjoy the sun or a lovely breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Buffalo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful rooms, facilities and excellent service. The owner was super nice and helpful. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a central and luxurious guesthouse.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - Elephant
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here at the end of our month’s honeymoon in South Africa and loved it as a base to explore Cape Town and surrounding areas. Fantastic room (Elephant) - comfy large bed, good powerful shower, lots of space and lovely dark wood furnishings. We think it’s the best room, although they are all individual and unique. The breakfast is superb for a guesthouse - lots of choice and decent quality. We cannot praise Roland the owner enough. He is attentive and an extremely useful source of knowledge for excursion ideas and restaurants all over the region. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend others do also. Top rate! Rebecca and Rick

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Lion
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would definitely recommend for couples rather than families with very young children. It is a guesthouse, rather than large hotel. Not their fault at all, but due to the smaller size of the property we were kept awake by another family and their baby crying throughout the night.

    The staff were lovely, friendly and very helpful. The owners were always around to greet guests and provide information on local attractions and events. We stayed in the lion room, which was very clean and comfortable. The swimming pool came in handy on a hot day. Beautiful decoration throughout the guesthouse! It is also in a very good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room - Elephant
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and outside area are all beautiful. It was wonderful to have breakfast outside and the attentiveness of each staff member is superb. Roland would enquire about our daily plans and add suggestions or tips whenever needed. Definitely recommend!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Cheetah
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast appears to be the same thing every morning.

    Peace and quiet. Facilities very clean. Staff polite and very helpful. Landlord very friendly. Value for money. Affordable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Lion
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about Jardin D'ebene. The room was comfortable and contained everything we needed, the location was central and the breakfast each morning was delicious. Roland and his team provided the warmest service, offering helpful recommendations for restaurants, tours etc and even starting breakfast an hour early when we had to make a quick exit. Just perfect!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Lion
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had a very nice stay in this B&B. The host is friendly and gave us a lot of useful information on Cape Town. The staff is also very friendly and helpful and always available. The room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was fresh and there was a lot of choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Lion
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, just no toilet door (so no privacy)

    Roland, the perfect host that give us good suggestions, perfect location close to company's gardens/table mountain/restaurants, excellent breakfast (the best sweet breakfast we found in SA). All very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Buffalo
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was not anything not to like.

    We would definitely book to stay here again. It is a beautifully decorated and exceptionally clean guest house with everything you could need. The bed is extremely comfortable with quality bedding, the location was very good and the breakfast was delicious. The owner and staff were very attentive and very friendly. They were able to provide helpful advice about local activities and recommendations for restaurants as required.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Cheetah
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed during the winter, so it was cold in the main rooms, even though a fire was started one night and there was an automatic heater and blankets available for use. It's just the way it is in winter.

    Great experience! I enjoyed staying here and will stay again. This is a cozy bed and breakfast. The staff were nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Cheetah
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The owner/host, Roland, was so helpful and approachable, and had the most perfect recommendations for things for us to see and do, sometimes even making arrangements for us. It really made our trip excellent. He and the rest of the staff were extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome. Cool neighborhood up on the hill, an easy walk down to the Kloof / Long streets and many good restaurants nearby. Safe parking area, felt very secure.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Room - Zebra
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts are amazing and the house is like a dream! We had a fire in the fireplace in our room one night, which was great, and they have wine and snacks available. Roland sets up everything for you and gives great advice! The breakfast is great, and the rooms are very luxurious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Lion
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, walking distance to plenty of restaurants and bars, hosts really helpful in suggesting and organising sightseeing tours etc. Friendly and efficient staff. Great stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - Elephant
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent hotel, in a nice area of Cape Town. The owner is present and available at all hours, and gives very useful advice about pretty much anything a voyager may need : nice restaurants, shops, concerts sites to visit, etc. He may also help in making all the arrangements for you, booking a restaurant, driver, opening hours. The house is very nice, with African good quality decoration and large bedrooms. All amenities are available. The pool is small and rather may be used to refresh yourself than swimming . The breakfast is gorgeous, with cold and warm breakfast, pastry, fresh fruits. A bar is available permanently, with self service and charge. The place is walking distance from restaurant area (Long Street is 10 min walk) and during day time and start of the evening you may walk safely. Otherwise a taxi or Uber is recommended. For those who want to know more about the city's developments, issues, the social environment, it will be a pleasure to exchange ideas and impressions with Roland. I would definitively recommend the place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Buffalo
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fridge would have been useful

    Roland was very nice and provided us with a maximum of useful advice. Breakfast was good with choice but anything else than eggs & bacon for the hot meal would improve it Very quiet are, well located close to Table Mountain and some nice restaurants

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room - Zebra
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Tips for excursions, sightseeings; Breakfast ; Decoration; location: walking distance to nice restaurants ; staff kindness. Great service! We felt Roland and his wife were taking care of us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - Elephant
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect in a quiet street within walkind distance of the centre. the guest house is an oasis of peace, a plunge pool and loungers or a shady table to sit at. ROland is very helpful, full of lots of tips for Cape town and the Surrounding areas. OUr room was very large, comfortable bed and luxury bathroom. Breakfast is a wonderful treat, fruit, muesli and homecooked eggs etc. Very friendly staff as well. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - Elephant
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place, calm and relaxing. Very welcoming owners who helped us a lot with tips for sightseeing and restaurants. Beautiful, clean room with very comfortable, large bed. Very good breakfast as well. Felt very safe. Will be back asap

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Cheetah
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner, Roland was really friendly and helpful with suggestions for things to do and also making reservations at a favourite restaurant for us. Breakfast was lovely , a quite relaxing garden and pool area. Will definitely recommend to others. Thank you to all .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Lion
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and owners were very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast served out under the tree's just could not be any better and lots of choices on the buffet and cooked breakfast - great coffee too , the cappuccino's especially The swimming pool with deck chair and soft cushions, were very welcoming after a long flight with couple of drinks from the honesty bar to refresh. Our bedroom were nicely dressed and spacious with lovely walk in shower

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Buffalo
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house is beautiful and our room was very spacious, the bathroom was gorgeous. The owner and staff always took the time to explain the city and surroundings, giving tips and advice where to go especially to guests who were in South Africa for the first time to make sure they have a good and safe time.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Lion
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking is on the street which is fine but don't be tempted to park with two wheels on the pavement as we got a ticket for doing this!

    Very nice guesthouse with comfy shaded communal areas around the pool and verandah. Nice and quiet despite being relatively close to the centre. Well positioned for table mountain and camps bay etc. Owner very helpful with recommendations for things to do/restaurants

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Lion
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the floors are really loud-beautiful wood but makes noise with every step someone is doing so its almost impossible to keep on sleeping after the first person is up.

    you enter a little paradise-secluded from everything-small but spacious and peaceful.tasteful decoration, wonderful bathrooms and very helpful owners and charming staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Lion
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful attention to detail, wonderful staff. You can tell the staff is happy which is always a good sign. Owners are wonderful and incredibly helpful. Nice room and comfortable bed. Great breakfast! My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - Zebra
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! This guesthouse has a winning formula.

    We had a superb stay at this delightful guesthouse in a quiet beautiful area of Cape Town nestled against the mountain and within easy and safe walking distance to the city centre and sights. The location is a major bonus as you do not have to fight for parking in the city and instead there is safe street parking directly in front of the guesthouse. There are also a number of excellent restaurants within easy walking distance so after a busy day you can just take a walk to dinner. The highlight has to be Roland and his attentive staff. Roland has an in depth knowledge of the city and sights and checked in with us each breakfast to hear about daily plans and to assist with practical advice, directions and bookings. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble. This reduced the stress and time required for planning and ensured maximum relaxation and we definitely gained a whole lot more from our time in Cape Town. Nothing replaces such personalised service. We should not neglect the extremely comfortable room, complimentary muffins for that afternoon snack and the delicious breakfast served in the courtyard plus the overall ambiance of the African furnishings makes this guesthouse an excellent choice. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - Elephant
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Extremely professional and organised. The staff and the owners recommended superb restaurants and booked taxis to and from to save us any hassle whatsoever. Firmly top of our list.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - Elephant
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like

    I cannot rate this place highly enough. Every aspect exceeded our expectations and we have to tell you that those are normally very high. This guest house has just got everything right, it feels more like your own home than any hotel or B&B ever could. Roland and his wife provide and warm, welcoming and informative service. They are always around to offer help and advice on your excursions for the day, they help book trips or offer advice on the best restaurants. We stayed in the elephant room and it was fantastic; a beautiful big bath and rain shower, huge bed and very clean. Breakfast here is the best and all of the staff are so friendly and helpful. Lastly we felt very safe here, they have security that mans the dirt from 7pm to 7am. We would stay again in a heartbeat. Well done Roland and team, can't wait to stay again. Andrea and Mark, London

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Lion
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff made great dinner reservations based on our tastes and were more than willing to serve us full breakfast before normal times when we had all day side trips

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - Elephant
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was a little too firm and the showe could have used a curtain. But very minor gripes from me since everything else was perfect

    Roland, the owner, was very accommodating, helpful, and flexible. He provided a lot of great recommendations and made sure our stay was the best

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Lion
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed blanket what somewhat small so we kept losing it while sleeping.

    Delicious breakfast, friendly staff. The host would give great advice and tips each day to make the most out of our stay in this beautiful city. Great location in a quiet but relatively central part of town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - Elephant
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That we couldn't stay longer

    Roland was the perfect host and made our stay that much more enjoyable. He guided us to great restaurants and sights. His staff were most attentive, our room was lovely and the breakfasts superb

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - Elephant
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room was beautiful but only one thing could have been better: the flooring was extremely noisy, making us feeling quite uncomfortable at night when we thought we might wake up our neighbours.

    The location of Jardin d'Ebène is perfect: it's close to many nice restaurants and it's very easy to get to the major attractions of Cape Town. The advice of our host were very valuable to make the most of our stay in the city and its surroundings. The hotel is charming.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Lion
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a little bit noisy when the staff is preparing the breakfast in the morning as the rooms are close to the buffet. Only a curtain to close the bathroom

    The room we had (lion) was very clean and so was the bathroom. The staff is excellent and Roland gave us a warm welcoming. He gave us many advices to visit Cape Town and the surroundings. Breakfast is perfect with many things to choose from a buffet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Lion
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Owners and staff were great and very helpful - airport pickup was very well organised! We were offered a room upgrade due to being the only guests booked in which was brilliant. The breakfast was lovely and the honesty bar well stocked. Some great places to eat near-by that were recommended by Roland. Unfortunately we were only there for 2 nights and wished we were staying longer!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Lion
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing could have been better.

    The Jardin is the best place I've stayed at, in a long time, maybe ever. Our hosts were fantastic, knowledgeable, and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Cheetah
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Decor helpful owner

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - Elephant
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good Breakfast, staff really helpful, supportive and relyable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Lion
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed a good dusting

    Staff were excellent. Really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful garden, quiet location, great staff and fabulous service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - Zebra
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    Was a lovely little guest house, with a very personal touch.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - Cheetah
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely grounds, indoor and outdoor dining spaces. Beautiful landscaping

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - Zebra
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roland gave great advice about places to visit and gave some excellent restaurant recommendations.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room - Lion
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Na

    Owner gave great advice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Lion
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Roland was incredibly helpful in assisting our planning for our time in Capetown. And the room itself was beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Lion
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a bit small.

    Excellent breakfast and super friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Lion
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location , gorgeous backdrop ! Superb hospitality! It was just perfect .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Lion
    • Stayed 1 night

    The design of this boutique hotel is awesome. The receptionist is great too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Buffalo
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good food well served, helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Cheetah
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing breakfast in the garden

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - Zebra
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding service. The personal touch makes the difference between a good B&B and a great one.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Buffalo
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Top boutique hotel with super friendly staff and owners. Loved absolutely everything about it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Cheetah
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect breakfast with a lot of choice, very Nice staff and owner who gave us a lot of advise on what to do and superb location in Cape Town!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - Zebra
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpfull staff. Late check out or bagage drop is no problem at all.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The atmosphere was very pleasant and tastefully decorated with very high attention to detail. The welcome by the staff was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This place is really awesome and is run by the best hosts ever. This was the last stop on our tour through South Africa, and we never felt that much like "coming home" every time we arrived. Roland and Alexandra are amazingly nice and helpful, and our (zebra) room was very cozy and beautifully decorated. It's also only a short walk to a lot of great bars and restaurants. It's also very close to the Table Mountain and Signal Hill and so on. We'll definitely come back! Thank you again!

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Couple

    There were issues with the WIFI bust this was because of the provider not the house. Though the bathroom was updated, there is no real door in the double shower and therefore it was impossible not to soak the floor totally when showering.

    The Jardin d'Ebene is a wonderful guesthouse, ideally situated and nicely decorated with lots of African decor. With his wife, Roland is a great host. He is there for you everyday and takes his time to interact with every guest personally. When needed he gives recommendations on where there are special things going on, what to do or where to eat. He suggested two restaurants to us (Black Sheep and Manna Epicure) and both were fantastic!!!!! His staff was very helpful all day long. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. Our room (Cheetah) was small but we didn't spend much time in there as we were out often and we also enjoyed the pool and the outside garden. The house is an oasis of tranquility and lets you completely forget that you are in the middle of the city. A great buffet breakfast with eggs on demand was served outside. Complimentary tea and coffee including some biscuits are also available all day. The “honesty bay” offers everything from alcohol to snacks. The City Center is just a 20mins walk away and there are dozens of restaurants in the vicinity. The V&A Waterfront and Table Mountain and Lion's Head are just a few minutes by car. The airport can be reached within 30mins. There is plenty of space to park your car in front of the guest house.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely peaceful location. Delightful indiginous garden full of birds. Ian very knowledgeable. Excellent comfortable spot to mellow out for a few days.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hospitality and friendliness of the owners and staff was excellent, the home away from home atmosphere , great breakfasts under the trees and central location make for a perfect base from which to explore Cape Town

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Roland and his team were extraordinarily attentive to us both in meeting our lodging needs and in assisting us in planning enjoyable and informative activities.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No parking facilities available other than on the street. Due to roadworks in the area we had to park 500 metre away and walk to the Guest house. The wooden floor boards are very noisy and it is impossible for someone to go to the toilet without the floors creaking terribly and waking up the person you are staying with. The room we were in opens directly onto the breakfast buffet area. (the bed being three metres away from the cereal table. You can hear the staff preparing for breakfast and guests dishing up cereals, bread etc from early in the morning.

    The owner very eager to assist with restaurant advise and places to see. The outside area and entrance is very visibly pleasing.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful rooms, the staff and owners could not have been more friendly and helpful. The neighborhood is safe and close to some very good restaurants. We had an amazing in Capetown and this guesthouse was a pleasure to come 'home' to every night.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly welcome, helpful staff. Beautiful guesthouse, and the best bed in whole our trip! Breakfast is great. The location is simply the best in Cape Town. What's not to love! We can't wait to return.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    If you like these things below you will like this place: - Amazing personal approach - Beautiful decor - Great warm conversations on many topics - Personal help in navigating the city - Delicious breakfasts - Strong WiFi - Fireplace every evening Thank you Roland!

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, very friendly and helpful staff, beautiful old converted home, great facilities, very good bed, fantastic breakfast... omlettes are excellent!

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were problems with the wifi but this was unusual.

    Roland is the perfect host and makes you feel right at home. Unfortunately our stay was short but we hope to come back soon!

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing not to like!!!!!

    Roland was extremely kind, considerate and helpful with everything!

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very special place with history, traditions and high quality service. Extremely welcoming host.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No view from our room. Towels were hard. Everything else was great.

    Location, room, host very friendly and helpful. Bathroom large.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None.

    Atmosphere, location & breakfast. Nice garden and a very helpful manager.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Personal approach by staff members and owner.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: