Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Jemima's Hospitality, Bunker on Bailie 4 stars

30 John Bailie Road, Bunkers Hill, 5241 East London, South Africa

#46 of 66 B&Bs and Inns in East London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 36 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Convenient. Super-early breakfast & good Coffee on race morning was great!

    Good location for the half-Ironman E.London 70.3-race, if you have your own car. Not ideal location if you don't have a vehicle to drive around, for it's 'too far' to walk to the race village (especially if you are an athlete)..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The manager that was on duty the rest of our stay wasn't friendly or accommodating, the bar area was constantly locked therefore us not being able to have a drink before returning to our room at 20:30 on a Friday evening. We enjoyed sitting on the patio the day before with a cool drink but wasn't able to enjoy this area again. The cleaning staff entered our room without knocking & with their own key when we were getting dressed to bring us fresh towels. Where the room is situated - the breakfast staff in the morning are very loud - we were woken up at 5.30am every morning due to staff talking loudly & banging things around. Perhaps this wouldn't be a problem if we weren't next to the reception/entrance area. Side lamps were not working. Room is very dark - cant keep curtains open as no privacy - window faces other bedrooms. Toilet is open plan - no door at all - partner and I had to leave the room for one of us to have privacy doing out business. Our stay started off well but I must be honest the second manager really changed the rest of our stay and didn't make it very pleasant.

    On arrival the manager on duty was great - very happy to see us & welcoming after our long travels and arriving late. Same manager was on duty the next morning & he was brilliant - made us feel comfortable & really top class service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    Felt at home. Arrived late for breakfast but the staff still made us breakfast. We were not rushed to check out, friendly staff all round

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately I was in a room close to the dining area. The guests having breakfast prevented me from sleeping in :(

    I absolutely love the theme of the b&b!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As business traveler I would have appreciated a desk in the room, and a second chair for double occupation.

    The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The rooms are tastefuly decorated. The breakfast included freshly squeezed Orange juice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stay was too short

    I Arrived and was given a nice cold beer after travelling from Durban to East London in one go. What an awesome Welcome. As they were not too busy, I was upgraded to a bigger room. What an awesome stay. Thank You

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had lovely welcome from Pearl and Kate? They made sure I had a brekki pack on Saturday as I was attending a funeral. It felt like home away from home.Thanks Guys!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    walls could be cleaner where they meet the floor. room only had one chair for two people

    Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast very good and staff went out of their way to help out.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no fridge nor micowave in my room. I expected to have these as are so essential in an accommodation these days.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard double separate entrance, ground floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    no bin in the room. no fridge in the room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard double separate entrance, first floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not stay for breakfast the next morning so the staff packed me a fantastic breakfast to go ready and waiting for me. Amazing!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom shower was not working 100%

    Spacious

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nil

    Comfortable and clean accommodation

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 1 curtains very light makes it hard to sleep after sunrise.

    Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard double separate entrance, ground floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hospitality and the calmness

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The internet was not compatible with iPhone

    The superior room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was luxurious and modern/stylish. It was just what we needed after a busy week! The staff were attentive and helpful. We even had a little espresso machine in our room!

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Warm reception and good advice. Very helpful with a personal situation

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difference in on-net price and real price at the point of payment when checking-in

    The location and the security

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness and the proximity of the golf club.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Guests also reviewed these properties: