Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. Northern Cape hotel reviews
  4. Kakamas hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Kaniklani Guest Apartments

Reviews of Kaniklani Guest Apartments

11 5th Avenue, 8870 Kakamas, South Africa

#3 of 4 hotels in Kakamas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 41 apartment reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 35

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2019

    10
    A great stopover on way to the National Parks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hostess provided us with bottled water and even gave us several of her wonderful mangoes when we left. Place was very comfortable, spacious and well equipped.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2018

    10
    Rest assured at Kaniklani
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the fact that there's nothing to complain about the place...😅😅

    The hospitality of the owners....They even prepared food for us free of charge because we arrived late and couldn't make it in time to buy something to eat....

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Very clean, safe comfortable accommodation with all the items needed for the self castering
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    This overnight accommodation was very spacious and every item needed for the travler with self catering was available. The proprty was very clean and sitting outide on the veranda was an additional bonus for a tired traveller wanting to enjoy a quite surrond with a sundowner. The hosts where very warm and welcoming, and attended to our every need. The main bedroom is advertised as a larger double bed but we did not find this the case. Both beds were the same size which for an older couple that likes a bit of extra space in a double bed, this was disappointing. However everything else about the accommodation including very safe parking was deeply appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    very comfortable and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything met our expectations

    hosts were super friendly, accommodation was excellent, spacious bedrooms, fully equipped kitchen. braai wood waiting. fruit in fridge to welcome us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    Simple self-catering base from which to explore the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Felt a little bit imposing to have a 'don't eat or drink on the bed' sign in our bedroom. I understand that there must have been problematic guests in the past, but having tea in bed in the morning is a simple holiday pleasure. Perhaps a 'be careful' sign would be a bit better. A bit dusty under the bed.

    Enjoyed having Airconditioning in the intense December heat! The firewood provided was great for our braai!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.3
    Great place to unwind
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No swimming pool

    The hosts are very friendly and helpful! The whole property is fully air conditioned an comfortable! Very clean and has everything you need for an South African Braai! The furniture in the living room is a little uncomfortable, but the bed is absolutely heaven! Would recommend this property😉

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Spacious accommodation, very supportive and flexible host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious accommodation, welcomed with cold drink and ice with fresh fruit (a unique experience)!! Very supportive and flexible host who made our stay for 2 nights great (in between we stayed 1 night in Augrabies !). We could leave a lot of our baggage in our room and our trailer at the premises!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Truely amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We felt, a lot of water got wasted when watering the garden all day long.

    The friendliness and hospitality was great! We liked everthing in terms of the simplicity of this accommodation. setting and location and the quiet laid back feeling we had. We did a weeklong roadtrip through the Western and Northern Cape and this was the best accommodation of them all. The cottage wasn't 5 star in terms of glamour and luxuary but it exeeded 5 stars in terms of hospitality, kindness and friendliness. The cottage was very spacious and comfortable with a homely feeling and South African hospitaliy in its true sense.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2019

    8.3
    Good for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosqitoes

    Clean good location

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2019

    7.9
    Good for overnight, nothing to do or see there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fine for an overnight but only Kentucky chicken and local hotel to eat

    Bed was comfy, plenty of pillows no food available

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2019

    5.0
    It was ok in the one flat let , was nice to have aircon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The other flat / room was stinky , smelled like a leaking toilet and old smoke

    Rented two flats the one was ok and the bed was nice and comfy

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2018

    10
    Stay in Kakamas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Everything about the place.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2018

    8.8
    Spacious and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    The friendly owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendly owners

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    I loved my family self cater chalet. nice and warm. full dstv. lovely braai. there was ice and wood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    i would have love to stay longer. my foult!

    lovely,warm people!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Love it and will go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Very cosy and safe environment lovely garden

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Great location and hospitality from the owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and hospitality from the owners

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    We enjoyed the stay, puik ontvangs, baie dankie.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed the stay, puik ontvangs, baie dankie.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Feeling very welcome at Kaniklani
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious, friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.9
    Kakamas
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host was friendly and was available to assist when needed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Clean and staff are sooo friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and staff are sooo friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    5.4
    Room was clean and neat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom shower and toilet below standard pluming noisy.Whole setup dangerous,And doesn't reflect the adeverd picture on line.

    Room was clean and neat

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    10
    The homely atmosphere and friendly reception was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The homely atmosphere and friendly reception was amazing!! The accommodation was spacious and spotlessly clean. I will not hesitate to recommend Kaniklani to any of my friends and relatives.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    8.8
    Adri had put yoghurts and coke in the fridge for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could do with a swimming pool so you can cool off after a long hot journey.

    Adri had put yoghurts and coke in the fridge for us. Peaches and dates were also given to us. The hospitality was great. Beds were comfortable, air conditioning was a boon as the weather was hot! Lovely friendly people, a nice place for a stopover.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    8.3
    Self catering so all facilities available and own braai...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room is modern, kitchen is basically a full kitchen just older implements and furniture but fully functional. TV only in room.

    Self catering so all facilities available and own braai place. Close to shops. Aircon in room and in lounge.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    10
    Welcoming host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Need to have a sign on gate to show that entrance is around the corner Signage on road coming in to assist with directions

    Welcoming host Clean, well equipped accommodation Little touches like yoghurt and fruit juice in fridge, multi-plug adapter for charging electronic equipment Good advice and directions for visits to wine farms, restaurants and date area

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    8.3
    Raisins extra bonus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Raisins extra bonus! Beautiful patio. We will be back.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    8.3
    It was a good place to stay and hospitality was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a good place to stay and hospitality was great.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    7.1
    Good room for visit the Augrabies (35 km)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good room for visit the Augrabies (35 km)

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    10
    The facility was homely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The facility was homely

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    8.8
    Free Fruit Juice in the Fridge was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not all rooms are covered by the free Wifi

    Free Fruit Juice in the Fridge was very nice. Parking is secure and staff where very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    8.8
    Place was nice and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not for people who is used to hotels and guesthouses, self catering. Will be nice for a family on holiday.

    Place was nice and clean

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    9.6
    WE ENJOYED THE PRIVACY.
    • Couple

    ---

    WE ENJOYED THE PRIVACY. HOST VERY FRIENDLY!

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    Very friendly and made us feel very much welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly and made us feel very much welcome.b

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.6
    The host of this accommodation are extremely kind and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The host of this accommodation are extremely kind and welcoming people. We will defently be coming back.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 35

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: