Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of King's Tide Boutique Hotel 4 stars

16, 10th Avenue, Summerstrand, 6001 Port Elizabeth, South Africa

#15 of 30 hotels in Port Elizabeth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 79 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No courtesy bus to and from airport.

    The friendly service ... the lovely comfortable bed and shower facilities ... the close location to the event I was attending and the close location to the beach ...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No croissants(my favourite for breaksfast)The menu,wish if they can add some other things to can change,so is only variety of eggs and sausage that u choose from

    Quiteness of the place,safety,treatment

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They kick us out at 11am. I thought they were going to give us at least 2 hours from 10am. Kick out in a rude way. We only got there 3am the same morning we were kick out

    Clean clean and close to the beach

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay so much we couldn't even spot any thing wrong.

    I liked the neatness, the beauty and comforty. Me and my wife we enjoyed our stay. And the breakfast was very delicious. I will suggest to anyone any time. Thank you King'sTide hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking bays not easy to navigate into. Fittings in bathroom loose. Bathroom cupborads water damage. Drum in bathroom rusted. Flaking from ceiling at breakfast main table falling on food. No fresh milk for tea in bedroom.

    Friendly staff. Spacious bedroom, neat and clean. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and environment was perfect. Close to the sea.Amazing view and safe accommodation, excellent customer service and warm welcome. It is the best place to stay in, when visiting Port Elizabeth. I really enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rotating electric fan in the bedroom was a definite no no.

    Stunning and spacious bedroom with a comfortable bed and quality linen. Friendly receptionist with a captivating smile. Ladies at the dining area were absolutely caring and accommodating.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the carpet in the room felt as if it was oiled. you could not walk with barefoot in the room. a Yorkshire terrier was walking around. you have to like dogs! during breakfast it was by my feet. i did not like it at all.

    the bed was good. more an B&B than an hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very basic, more like a B&B than a hotel. Minor repairs could be done to bring it up to standard. Eg. Toilet roll holder falling off/toilet seat not affixed properly.

    Good location. Large room. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived and our room was no.9. The towel was dirty. There were no hand towels and the room was very musty. They moved us to room 3. Once again there were no hand towels. The toilet roll holder was falling out the wall, the soap dish was broken, there were coffee stains on the linen and blood on my pillow. The shower flow was very slight. We did not stay the two nights that we were booked for. We left that morning early. Would not recommend it to anyone. A school here in the Western Cape did a tourism project on your hotel and that is the reason why I booked there but it was most disappointing. Definitely not a 4 star BOUTIQUE Hotel. I thought I was going to treat my husband in a wonderful hotel for his 50th birthday but unfortunately it was not a very pleasant experience.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The owners dog urinated on our luggage in our room, and defecated in front of our room in the passage on a number of occasions. Torn Linen.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about the hotel.

    The room is spacious & clean. The place is well secured & I felt safe. The staff were friendly, especially the lady at reception, she was helpful too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have loved to stay longer :-)

    Ann, Melanie and the rest of their staff are super,very helpful and friendly. Clean rooms, comfort bed, the best breakfast, I can go on and on and on....

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast,there was no cruissants,only dofferent eggs and sausages

    Room,safety of the placebre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable and conveniently situated. Excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stock of in-room coffee/tee products needs more attention to. Should not run out of coffee creamer after only two cups.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking & time of breakfast

    Fast internet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great omelette for breakfast. Spacious room and fluffy towels.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fluffy towels and room space

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff were extremely friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water pressure

    Safe parking. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing so far.

    The bacon and sausages were nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could improve on the breakfast

    We loved the location and the room .The receptionist was so warm friendly and caring

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all

    Top Class

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom very small.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated. Dark room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fixtures and fttings were outdated, felt a tiny bit like my gran's house

    Very nice size and bathroom

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything about it. The rooms, breakfast, parking etc The staff was friendly

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny tv. No fridge. Wifi is not entirely free.

    Nice and cosy rooms. Clean and neat. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy from room next door (dry walls). Holes in sheets!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    We really had a wonderful time there,can't wait to go there again

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking space.

    The little dog.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    water pressure of shower very poor

    everything except the shower

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the dog poo and the dogs all over us when we were eating breakfast. They were also eating from the plates after the guests leave.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking space was too small

    friendly staff and cleanliness

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our bedding was never changed Sheet with a big hole The mat hold dust and can stick or make the room stuffy please .

    Location not far from the beach and a nice bathroom

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy staff at breakfast. Talking at the top of their voices.

    The room was very neat, carpeted with an aircon. Big bed, bath robes, wifi. The breakfast was lovely too.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had to leave before breakfast was served. No offer made to accommodate me, not even breakfast on te go. No better price for not having breakfast.

    Beautiful room, good quality linens, clean. Friendly reception.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Staff were not overly friendly - the entire place needs a revamp - towels were frayed and its a reminder of gracious living but way back. Curtains always drawn as if all is veiled in secrecy?!

    Spacious rooms - this must have been a splendid place in its heyday.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The towels in the bathroom were badly worn - to the point that they had holes in. The same with some of the pillowcases. No real toiletries - the containers with soap at the bath and shower was empty. No water or anything to drink in the fridge ( even if you had to pay for it) There are definite signs of deterioration - some maintenance is required. We found Mollie the dog a pain - she begs food when you are having breakfast. Very limited TV channels - not even one of the news channels. Parking inside for only 4 cars - very limited.

    Location - easy to find. Reasonabale rates

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Things not working in bathroom like hairdryer, light, and missing hand shower in bath. Noisy...

    Nice bedroom with lots of space and I'm staying there again this week.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had to leave

    Traveled around South Africa many times and this was a comfortable hotel that I will definately return to next year and highly recommend. Nothing was too hard for the staff and the guests all become friends

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some fittings in bathroom are showing signs of wear and not same standard as the rest of facilities.

    Excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Couple

    I enjoyed the entire place. My wife and I will defnitely be back.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast was divine, egss were extra fluffy. Lovely, soft bed. Loved the shower.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    location

    there were no croissants

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff at reception was a bit confused.

    location is close to the beach

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    not enough parking space

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -

    - Secured location - Clean and comfy room - Flexible staff

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Couple

    Some items eg outside tiles and broken soap dish need attention.

    Our room was spacious. Secure parking.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking is a bit of a problem. Did not enjoy the noisy neighbors.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    i wished we could book out later on a Sunday

    i loved everything.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Some of the furniture needs replacing e.g. tv and carpet.

    The location of the place

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WINDOWS OF THE ROOM TO NOWHERE

    FIVE STAR HOTEL

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff were very unwelcoming Expected a hotel, was more of a B&B

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not enough off street parking for all rooms. Those parkings available are very very small. Bathrooms could do with a revamp.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location, super friendly staff, attention to detail, cleanliness and excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's all good really...

    Molly the dog. She is great!

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited car parking facility.

    Everything else is great.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The parking especially being a female at night struggling with parking

    The place was comfortable

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    small old room which needed repainting and upgrading

    location

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WIFI policy very outdated paying per mb after 30mb

    Room very nice with Aircon

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the breakfast is really ropey

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Guests also reviewed these properties: