Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Knysna Country House 4 stars

30 Fraser Street, Hunter's Home, 6570 Knysna, South Africa

#16 of 28 hotels in Knysna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 55 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    5.4
    Stay was average because we just needed one night to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    They can upgrade the place a bit. Bedding and beds not up to standard. Carpets in room looked a bit dirty. Put air conditioning in the rooms. Don't like dogs sleeping in the house because its a guest house and should be clean and no smelling of any dogs. The yard itself is beautiful. Nice pool though. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The please is just a bit hidden away.

    The view, garden and swimming pool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    5.8
    Overrated at 4 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived at the property we were unaware that there were dogs that shared all the common areas, had I known I would not have booked this accommodation. The carpets could do with a change. The bathrooms were dark and there was grime around the tiling. We hired two rooms which both smelt stale and dusty. The second room was very basic.

    The view from the garden.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    We were staying at the property during the big fires in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were staying at the property during the big fires in Knysna and our hosts were excellent at looking after us. We were very lucky not having to evacuate.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    7.1
    Awesome breakfast, clean room, spacious and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No DSTV in the room and the wifi connection was poor, dogs were not friendly even tried to bite me.

    Awesome breakfast, clean room, spacious and great staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dogs nearby barked extremely loudly and woke us up in the morning. It would be great if they could be quieter.

    Great staff and enjoyed the ambiance. Thank you Erik, Sandy and Ypie!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    5.4
    The house had tremendous potential.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom & bathroom were very grubby. Bedside cabinet was filthy. Bedside rugs were actually bathmats and they were dirty! Bedside lampshade was damaged. Buffet breakfast was not covered. Cooked breakfast was not cooked fresh.

    The house had tremendous potential. Garden was beautifully kept.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    3.8
    The bed in our room was very small and unstabil.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed in our room was very small and unstabil.You could feel every movement. After a day of driving the sleepless night was not fine. Other guests were happy with their rooms and the service. We canceled our second night and went on with our roadtrip to Addo Nationalparc.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    10
    Paradise in Knysna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    During the busy Christmas season k Knysna country house is a haven of tranquility. The included breakfast was superb. The room and the facilities were excellent. Sandy, our hostess, was amazingly helpful and has a wealth of local knowledge that was invaluable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    5.8
    Not so good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room we get was so different from the room in the pictures and the one we orderrd. small room, without wifi and the tv didnt work.

    The staf was great and helpfull.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Nice
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NA

    excellent and Nice location to stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    The friendly faces of the staff. Everyone is so friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.6
    OTHERWISE EXCELLANT
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    OLD TOWELS

    GOOD BREAKFAST

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    6.3
    The booking description gave us higher expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    general impression :very high guest frequency : house in need of renovation especially wall to wall carpets

    Secure Parking

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    10
    Superb and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Absolutely EVERYTHING

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast on the patio/balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast on the patio/balcony.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    10
    Friendliest Guest House on our travels in South Africa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing!

    Superb friendly support from all staff and Management

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    4.6
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom was dirty - air extractor was like never cleaned. Bedroom outdated, walls cracked, closet doors did not close properly - in other words this place needs a proper rebuilding.

    Breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    9.6
    Very nice place with very helpful owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice place with very helpful owners. We were told we had been upgraded to the honeymoon suite which was nice..if a little dark but it had all we needed and we got a good night's sleep. There was a balcony at the back which looked out on to lovely gardens with a great view. Breakfast was buffet style and very enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    9.2
    We were upgraded from a standard room upon arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is bit hard to find and check in time is before 6pm which is bit tight if you are traveling from elsewhere.

    We were upgraded from a standard room upon arrival. The staff and owners seem very helpful. Breakfast is also nice.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    5.4
    Nice pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was described as "luxury". It wasn't my idea of luxury. The shower room was tiny and not perfectly clean on arrival. I discovered this when I accidentally dropped a towel on the floor! On our arrival a member of staff made overtly racist remarks which is completely inappropriate and appalling.

    Nice pool.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    10
    Beautiful accommodation with gracious, helpful and well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One thing I didn't like, we had to leave....

    Beautiful accommodation with gracious, helpful and well informed hosts. Their suggestions as to activities and other venues were extremely helpful to us. I strongly recommend the Country House.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    7.5
    The pool area is great - spent a lot more time there than...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    More a suggestion that a negative. While completely adequate there were elements where maintenance and extra attention to cleaning would have turned a good effort into a great one.

    The pool area is great - spent a lot more time there than planned. Hosts are also very friendly and accommodating. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    9.2
    I love the location even it is a little far away from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Due to the busy booking of the Christmas festival, I can only live in the room that is beside the street. The curtain is not dark so that the sunshine will pour in in the early morning. It's fine if you dont want to get up late.

    I love the location even it is a little far away from the waterfront of 15 minutes drive. And the pet of the owner is really cute. The manager is very nice and I love the breakfast and swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    8.3
    The breakfast was delicious and everyone was Friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It's a bit far from all the sights, so you need to have a car or call a taxi. But on the other hand You can enjoy the silence and relax.

    The breakfast was delicious and everyone was Friendly and welcoming. Knynsa is a very beautiful place. Definitely worth seeing!

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    5.4
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything in room is substandard. I feel that the advert is misleading.

    Breakfast was good. Owner was accommodating by allowing us to cancel 2nd night stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    10
    We stayed only 1 night, but wished we could have stayed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We stayed only 1 night, but wished we could have stayed longer...the place was absolutely perfect, and Yppie and her husband were so nice. The best was probably the breakfast on the beautiful terrasse, just perfect. We have to come back!

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    9.2
    The staff really made this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air con would have been ideal but we were aware we stayed when the weather was unseasonably hot.

    The staff really made this hotel. It is slightly outside of town but it only takes 5 minutes to get to the waterfront. The rooms are large and comfortable and the breakfast is fresh and you can eat as much as you want. There is a nice pool area for relaxing with a beer.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    9.2
    We stayed for two nights in the 'Cottage' room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed for two nights in the 'Cottage' room and loved it. The room was spacious, clean, decorated with charm and offered an amazing view over the valley. Ipi and Erik are lovely and very welcoming hosts and the guesthouse offers a secure parking spot to top it off.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    8.8
    Friendly hosts and a comfortable environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly hosts and a comfortable environment. Great view.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    10
    Breakfast awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast awesome Hosts friendly Guard dog Tara.. Nice Quiet neighbourhood...👍

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    Amazing owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not enough channels on the tv

    Amazing owners. Beautiful place with great food.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    9.6
    Great staff - very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great staff - very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    9.6
    Very nice hosts, warm welcome, good breakfast, nice tips for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is not so close to the town

    Very nice hosts, warm welcome, good breakfast, nice tips for our further journey

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    10
    Stunning view from the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Stunning view from the location.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    10
    very friendly owners, a nice pool and exceptional breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very friendly owners, a nice pool and exceptional breakfast

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    7.5
    Excellent hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room quite cold despite there being a wall heater. No view except front garden wall. No luggage rack

    Excellent hosts

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    7.5
    The breakfast was just what I like.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff did not replenish bar and the waste basket. TV sucks for a four star place.

    The breakfast was just what I like.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    10
    Top class venue with World class host will definately go...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Top class venue with World class host will definately go back there, thanks for the hospitality.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    9.6
    the surroundings are most beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had difficulty finding the establishment at night

    the surroundings are most beautiful

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    10
    Best breakfast, very nice hosts, really worth of it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Poor wifi.

    Best breakfast, very nice hosts, really worth of it.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    10
    Beautiful location, very friendly and helpful in every...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful location, very friendly and helpful in every possible way. I would have no hesitation in recommending it without any hesitation.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    9.6
    Property was close to the scenic part of Knysna
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Knysna Town was quite commercial and busy. It lacked character.

    Property was close to the scenic part of Knysna

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    9.5
    Friend ship
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Leaving !

    Friend ship

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    10
    Perfect tranquil spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Perfect tranquil spot. Only wish we could have stayed longer.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: