Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Knysna Log-Inn Hotel 4 stars

16 Gray Street, 6571 Knysna, South Africa

#24 of 28 hotels in Knysna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 62 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location but a bit outdated.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's overpriced and outdated - needs a bit of an overhaul.

    The location was perfect to be centrally in town to be able to walk to the waterfront, shops, and festival venue.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    We were very happy with our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant doesn’t do dinner. But you can order food from near by

    The hotel was lovely, very cute and near restaurants and shops. Very close to the waterfront. Staff were lovely and the breakfast was good too. We were very happy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Enjoyable stay and very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything

    They bring ice cold water every morning in a thermo jug! And the manager on duty knew that I like Gin and Tonic and suggested it when I headed out to the pool.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    4.2
    Very poor service.. can definitely get a better hotel for much cheaper
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is dated and had no warm water to shower .Reception staff was very unfriendly.

    The only thing i liked was the location ..further than that nothing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable stay in convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is quite dated with no lift and long, winding corridors.

    Convenient location, good parking and very close to waterfront. Comfortable and friendly place to stay with a great breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    5.4
    Not good value for the cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room doesn't correspond the expectations I had when booked this hotel. This is a 4 star hotel, but the room was small, the tv was ridiculously old. When we arrived, there was no space for our car at the private parking lot, and the staff told us to leave it on a specific spot on the street next to the reception. When we woke up, there was a guy furious with us, because it was not allowed to park there.

    The breakfast is amazing, there's plenty options for you to choose! The hotel hall looks great, with a very old style architecture. The localization was great, as well.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    nice surprise in Knysna
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nice and very kind staff; spacious rooms with terrace; quiet environment; rich breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    A great weekend away with every comfort needed for me to run the Knysna half marathon..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were super friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    I'm a runner don't need to much for me everything was in order
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Location is perfect, comfortable room excellent service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Knysna Cycle Event
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy street

    Location, friendly staff, flexibility re checking in and out, lovely breakfast and facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.4
    Not a 4 star experience at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated hotel. Smells like mold. Carpets are old and not very clean looking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    A fantastic wonderful experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I phoned reception and asked for extra milk in my room.They immediately sent it to me. They washed my car. Friendly service!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    5.0
    Knysna has better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms need to be renovated. Breakfast was extremely disappointing. The photos on the website are deceiving.

    It was available at short notice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    5.8
    For 4 star hotel my expectations were very high.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For 4 star hotel my expectations were very high. The hotel didn't meet my expectations. Nevertheless,We enjoyed the stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    6.3
    It’s a place just to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures on website

    Sauna and pool

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.7
    Log in Knysna
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not very clean

    Facilities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    A brilliant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved it

    Unbelievably helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    10
    Rooms were excellent as was the food.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were excellent as was the food.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    8.3
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    noisy and uneducated guests parking too small

    location wood design veeakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    6.7
    Convenient stay but spa facilities are poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot Tub was scalding and there were no temperature controls. Sauna did not heat up sufficiently even after 30 minutes

    Good location. Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view outside

    The room and hospitality

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    8.3
    Not much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a coach tour stop and you are likely to be inundated with hordes of Chinese tourists with terrible noise from their coaches. Prices are a rip-off, look for somewhere smaller.

    Not much

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    9.2
    A great combination of African feel and Comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Outside view from rooms nothing special - but most views inside were!

    A great combination of African feel and Comfort. Great rooms, spacious ethnic landings with variety of places to relax. Most impressive lobby. We got it on offer - so value was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    7.5
    the rooms are unique;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the room furnishings are dated and stained but was still an enjoyable stay

    the rooms are unique; the breakfast pleantiful but adequate; the location of the hotel excellent

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    8.3
    I like the wood house style very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no toaster or egg station in the breakfast. If I need to toast bread or need a fried egg, I will have to ask from one of the staff.

    I like the wood house style very much. Also, the check in process took 3 minutes.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    7.9
    Good location with a car park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This was the most expensive hotel of our trip and as it was New Year's Eve we treated ourselves but were expecting something a bit more characterful. Disappointingly average.

    Good location with a car park. Excellent choice and tasty breakfast. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    7.1
    It was arranged that we could arrive earlier and the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was a bit boring for a 4* hotel. We stayed for two nights and the breakfast was exactly the same both mornings. There was no variation on the hot buffet. A toaster for the bread would also be nice in the dining room. I also missed a fridge in the room.

    It was arranged that we could arrive earlier and the room was ready as promised. The receptionist was also very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    9.6
    The log design, the location, the friendly and most helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was a little disappointing as it lacked variety. The bathroom was too small but not unbearably so.

    The log design, the location, the friendly and most helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    Fabulous hotel and staff were very accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Fabulous hotel and staff were very accommodating. Amazing town. We had a great time and the morning breakfast was delicious. The family enjoyed the pool, hot tub and sauna.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    10
    Rooms very nice and cosy - balcony also.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing bad about this hotel

    Rooms very nice and cosy - balcony also. Super buffet breakfast. Very friendly staff. Great location and can walk to restaurants

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    6.7
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No longer serve evening meals but not obvious in literature. The bath with showere over was very narrow and difficult to access and exit.

    The location. The ambience

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    9.2
    The building itself is a nice change from regular hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not much - better WiFi coverage maybe?!?

    The building itself is a nice change from regular hotel architecture. Breakfast was good - staff efficient and friendly - all clean and well kept.....

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    8.8
    We liked everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked everything!!! The location is great and the Hotel is clean and well kept. You are able to walk to the waterfront and there lots of great restaurants and boutiques right on their door step. Staff are friendly and attentive but not imposing. Thank you for a great 4 nights. We will be back soon!!

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    10
    We stayed here for 3 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Don't get a room on the busy street side of the hotel if you can help it. Traffic noise is constant. The balconies are bigger on the street side than the parking lot side of hotel but if you don't really need / use the balcony the extra space is not worth the noise. Pool was ok, a little dated. When we tried to use on first night it was treated with chemicals (so we could not use), hot tub was cold both nights we wanted to use.

    We stayed here for 3 nights. Waterfront is nearby within walking distance. Good restaurants close to hotel as well as at waterfront. Rooms were clean and tidy. Staff was excellent and wanted to help. Highly recommend a stay here if you need a place in a pinch. The hotel has a "log cabin" theme which was fun. Breakfast was very good. Parking lot was secure.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    7.9
    Clean and good location, great breakfast with plenty of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Clean and good location, great breakfast with plenty of options, and extremely friendly and helpful staff (via email before and when planning daytrips)

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    8.3
    Just a simply good all round experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not much really...

    Just a simply good all round experience. Hard to find!

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    8.8
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent location... The check in was a breeze and staff friendly.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    10
    Amazed to see a hotel made from logs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Amazed to see a hotel made from logs. Staff were very friendly & helpful. Keep it up.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    10
    I liked everything about the hotel and its surroundings and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    I liked everything about the hotel and its surroundings and the staff there is very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    9.2
    Lovely look and feel to the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    no dinner

    Lovely look and feel to the hotel. The logs makes it vibrant and different.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    9.6
    Breakfast selection excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast selection excellent

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    7.1
    The location, close to the heart of Knysna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room a little bit overpriced for value! Picture does not reflect the location of the place.

    The location, close to the heart of Knysna

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    7.9
    Would be nice to have a lift for families with kids and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Would be nice to have a lift for families with kids and prams.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    6.3
    Small pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Small pool

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    10
    Its central situated and close to all amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Its central situated and close to all amenities

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    8.3
    Breakfast, Swimming pool, View
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    TV needs to be upgraded

    Breakfast, Swimming pool, View

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    The excellent warm feeling and ambiance of the log cabin...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The excellent warm feeling and ambiance of the log cabin feel. room was neat and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    Pleasant place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pleasant place

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    10
    Great place to stay in Knysna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great place to stay in Knysna.Near water front. Staff are kind.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    10
    I liked everything especially the warm jacuzzi on a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I have absolutely no complaints

    I liked everything especially the warm jacuzzi on a very cold winters night.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.6
    Buffet breakfast was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Buffet breakfast was excellent! Staff were very friendly and accommodating, hotel within walking distance to waterfront.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    10
    Everything, the room, the pool and jacuzzi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything, the room, the pool and jacuzzi. The breakfast was delicious!

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    8.3
    Centrally located and close to all amenities, Knysna mall...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Missed SuperXV rugby channel on Saturday.

    Centrally located and close to all amenities, Knysna mall and the waterfront, within walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    8.3
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    9.6
    If I had a grievance I would let you know.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If I had a grievance I would let you know.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    7.1
    Avaliability at busy time of year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Avaliability at busy time of year. Location away from tourist driven water front but walkable. Also to Knysna town centre.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    8.3
    Great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Strange corridor!

    Great breakfast!!!

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    9.6
    Location to the waterfront and city was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The jacuzzi facilities were not working.

    Location to the waterfront and city was great.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    10
    Huge Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Pool and pool area, although pleasant, could do with an upgrade.

    Huge Room Comfortable Bed Very Clean Smooth and efficient check in and out

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    6.3
    My complaints are with your reception!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My complaints are with your reception!

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    5.8
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor WiFi, no fridge in room and high priced

    Breakfast

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Guests also reviewed these properties: