Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kosi Forest Lodge

Isimangaliso Wetland Park, Kosi Bay, 3815 Manguzi, South Africa

#1 of 4 hotels in Manguzi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 35 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 18

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Kosi visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tented Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very child friendly for small children, rat problem.

    Very good food and excellent nature experience. Very safe. Forest walk and day on the lake is super!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Kosi forest lodge awesomeness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tented Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The signage to the place is a bit small, it was difficult to find the place at night. The main gate also had no signs to show that we had arrived. We struggled to get there because our cellphones were offline and couldnt call the lodge. Gmaps also has no routes for that area. It's advisable to tell visitors that the main network for the area is Vodacom, anything else may not work in the area.

    The hospitality of the staff, activities and their outside bathroom. Mthoko, Thandeka and Blessing were awesome hosts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.9
    Food was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tented Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The generator made a noise. The tap water was smelly.

    Food was excellent. Guide was very knowledgeable. All staff were friendly and helpful. Will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Best place I ever been in SA.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Tented Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generator a little bit noisy in this paradise.

    Best place I ever been in SA. I will come back for sure. Everyone was making sure we were good. All the activity are amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    8.3
    Relaxing Eco-getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tented Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no spa at the lodge but they were able to organize treatments at Tonga beach lodge for me.

    The staff was very friendly and attentive without being intrusive.Blessing,Thandeka,Hapiness and Lindokuhle(bar) were excellent. Those are just the names I remember!!😄 The ladies that served us at the tables....I loved your smiles and calm demeanour.I loved the sounds of the forest, outdoor bath tub, the pool is beautiful.We also enjoyed the boat trip.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    10
    A perfect Kosi experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tented Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All facilities where beautifully designed to blend with the natural setting. The staff was super.

    A charming privately set cottage with shower in or shower with soaking tub under the stars. Awaken to birds singing and bushbaby monkeys playing. Then take a canoe trip through the estuary.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    6.7
    Location in the forest is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tented Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall it's a overpriced. For 260 euros a night you should get a better deal. Bathroom needs desperate renovation. Also better cleaning would be appreciated. Excursions should be part of the package. Don't squeeze out more money from the tourists. Also charging a parking fee is ridiculous. Wifi has a limit without communicating it. Welcome should be better as well. Was very uninspired. Quality of staff ranges from bad to excellent.

    Location in the forest is nice. Some staff members are really nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    A beautiful hideaway where we would go again and again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tented Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The open air bath tub. We also loved the remoteness of the place as well as the rowing on the lake.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    Inspiring and peaceful, great activities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tented Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Some people might be challenged by the long, sandy walk to the room.

    Wonderful staff. Lovely atmosphere. Range of activities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Would love to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tented Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the style, the atmosphere, the food and the staff. It rained all the time we were there but we really didn't mind.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    8.3
    lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tented Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lovely location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    7.1
    great location and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bungalows need maintenance. No soap nor shower gel when we arrived.

    great location and friendly staff! Bungalows are very quiet and far from each others.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    7.5
    Beautiful place, very rare natural site, the view from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As we were planning our from Europe, we found it very difficult to reach the staff by email/phone (we needed to arrange a pick up time). If their response time had been a little quicker, we could have enjoyed our stay at Kosi for 2 days. Instead we ended up booking an extra night elsewhere on the first night (it was too late to cancel) and thus payed one night at Kosi for the price of 2.

    Beautiful place, very rare natural site, the view from the swimming pool on the lake is beautiful. We intended to stay 2 days but finally stayed only 1 as we had been informed after the booking that due to the remote location of the lodge in the middle of the reserve, you have either to come with your 4x4 or to take the lodge taxi but only at a specific schedule (12pm and 4pm) with was not possible for us. Nevertheless, Kosi Forest arranged for us the evening excursion to the beach to see the leatherback turtle nesting and the morning boat trip on the lakes and raffia forest. These 2 experiences were really worth the trip! The cuisine was also excellent.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    8.8
    It is a delightful lodge and was a wonderful experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience.just that the initial cost is significantly added to if one undertakes the special activities offered if one did not there would be not much to do at the lodge itself.

    It is a delightful lodge and was a wonderful experience. We were given a romantic dinner in the boma to celebrate our anniversary and much care was taken to make the evening special.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.2
    We liked the welcoming by the Manager Rudi the way he and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We liked the welcoming by the Manager Rudi the way he and his staff informed us on facilities and activities and the willingness of staff to make it an unforgettable experience, knowledge of guides, the beauty and serenity of the place- excellent

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    10
    Location friendly staff excursions complete package
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location friendly staff excursions complete package

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    10
    The staff were very friendly and made us feel so special as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff were very friendly and made us feel so special as we celebrated a special birthday with friends and family

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    5.4
    Overpriced!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overpriced!

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 18

Guests also reviewed these properties: