Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kwafubesi Tented Safari Camp

Mabula Private Game Reserve, 0480 Mabula, South Africa

#5 of 7 hotels in Mabula

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 19 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 19

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 2 nights

    charged us for 4 shots per drink poured. We each (4 of us) ordered 1 whiskey on the rocks. They charged us for 16 shots of whiskey. I understand charging for 1.5 shots per drink but they totally ripped us off. DO NOT ORDER ALCOHOL FROM HERE BEWARE.

    Food and Environment

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small fridge in room. Maybe only notify your visitors that they should bring snacks since they will be far away from the shop.

    The quietness of the bushveld surrounding

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all...

    The staff (Mpho, Damien, Sammy and Johnson) was absolutely amazing!! They were extremely friendly and helpful. They made the whole weekend extraordinary!! The food was really well prepared and presented. The facilities was clean and very nice (loved the bed and the bath was just a bonus). The game drives were the best we've had and seeing the Big 5 was just the best!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tents get very hot in the day & the fan doesn’t make any real difference, except at night.

    It is the staff of Kwafubesi Tented Camp who really make your stay something special. Sammy (Manager), Liam (Game Ranger), Johannes (Chef) and Jerry & Margaret were all so wonderful - they go out of their way to look after you. Liam especially deserves an extra mention for ensuring that each game drive was informative & unique. The beds were very comfortable & wonderful pillows :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was a wonderful weekend away

    The tents were spacious and comfortable. The staff were exceptional as they catered to all of our dietary requirements at every meal we had there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    We celebrated our one year anniversary here. Loved the camp, so nice and quiet. Dinner in the boma was great! Due to a big storm there was no water and electricity in the camp but the staff were very organised and organised meals and a room to shower at the main camp. Game drives were fantastic and all staff were great. Thanks everyone! We'll be back!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The great silence around the camp where the animals were literally around you.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was excellent. Very good game drives included (one in the morning and one in the evening). Tent was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In the heat they could provide a small fridge and water

    all was outstanding

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was beyond amazing. My friends and I had an amazing time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tired décor, old furniture.

    Friendly staff. Good food.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food was not up to the standard of a luxury tented camp the one afternoon w had chicken nuggets, fried cheese balls etc felt like we ordered from a children's menu. Also the there is no attention to detail the camp requires a woman's touch.

    Our guide was great and knowledgeability and staff was friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The facilities were very tired. As we had wanted a bush experience it didn't detract from our experience, but the tents are long overdue for a make over. There was no boma fire as is indicated in the details so this was extremely disappointing. This is one of the big musts in a bush experience. We had various game rangers take us out for the game drives. The last ranger was so dreadful and I will be writing to Kwafubesi to complain. Once again we did enjoy our stay but it is overpriced for what it offers at the moment.

    The setting was just beautiful and the camp so quiet. The staff at the tented camp were very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On arrival we were moved to the main lodge...because they were maintaining the tent! eventually we insisted that they keep our reservation as booked and we were transferred to the tented camp. The tent electricity was not working, took an extra day to sort out. The camp had more than 10 pacs, including kids as they lodge had moved them around as well. The staff were polite but just doing a job. The food was below average . We had to request some variety in eating places other than the dining room, like the Boma which they eventually set up for us. The camp is run down, the pool towels are frayed . There are not enough pool loungers and deck chairs should more than 6 guests want to sit around the pool or on the deck. All in all a shoddy experience at the camp but a marvellous experience in terms of game viewing. this is not a 4 star establishment

    the game viewing was superb ....saw the big five .

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Andrew Clark our guide was the best i have ever seen.He teached us so much about the animals, plant life and birds.We saw animals in abundance.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No fridge in tent. Bedside lamps needs replacing.

    Location, very friendly staff, quiet, Lots of game to see.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When it get windy the tent makes a huge noise.

    Amazing ranger. Great game drive

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff. Great game ranger with a lot of knowledge. Very relaxing. Great food

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lunch were very average.

    Greg the ranger was excellent, very knowledgable and maknig sure that everything during our stay was perfect.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 19

Guests also reviewed these properties: