Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Fontaine Guest House 4 stars

21 Dirkie Uys Street, 7690 Franschhoek, South Africa

#25 of 49 B&Bs and Inns in Franschhoek

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 284 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Quiet, friendly guesthouse with excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a bit on the expensive side compared with similar places we stayed at in South Africa.

    My dad and I stayed here for one night. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating; they let us leave our hire car on site while we took the Wine Tram and gave us helpful advice about shops and restaurants in the area. The hotel is perfectly located off the main road but only a five minute walk away from the tram and amenities. The breakfast was brilliant and probably my highlight! I would gladly stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Very attentive team and comfortable place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very comfortable place is located in the center of Franchhoek that allows you go walking to many interesting places. The team is very polite and attentive. I'd like to come back soon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Really nice place to stay in Franschhoek.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property overall is starting to look a little tired but it wouldn’t stop me returning.

    Lovely comfy bed with good linen. Friendly staff. Fabulous location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.5
    We were in and out over the weekend so busy elsewhere but were generally disappointed in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't like the room with no windows or outlook - just a skylight. The doors looked out onto a path so couldn't be in there without drawing the curtains. Very close to kitchen or office so noisy from staff talking in the afternoon when one wanted to have a sleep before going out. Also, it was noisy from kitchen staff when eating breakfast outside on Sunday morning. I think we should have been warned of the lack of windows or outlook. It seemed pricey for what we had.

    Comfortable bed and good bathroom. Good breakfast poor coffee.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    6.7
    Disappointed with our experience here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointed with our experience here. On arrival we were advised that there was 50% of our bill outstanding even though we had paid our bill in full several months before our arrival. The onus was placed totally on us to prove our position and consequently we spent two hours of the afternoon of our arrival laboriously going back through the historic emails (wifi was very slow too) and, fortunately for us, we were able to prove our position. The front of house manager did not take personal responsibility and passed us on to the accounts/reservations department - we did not received an apology for this error. The guest house and cottages have a very atmospheric feel but overall the place needs some investment/refurbishment. Breakfast was only average but in pleasant surroundings, however, there was a stench of sewage from the large drain/manhole between the open air breakfast area and swimming pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    6.7
    Fantastic location and great size of room just needs some to in the main house
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is starting to look tired throughout and cleaning in communal areas could be better. WiFi stopped working ast 8.30pm!

    Quirky guest house full of character and in an excellent location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay to relax and enjoy the local area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room and bed was large and extremely comfortable. It was lovely to relax by the pool. The location was perfect being a few minutes walk from excellent restaurants. Delicious breakfast freshly cooked to order

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Great stay in period guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking could have been more spacious

    Very comfortable room in the main house. Shared balcony and port and glasses in the lounge. Excellent location just off the Main Street.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful relaxing stay and hope to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The manager Christopher was very helpful, made us feel right at home. It's perfectly situated to walk into and enjoy the area, monuments, shops, restuarants, tram, Saturday market and scenery. Relaxing, quiet and a comfy bed. Thank you.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.5
    Lovely location, friendly and helpful staff but all about to change.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our friends left a couple of items and contacted La Fontaine to ask that they be posted to him (in South Africa) but they wanted £40! It was cheaper to drive back to Franschhoek from Cape town.

    I have stayed before and it has remained as good as it always has been. However, I believe new owners are going to make significant changes to the premises this year.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.8
    Lovely little guesthouse - would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very convenient guesthouse in the centre of the pretty town of Franschhoek. We stayed in one of the rooms in the garden. The room was lovely with a very comfortable bed. The weather was not great during our stay but an open fire in our room which was laid and ready to light when we got in was a lovely touch.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    Great stay in the heart of Franschhoek
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our stay at La Fontaine was superb. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed super comfortable. The inclusive breakfast was great and the staff all very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    A gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floors are a bit creaky but this is to be expected in a heritage property.

    Nice location a very short stroll from the main drag. Very helpful staff especially Christopher who found us a table at short notice on Sunday night. Good breakfast spread. I particularly liked the lounge where you could peruse their stunning coffee table books. Modern bathrooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    A good place to stay in Franschhoek
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms we and our kids got were in separated buildings, although they weren't so far one from the other. The rooms seems to me not so modern - e.g. the tube is quiet "old fashioned" one. We got 3 keys for the different entrances and for the safe + a remote control for the parking gate, so it was quite confusing for us.... The payment process wasn't so easy for me - as I was requested to pay in advance (not via Booking), and I wanted to pay with my credit card and it wasn't easy to get them via the phone.

    The location is 10, quiet and just in the center, restaurants and shops. The breakfast is very good, and was served outside in the garden, below the vines. The smell in the garden is good. The mattress in our room was excellent, and the bathroom was big, with a tube. There is a big refrigerator in a common kitchen, nearby the rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stables - Good room configuration for a couple with 1 child. Very comfortable beds. Excellent breakfast. Staff very willing to problem-solve after hours!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was scrumptious with a wide variety of foods to choose from, beds were luxuriously comfortable, staff were so friendly and helpful, a classy establishment all round!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    The manager was realyy helpful and such a sweetie
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking available in property and very thin pillows But pillows was addressed and promised to replace.

    The manager was realyy helpful and such a sweetie

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Such a beautiful experience staying in the old house, and everything was perfect! Everyone went extra miles to make us feel welcomed! A great place to stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although a really beautiful old house there are a couple of maintenance issues that could be addressed, namely loose floorboards. It sounds silly but by the second day I was chosing carefully where to walk as the noise from the floorboards would have woken the whole house! Maybe not as easy a fix as I imagine but would be a good investment! Also the welcome I received wasn't the warmest - I arrived at 4.30pm via driver who really kindly came into the hallway with my bag - we were quickly informed that all the staff had gone and the driver asked to bring the bag upstairs - I understand that staff can't be available all the time but I was a little it embarrassed and really could have brought the bag up myself rather than asking the driver to do so! There isn't a huge selection of places to stay in the town itself but I do feel that this was expensive for a guesthouse but location wise is ideal for those without a car. Perhaps better selection/value for money may be available outside of the town.

    Beautiful house on exterior - interior is a charming mix of antiques and interesting fabrics and decor fitting to the house. The room was very spacious with someoarate dressing area and large bathroom. You cannot beat the location as just one (very short) block away from Huguenot Street (Franshoek's Main Street). Loved that the staff had thought to put two duvets on the bed (as it is winter) and the house was spotless! Breakfast had a good selection of buffet style items (cereals, tea, coffee, breads including beautiful freshly baked bread, cold meats, fruit) as well as a freshly made breakfast from a menu (Full English breakfast/French toast/omelette) - really tasty and had that lovely 'homemade' taste that you get by staying in a guesthouse! Franschoek itself is pretty and is great if you like to mooch around shops, lovely selection of cafes and restaurants but to be honest it needs a bit of a refresh in general! I felt that there's a bit of a 'lazy tourism' feel in Franschoek whereby there are tonnes of guaranteed tourists coming to the town - some shops resembled jumble sales with what I can only describe as 'tat' for sale ( fine if you're into it!) also did the Wine Tram here which is a lovely experience - took the Green Line stoping at Rickity Bridge (ok), Grand Provence (fabulous and great art exhibition too) Mont Rochelle (stunning and great wines and charcuterie/cheese selection - stay for two hours here) La Bri (skip it) and La Bourgogne (wine not great but olive vv good!)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.0
    Shortchanged - nice but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    To start with the entire booking process became a pain when they couldn't see my credit card details on booking.com. I re-entered the details and they took 50% deposit. For the balance 50% they had the same problem and kept sending me messages to pay or else they would cancel even after taking 50% and it being no fault of mine. Never experienced something like this! Finally I had to make an international number and give them my card details - something I never do... After everything was settled and they were nice to offer early checkin on mail, to my surprise they gave a smaller room than the family suite we had booked. I realised this only on my way out to take the wine tram and the lady (didn't get her name) was like - Oh we couldn't do that as another family wanted to stay extra night...!! I book and pay for a suite and they give me a room saying the other is anyway too big and meant for more people!! Finally pushing all blame on their central office who was so much in touch with me when it came to money! I was almost losing my patience when the other lady offered a room upstairs but we didn't want a top floor. She then offered to move our things after the family left but we had already scattered our things and were getting late for the tram. Also we didn't want anybody to touch our things and move to another room as we have had a bad experience before. It would have been better had they been honest at checkin and we would have left our luggage in the car instead and checked in to our original room on return.

    Such a shame, it could have been a better experience ad it is a nice property, served good breakfast and the other lady had a nice chat with me when I was leaving and she came to see me off.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    Lovely clean accommodation with friendly people, gr8 breakfast in centre of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slippery floor in room 3 & little loose carpets.

    Bed extra comfy. Complimentary sherry for cold rainy day in Franschoek & marshmallows were gr8. Bastille Festuval was fabulous!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    6.7
    Has potential but needs a few tweaks
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was not working and Breakfast was Mediocre

    Close to the main street which is walking distance away . The host is friendly and assisted when required

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    6.3
    B&B manager was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls do not block sound at all, so you can literally here everyone moving around. I was told there was secure parking, however the parkings were so small I could not park my car there (I have a normal saloon car), and had to park on the street.

    B&B manager was great. Spacious, bed comfortable and location good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    SA holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Last minute booking due to change of plan. Great find so close to town centre but equally tucked away and quiet. Really comfortable room and garden, would like to have stayed longer.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.9
    Lovely B&B - just get a standard room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ordered a deluxe room, and the photos for the bathrooms of these rooms online were huge and included roll top baths. So we were disappointed to find a very small bathroom in our deluxe room, with a bog standard bath and overhead shower. There was also a lot of noise in this room - as its windows were directly on the court yard where people have breakfast, so a lie in was not possible.

    Very large bedroom. Good offerings of tea/coffee/biscuits/sherry! Lovely breakfast with everything you could want.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    10
    Perfect well run B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room. Extremely organised and well run. The owner and staff went out of their way to help, giving advise on our onward route. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.2
    A pleasant Guest House in a very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely accommodation. We had a huge room in the main house with some beautiful views. Everything about the room was lovely. We also took the opportunity to use the pool area for some rest and relaxation, what was really nice it that there were enough sun beds and chairs for everyone and plenty of shade from the very strong sun. Breakfast is a combination of buffet and cooked and was very good. Staff very friendly and helpful too. Many restaurants close by and within walking distance but you do need to book. Parking available on the property.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    9.6
    We had a lovely garden room beside the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a lovely garden room beside the pool..very peaceful and relaxing.well presented and decorated..could have stayed longer..lovely breakfast in the garden.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place to stop over in a beautiful town in the heart of wine country
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all.

    We only stayed one night but the bed was great and breakfast was super! They kindly let us leave the car in the drive until the next people were due to check in while we explored Franschhoek. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    10
    Best ever!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact we had to leave! Wish we could have stayed for a week!

    What a gorgeous guesthouse with increadible staff! The room was the best we've ever stayed in, much better than the pics -opened right onto the pool and had its own living room with open fire, kitchenette, fast wifi, air con and every detail had been considered for a comfortable stay. The breakfast was beautiful and location just 1 min from the main restaurant area. We were made to feel so welcome and at home with everything we could have asked for in the room. These guys know how to run a guesthouse!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    9.2
    Plenty of space & comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a huge room & bathroom with a view to the mountains. Nice pool with sun chairs in the garden. Very centrally located in a quiet street. Port & sherry available in the small shared living room (see attached photo of view from the balcony outside the shared space). Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.2
    Couldn't fault it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Lovely accommodation, we had the whole annex to ourselves. So nice that the fridge contents were on trust. Lovely friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. Couldn't fault it!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    10
    Absolutely beautiful setting and our room was very spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been helpful to know that a cooked breakfast was on offer before we filled ourself on toast! And it was a little tricky to swim with the cleaning hose in the pool. But these were very minor things on a beautiful and first rate guest house. We would definitely stay again!

    Absolutely beautiful setting and our room was very spacious and wonderfully dressed. The breakfast was very well presented and there were a lot of options! The staff were all very helpful and informative.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    10
    Lovely guesthouse!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely guesthouse!! Kathy made us feel at home from the moment we arrived and gave us some great tips on things to do. Breakfast was lovely in a gorgeous little courtyard. Highly recommended!!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    7.5
    The location of the B & B is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately there was no hot water in our room due to the failure of their heater. We were in a room on the first floor and were required to use a bathroom on the ground floor. We were given a small discount for this inconvenience but only after we asked for it.

    The location of the B & B is excellent. The room was lovely with a door leading onto a comfortable shared balcony

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.6
    Good location, comfortable large room and lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is tight and would be better if some shrubs next to the driveway were trimmed right back.

    Location excellent, room large and comfortable. Very good breakfast. Excellent hosts and garden factotum were a great help when my vehicle battery was flat, quick to assist and jump start.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    Centrally located in Franschoek with easy access to all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Centrally located in Franschoek with easy access to all attractions. Spacious well appointed and comfortable facilities. Friendly helpful staff and great breakfasts.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    8.3
    Great guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great value by UK standards but less so compared with other places visited.

    Homely feel to a guest house full of character set in a quiet location in a pretty town. Excellent breakfast and friendly owner/staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    9.6
    Comfortable cosy quiet guest house only minutes from the centre of Franschhoek
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Safe positioned low on wall just inside door which made it a little awkward to bend down to access if you have dodgy knees or back. Had to wait a little bit longer for cooked breakfast on the 2nd morning due to a mix up with the orders.

    Warm welcome from Sharon and Kathie who recognised us from our previous visit in January 2015.Large spacious airy room on 1st floor of house, very large bathroom with Victorian tub, view from 1st floor public balcony together with complimentary port and sherry. Lovely to relax here with a book on a sunny afternoon. Good selection of food at breakfast. Very quiet location but only 2 or 3 minutes walk to local restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    10
    Winter stay in the wine lands
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kathie was very helpful and suggested different restaurants and vineyards to visit, all of which were excellent. The location was perfect within very easy walking distance of the Main Street and felt very safe.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    10
    The location was in a beautiful setting close to amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am a perfectionist and I must admit I tightened the loose toilet seat assembly. The air conditioner was set too high and I had to adjust it.

    A great stay with superb hosts.I was totally surprised that my muddy car was cleaned without my mentioning it!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    8.3
    Our stay was enjoyable. Lovely winter setting and cosy atmosphere. A good place to snuggle up and fo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    indicate there is no kitchen cloth. I didn't like the mingling in front of the door of our room. We were right opposite the pool.

    Lovely comfortable room. Host very friendly and helpful. Had a good time and rest.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    The rooms were a good size and clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was below average from a quality and quantity point of view.

    The rooms were a good size and clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Pleasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived lately gave us a call and were willing to assist and even in checking out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Lovely stay with great location in beautiful franschoek
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit outdated decor but they changing that

    Very friendly staff Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    It was central , very comfortable and homely. Staff was very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    A great stay in Franschhoek
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location for scenery, wine and food. Excellent staff and a spacious room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Delicious breakfast, Large rooms, Beautiful inner garden and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delicious breakfast, Large rooms, Beautiful inner garden and the manager Christopher was very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay and would probably return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fairly ordinary

    Nice ambiance Comfortable room with nice mountain view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    Guest House in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not good at all!

    The guest house is in a very good location. Room, pool area and breakfast was great. Very friendly staff!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    A very pleasant stay in a good position and well run
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleasant atmosphere, convenient location.goid breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    An easy, pleasant spot to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedding was wonderful. Great pillows and duvet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.3
    Ideal for what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, large comfortable room and pleasant garden with small pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.3
    Bed was extreemely hard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was extreemely hard. Head office accounts is poor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Wish it had been longer than 2 days
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    some creaking in the bedroom floorboards

    Excellent location for town and winery visits. Very helpful hosts. Lovely pool. Fab breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Lovely guest house in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds extremely comfortable. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Location excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very goog location, very friendly staff, very comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful town, central location in a beautiful guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic fresh omelettes!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lady on desk was not the most friendly

    Very central and gentleman who greeted us was lovely

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic. I wished the WiFi was working
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible WiFi, parking too tight,

    Great location. Family atmosphere. Comfortable and spacious. Great breakfast. Great garden and pool area

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was quite slow

    The breakfast spread was wonderful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable bed
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of the bathroom

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    8.3
    Excellent place to stop off on our tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Greeting from Chris. Easy to find

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    6.7
    Quiet central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did not action my request for 2 beds and whilst a family room onlt double bed made up - very poor at tgis price point.

    Quiet central location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    Great find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the town, great location, highly recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Top location, v good management
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Top location, v good management

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Superb return visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were allocated the same room we had on a previous visit. The rooms are super, really comfy beds with great facilities. The staff are superb.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Wish we had stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable and felt at home

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.5
    Recommendable for summer holidays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ground level rooms are ideal as summer accommodation. It is cold in winter days.

    Friendly staff, great location and safe.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely convenient friendly venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Stylish, cosy, great value and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stylish, cosy and in a great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Defiantly an excellent choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming room complete with a fireplace that was readied everyday.

    Close to everything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The other staff smiled less.

    Location, the bedroom size, cleanliness, friendly Sharon very accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    nice centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice centrally located

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse La Fontaine Guest House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: