Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lady Hamilton Hotel 3 stars

10 Union Street, Gardens, 8001 Cape Town, South Africa

#138 of 152 hotels in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 122 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Friendly Staff Great Breakfast
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much. The place needs a little bit of a face-lift. Some of the walls needs painting

    I liked the friendly staff, great chefs and excellent breakfast. Jonas the barman, what a gentleman keep up the great work son. The chef and the wonderful lady who organized lunch packs for our runners, thank you guys.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.0
    Just a convenient place to spend a couple nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was ignored for some time by the staff member on reception when I arrived. There was no happy, inviting, friendly reception. I was dealt with curtly by the lady who could have been more presentable. Carpeting all old so the impression of the place is that it is dowdy/not clean. Breakfast spread OK, but I was put off by the scruffy/ oily appearance of the warm spread. The shower would not work properly as a plug chain was jammed in the thread of the tap and the basin was blocked.

    Location is good. Building has an old homely appearance. Inside is quite spacy. Swimming pool comfortably positioned. The staff were good to average. Male staff better, being clean, neat and well mannered.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.5
    It was wowwww.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner is quite expensive per person

    Wowwwwwww there is a gentleman there called Alex.....iyohhh he have to much customer service.....he knows the purpose of his job.....

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    3.8
    Horrible experience, i would recommend it to my family or friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    200mb data on selected spots and on the advert they saying free Wifi Their refunding system takes forever The pictures of the property on booking.com were taken 20 years back,

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.5
    Good "but"
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the reception they didn't welcome us as they did 6years back and the was no one to show us around, and they just pointed were I will find my room they didn't take us there maybe because we're black. You will never know this is south africa

    It's one of the best hotel I know, the room are clean and beautiful. Food was more than I know.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.7
    A Very Basic Hotel - do not expect too much
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Hand held shower was fixed too high on the wall as a result the pipe was choking and water supply interrupted - had to shower with it in my hand. 2. No coffee in the rooms but at a beverage station - went there the evening to have coffee but it was cold. Manager then decided to switched the urn on (!), I waited and waited and eventually changed my mind. He did not seem perturbed. 3. No two point plugs in the room: you have to pay a R100 deposit to get one 4. No hairdryer in the room: collect at reception 5. Staff not very welcoming / friendly except for the chef. Everyone seems to carry a heavy burden or forced to be there.

    Buffet Breakfast made up for what I did not like about the hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    5.4
    I took this Hotel because my Wife is my Lady.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV remote don't work.The balcony door handle is loose. The balcony door can't open properly very stiff.

    Food was okay. It was my Wife's birthday 23 June

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.3
    OK...BUT NOT AGAIN
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although I knew the hotel was not particularly low-budget, I felt a little uncomfortable in the environment. The reception staff were somewhat 'slack' and disinterested, which did not create a particularly good impression. I also found WiFi access restricted to the foyer somewhat frustrating.

    The hotel is conveniently located for the many restaurants close by and access roads to various parts of the peninsula, and many 'must-see' sites and activities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.9
    Good, better than expected even.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some areas like hallways are a bit dated and the door could be sealed better to cut down on wind and outside noise.Wifi should also be available free of charge in all rooms at the rates currently charged per night at least.

    Staff was very friendly and rooms were very clean and comfortable. Flatscreen tvs in rooms offer satellite channels and all the rooms have airconditioning.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    8.3
    Staff were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a fridge I room . Wifi only available in lobby - needs to be accessible in rooms. Decor a bit tired though very clean.

    Staff were fantastic. Really warm and friendly at all times.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    7.1
    Very Nice Location and excellent breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All of the rooms have twin beds not good for a couple the room with the double bed extremely small

    Fantastic Breakfast/The Lady Chef very friendly The Guy Chef very cranky...like someone who is tired of doing the job so his attitude with guest is like get out of my way!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    7.5
    Dated but good budget hotel with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Place needs some work and room decors seem abit dated but i guess for the price you cant expect too much. Wifi though quiet steady was unfortunately only available in the lobby Walls are quiet thin so you get alot of noise coming in from the hallway. Pool needs more maintainace, had to request it be cleaned everytime i needed to have a swim

    Strongest points for them would be the strong sense of family feel/reception you get from the staff and of course great breakfast! Staff is super friendly, the chubby bubbly guy at front desk Mr Yanse (i think that was his name) was such a gem! great guy he was, made checking in & out such a breeze. Very comfortable beds. Hotel is primely located, would not have to stress about the Cape town traffic, close to the airport, shops, bars and resturants. Area is very safe. The breakfast was good. The chef was great and communicated very well. Basically a homeaway from home kinda of place devoid of the fancy glitz and gadgets.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    3.3
    Appalling standards for the tariff levied
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    flaking paint in bedroom due to extreme dampness. a major health hazard unsecure parking - had to pay for this as well. No porter services

    Booking through internet

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    7.9
    The breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The reception was bad. That I was told the hotel was arranging a shuttle for to the airport only to be asked to pay R300 by the "shuttle" at the airport was not good. I would have sought cheaper means of getting to the airport had I been provided with accurate information. Kindly ban smoking in the rooms, there was too much smell of cigarette in the corridors.

    The breakfast was good. The chef was great and communicated very well.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    7.9
    Value for money, good for business travel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Place needs some work, Parking was a additional fee, should have had a note about that on the quote, there is not enough parking.

    Very good location for business, would not have to stress about the Cape town traffic, close to the airport, food places open till 4am. Area is very safe. Staff is friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    2.5
    This place is a dump.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stains on carpets, stains on bedding, stains on table clothes in dining hall. Rooms are not insulated so you can hear anything and everything your neighbour does. Food selection at buffet is minimal and cheap. Roof in dining hall was dripping water onto the floor right by the food. Open wire in our room, maintenance work is shoddy to say the least. Amenities are cheap and nasty. No cream is provided, just a shampoo and a bar of soap. The amenities are also not replaced daily so you have to survive on what you get. Toilet paper is not replaced when housekeeping clean the room. DSTV selection is very limited. No keycards, you have to manually open an lock your doors. Shower had mould in it between the grouting. Just do yourself a favour and stay elsewhere.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    Amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some changes could be made to the bathroom.

    The staff is awesome! Very friendly and makes you feel at home. The room was nice, had this whole "homey" feel and the pillows on the bed was like heaven 😁

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    4.6
    Service and facilities were just adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I suppose for the price what did I expect. Small things though. Corridor carpets need cleaning. Windows need washing. Window frames need to be changed. Staff need to be more customer and value centric and management needs to be changed.

    Room was to standard with the exception of a few minor things as mentioned below.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    8.8
    Home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was comfortable ,nice and clean. The breakfast was lovely big ups to the chef. And the lady at the front desk was very helpful and friendly not to mention the others they were extra cool keep up the good work guys.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all,only the staff was friendly

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.5
    Friendly, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool chairs horrible. Fell apart.

    Great breakfast selections Nice pool

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.1
    We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Looking foward to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ironing room was too hot.If tbey could install aircon or put a fan.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    If I return to Cape town someday I'll stay at Lady Hamilton
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Paint on the walls please!

    Breakfast was just for me!!! Yoghurt ans fruits and that excellent brown bread with seeds on it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    3.3
    Tired hotel, lazy management
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and tired hotel. Could do much better at this location. We felt that the management had just allowed this hotel slide.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    4.2
    bad
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the lack of management intervention when other guests got out of hand

    nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The close proximity to the attractions. The friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Little Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Breakfast was par excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast was very good, big selection.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room smelled like someone had smoked in it

    Breakfast was very good, big selection.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    4.6
    Dinggy carpet was an issue
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not vegetarian friendly

    Dinggy carpet was an issue

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    6.3
    The room was smelling tobacco and we had to complain more...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smelling tobacco and we had to complain more than once before we were moved to another one.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    5.4
    Friendly and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms need upgrade. Tap broken - light not working. Paintwork need redoing

    Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    5.8
    Well well not that bad overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Did not like the twin bed.Failed to negotiate double.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    4.2
    bad bathrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    5.0
    Just the location of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel itself is old . Carpets need to be renewed walls need fresh painting.

    Just the location of the hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    10
    beautiful atmosphere , clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    beautiful experience friendly helpful staff, clean room with balconies.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    7.5
    Room comfortable and clean. Breakfast ok and price for December great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet making a noise for a while after being flushed. Hygiene in breakfast section not that good.

    Clean room and bedding.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    8.3
    Location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated and bathroom a bit old.

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    2.9
    Unpleasant experience at Lady Hamilton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room were not in a good condition. No hot water.

    The breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    5.8
    The manager was a professional, reasonable lady, but staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby smelled bad

    The manager was a professional, reasonable lady, but staff mostly mediocre.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    7.1
    The chefs cooking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    The chefs cooking

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    7.1
    Delicious breakfast & comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom/toilet floor was disgusting made it worse for not putting floor mats :( Pedestals had dust on

    Delicious breakfast & comfy bed

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    9.6
    Nice and restful over the period of my stay,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Tranquility away from the hectic Inner Town city night lifestyle.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    9.6
    Location and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi connection

    Location and service

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    10
    great stay
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff. Great breakfast. Great stay. Booked another night as was so good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    5.0
    will not come bath there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets- dirty and stuffy. The bathrooms

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    10
    It was fulfilling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twin bed

    The chef

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    3.8
    Clean bedding and aircon working
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    looks shabby and unclean. needs maintenance

    Clean bedding and aircon working

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    7.9
    The breakfast good variety
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee facilities in rooms

    The breakfast good variety

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    7.5
    It's Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room comfort, Carpets had stains

    Private tranquil location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    10
    Like home and affordable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cubicle was broken.

    A home like feel. Close to public transport, restaurants and pubs. Walking distance to beautiful public gardens.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    7.1
    Our stay was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe a little bar fridge in the room and some complimentary coffee/tea or even bottled water

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    7.1
    satisfactory for the price paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cold tap in bath could not be turned on , no double bed though requested , no coffee or tea in room

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    6.7
    Hospitality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lost my shirt

    Hospitality

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    6.7
    O.k. may by the next time it's better with out noises! Very time I have a good hope.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The renovate notices in the Hotel. You can not sleep very well.

    Friendly staff in the hotel. And the breakfast is very good. Also the bar is good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    7.1
    The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was tasty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Even after making an online booking,,we arrived and their systems were down,,we had to spend the day loitering the streets

    The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was tasty

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    7.5
    The hotel is in a fab location, and staff are very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's a bit worn and could do with a deep clean (the breakfast area feels sticky, and the windows looked grimey). No security bars at the windows and balcony doors.

    The hotel is in a fab location, and staff are very friendly and helpful. It's good value for money for the offer I got.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    Amazing value for money!
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Wifi only available in the hotel lobby, but I'm not really complaining, At least there is wifi.

    Amazing value for money!! Secure, locked parking Great breakfast selection Clean, comfortable rooms FANTASTIC STAFF!

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    6.3
    At the discounted rate I got, when one considers the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room had an air of stale smoke. It's an old hotel and it's as though years of smoke over the last 50 years have baked into the carpets and walls. I found it unpleasant. The buffet dinner and the bar match the hotels 3 star quality status, but both come at 4 star pricing. Neither is good value. Makes no sense when you can just walk the 100m to Kloof street.

    At the discounted rate I got, when one considers the breakfast was included, then the place was good value for money but I wouldn't pay full fare.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    6.3
    nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We booked and paid for twin bedroom for 4 days and after lot of lies, delays by management and with fighting we got twin bedroom after 2 days. this means we have paid unnecessary additional amount to hotel for 2 days the infrastructure is not built effectively that even some noise with friends should not went out immidiately causing disturbance to other guests The photos appeared in booking.com does not match with reality

    nice breakfast the location of hotel (every location is between 5-6 km radius of circle only) parking facility

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    4.2
    Location was ok, reception was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room quality was poor (there was an odour in room, safe in the room did not work etc. etc., breakfast choices were less and it was not very well prepared. Wifi only in common areas.

    Location was ok, reception was good.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    5.0
    no mirror in bathroom and we were given budget room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    no mirror in bathroom and we were given budget room and charged for normal room better value for money elsewhere will not support this hotel in future

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    6.3
    Good location, and a room was available when we booked quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Generally run down appearance of the building. Small old bathroom with a broken showe door which could not be closed. No parking on the premises.

    Good location, and a room was available when we booked quite late. Good breakfast with helpful and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    4.2
    view of the table mountain and the swimming pool
    • Couple

    I didn't like the room of the facility or the bathroom it was extremely hot , did have a air con that was out of order , and also didn't have a tv remote for our television.We had to pay for the parking and we already spend so much money on a room that's not worth it.

    view of the table mountain and the swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    5.4
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had booked several rooms and most of them had Air con that didn't work or were very noisy. not the best showers and our towels had big holes.

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    7.1
    It was near where I needed to be the following morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Food was not great. No soup for dinner as a starter, bread stale, roast beef overcooked, vegetables overcooked and bland, 4 types of cheesecake that was bought in and plastic in taste. Not a good variety or love put into the meal. Breakfast fruit was cut the day before, only thing hot about the "hot" breakfast were the eggs fresh off the grill. Pastries and muffins did not look appetizing. Did not feel it was value for money @ R175pp for dinner

    It was near where I needed to be the following morning. Fair rate. Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    7.5
    Front desk staff and convenient location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dining staff were unfriendly and often station unmanned. There is no Internet in rooms only in lobby thus it is not conducive for work/business trip. Bathrooms are very outdated, carpets old and dull, towels are old and hard, the property needs renovation but has great potential.

    Front desk staff and convenient location.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    3.3
    The bed was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room smelt like it had been fumigated. Killed two cockaroaches in the room. Sliding door was damaged, difficult to lock as well as being filthy in the slides on the floor. Some staff totally disinterested, can hardly communicate in English. Doorman who stands at the door but doesn't open and close it for guests? I would not recommend this hotel or ever stay there again. Oh, Their brochure lists a whole bunch of TV channels, TV did not work. No one interested in helping.

    The bed was comfortable

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    7.5
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old, really needs renovation Stained curtains, used carpets, furniture, etc(beds and toilets were clean though) Free wifi only covers reception

    Central location Relatively Cheap Friendly staff Good breakfast Private parking but plenty of space outside Pool Quiet

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    9.6
    My room was ready when I arrived (ahead of check in time) -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room had a nicely positioned tv to watch while on/in bed but there was no remote provided for it. Part of shower head fitting was missing so water came out as a solid jet (as if from a tap) - no spray. Toiletries not in keeping with image of hotel - v cheaply packaged.

    My room was ready when I arrived (ahead of check in time) - clean, spacious and quiet, overlooking pool. Staff were professional, friendly and polite. Location - quiet, clean and safe neighbourhood. Within walking distance of good choice of restaurants, cafes, bars shops, and bus stops. Liked public lounge with selection of papers.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    3.3
    I didn't like one thing about my stay at The Lady...
    • Solo traveller

    Don't be conned by the photographs you view online. The hotel is rundown. The Lady Hamilton Hotel might be situated in a convenient location but their rate per night for a three star establishment in need of a lot of attention is unacceptable! The staff, in my opinion were not suited to hospitality.

    I didn't like one thing about my stay at The Lady Hamilton. In fact, I couldn't wait to get out of the place.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    2.9
    Just the Name
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    dirty carpet, walls and doors basin not draining, shower sprayed straight out from wall into bath room area, chipped paint on doors. rising damp in dining room cracks in walls, drip marks down the paintings in the dining room. Damp marks in ceilings

    Just the Name

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    5.0
    The location is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is in a perfect location for exploring the hub of Cape Town. Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful - however the cleanliness of the rooms were way below par. We stayed for two nights and ended up moving 3 times. Our second room was infested with bed bugs. The breakfast was not good - I think the jam has expired 3 times and the croissants were old. This hotel has a nice pool and great potential. If more attention was paid to cleanliness of linen, throws and pillows on the bed and especially the bathrooms - it could be great. Pity.

    The location is fantastic. We walked to long street and back to the hotel after partying till 3 am and felt very safe. There is lovely park nearby which made for a great run in the morning. The pool is a treat. The night manager was lovely and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    10
    Generally very well mannered staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Free WiFi is only available at the main lounge area. Should get a proper configuration to allow access of WiFi in the rooms....

    Generally very well mannered staff. Made me feel at home.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    9.6
    breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    having to pay extra for parking it should be in the package.

    breakfast was good. the staff were really friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    6.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms need to be upgraded.

    Good location. Nice breakfast.

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: