Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Lairds Lodge Country Estate This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

8km from Plettenberg Bay and 20km from Knysna (Signage on the N2 Hi-Way), 6600 Harkerville, South Africa

#5 of 6 hotels in Harkerville

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 30 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    10
    A definite location to visit on the Garden route.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi did not work consistently (challenge for teenagers) often not connecting, but on the positive that you enjoy the surroundings.

    Dinner is exceptional Wonderful team that looks after you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2018

    10
    We stayed at this excellent private owned lodge for 3 day’s...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed at this excellent private owned lodge for 3 day’s cruising the venues of the Gardenroute! I assume this is a highlight of the gardenroute at the qualitylevel of Franschhoek estates if you prefer a stylish lovely ambience paired with excellent Cuisine. Great 💕✌️💕

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2017

    9.6
    A countryside retreat on the Garden Route
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was looking a little tired and let the bedroom down.

    Amazing breakfast. Beautiful and unique property. Dinner was great and a fantastic concept with the communal dining and mixing guests together, however it would have been good to know prior to arrival that there is no choice menu for dinner.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2017

    7.9
    We had the largest, best furnished suite here ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff is just overdoing it, pushing it over the top so you do not longer feel comfortable, some restraint would be nice. The braai was really bad, the meat was not tasty and dry. When leaving I was pushed to tip on the high price for the room renting also. Not my best experience at all. Glamour and glitter but missing a soul.

    We had the largest, best furnished suite here ever. The swimming pool area and the gardens are also very fine.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2017

    10
    We enjoyed a wonderful relaxing few days at Lairds Lodge Country Estate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have liked a better choice of salads and vegetables particularly at the Barbeque. Also a better choice of desserts. Other than that, the food at 'Lairds' was very good.

    The staff were most pleasant and helpful. I liked the way that jugs of iced tea and water were left out at the poolside for guests to help themselves. The bedrooms were very comfortable and the free Wifi was a very welcome addition.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2017

    8.3
    Boutique hotel near Plett
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent swimming pool area. Attractive garden. Very good dining room and lounge. Very good food. Bedroom and bathroom fine but not up to the same high standards as the communal areas. Staff very friendly but not that polished.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2017

    10
    Fantastic! Food lovers: go there!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing - because it was FANTASTIC!

    Everything was GREAT! Service and food were impeccable !!!! Nice hotel and surroundings, very cosy. Very well located

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2016

    10
    A lovely break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only negative,which has no reflection on the standard of accommodation, is that I thought it was on a country estate so was expecting more outdoor space to walk etc. This did not affect our stay at all though.

    We loved the friendly staff, comfy bed, spacious room and delicious breakfast. Every corner is tastefully decorated and homely.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    7.5
    Access from a corrugated dirt road full of potholes!
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The tranquility & the sounds from the birds and animals!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    10
    First class
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit cool in dining room.

    Great restaurant and staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    10
    Excellent service and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cold in bedroom. Extra duvet provided.

    Excellent service and fantastic food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2017

    6.7
    Ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decor needs improvement and bad smell of damp in the room.

    Food was good and nice atmosphere amongst the guests. Staff are lovely.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2016

    7.9
    The food and main building were excellent as was the service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact that the rooms are some distance from the main building and the access road is not tar means that in rainy weather this would be a problem.

    The food and main building were excellent as was the service

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2016

    10
    Great room, very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great room, very comfortable. Food beautifully presented and delicious. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. We loved the quirky colonial decor.

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2016

    10
    The food was fantastic especially the dinners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The food was fantastic especially the dinners. Staff were wonderful and made you feel at ease and attending to every request. Location is nicely situated between Plett and Knysna to allow you to explore the area

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2015

    9.6
    We loved the friendly accommodating staff, who went out of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We loved the friendly accommodating staff, who went out of their way to assist us in looking after our toddler during meals. The decor and ambiance of the hotel is excellent. Our entire stay was just extremely comfortable.

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2015

    5.8
    The food was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is located close to a high way which meant noise all the time when sitting in the garden. The pool was very small and was not cleaned, nobody wanted to use it. Although the food was good we would not recommend this place.

    The food was really good.

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2016

    10
    Accommodation very good with lovely decor and staff are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not applicable

    Accommodation very good with lovely decor and staff are superb

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2015

    9.6
    Best service I ever experienced anywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Best service I ever experienced anywhere. They go the extra mile, always. Lovely room and surroundings, superb food.

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2015

    10
    Warm and friendly, but with great interiors and decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food was a little over-ambitious.

    Warm and friendly, but with great interiors and decor. Altogether extremely stylish.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Guests also reviewed these properties: