Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Loggia Gateway Apartments 4 stars

15 Zenith Drive, 4320 Durban, South Africa

#79 of 111 Holiday rentals in Durban

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 71 apartment reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was taken to an apartment a short distance from La Loggia .The room has old furniture that doesn’t look clean. Skew mirrors on bedroom wall that look like they are about to fall off. This is a big apartment in an ideal location but it needs to be renovated from top to bottom.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Confusion when I arrived about place to fetch keys. The apartment had some maintenance problems. A broken bar stool, toilet kept flushing on its own, Bed's head board banged against the wall when I rolled over in bed

    The size and location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This apartment has an extremely tiny bathroom. There should be a disclosure about it. Breakfast is also served off site so if you don't want to spend time and extra money on traveling to the main house (5 minute drive away) don't pay for breakfast. The staff is friendly but the owner was not a pleasant person at all.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The apartment was in a really sleazy area. The shower room was tiny and not easy to stand in. The overall cleanliness was not great.

    Big apartment lots of space in lounge area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast that was paid for is too far from accommodation. Its was not practical. Not detailed enough when booking. Key pick is also out of the way.

    Great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom is abit small but it was manageable. Cleaniness can be improved.

    Great customer service from the hostess. Lovely room with attention to detail necessities that were provided. Excellently affordable for a group of mid 20's. Well Done Ingrid! It is definitely value for money!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was unhappy for breakfast because I have to drive from the apartment to eat somewhere else of which I was not told when I was making my booking

    It was comfort. Everything was up to standard

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water....better , cleaner smelling apartments

    The room had a very bad odour. I complained alot when checking out and the host didn't even bother to call us. The hot water just turns off automatically while bathing...horrible, terrible stay we had to say the least...we had to clean the tiles and counter tops in order to eliminate the stench. Wouldn't never recommend to anybody

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to obtain keys from another location. Staff wanted to travel in our vehicle to apartment which was not possible. Extremely rude owner who put phone down on me. Apartment was extremely dirty, bathroom was very small. There was no breakfast as promised and included in price, no swimming pool, no view of ocean, no barbecue facility, no restaurant, no room service! There was wifi but no one communicated to us the password and as owner had already slammed down phone once was not prepared to call again.

    Air con

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom facilities was too small and cramped. had to go to the b&b to have breakfast.

    the location was very convenient and the overall accommodation was good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was an effort to walk upstairs. I expected a room with a little dinette and kitchenette to do our own cooking.

    The bed was dressed very elegantly. The interior design of the rooms and en suite was stunning. Its a beautiful sea facing view. Unique garden design and lighting around the pool area was exotic

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there was alot of maintenance carried out on either side of the apartment we were in. It was extremely disturbing especially for my 8month old baby. There was no communication to us regarding the maintenance (breaking down of walls). When we arrived the apartment was neat, however it was not cleaned properly, floors and bathroom sink was dirty.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not a 2 bed apartment as shared with us and we had 2 children. They had to sleep in the lounge; one on a single bed one in a couch the entire week! There is no swimming pool or sea view as mentioned on the advert. The shower/toilet room is so tiny you can't assist children to bath. The apartment has poor ventilation. The apartment is located on a very noisy street. I will NOT recommend this property especially to families.

    Close to a big shopping mall, Gateway

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lights not working in Kitchen and different globes not standard, toilet paper holder broken, no proper Shampoo or soap in shower, only empty containers, seems like left by previous tenants. Mirrors behind double bed not sized correctly, hanging down below the headboard, turning in bed made a noize eventually placed a pillow behind headboard not to make racket when turning in bed. Single bed foot broken and while sleeping colapsed on 1 side. Accomodation stated 1 room sleeps 4 and only cutlary cater for 2 and in some cases more than required. All mismatched plates and felt like camping and sharing. No maintanance on the appartment done in some time. I stay in a lot of accomdation and Time share and have found this type of accomadation leaves a lot to be disired. This was at the spur of the moment and realize my mistake. Accomodation at the coast invairably not well looked after.

    Fairly large and comfortable TV size fine and DSTV ok

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I phoned the lady she was so impatient I couldn't even finish what I was asking to her she hang up. When we arrived she didn't explain anything about our stay she just send one of her cleaners to accompany us to where our room was. We had to drive with her in our car to show us our room very poor service!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The address on booking.com is different to the accommodation address. The inconvenience of having to phone and find the correct address. The pillows could be a little bit more fluffy, found them to be a bit hard.

    The apartment is spacious, good Wi-Fi connectivity. Friendly staff and owner.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The state of maintenance of the building is not good. Front office Staff has no respect for guests and ignore their presence. The lady who organized the accommodation responded to my question about locating my family which I booked there with a derogatory tone.

    Location was good and close to major attractions

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclean unkept unit.with cockroache

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell! It doesn’t smell well, there people used to smoke.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    THERE WAS NO BREAKFAST INCLUDED

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfasts were out of this world. The room luxurious with all the trimmings needed. The staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I was told that I was expected at Lallogia on 07 October instead of being expected on 06 October.

    Yes

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have recieved more assistance from owner upon arrival. Trouble to find correct parking

    Room was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    safe parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a marvelous weekend la loggia apartment,it was was,I can't wait to visit again....

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single bed needs to be replaced and the tiles/carpets need cleaning

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment is not neat. Curtains are falling off.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood was noisy

    Big spacious apartment

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell, isn't well ventilated or aired

    Bed was super comfy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was tiny and the shower drain full of hair.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bedding on the double bed was dirty. The bathroom was not clean. Freezer/fridge hasn't been cleaned for a very long time.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a perfect getaway home

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    the dstv bouquet and the bathroom

    the spacious lounge

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom squashed

    Spacious

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything not to like. Everything was in close proximity.

    The setup of the apartment was just beautiful and so comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small.

    The pool was very nice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom space

    Free wifi

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ash trays on balcony were not cleaned out.

    The corner sofa set was amazingly comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was no iron available.

    Very comfortable and easily accessible.modern decor & fittings.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in you have pick keys from somewhere

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Going back to normallity of JHB.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Family with older children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom to small pillows not comfortable fridge was not defrost - door not closing wifi not working certain lights not working

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom is way too small

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there could have been complimentary drinks in the fridge

    It was clean and user friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1, We were not told, upon booking, that breakfast would be a 6 kilometre drive and was only served up to 9.30am. 2. Very basic breakfast, no continental selection....very basic. 3. the bedroom we had was none of those on the photos, we did not even STAY at the place shown in the photos, we were put into a place 6 kilometers away, far from the beach, with no view but the back of a building, no pool, and a small pockey bedroom with a small bed and a tiny little bathroom no bigger than a cupboard with no bath tub. 4. Cheap, MR Price décor. Unmatching kitchenware,unmatching mugs, glasses, even the cutlery was cheap and all different! 5. The owner did not so much as get up to greet us on arrival and was not interested in us. 6. Each morning we were disturbed with the staff knocking at the door incessantly. The first day it was to force us to allow others to look at the flat whilst we were busy bathing, the second morning we were trying to sleep-in after a busy Saturday and they just kept knocking and wanted us out within half an hour even tho we ad requested a late check-out! 7. The lounge has a massive glass window with a view of the back of another building, but there are no lace curtains so if you leave the main curtains open, you have a massive audience fro across the street! 8. Bedroom is hot and tiny with no air flow. If you leave the small window open you are blasted by the sound of people taking the lift right next to the bedroom window. 9. Lounge lights, most bulbs not working! 10. we could not get the wifi to work. 11. Cheap bottle of colgate conditioner and no shampoo...no individual gels and creams and shampoos. 12. shower tiles broken on the floor. 13. Our requests made on booking were flatly ignored. 14. No flat sheet between us and the duvet which was clearly not freshly laundered before we arrived. 15. The lounge curtains hanging off their hooks. Really poor attention to detail. 16. If you are used to a certain standard, this place is not for you.

    Large living room, but mostly empty with no dinging table! Cheap cushions everywhere.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Minute uncomfortable bathroom-- shower door broken-- bed sheets very poor and full if holes-- duvet was fine. Insufficient cutlery and crockery. Wi fi mostly didnt work.

    Full DSTV bouquet Spacious living area

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Kitchen could do with a bigger fridge/freezer.

    Great location, both for business and leisure. Steps away from Gateway Mall and less than 5 minutes from Umhlanga beach. Modern / clean and comfortable apartment with excellent security and safe parking.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was forced to stay at a bed and breakfast owned by the same owner instead of the La Loggia Apartments that I booked via Booking.com. Please book carefully with this establishment

    cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The aircon in our room wasn't working properly

    The staff at breakfast were very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    aircon not working

    location

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Shower and toilet although clean was a bit small and congested.

    The room size and decor was great. Security excellent.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed was a bit short for me and the bathroom is very small

    The couch was amazing and then the breakfast was beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Load shedding

    The state of the building. Clean and quite

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast and very friendly domestic staff

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    waste of money!!!

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the apartment and the furniture very old. what you see on the picture and the real thing are mile apart.

    location

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: