Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Laughing Waters Guest House

S29 Sabie Road, 1242 Hazyview, South Africa

#8 of 17 B&Bs and Inns in Hazyview

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 103 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Heather and John are wonderful hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Heather and John are wonderful hosts. Spacious, comfortable and clean rooms. Very beautiful house and garden in the midst of lemon and macedemia trees and near a river where hippos live. You can have dinner there, which is definitely a plus. Very nice food in a very friendly atmosphere. We would like to stay again anytime!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice crisp bed linens, excellent meals and great hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms need updating.

    Crisp bed linens. Excellent three course dinner. The Malva pudding was to die for. Great ice cream to go with it. The host and hostess, John and Heather were very hospitable. We enjoyed sitting in front of the fire place, sipping on red wine. Thabisile’s culinary skills and professionalism are phenomenal! My12-year old nephews loved the dogs, Jessica and Bella. They were happy to have WiFi access and declared that they want to return. Said one; “The people are kind.”

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    The stay was most enjoyable & served as a good stopover point on our way to Lower Sabie in Kruger.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower head was quite low & can do with some attention. The shower cubicle is large & spacious. Pity about the head.

    Our hosts Heather & John were excellent. Friendly, Welcoming, Hospitable & most informative in all respects. We were offered an evening meal in spite of us not having made prior arrangements which was good value, well presented & delicious. Breakfast was excellent. Thabi did a fine job preparing & serving our meals.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Great and warm experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was perfect!

    Heather and John are wonderful, warm host, who went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and personable. The food was also excellent, for breakfast and dinner. We also highly recommend the panorama tour with John: he is very knowledgable on SA, it's history, current events nad nature!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    We had a wonderful stay in Laughing Waters Guest House, which we highly recommend! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a wonderful stay with Heather and John in their beautiful Laughing Waters Guest House! Our rooms were very nice, the food was great and Heather and John are great hosts!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    overall lovely experience, the gardens for birdwatching were my highlight!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was nothing to not like! my choice at dinner though was average, I did notice the other diners had bread with their soup and tartare with their fish which seemed to miss us! but really just small issues.

    hi - last minute accommodation so really exceeded our expectations! unfortunately had to leave early the morning to get to the Park so did not have the breakfast but was very happy to receive the pack! Room very comfy and the gardens stunning!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful location with very friendly owners who go out of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location with very friendly owners who go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. Food is excellent. We only stayed for 1 night and enjoyed a lovely 3 course dinner. Breakfast next morning was also really tasteful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    A very pleasant night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hospitality was outstanding!!!! Heather and John were most welcoming and helpful with anything we needed. The staff were friendly and helpful as well. The gardens were beautiful with plenty of space for a two year old to run around in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Can't wait to come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved waking in the garden and very private and calm accommodation

    Unique and charming bed and breakfast accommodation set among beautiful garden next to lemon orchard period . The hosts and staff are Charming and friendly and helpful with ideas in the area ... best place in hazyview and value for money !Mohsin&Peter ! Thx 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Peaceful stay with personal touch
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was old but clean. Showerhead needs to be replaced and drain was blocked

    Great location, excellent hosts, good breakfast and they even have dinner options available. Very peaceful surrounding, watch out when its getting dark, you might bump into a croc or hippo ;)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Perfect match! Just amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect: place,room, bed, food, nature! But what made the stay even more perfect was the kindness and hospitality of John and Heather! We had a breakdown in the car and they were relentless! Thank you so much!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.5
    Great and comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We would have liked to utilize the pool however you couldn't even see the bottom. Must up keep it so guests can use it!

    Breakfast was delicious and hosts were very informative. Property is beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect. Facilities at the hotel are great. It has a very nice garden with a great pool. Rooms are big and comfortable. Every evening we enjoyed all together some drinks at the dining area and we talked about what we had done on the day, it was very fun and interesting! After that we had dinner at the hotel and food was GREAT! Heather, John and all the people working there were so nice, always helping us on everything they could. Thank you for everything. We will totally recommend this place!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    Great place to relax after exploring the region!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to access without a car.

    Wonderful lush garden, very relaxing after a busy day. The owner was very helpful giving us advice for planning our visits.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely and comfy guesthouse!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were super lucky to have spend 3 nights at laughing Waters guest house! The hosts are amazing, friendly and super helpful people. Breakfast and dinner was one of the bests we had in south africa, prepared with love and very good ingrediences. It was lovely to spend time in the beautiful garden and go for a walk in the surroundings with Lemon and macadamia plantations. It is not far to Kruger gates and you get a lot of valuable Safari advice from the host. All in all we felt very comfy and welcomed at this guesthouse and we will definitively come back when in this area!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    nice and helpfull staff, beautiful location, nice room quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    place is little bit isolalated so you remain for the restaurant. that is has not the samequality as the accommodation

    nice and helpfull staff, beautiful location, nice room quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were welcomed warmly by Heather + One of the best dinners and breakfast I have had in SA ( compliments to the chef) + Excellent service, we got some good tips for daytrips in the surrounding area as well We had such a nice stay that we extended with 2 extra days

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    Small heaven on earth.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like the place especially the rooms to be heated.

    The location is heavenly n the bedding good as new.I loved their breakfast on the move pack cos we were late for our business meeting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Tranquil Lowveld Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was great with a bath & shower and an awesome garden with lots of birds right outside your door. Our hosts were warm and friendly and a delicious breakfast was served.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.2
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are a little outdated, but the decor with fresh flowers and bath salts made up for that.

    The staff (Heather and Ayanda) were amazing, the place is great for when you want to escape from a busy city, it's peaceful, surrounded by beautiful scenery. There are no TV's in the rooms.Peace and Tranquility at its best.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    tranquil weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit cold to swim, if only there was a Jacuzzi

    Heather and John's hospitality was amazing. Very friendly stuff. The birthday suprise topped out weekend. And the breakfast muffins are to die for!beautiful garden

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.5
    Our stay there was absolutely peaceful and tranquil away from their hustle and then bustle of the ci
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't aware that there is no TV and then road to get to there premises is gravel and very bumpy definitely not ideal for small cars. That is one thing they should add in their advertisement you can see a picture of them road but it really doesn't help much in determining that it's a 6min of a bumpy gravel road to get to laughing waters. A recommendaton of them kind of them kind of vehicle to use would be great.

    I liked them serenity of them place. It's absolutely amazing if you want peace and quiet because it it away from their noise of them city and the roads and there is no TV in their rooms so it's god for bonding with yourself or your significant other.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    10
    Laughing Waters is a must-stay in Hazyview.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything. Everything I was looking for I found here.

    Everything about this property is fabulous. The managers are a husband and wife team who bring a calm and peaceful feel to the place. The included breakfast is a cold buffet as well as hot order. If you choose to dine in, her meals are better than any of the restaurants I ate at plus you have the garden ambiance to view while eating. The rooms are clean, quaint and comfortable. The wifi is the best I have found in all of South Africa. I would choose to stay here over and over again!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    indeed they must keep their standard with awesome services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool their specious rooms value for money the breakfast friendly always.

    The service of staff especially sibusiso and Heather they really make our holiday excellent.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.2
    Tranquil stay at Laughing Waters
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guest house is quiet and tranquil. A great place to be if you want to escape from the city for a bit. Heather, John and Sibu made sure we were comfortable at all times and we're always willing to help. We made use of their advice in terms of site seeing to great success. The location is great as it is gives easy access to Hazyview and is about half an hour from Sabie or Graskop.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.3
    Great hospitality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hospitality! Quiet and nice atmosphere

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    very delicious breakfast,nice communication, safe and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    very delicious breakfast,nice communication, safe and clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly managers, nice place, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather

    Very friendly managers, nice place, good food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast! Large and clear room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Great people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great people. Great place. Great location for Kruger gate and near best spots on Kruger Park. Suggested to stay for dinner : excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Very happy with my stay - John and Heather were...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very happy with my stay - John and Heather were exceptionally welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Very eager to stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hosts, John and Heather, were extremely helpful and interesting. The rooms, gardens, and public areas were lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Would go back for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beds fantastic, hospitality exceptional, grounds are amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful hosts and a comfortable accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hosts were exceptional, helpful and friendly. The amenities were spacious and beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    Generally a lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No TV in the room/no water pressure in the shower and shower head terrible, also pillars too soft

    Generally a lovely place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    The beds need to be looked at.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds need to be looked at. Not comfortable and old. They need to invest in the beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    Excellent place that needs a male host that respects his guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manner in which the male owner talked to us left a sour taste in my mouth

    The comfort and structure of the room is outstanding

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    Very welcoming property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very welcoming hosts, that made us feel at home.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    LOVE THE TRANQUILITY AND PRIVACY OF THE PALCE
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was excellent and the breakfast was great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.9
    Nice stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities a little old, but still ok.

    Very nice stay! We received lots of recommendations from the hosts. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We lover everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Good stay for kruger national park and to panorama route
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The lodge is very friendly. A good starting point to Kruger national park and to panorama route.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely, peaceful setting off the beaten track but town not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good

    Lovely, peaceful setting off the beaten track but town not so far if needs be. Welcoming hosts. Order dinner and relax!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Love this gem of a place!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    Wonderful hospitality in a gorgeous setting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    enjoyed our stay far from the city noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    enjoyed our stay far from the city noise

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing into nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No TV in the room.

    Large room, beautiful location and garden.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    5.5
    Not impressed at all. No TV in the rooms
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were over charged on a tour to Kruger national park . It was an AM trip ie from 5 30 to 13 00 , charged a full price of R3650 . Not happy at all

    Stayed in January 2017

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: