Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Bay Lodge 3 stars

7 Sir Lowry Road, 7140 Gordonʼs Bay, South Africa

#28 of 40 hotels in Gordonʼs Bay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 22 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The Owner and Staff enveloped me with a guest experience that showcased Service Delivery, Operational Effectiveness and Awesome Breakfast's which aspired to excellence in guest service that exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed - Upper Level 206
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Patrons of the bar got steadily noisier and drunker until after midnight. We couldn't sleep with the racket that was going on downstairs from our room

    Proximity to the seashore

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Bed - Upper Level 201
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property has a bar that is operated until late night. During our stay (a Friday evening) the bar operated until past midnight with loud music and doors slamming throughout, which made it impossible to sleep. This looks to be a social hangout rather than a guest house or hotel.

    Room was clean and functional, property is close to the beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I have not bad comments

    Welcome experience was exceptional heart warming. Friendly staff contributed to the experience. Linen and towels are spotless and the property is very close to everything you need.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed - Upper Level 206
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, quiet close to the beach very affordable accommodation. Thank you very much to Candy Fullard and her team for making our Honeymoon very special. You guys are awesome!! See you again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Upper Level 202
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing we didn't like

    I have absolutely nothing bad to say about Le Bay. It was simply excellent. Candy was absolutely wonderful and went the extra 2 miles to ensure that our stay was superb. The place is fantastic, it is so central to many wonderful local restaurants that you can just walk to and there is a stunning sea and mountain view from the balcony. We will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Bed - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    False advertising as there was no breakfast and free wifi as per bookings. Com - won't be staying there agsin

    The room was tastefully decorated, comfortable and clean

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Bed - Upper Level 205
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Would be nice to have free WiFi included in room tarrif

    Friendly and Extremely helpful Reception and Staff went out of their way to make sure I was happy. The location was fantastic, very central to everything and +/-150m from the beach

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Bed - Upper Level 201
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Location was fantastic and Candice couldn't have been more helpful in assisting us with any queries i.e. where to eat, where to visit by car etc - she is a real gem

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed - Upper Level 206
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor availability of TV channels

    Everything was very nice, people friendly and caring.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very clean, comfortable and close to the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The satelite tv was faulty

    The personal service and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location, close to restaurants and a lovely beach is within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Bed - Upper Level 201
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was not very good & couldn't get connected.

    Friendly staff & clean rooms.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The TV is just too small for this big room which made watching TV a bit of a pain.

    The room was a very nice size and clean. The staff was very pleasant and easy to talk to.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was OK, within walking distance from many restaurants and beach. We were "upgraded" to a room with a balcony rather than a dark room at the back. Décor was very tired, fridge was extremely noisy, we had to turn it off at night. Wi-Fi was by a voucher, but it required you to go downstairs in the hall and stand within a couple of feet from the router to get a connection! This was the only place on our month's stay in SA that we had to pay for Wi-Fi. Didn't like the fact that the guest house was unoccupied by staff from approx. 4.30pm until 8am next day. There was absolutely no atmosphere at all, never saw anyone ever in the bar area in our 4-night stay. Definitely not value for money, we stayed in far better accommodation, with breakfast, for much less than we paid here.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was no restaurant as advertised and public areas were a bit bleak but the room made up for this.

    The rooms were comfortable and spacious

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly welcome and was given a very beautiful room with a balcony, breakfast and the quietness of the area.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lounge very dark and uninviting

    Bed very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Good location, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was no hairdryer in the room.

    The small fridge in the room and the coffee/tea making in the room.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The bathroom while spacious needed a little more attention to cleanliness.

    We could walk to the beach

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    EVERYTHING

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The 'Do not disturb' sign was not really acknowledged.

    Location was perfect.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Browse Le Bay Lodge traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: