Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Minor Road, 7690 Franschhoek, South Africa

#16 of 21 hotels in Franschhoek

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 665 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    9.6
    Our best decision was choosing the hotel for our night in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our best decision was choosing the hotel for our night in Franshhoek...and our worst decision was only staying one night. We just loved this place and so did our kids. Fantastic swimming pool, excellent customer service, clean, fantastic self contained cottages, excellent security....just a stunning place with beautiful grounds and a relaxed, restful vibe. Was a stand out from our South Africa trip.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    10
    Family getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful views from our villa, a short drive into the city and an amazing spa. The place was luxurious, neat and very clean - a truly remarkable place

    Family getaway

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.9
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The disgusting glasses to drink wine at the pool Plastic no problem Were given long scratched cups Top Billing was there We were told to wait for them to finish Wanted to stick us in s sauna then flotation pool To keep us quiet and get us out the way When eventually had our treatments your two therapists were excellent They saved the day

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.4
    Thanks but no thanks, We will not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mouses in the room, changed to other building but still daily feces on the floor. Massage gave me 2 days of pain afterwards. Although the bill was fully paid 4 months upfront, I got a full new bill. So you better check before walking out.

    Friendly staff. High ceiling in the room. Helpful trip organser, Craig knew his job.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.1
    Interesting stay in a very nice town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff did not appear happy (common areas, during breakfast, some dinner areas) - overall, apart from one lady we met working in the restaurant where we had dinner (person serving us). On our second night we thought about visiting the supposed more "classy" restaurant. The Maitre D' did a good job of making us feel "not worthy" to dine at her fine restaurant. Something to the effect of brushing us off to the next door restaurant to rather have "casual dining", when I specifically indicated we wanted something more special. Had she only known that I then ordered the most expensive bottle of wine on their menu and left a substantial tip for the only friendly person helping us during our "casual dining experience".

    We stayed 2 nights. Hotel was OK with us to leave our luggage there from early morning (before check-in) whilst we visited other areas (and not wanting to leave bags in car). Check in was smooth. Great fireplace seating in one of the restaurants for post-dinner nightcap.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.8
    We will definitely be back!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV didn't work well. The shower temperature was very difficult to maintain. Eventually my mother just gave up! Dinner was disappointing. Although the staff were very attentive the food was disappointing.

    Loved the glass of bubbly on arrival. The location was beautiful. The staff were absolutely amazing! The accommodation was very cosy. Breakfast was delicious. Parking was right at the front door.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Great property for Franschoek escape
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great property, beautifully maintained grounds. Brilliant value for money. Will be better if have own car, but Property has great driver service (& uber is readily available, & cheap!). Some interiors are feeling a little worn, but this should not discourage staying. Amazing, beautiful property, & villas are extremely spacious & comfortable - & cheap for size & accommodation offering!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    Picturesque environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our rooms were freezing cold and the heating did not work well. We are still recovering from catching colds because of this.

    Picturesque environment. Must be awesome in Summer

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.3
    Private
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic service such as a dust bin in the bathroom. At least a bed carpet for the cold floor Room service would be an advantage Wine is served without a cork screw Limited TV channels. At least a TV guide

    Private Devine breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    We had an azmazing stay and will definetly be back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The travel desk i think is a bit expensive.

    The staff were very friendly and so accommodating. The breakfast was excellent, and includes an a la carte menu. The Spa was so relaxing and the staff are very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel and spa to unwind
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Seamless check in and check out Villa was prepped for arrival with great touches like wine on ice and air conditioning so that it was cosy. All amneties was great, spa was relaxing and staff overall were professional and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous location and views from cottage. Lovely hotel & setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The state of the bathrooms really let the accommodation down as they're not up-to-standard compared to the rest of the hotel - they need a refurb asap. There also really wasn't enough cooking utensils/pans to be able to make use of the kitchen/cook a meal. The only other issue was the service was slow in the restaurant and not a wide menu, which was a bit tricky with kids.

    Gorgeous hotel - we stayed in a 2-bedroom cottage which was lovely with amazing views. Loved sitting on the top balcony with the view of the mountain. Lovely reception on arrival - glass of wine was especially very welcome. Lovely breakfast. We made use of the tennis courts each day and even took a dip in the poo/jacuzzi even in the winter (would be much better if the pool could be heated). We also took advantage of a free taxi into the town (it's only free 1-way though).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.7
    Great potential, but need work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I checked in late and had to find my way to the villa in the dark and all by myself. We were a family of 2 adults and 2 children in a 2 bedroom villa. We ran out of hot water to shower everyday. Also, our towels and toiletries were never replaced on 2 days of the stay.

    The location is superb

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    2 Bed / 2 Bath Villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The villa was really cold on our arrival - our trip was in Winter - but there were heating units which we promptly put on and which gradually warmed up the property. It would have been good if these were on before our arrival. Main property undergoing renovations which did not spoil our trip but would have been good to know about.

    We stayed in a 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom villa which was a great space for a family of 4. Good outside seating areas too (top and bottom floors) which would be lovely in Summer. Well equipped and comfortable villa. Used the spa - and had one of the best massages ever! Fantastic breakfast - lots of choice and with an amazing view from restaurant. Quiet location, a little out of Franschhoek but hotel has shuttle bus available to take guests into village if required.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    The location of the hotel enhances the scenic rooms, making...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff could have organised breakfast better, as they had an overflow everyday and made you wait, they have other restaurants they could have opened up. They also have some finer details that could be worked on, i.e. a broken toilet roll holder, leaving you with no towels

    The location of the hotel enhances the scenic rooms, making you feel that you are miles away in the country side.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that management does not greet their guests or when approched they just look the other way. Our bathroom was not clean, shower doors needs a proper clean Bathrobe was covered in black hair Breakfast room was full, we had no problem with waiting but after being seated by a hotel staff member out table had used crockery on, no cutlery, no napkins and no condiments. Huge lack of training with staff

    Location Coffee supplied in room Rooms are cozy and warm with underfloor heating Comfortable bed View from our room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Le funtastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No i complaints just a good suggestion was to have 2 pring plugs for charging smart devices and to have copies if the menus already in the room for room service.

    Location amazing deal was amazing value and all the deal game with was wirth it for us. Breakfast buffet was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely place though despite the room changes. Will definitely come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting the room we confirmed would have been nice

    We booked a 2 bedroom villa with a kitchen as we had a baby with us. They changed our booking to two rooms instead. They said it was an upgrade as they had a group who booked the villas but for us our main priority was to all be together as a family and to have self catering so it wasn’t an upgrade in our eyes

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    I particularly liked the friendly staff and they went the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I particularly liked the friendly staff and they went the extra mile. This was a birthday surprise for my partner and she was in awe of the experience and cannot keep her mouth shut.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Most beautiful location with superb mountain views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room did not have a view - Next time I will make sure to book a room facing the mountains as they have a spectacular vista.

    Being greeted at the front desk by super friendly staff and a big glass of superb bubbly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    My stay was lovely! Good food and very friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed frames are unstable and outdated!

    The hotel and staff helpful and friendly. They should maybe consider changing all the beds. I was not happy with my bed in my room, so I was given the opportunity to look at the other rooms, looking for a good bed. Most of the beds frames are old and outdated!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Nice but not sure I’d return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floors were absolutely filthy - even though there is a water shortage, floors can be cleaned. Our feet were black after walking round the kitchen and living area with no socks on. The double bed in the master room is tiny. There is nowhere to get ready in front of a mirror - women like to be able to sit and do make-up and hair in front of one, with somewhere to lay cosmetics. There is nowhere to do this. It may have been towards the end of summer, but there was no pool bar service. Quite disappointing.

    The pool area is lovely. Nice and spacious living area in the two-bed villa.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.3
    Facility is great but experience was not, sorry to say. Expected more communication from staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    I ask for a surprise in the room for my Husband (it was his birthday) on arrival and they did not deliver, only afterwards when ask it was done. TOTAL disappointment. Breakfast is until 10:30 but when we arrived at 10:00 no staff to assist, no cutlery at table.

    Beautiful setting with view of the mountains. Very close to Franschhoek.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Total relaxation in a beautiful area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is about 3 km from many of the other restaurants, shops, etc.; however, we had no trouble getting taxis/Ubers to and from the Main Street!

    We had a standard room which was lovely and spacious. It had incredible views and the thatched roof added to the charm of the hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    The staff were warm, efficient and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were warm, efficient and helpful. The views are amazing. An incident re mixed up baggage was resolved quickly, and the manager, Storm, was gracious enough to gift me some bubbly as a thank you, even though I was ultimately at fault! Thank you for assisting so professionally :).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    We'll definately return for another stay, this time atleast 2 days. You will need a taxi or hire car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parts of the hotel were not clean. The stairs we used - next to the main restaurant - had the same debris for the 24 hours we were at the hotel and some parts of the corridors were the same. Being woken up at 02.10am by the night auditor asking us if we were the guests making a noise and when I said he had woken me up he just put the phone down. It took me ages to fall back to sleep. Our booking said check out was 11am but when we checked in reception told us 10am. When we checked out at 10am they said I could've stayed until 11am - this was after I had specifically requested but been declined a later check out as part of the 'Genius' offer

    The pool area is great with a fantastic Jacuzzi. We were the only ones using it so felt very luxurious. Disappointed that they didn't serve food or drinks at the poolside but when we went to the restaurant we loved it. Suggest they should revise their policy and at least serve drinks in plastic glasses. The room was lovely and the bed incredibly comfortable. We had a corner room which had a lovely little balcony with views over the mountains Great breakfast selection

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a full body massage and the beautician took off her shoes and all i could smell was feet. It was utterly disgusting. I stopped the massage and discussed it with the manager who didnt do anything about it. So disappointing.

    Everything. The villas were amazing, bit cramped though. The views breathtaking. The staff were extra special even gave my daughter a little goodie bag with treats. We will definately be returning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    While the hotel seemed a little bit tired at first glance, we had a very relaxing, comfortable time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first room (villa) we were taken to, while spotless, had several issues such as loose taps, detaching door handles, no wifi - being repaired but no expectation when, etc. But we were offered a selection of very good replacements. With a range of excellent restaurants to choose from in town, the hotels restaurants were deserted - even though they were very good

    All staff were exceptionally helpful and did all they could to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Plenty of parking, good food and peaceful well tended gardens, great views of the mountains.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Fabulous place to be when viewing this area!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Availability of house wines!

    Location faultless. Accommodation great. Buffet dinner good, with a lot of choice. Adventure centre on site very professional, and plenty of activities to choose from.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    A Gem that Could Shine even brighter
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inconsiderations from staff who take the easy option like the luggage trolley been bounced down the stairsbefore 8 in the morning rather than following the path.Trolley could have 'air' tyres rather than hard rubber to nullify noise cobbles create . Breakfast was busy,apart from someone checking your room number on arrival serving staff were missing.Cutlery and crockery were not readily available nor was the buffet been replenished appropriately.Waiter eventually served coffee in cup...without a saucer,messed on the table and was never to be seen again. The Salmon and Muesli were superb!

    Front Office welcome was warm and accomodating. Welcome drink fresh and revitalising. Housekeeping popped in to see if anything was required. Wifi connection strong and appreciated. Beds Comfortable. Beautiful Gardens and Views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Staff very helpfull and nothing was too much trouble
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Electric Generator - somewhere outside- was quite noisey at night and the early mornings. (Room 1)

    Had two fire places to sit at during the evenings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous stay. Will go back. Nice for a romantic getaway or with family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant staff at breakfast not great. The two gentlemen that helped were more helpful. The ladies seemed flustered and unfriendly and very slow. Things were not organised. Maybe too little staff? Tables not cleared quickly enough. Kept having to ask for cups and saucers and cutlery etc. Staff not attentive. Plates not cleared away. Tables messy. Food on the Saturday was not great. Scrambled eggs too runny. Mushrooms too oily. Eggs benedict sauce dreadful. Sunday breakfast had much better cheesy omelettes and creamy mushrooms. Music needs to be louder to create a better ambience. Not a relaxing experience. Breakfast at Arabella much better - relaxing and luxurious and staff extremely attentive and everything is cleared away fast so all looks neat and tidy all the time. Staff keep asking if one needs tea and brings it quickly.

    Stunning villa. Comfortable. Beautiful linen. Beautiful surroundings. Nice breakfast on Sunday. Reception staff, bar staff and managers friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    love the place, will go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double bed too small, No dstv available, only open view tv. available?? I think.

    The size and layout of the villa were perfect, but the double bed too small, std. size.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful location, amazingly clean and pretty hotel. Staff extremely friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food menu is very limited. However there’s so many places to eat in the town.

    The location and views are amazing. The hotel is clean, quiet, tidy and very pretty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful accommodation, very peaceful area. Good food, good choice for breakfast, nice lobby area with plenty of seating and very nice bar. Very impressed, would love to stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.0
    This resort obviously is focused on the foreign tourism market-and is priced as such.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cost was high relative to the quality of the unit we stayed in which was dated (old baths, horrible shower head) and was right next to the main public road going past (excessive noise from trucks/buses going past the resort at 06h00). We were a little disappointed. It was not up to the quality expected or the peace we wanted.

    The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful -- our second visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi accessibility in our first room - but was reallocated to another room for better wifi.

    Breathtaking surroundings, friendly staff, best breakfast I have ever had included in our stay -- so much choice and delicious!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Stunning facilities and breathtaking views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived late at night and wanted to have a snack after check-in. The choice and quality of food was not what you expect of a hotel of this standard and price. They ran out of drinks and their staff doesn't have a clue about the wine on offer. And THAT in a famous wine region!?

    Stunning facilities and breathtaking views! Beautiful and neatly kept gardens.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.5
    Otherwise, we had a great time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was not available in the area we reserved. We were not informed that this was the case in order to change to another room at the hotel in advance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing stay in a stunning venue with a few minor hiccups to navigate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communication of the staff was not the best. We booked for an Easter buffet lunch that was canceled and changed to a set menu but we were not informed until after the buffet was due to start. At the end of stay there were extra charges on the account that were not ours and for which the docket could not be found by the hotel.... Both issues were handled well by the staff but should not have happened in the first place.

    Welcome drink was lovely and the villa was spacious and clean. A great kids Easter programme and such a beautiful setting with the mountains right on your doorstep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    A beautiful hotel complex in Franschhoek!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was quite small & a bit too hard for our standard; a water pipe repair was done but guests were not notified beforehand that there will be no water for some hours on that day.

    The Villa was lovely, very nicely furnished and surrounded by gardens & trees; we had our own parking directly at our villa; the breakfast was sumptuous!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    An amazing weekend retreat from the busy life in Joburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facility was great and staff were amazing. The location was ideal as we wanted to be out of town but have easy access to places of interest. The spa was a bonus and well worth the time spent relaxing before a superb dinner paired with local wine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.9
    Sadly, not sure if we will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were allocated Chalet 61, around which, throughout the time of our stay (three days) was the subject of VERY noisy gardening activities. A member of our party unfortunately fell ill during our stay (not related to the hotel!!) and was bed bound. Our request, in the circumstances, at the front desk for the gardeners to move to another area was sadly not heard and the noise continued unabated for the remaining two days. We also unfortunately experienced poor service at both breakfasts. This was our second stay at the hotel and I am not entirely sure that we will return.

    The two bedroomed chalet was spacious, the rooms clean and very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was extensive and the food good. The hotel itself is in excellent condition and well located to nearby Franschhoek. We loved our previous stay at the hotel last year, hence our return this year.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Awesome experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I didn't like was the double bed (I probably overlooked this at the booking stage so no fault of the property).

    Everything was terrific! From the check in, the room, the food, the service, the views, you name it. This hotel is really exquisite in every way and I would highly recommend staying there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Lovely weekend away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Le Franschhoek is one of my favourite places to stay in Franschhoek. The staff always goes the extra mile and the service and food is excellent!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful hotel, outside of Franschhoek, very suitable for large groups and families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant policy is bit weird. There is a very nice restaurant built in the conservatory, but this is open only from 12.00 to 18.00 on Wednesdays to Sundays, during which a band plays live music in the outside section. Those times make no sense at all, and the band plays for an audience of two to six people on average. The upscale restaurant for dinner is either fully booked by coaches using it as an overnight stop, or not in use at all. (???) Also, if you want to use the pool to chill out, be warned that this is a VERY "family friendly" place and the pool is small. The location is such that you will need to use a car to go anywhere at all. If you don't want to drive (remember you're in the Winelands) the hotel provides transport to the village and back, which is chargeable, but not overly expensive.

    Le Franschhoek is beautifully set up as a villa hotel. Your car can be parked right next to your villa (which is more of a bungalow type) and the inside space is ample. The insolation is good too. A spacious kitchen is provided should you want to do self catering. There is also plenty of space for the contents of your luggage. The staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    This is a lovely well maintained property on the outskirts...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a lovely well maintained property on the outskirts of Franschhoek ( There is a free shuttle 3 times a day ). The staff were welcoming and very professional. We had a Garden Suite in the grounds which was glorious. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.5
    Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner on the Terrace - very good ambience let down by mediocre quality food

    Excellent breakfast The space a facilities in the 2-bedroom villa were exceptional

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.9
    Great rooms for families, reception service could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit of a lottery as to whether the receptionist you got would be helpful or not. There was a lady called Julia on reception who was excellent and nothing was too much trouble, but the other 2 guys seemed to want to avoid having to help us with simple requests. Jacuzzi had a funny smell. Poolside bar did not open during day despite saying it would.

    Mezzanine room for small family was perfect. Location surrounded by mountains. Jacuzzi and pool were empty because it was a cloudy day. Julia on reception was brilliant (the other 2 guys not so much!).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful setting for a relaxed weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hot breakfast can be improved upon.

    Beds were wonderful and big. Choosing your own type of pillow was an added bonus! Staff were very accommodating and tended to all our requests.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    3.8
    If you’re thinking about booking at this hotel, do yourself...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you’re thinking about booking at this hotel, do yourself a favor and don’t. Overpriced, filthy and many better options available in the area. If you would like to learn our ordeal, read on. We visit Franschhoek regularly and we have stayed in many hotels and B&B’s in the areas. Le Franschhoek Hotel has possibly the worst check in service in South Africa. When we arrived at the hotel with our proof of booking, the receptionist could not find our reservation only for them to realize that we had been booked in for the wrong night. This was an understandable mistake and they said they would do everything they could to rectify it. After waiting for over an hour we were told that our rooms had been “upgraded”. I asked to see the room before we checked in as I was weary of an “upgrade”. As expected, this room was unsatisfactory and we again had to wait for our original rooms to be ready. Another 30min. After further wait we finally went to our rooms. We had received a personal undertaking from the manager that she would do everything in her power to ensure the rest of our stay would be nothing short of spectacular. Not one single thing was done by management to improve our stay. The truth is we didn’t even see or hear from management our entire stay. After waiting over half an hour for our luggage, we didn’t even receive an apology. A personal promise from management does not mean anything. If that was not bad enough, we requested double beds and received two single beds. The rooms were dirty, the bathroom door handle was hanging off and there were stains all over the carpet. The housekeeping manager should be fired for the filthy state of the balconies, and corridors. Furthermore we were unable to relax by the pool as there were four unsupervised children screaming to each for over an hour. There is a sign saying that children should be supervised by an adult, however this is not the case.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Stunning hotel very comfortable and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot tub - was not the best but I think of water constraints was not clean. The pool was freezing even when 30 c Food was great but in hotel very small portions.

    Great location, beautiful setting, free shuttle buses and pick up and drop off at the airport! Nice app on site. Great wine and bubbles!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    6.3
    Had an amazing time in Franschhoek but wouldn’t rush back to the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn’t work Staff weren’t particularly helpful No high chairs in the restaurant Car company that was recommended was poor Kitchen had no cooking equipment

    2 bedroom villa was a very good size Pretty well maintained gardens Great for exploring Franschhoek

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.8
    Nice stay - but a bit pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a bit dated in general. For me it showed mostly in the bathroom where tiles are cracked and look like they deserve their retirement.

    The location in the wine lands is nice and because it is a bit out of town, it's quiet at night. The staff of the restaurant/bar area is very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    We had a perfect stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband and I are both tall and the bed was a bit too close to the steep slope reaching down from the ceiling. (Room #18) Other than that everything was perfect.

    The staff at reception were lovely and very welcoming. The complimentary glass of bubbly upon arrival completed it

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    6.7
    Very good villa but staff need more training
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in the restaurant seemed to lack training. Some were willing but not all. Eg no napkins on the table, used dishes not always cleared away promptly. The hot breakfast dishes were cold but would have been fine otherwise. Our room was very nice. However although a turndown service was mentioned in the information none ever happened. Also staff wandered past the windows of our villa without apparent reason. We were close to the staff car park and there w as a lot of noise and chat from it from time to time. We arrived early and had to wait for our room which we understand. In most other hotels when this happens we have usually bee;offered complementary coffee. We had to pay this time.

    Our villa was very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice enough, but wouldn't go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed that despite the worst drought in the area in the past 100 years, there was no signage/advice to tourists that there is a crisis and how to use less water/conserve. Very socially irresponsible from the hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.8
    Lovely stay in Franchhoek
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room itself is very dark. Even with all lights on there are just not enough light in the room. Spa was great, but too noisy with trucks and cars outside as its right on the road

    The breakfast was lovely. Such a beautiful setting. Spa therapists was great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.1
    My daughter and I did a "wellness" week and felt totally refreshed and relaxed after our holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It seems the property is showing it's age. Facilities are beginning to look worn and sloppy.

    The people! Especially Thomas and Peter. They often asked if we needed anything and made great restaurant recommendations and reservations. Alison in the Spa was also exceptionally nice and very competent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.9
    We loved our cottage like room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wi fi in room causing much inconvenience regarding communication with family and our office at home . Pool was not very congenial for swimming...

    We loved our cottage like room. Comfortable and attractively furnished.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    6.3
    Average ...there are better places in Franschhoek
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant service was very slow and customer service generally wasn’t great. The property is looking tired and the pool service was not good! Cleanliness was patchy.

    Great location and lovely spa.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    It was beautiful situated, staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should make people aware of the severe draught the Wester Cape is experiencing, as new towles were given each time people used the pool etc. Tourists would be unaware of any water crisis.

    It was beautiful situated, staff were friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel and excellent bedrooms Pool and spa facilities onsite and good dining options Only 10 mins drive to main village and wine tram (hotel can oraganise you a shuttle)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.1
    Friendly polite staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room unclean. Breakfast could have been improved with a little better organisation and better quality bread and patisserie items.

    Friendly polite staff. Stunning location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    6.3
    Expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was chaotic on the first day, but it is a good breakfast. Staff did not know what was going on at breakfast. I feel it is not good value for money for the price you pay for the chalet.

    The grounds are great and I had a great sleep!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    Lovely garden with thousands of agapanthus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Larger area around the swimmingpool with more chairs woudl be very nice. The pool was nice size, but the area was very crowded (after New Year)

    Lovely garden with thousands of agapanthus! Nice view towards the mountains as well. Beautiful hotel, houses and villas.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.3
    We love the hotel and hv stayed before so will go back but hope for something better next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The description of the villas on the website is only relevant to 2 of the 18 villas on site. Our villa was extremely budget, bathrooms are dated and very unlike what is described on their website. It is extremely noisy as right next to a busy road so forget about a lie in.

    The management and reception staff were excellent. The view is amazing as are the surrounds

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    4.2
    Great breakfast and restaurant.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel in need of some maintaince. Paint flaking off the walls. Door handles and towel hooks falling off the walls. Water pressure in the bath and shower quite low and have to wait a long time to fill up bath.

    Great breakfast and restaurant. Enjoyed spending time at the pool

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    An amazing experience, in a truly beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could do with a little updating.

    Small cottage on the hotel estate. An extremely beautiful building, it felt very homely, was comfortable with beautiful views to the mountains and a beautiful garden. The bathroom could do with a little updating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    If you are looking for a place to relax , peace and quiet then this is the place to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives.

    This place is a real gem! Fantastic and helpful staff- very friendly. Check in and check out a breeze and very professionally done. Beautiful grounds with wellkept gardens.Take a walk early in the morning and evening. Outstanding and scrumptious breakfast with many choices. Even a turndown service with choccies on your pillow!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.2
    Lovely location, good sized rooms and bathrooms, pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mention of water restrictions in western cape. We stayed when the area was in the grip of a 3 year drought.

    Lovely location, good sized rooms and bathrooms, pool In beautiful setting, great breakfast spread

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.2
    Lovely rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Transport to Franschhoek could be improved. Would be good if they could provide free shuttles a few times a day for guests that don’t have cars or prefer not to drive.

    Lovely rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    6.7
    Not quite the finished article but plenty of potential.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Villa rooms aren’t fit for purpose. I discussed this with Storm the GM. For a couple they are fine but with a small toddler and travel cot, far too cramped. The toilet in our room constantly leaked water (in a drought, unacceptable). The pool was freezing. Staff service dropped at breakfast after they had a wedding on site, they couldn’t cope. R200 an hour for babysitting services is daylight robbery. Storm the GM, handled my complaints with care and respect and for that reason I’ll be back to stay here as I have faith they will get these niggles sorted.

    The staff were friendly and welcoming. The food was pleasant and the setting beautiful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.1
    Good but not outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome at reception was disappointing. We weren’t offered a welcome drink (despite other guests getting this treatment later on) and no-one showed us around or told us where the restaurant and swimming pool were.

    The room was very spacious and the breakfast buffet was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    5.8
    Mediocre
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not up to scratch. TV picture was very poor, the upstairs loft where my kids slept was boiling hot - aircon did not make any difference. The bathroom was old and cramped, no extractor fan, railings and hooks had been moved and there were holes left behind, shower cap boxes were empty. The safe didn’t work, which was not ideal at all. Pool was utterly freezing and we could not swim in it for long, which was very disappointing for our kids. Our kids enjoyed the jacuzzi, but it was half empty. The restaurant was empty at 3.30pm, but the waiter still forgot our order and only got it to us 45 minutes later after we complained. The scone we ordered was like a frisbee. Too awful. The toasted sandwhich was very nice. Breakfast was mediocre. Croissants were stale. Service was good. This was our 10 year anniversary get away. Whilst we had a nice time in Franschhoek and the restaurants we visited were amazing, we do not feel the standard of your hotel was worthy of 5 stars. The setting is beautiful.

    The setting was beautiful. The gardens were lovely.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: