Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Life on 3rd 3 stars

28A 3rd Street, Melville, 2190 Johannesburg, South Africa

#112 of 184 B&Bs and Inns in Johannesburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 62 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 72

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.0
    I always like white linen.
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small Lighting poor, came to attend school so needed to work through my presentation, needed a study desk, a full back support chair and a study lamp.

    I always like white linen.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    Our rooms were two rooms sharing one bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our rooms were two rooms sharing one bathroom. I would not recommend it to a group not sharing a great degree of intimacy as the shared bathroom has no roof and is connect to both rooms in a way that is like a partial dividing panel that does not go till the roof.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Good impression from Johannesburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room didn’t have a furniture to put the luggage above to open it. Maybe could have one..

    Very friendly staff with fast communication thru email.. We arrived and the host was waiting for us, show our room and gave some advices. The room was good and meet our expectations. The location is at a very calm neighborhood and close to Rosebank train station. You can do everything thru uber or taxi. Thanks for the hospitality!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.3
    The beds are very comfortable and the overall decor is...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room had almost no WiFi coverage. The showers take a very long time to get heated water.

    The beds are very comfortable and the overall decor is really exciting. I love the homey feeling of the guesthouse.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.1
    Perfectly situated and well equipped for those who want to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can not expect a castle at that price... but the view could have been better!

    Perfectly situated and well equipped for those who want to bunk in resonable comfort before they attack Cape Town!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.5
    It was okay
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was no electricity and that we had to rush to mpumalanga and couldn't get refund for Friday night

    That's the staff is hands on when it comes to helping you

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    2.9
    No croissants?
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Europa Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See comment above about bedding. Unacceptable. Very small, pictures certainly misleading. Fan above bed made terrible noise. No milk in the room for coffee in the morning.

    No croissants? Bed was okay, but bedding torn.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    4.2
    Not good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I've stayed in other guesthouses in Melville for the same price, and I got much better value at the other guesthouses - the other guesthouses offer large rooms with large beds and proper private bathrooms. The budget room at Life on 3rd has a makeshift bathroom erected in the corner of the room over a carpeted area. As a result, the room has a feint smell of urine and sweat. There is a kettle in the room with basic coffee making ingredients. However, the kettle and tray is placed on a table at the one end of the room, but the only plug in the room is at the opposite end under the bedside table. When I returned to the guesthouse after work, I found that the room had been cleaned, but that the door was left unlocked by the cleaner. The duvet cover as well as the towel that was provided to me were torn.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    5.4
    Pretty Average
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The parking was an issue, at one point I thought I would be forced to park on the street. They need to do something about the parking. The room was not suitable for someone who is there for study purposes.

    The staff was nice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    7.5
    Trendy space at Life on 3rd
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we had to squeeze past the garbage bins on our way in from the garage. No bottled water in the room. The bath was leeking water on the floor as well as the shower and tap that was leeking a lot of water while I washed my hair. The staff could be more friendly and welcoming.

    I liked the decor in the reception area and the space of our room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    7.9
    The breakfast spread was extensive and great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was woken up very early by loud music and voices in the kitchen below my room.

    The breakfast spread was extensive and great. My eggs were done perfectly. Thank you very much.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    8.3
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sign for the hotel could have been better, but we found it.

    Very friendly staff. Rooms were good for the price. Nice breakfast included. Good and reliable driver Big Boy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Awesomeness place to relax
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Europa Compact Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    T he property is good just if it was possible I'd say parking is compromised

    Nicely quiet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent!!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness of the staff. It was cold so electric blanket came in handy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Excellent!!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was so friendly. They made me feel at home

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    Great Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Europa Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Hairdryer in the room

    Great Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.3
    lovely breakfast and staff very kind
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lovely breakfast and staff very kind

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Europa Compact Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The space in the room was to limited

    Close to the shopping centre and it's quite easy to get to your bed and breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    4.2
    Friendly staff but facilities are not worth the high price. Wouldn't go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been more clean. It smelled like the windows hasn't been opened for weeks when I first got there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Europa Compact Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    the surroundings

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Beulah is awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beulah is awesome!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    4.6
    The staff were friendly
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Europa Compact Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not very clean. There was dust everywhere.

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.8
    It was great!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not easy to find it

    I really liked the breakfast and the furniture in the room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful Option!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Europa Compact Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Typical Joburg security features...

    Great guest house in Melville! Within 10 minutes walk to the shops & entertainment.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    lovely
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They keep little coffee in rooms

    The staff is very responsive to ones need and breakfast is good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    5.8
    Pleasant enough but a little below expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Europa Compact Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Person on duty at reception was inattentive, disinterested

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    7.9
    I recommend it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Conference room not set up.

    Beautiful settings, good BF. Surrounded by trees.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    7.1
    Beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of other people sitting in the courtyard late at night.

    Beds

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    7.9
    A lovely little sanctuary in the middle of Johannesburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very quiet and the staff was very accommodating. They were willing to wait for me because i was unable to make the check in time.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    7.5
    The rooms were clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They gave the room we booked to other people so they didn't had any more double room for us. They gave us a family room in the end but it was very difficult to get to it with the luggage. They put us to park the car very far away compared to the location of our rooms and it was a difficult way back to the rooms.

    The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    10
    Great location, short walk to the 7th Street with all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, short walk to the 7th Street with all the bars & restaurants. Very friendly & accommodating host & staff. We booked the family room, which was extremely spacious & comfortable. Would definitely stay again.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    10
    Cozy b&b with very helpful staff.
    • Group

    Hard to find, small gate with small sign and lights were out when we arrived.

    Cozy b&b with very helpful staff. Nice spacious room with lots of daylight.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    7.5
    Your Staff were excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Room was pokey painted a terrible green. Limited cramped facilities.. Ants on/in the bed. Tv not worth having as limited channels. But it was conviently close to where I was doing a course.

    Your Staff were excellent

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    6.7
    Nice Breakfast, nice borough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the double room (i think was the european one) is very small, the light in the bathroom wasn't working and they change it just the second day.

    Nice Breakfast, nice borough. The house was good, and the staff was friendly

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    10
    Life on 3rd is very well appointed, both rooms & common...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Life on 3rd is very well appointed, both rooms & common areas. Bernard the owner & Lydia the manager are very helpful and will arrange sightseeing trips, personalised tours and Tuk Tuk's to take you the short distance in the evening up to 7th Street where you can enjoy the various restaurants & bars. Great breakfast to set you up for the day.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    9.6
    Wonderful, friendly, helpful staff and tasty breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Budget room is rather small and the bathroom is within the room. But good for the price.

    Wonderful, friendly, helpful staff and tasty breakfast. Service with love and detail. Felt very welcome there.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    10
    The staff are very friendly and kind.
    • Solo traveller

    The staff are very friendly and kind. They saw to my needs, and really went beyond my expectations. The facilities are clean, and the breakfast was good and filling. It is close enough to the Melville hotspots, but in a quieter section. I will definitely stay here when next I am in Johannesburg

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    5.0
    Good location but maybe bit off the track of main Melville
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had to phone to gain acess room very small with shower and toilet behind screen Brown dismal carpet Cramped property with lots of rooms Gave me a feeling of a hostel Had to park car behind other guests and move when they needed to leave Service could have been more caring for breakfast

    Good location but maybe bit off the track of main Melville Friendly manager Comfortable bed Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    7.5
    Wonderful atmosphere in the guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing at all.

    Wonderful atmosphere in the guest house. Not immaculate but exactly how we like it. Great back up services of taxi driver arranged by guest house who turned out to be our tour guide for Soweto.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    7.5
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rooms wer tiny with very small cupboard space and no were to put your suitcase.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    10
    Life on 3rd is owned and run by wonderful people who are so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Life on 3rd is owned and run by wonderful people who are so welcoming and helpful. The location is perfect - a short walk from the shops in one direction and the bars and restaurants of Melville in the other direction. It was really comfortable and the perfect base for my stay in Johannesburg.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    7.5
    Very quiet with no traffic noise .
    • Family with older children

    Curtains too light - prefer a darker room . Bathroom little too small in our room , however other rooms had bigger bathrooms .

    Very quiet with no traffic noise . Staff pleasant and helpful .

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    10
    The location was convenient to restaurants and grocery...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location was convenient to restaurants and grocery shopping. The staff were amazing and made my stay very comfortable and I felt like I was in the house of a friend.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    10
    The nicest staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The nicest staff. Snuggly cosy beds and very well maintained. I will definitely continue staying there. Loved it.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    5.4
    the bed was extra comfy and the room was okay
    • Couple

    the place could have been better and it was to noisy and i just dint like the place

    the bed was extra comfy and the room was okay

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    7.5
    There were no shower caps
    • Solo traveller

    There were no shower caps

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    7.1
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Could not switch on ceiling fan without light being on Guests woke me up on both nights at 2am

    Good breakfast Friendly staff and manager

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    8.8
    Very friendly and accommodating owner and staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    I couldn't get wifi signal in my bedroom.

    Very friendly and accommodating owner and staff. Very comfortable and convenient.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    5.4
    staff was friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    overpriced for the type of accommodation provided.

    staff was friendly

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    7.5
    Friendly reception
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly reception

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    9.6
    The staff were so welcoming and really friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    More parking space

    The staff were so welcoming and really friendly. Thank you Beaula!

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    9.2
    Staff is very friendly and welcoming.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff is very friendly and welcoming. Highly considerate. I felt at home. THANK YOU :)

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    9.6
    good welcome and nice and arty house decoration
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    good welcome and nice and arty house decoration

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    6.3
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the room was located up a very narrow staircase which is a problem with luggage. The floors seemed unstable.

    Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    7.1
    Clean, friendly staff, breakfast ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    TV needs more channels, chair in the room

    Clean, friendly staff, breakfast ok

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    8.3
    willingness of management and staff to assist
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I found the room a little small for a long stay (more than 2 weeks)

    willingness of management and staff to assist

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    8.3
    good people there, very helpful, the boss is good man.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    good people there, very helpful, the boss is good man. They do the good arrangemet for me. And very safty. I have a great time with them.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    2.9
    Nothing much
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room 3 was very hot with no aircon, ceiling fan only.

    Nothing much

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    8.8
    friendlines of staff, excellent booking
    • Family with older children

    friendlines of staff, excellent booking We had a pleasant sray. Thank you , Dr.C.Benjamin

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    10
    Perfect location, nice a safe area, tasty breakfast, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location, nice a safe area, tasty breakfast, very friendly staff. We had a great 1 day tour with Big Boy who was recommended by the staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    9.6
    We had an amazing stay at Life on 3rd and will definitely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had an amazing stay at Life on 3rd and will definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.9
    Melville - beautiful location, trees and nice restaurants...
    • Couple

    Melville - beautiful location, trees and nice restaurants nearby

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    8.3
    Liked how clean and neat everything was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower was poor and needed maintenance. The taps kept falling off and the shower water pressure was low.

    Liked how clean and neat everything was.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    10
    situation à Melville, charme, accueil
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    nothing

    situation à Melville, charme, accueil

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.5
    The staff helpfulness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff helpfulness

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    8.3
    Rooms good, breakfast good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rooms good, breakfast good.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    9.2
    We stayed 2 nights and felt perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No door between room and bathroom

    We stayed 2 nights and felt perfect. The staff very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    9.6
    We were very well looked after in a clean, comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were very well looked after in a clean, comfortable environment.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    7.5
    the staff was very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the staff was very helpful

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    9.6
    Wonderfully friendly staff, excellent service!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms upstairs get a bit hot but fans helped Wi-fi was slow in my room

    Wonderfully friendly staff, excellent service!

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    10
    Location and staff.
    • Solo traveller

    Size of my Room.

    Location and staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    10
    Perfect personnel, safe location, clean rooms, home...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect personnel, safe location, clean rooms, home atmosphere

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 72

Guests also reviewed these properties: