Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lovane Boutique Wine Estate 4 stars

Polkadraai Road, 7604 Stellenbosch, South Africa

#21 of 37 hotels in Stellenbosch

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 209 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A tiny flat screen TV in the rooms. A little bit bigger than the size of a laptop screen which is bolted to the wall and the far end of the large room which made it quite difficult to watch anything.

    LovanE is a quaint little wine farm. Friendly and helpful staff. Spacious rooms. King size beds. We had planned an outing quite early one morning and as breakfast is only served between 8 and 10 am, they made up a platter of cheese, cold meats, bread, fruit, yogurt and muesli for us and brought it to our room the evening before. A lovely wine cellar with great wines to taste at no cost for guests.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I had was next to the night guards area and there was a lot of beeping all night. I just took ear plugs but it was otherwise fine

    Staff were amazing and friendly!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing...it was perfect.

    The rooms were extra special. Big and clean and beautifully decorated.The breakfast was also outstanding. Fresh fruit salad and a hot breakfast made to your order. The omelettes were delicious. In the evenings we could sit on the big balcony and enjoy a glass of wine. Our stay was a truely memorable experience and I can recommend Lovane guest house.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool is ridiculously small. Not very nicely set out Rooms very tiny and uninviting Nobody to help with carrying suitcases upstairs Very basic accommodation Too close to a busy highway No real atmosphere

    Breakfasts good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing in the surrounding area, and no place for walking except on the highway.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very convenient location. 5mins drive from Stellenbosch. Very clean and had everything in the room we needed. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That the place is far from town and the transport fare is bit high.

    Management and Staff are very friendly Surroundings is beautiful and fresh, the aesthetics of the nature is amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant staff and reception staff were great - very well groomed and always friendly. The rooms and bathrooms were more than adequate and squeaky clean. I will most definitely be back!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gate remotes don't work some times

    The food that was prepared for breakfast was excellent, the location is perfect and it was a lovely weekend with my other half.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hot water in the shower - could have been warmer The cleanliness of the shower - could improve The bathroom has no place to put your toiletries

    Excellent staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being locked out and having the wate for someone to come and unlock the front gate , when we were told that the front gate would not be locked . We thought that we might have to sleep in our car . fortunately my wife's cell phone still had some battery life so that we could phone and get someone to let us in .The location was very good as was the breakfast , although the rooms were a bit cold , and some foil or net curtains would be good for privacy in your bedroom , other wise you have to have your curtains closed during the day for privacy .Having said all that we would definitely go back again .

    The location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too close to a busy road. Didn't offer a tour of the winery which was a pity.

    The rooms are spacious with a small fridge and comfortable showers but no desk/table to sit on.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hot breakfast is served too late. I had to be out by 8 a.m but I could not get breakfast before then. If you start serving at least by 7 a.m it would help.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought the breakfast was excellent also the helpfulness of the staff could not be faulted. When booking i would recommend requesting a room on the first floor at the rear of the property. We found the wifi was perfectly adequate.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though the staff were willing to accommodate our request for an earlier breakfast (before 8), it would be helpful to be able to have a 7am breakfast option when travelling for business.

    The staff were also very friendly and accommodating for our late check-in request. The breakfast presentation was superb.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Availability of food at the hotel would have made it perfect.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. The manageress Deleen had excellent knowledge of the process of the wines and was very passionate about her job.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great mattress for travelers with back problem. Rooms very well appointed. Everything you would need. Quite surroundings on a wine farm yet so close to town you hardely notice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was a little small and TV screen also a little small.

    Comfortable bed and nice room.Breakfast was very good.Staff were very friendly,helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower smelled a bit musty especially when the window is closed. And the shower window opens to the passageway which allows all the noise from other customers into the room.

    Friendly staff, yummy breakfast, delicious wine, clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no restaurant here which was a pity, but served great breakfast & other restaurants were nearby.

    Had an amazing stay at Lovane, would highly recommend it. Staff were brilliant, rooms were great & very comfortable. Great breakfast in the morning. Amazing setting in a beautiful vineyard & a short cab ride into stellenbosch for lots of bars, restaurants & shops!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not an overly friendly welcome or check out experience as you would expect from a guesthouse. Not good value for money although accommodation was clean and comfortable.

    The bed was really comfortable. Breakfast was tasty, but simple.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On booking, it mentioned breakfast on the veranda, which wasn't possible. Also the kitchen was closed for lunch and dinner, so you really need a car for getting around.

    Beautiful room. It was really smartly done with stunning brick walls, in room coffee and tea, mini bar, robes and slippers. It was super comfortable and lovely

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me the mattress was abit hard so i struggled to fall asleep. Visibility Or signage when coming from Hudson harder to find especially in the early hours of the morning

    Location was perfect from wedding venue the Hudson. Beautiful place and scenery.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone tried to open our bedroom door at 1.00.....there was a couple outside our room for hours on end drinking wine and making a nuisance

    It was in a wine estate

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a winery room and was looking foreward sitting looking at the wineyards, but what we saw was an electric fence and a grassfield. The Wiens were fare Away, althoug we got another room after the first night, so everything showed up to be good

    Staff was kind and helpfull

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had our laundry done here, and after we left we noticed that had not given it all back.

    There are too many vineyards in the area, but this one is worth going to. All the wines are fullbodied and delicous.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being frequent travellers, we found the accommodation to be overpriced. Great location with stunning views, excellent breakfast, but broken blinds in the bedroom and very little space for toiletries in the bathroom, no magazines are some of the things that need to be addressed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast starts late , it doesn't accommodate business people. I think it could be moved to 7am

    Spacious roo and shower. It was a cold midweek but the staff made sure that they switch on the heater whilst we were on a conference venue during the day. On arrival at night we would find the room warm. I liked that very much

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The service was excellent, the views out of this world. A place to recharge your batteries. Although they only serve breakfast this was made to perfection.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we travelled in autumn, it was a little cool in the breakfast area but the heating in our room was working perfectly!

    We loved the location directly in the vineyards and the very tasty wine tasting! Accompdation and staff were all friendly and welcoming. It was no problem at all to store our luggage as we arrived too early for check in.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Include a flat sheet on the bed! Will save washing and enhance comfort!

    Complimentary wine and awesome bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't connect to the WIFI

    The breakfast was lovely and the rooms were well kept

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    there were two blow-dryers

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is 5 km to Stellenbosch and for visiting a Restaurant we had to drive

    Good breakfast, nice views around the house

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was great, and very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was not always very consistent/strong.

    The amazing and friendly staff!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast! Large, clean rooms!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The environment was nice, just the atmosphere

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a lovely stay but not sure it was good value for money.

    Peace and quiet and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was as specified no complaints.

    We were right next to the delightful plunge pool. Excellent breakfast. comfortable bed and pristine bedding

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful friendly team and amazing property

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly people with a homely breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast starts too late at 08h00

    Nice comfortable beds. Mini-bar a bonus.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    The staff were all friendly and very helpful and the breakfast was truly magnificent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a bath in the room

    Room excellent. Food and hospitality excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom tiles were slippery.

    It was really good. Rooms were comfortable and bathroom spacious. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    Good value for money breakfast with your accommodation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was excellent and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant clean rooms. Excellent service. Fantastic breakfaat

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No electric blankets on beds ( we visited in winter). Breakfast was average.

    Tranquil, friendly staff, very homely

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was music playing until quite late.

    Cost stay. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Warm staff and very helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large bath and modern styling. Nespresso coffee in room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom is small, view is not that good.Fence is outside the room.

    Quite and nice, clean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was excellent...fresh fruit, yogurt, and bacon and eggs. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too close to the main road. The staff very polite but seemed somehow nervous.. not warm as expected

    The wine they produce is nice! Breakfast tasty!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit basic

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacked a bit of soul

    Clean, functional , great breakfast - kind staff. No lounge area, no water left daily in your room, no bar area

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfortable and good location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything

    Extremely clean, comfortable beds, lovely breakfast, friendly staff and location, one of the best hotels I've stayed at!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Vineyard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    pool is very small

    Great breakfast, very helpful staff, clean and tidy room, nice soaps and towels in the bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice & small wine estate. We enjoyed this place as a base for exploring the many wineries in stellenbosch. lovely and helpful staff!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The helpfulness of the staff; the relaxed atmosphere; the wine!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff excellent. Breakfast very fresh.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to do something to improve the garden around the guest house - garden not very appealing .

    Comfortable room and friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No light above tea and coffee station so it was quite dark there.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very hard

    Breakfast was lovely. Rooms were clean and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely location and close to attractions. Excellent choice of breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The stuff was very kind.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location. Quiet and relaxing. The staff was great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a bit small with limited privacy - so have to draw the curtains

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mat in the room that was dirty.

    The bed was comfort and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    n/a

    Very good location , friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Lovane Boutique Wine Estate traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: