Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Majeka House 5 stars

26 -32 Houtkapper Street, Paradyskloof, 7600 Stellenbosch, South Africa

#10 of 37 hotels in Stellenbosch

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 319 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    A lovely gem of a Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Poolside Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment we were heartily welcomed at Majeka House until we left we were smiling. Lovely location and awesome facilities. We especially enjoyed the relaxing jacuzzi and heated indoor pool. Even our room side pool were warm enough to swim in. The staff in both restaurants, bar and receptionption were very friendly, helpful and we received impeccable service. Breakfast at Manuka Restaurant were fabulous and we appreciated the attention to detail. The llighter meals served in the bar were tasty and stylishly served. Cocktails were decadent and we were greatly impressed with the Shirley Temple! Both rooms were spotless and the cleaning staff were never intrusive. My daughters were thrilled with their horse decorated room and we loved the quirky pigs artfully on display. The Spa were cosy and a great variety of services offered. I thoroughly enjoyed a relaxing massage and pedicure. We had a truly lovely stay at this hidden gem and we a can’t wait to return.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Poolside Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really enjoyed our stay. Spa was divine. The welcome at reception was personal yet professional. A weekend spot that is perfect for celebrating a special occasion

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    Loved our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WIFI didn't work unfortunately but that was the only hiccup.

    Majeka was a great experience and a perfect place to relax. I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Thank you Majeka House! I will be back soon! I
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There could be some more vegetarian options on the menu, but it is nothing major considering I experience this with many of my travels.

    This place has definitely exceeded my expectations. It was everything a five star accomodation requires and more. The staff was super-friendly and the service was impeccable. Each and every staff member went out of their way just for my comfort and convenience, which I am ever-grateful for. Although I visited the place for work, I will definitely return with family. Simply amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Tranquil surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tranquil surroundings. Professional reception. Quality service from all levels of staff. Banquet handled with exceptional attention to detail and accommodation of my party. Food was exceptional and breakfast bountiful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Very comfortable, well appointed boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - maybe needs a couple heavier dumbbells in the gym.

    Very comfortable, well appointed boutique hotel. Wonderful, helpful staff. Nice drawing room. Excellent breakfast. Recommend highly - would not hesitate to return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    3.8
    Definitely not up to 5-star standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very average property and rooms compared to other boutique hotels we've stayed at. Heated indoor pool not really heated. ZERO acknowledgement of our double birthday celebration even though hotel was advised of this via email. Manager was extremely rude to me on the phone the day before we checked in and was no where to be seen during our stay. Although the food at dinner was great, service was very slow. Most of the staff were nice enough but they have a lot to learn about 5-star level service.

    Very good dinner

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Very interesting and confortable Stellenbosch option
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Wonderfully appointed room, great spa, steam room and heated pool (perfect for a late afternoon in winter) and very good breakfast. The set menu with matching wines in the restaurant was one of our best meals in our 4 week trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic service and facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The staff are extremely professional and friendly. The spa and swimming pool facility will make me come back yet again. The atmosphere is relaxed and very welcoming. We will be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Magic at Majeka
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had inter leading doors in our room and had to move rooms as our neighbours were having loud and aggressive sex for long periods of time - not Majeka's fault or our neighbours (good for them) but generally don't like inter leading doors in hotel rooms as it does not feel 5 star.

    Absolutely love Majeka. The hotel and facilities are top class.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    We visited Majeka House on our honeymoon, and loved the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We visited Majeka House on our honeymoon, and loved the stay. The decor in the bedrooms and surrounds are gorgeous, the breakfast buffet is sensational, and the swimming pool and spa facilities are perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Superb stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast selection - individualised, get to choose what you want to eat. Bed very comfortable Room has more than enough seating where one can lounge around and rest or read a book

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Pretty boutique hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe more choice at breakfast as in hot food.

    We really loved this boutique hotel, it is very quirky and stylish property and perfect for the wine tasting region. The manager and staff were lovely and we really enjoyed the stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Smart hotel with lovely restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is quite far out of town in the middle of the suburbs. It's nice for a night to visit the restaurant but might get a bit dull after that.

    Beautiful huge room and wonderful food at the restaurant. The restaurant staff were lovely when explaining the dishes and different wines that were paired with them. Delicious breakfast. Nice pool, sauna and jacuzzi to enjoy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.1
    Good stay, but to expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -The pictures of the rooms online just look very different than real life (in our case) -(very) overpriced

    I had quite high expectations regarding this hotel (looking at pictures online) and although the room was very comfortable, it wasn't as spectaculair as I expected. They have rooms that are much bigger and better looking. The bathroom is great, but the toilet was situated in a bit of a weird spot. The bed is the biggest plus of the room, so comfortable! The room is cozy as well. We shared a garden with 3 other rooms, but because you're so close to each other it doesn't really give you that privacy feeling. Also the pool here is really small and it didn't look clean when we checked it. Breakfast really was a plus at Majeka, we really enjoyed that and very friendly people working there. Also the pool, sauna and steam room were great. But overall, I really felt we paid way to much for our stay if I compare it to other hotels we stayed at during our vacation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.5
    Great option for staying in Stellenbosch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt the rooms are tired and in need of renovation. Discrepancy on the booking confirmation leading to confusion and wasted time at checkout. Majeka house is lovely but not 5 star by European standards - I would put it as low 4 star at best.

    Fantastic breakfast, extremely helpful, kind and friendly staff, common areas nicely and stylishly designed, great pool, safe parking options

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.7
    Does not live up to the hype or price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower heads do not work with the reduced water pressure due to water saving measures. It is unacceptable that a 5-star hotel has not replaced the shower roses with those that work with low water pressure. We did not enjoy being squashed into the patio and breakfast buffet room with the other guests - the hotel is huge with a large dining room, not sure why guests have to bump into each other. Flat whites and coffee should be served in ceramic-ware, not glass and should be a normal size, not a soup bowl. Breakfast waiters should be able to take orders. Lunch menu is limited and staff cannot handle unique requests. All staff were friendly, but the junior staff need a lot of training. All this is forgivable, but having been granted a 30-minute late checkout to 11:30, we were chased by reception at 11:20 and had the porter was knocking on the door at 11:25. I shudder to think what foreign tourists must think being treated like this. Very disappointing experience. Management seemed concerned but oblivious to the issues.

    The room was decent and quiet. Interesting decore that is looking a bit tired.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.8
    Wonder, the deputy manager, was absolutely marvellous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast staff badly needed training. Our meals were incorrect on both mornings. The Bar M and the room service menu was very limited.

    Wonder, the deputy manager, was absolutely marvellous. The reception staff were excellent and could not do enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    5.4
    The location was misrepresented in the booking - it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was misrepresented in the booking - it was further from central stellenbosch than advertised. The hotel cannot be advertised as 3 km away when it is actual 5,9km away. The traffic and time of travel make a huge difference in 2km.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful hotel and spa convenient for Stellenbosch and golf course
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Poolside Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom 401 quite dark, semi-private courtyard and plunge pool in shade most of the day.

    Very friendly, helpful management and staff, excellent food at the poolside and in the formal dining area in the evening. Great location for visiting nearby vineyards, 10 minutes to the centre of Stellenbosch. Lovely sunny poolside lawn area with plenty of sun shades.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.1
    Hotel is great - but skip the "trendy" restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If this hotel claims to be 5-star, they need to keep up on some small maintenance issues. The pull-out coffee maker shelf would not stay in place and the shower drain backed up. The neighboring room had a drain for the A/C that emptied onto the walkway in front of our door - annoying to walk through a puddle of water with our bags. All of these things are minor and didn't really bother us - but a truly 5-star hotel would have addressed these issues before putting a guest in the room. Mini bar prices were steep. Great, inexpensive wine is all over the place in Stellenbosch - just not in my hotel room! "American" pancakes from the breakfast menu missed the mark - greasy, not very fluffy, skimpy on the blueberry compote, too. They really need to look up a new recipe, these shouldn't be hard to make. I made a point of alerting the staff that we were visiting for a birthday celebration. The follow-up email from the hotel even said, "I have noted that it is your birthday." Not once in the whole time we were there did anyone mention "Happy birthday!" Did it kill the trip? No. But, it would have been nice to have a little treat in the room or at dinner. Spa: The spa treatments were good, but they need to close the door between the spa and the other hotel facilities. My massage was interrupted by sounds of a crying toddler - it went on for quite a while and only stopped when the child left the area. Aside from the crying toddler, my massage was good - the therapist was obviously well trained, spent time on tighter spots, asked about pressure, etc. The manicure was mostly good - polish lasted two weeks (!), but there was a bit too much cutting of the cuticles. Also, be aware that the three-hour spa package is three hours spent on one massage table - half of that time spent with a towel literally wrapped over your face. It was odd.

    Room decor was great. I liked the ceiling mural and the dark tones of the room. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was nicely appointed. We loved that the pool was indoors and I didn't have to worry about sunblock. Breakfast selection was nice and a little imaginative (fresh health juices, homemade yogurts). Check-in was good and the email communication before arrival was great. The hotel, itself, was nice - a good place to stay with some fun decor that you won't see in other hotels. However, the spa and restaurant need some work.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower wasn’t that great, but might have just been a water saving head due to the water restrictions.

    The hotel was gorgeous, the decor in the common areas was stunning and we had the most amazing spa treatments. The garden and pool area are also fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was a bit dirty and had lots of floaters. The property was smaller than it had looked in photos. Not too much personal space in the sun lounge area

    great friendly service and nice rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.8
    The grounds, room and staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to leave the hotel at 5:30 am to catch a plane. There was supposed to have a security guard on watch to let us out but he was not there. We called out and looked everywhere. We were very concerned. We ended us knocking at a door with private sign. The man was sleeping and told us he was not the guard but he let us out.

    The grounds, room and staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful and very comfortable!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are spacious and interior is of very high quality. The indoor pool facility is very nice. The staff are friendly and the food good. It is in a great location. The bar is comfortable and very inviting!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    wonderful staff, gorgeous rooms and facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing.. all FABULOUS

    wonderful staff, gorgeous rooms and facilities!! delicious breakfasts with choices to accommodate any nationality. would love to return and soon....

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    Lovely treat for a special occation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Poolside Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The private swimming pool was really special. Staff very friendly and helpful. Variety at breakfast excellent. We enjoyed all that's to offer at the Spa facilities very much.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    we will be back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We informed the hotel that we would only arrive after midnight. They would make sure that we could enter, but the gate keeper was not aware and it took more than 30 minutes before they let us in. After a travel time of more than 18 hours, this was not appreciated. But this was really the only negative point.

    Breakfast was really fantastic!! (best we had up till now and this was our 3rd time in Stellenbosch) people were friendly. The restaurant was also very good. it was relax, nice, nice swimming pool(s), room was super.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    5.8
    not really worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the pool wasn't clean the Jacuzzi was broken the steam & sauna weren't turned on..you pay extra for these type of faculties and then they aren't even working or available it was disappointing.

    the welcome from the staff and the breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    The room was so luxurious (paintings on the ceiling,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The temperature of jacuzzi was a little too hot, and the swimming pool temperate was a little too chilly (not really a heated pool).

    The room was so luxurious (paintings on the ceiling, enourmous bed and soft linen). Also, the swimming pool and the jacuzzi and the on site restaurant were fantastic! I received a warm welcome and just generally great service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    4.6
    Below average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wow factor. The shower with fooden floors stank like mould. Small rooms for the price. Not 5 star at all. Would class it as an average boutique 4 star property

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.8
    Comfortably snuggled in luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view, not a big selling point for the establishment.

    Breakfast is amazing, very comfortable linen and bed. I slept like I was on a cloud. Real luxury!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Great place to stay if you want to combine some drinking and relaxing days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Everything. The rooms are great. Breakfast is good. SPA is excellent. I do recommend people have their own car as it is not located in the city centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    Luxurious and exclusive, but with lots of details to feel at home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be good to ask guests if they would like fresh milk for their tea/coffee - I detest long life milk! I could hear my neighboring guests clearly through the adjoining door.

    The coffee machine in the room, comfortable bed and outside area, pool and pastries at reception!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful, relaxed, private.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner is not my favourite, 4 course meal wasn't for me The room was very clean but there was a drain smell from the bathroom

    Beautiful, relaxed, private. The staff is amazing, very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Perfection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were there for our wedding anniversary and the staff went all out! The upgraded our room and helped my husband organise special snack and flowers in the room. Also, the breakfasts are amazing! Can't wait to go back next year!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    3.8
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff need training. The manager was casual and annoying. The check in tool forever. Some knowledge of the Protection of Personal Information is required.

    The quiet environment and proximity to wine farms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Luxurious and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - everything was perfect

    Everything was perfect, the Majeka House staff were up beat, friendly and very helpful during our stay. We were lucky enough to get a room upgrade and were speechless on how beautiful the room was with great views and attention to detail, the food was brilliant and the spa/pool/jacuzzi area was perfect for relaxing. We would highly recommend staying at Majeka House.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    Luxurious stay in the Winelands
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    I absolutely loved my stay at Majeka House. I loved the decor and style of the hotel and especially the bedrooms, which were luxurious and comfortable. The selection and quality of the breakfast buffet and hot breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    The staff are so friendly, the property is magnificent and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff are so friendly, the property is magnificent and the rooms are so quirky and beautifully decorated. We had a lovely afternoon lounging in the garden sipping on delicious wine and eating yummy snacks from the M bar. The spa was very nice although we unfortunately didn't make use of all of the facilities. Overall it exceeded our expectations!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful family weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Majeka House is situated on a beautiful property with an amazing view of the mountains. It has an indoor pool and a jacuzzi - which my kids loved - being winter it was great for them to be able to swim and to hop into the jacuzzi when they were cold. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We had a really wonderful weekend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    I like to accommodation, the location, the atmosphere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thanks for getting back to me! It’s nice change after week of ignorance. I reported lost device with your two receptionist and your manager of Housekeeping. Situation: Me & my colleagues were staying one night at your place after we received recommendation from our business partner. We arrived late evening (around 23:00 or 22:00 – I am not sure) on 22nd of June, as we flew from Johannesburg. We got two rooms – next to each other. I am not sure about the room number, but I can describe you how we get there – it was on the right from reception and we took stairs up. Mine was on the left, guys got room on the right. I had one with living room. I even have pictures of the room, which I can declare, as I sent them to my husband. We went directly to bed, as next early morning we were having important meeting at 9:00. I took my iPad from my suitcase (only one I had with me) and chatted with my husband. Afterwards I went to sleep. Next morning, I took iPad to bathroom and packed all my things, forgetting that bloody device in the room. We had breakfast, we checked out, declaring guys from next room had some snacks from minibar, so I assume your colleague was there to check it. We paid with company card for night and guys paid by cash for snacks from Honest Bar. We left. After working hours we went to new place to stay over – at V & A Waterfront. I took my suitcase to apartment, opened it and noticed I had to leave my iPad at your place. I immediately called to your reception, and I was very confident she would know what I am talking about. But the lady I was talking to (and it was something around 22:00), answered NOONE gave her anything, and most likely our rooms were not cleaned yet, as no one is occupying them right now. I told her I can come over and check the place with her, because there is no other place I could leave the device.

    I like to accommodation, the location, the atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    lovely décor everywhere, aircon worked (remote to dstv was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bar food menu portions a little small

    lovely décor everywhere, aircon worked (remote to dstv was fixed as requested), spa very pleasant with nice ladies and value for money treatments

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    Stay was excellent and I would definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was not impressed with the old style hairdryer in the room. :-( The evening menu can be a changed a bit to cater for the very day person and not just "fine dining".

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    5.4
    dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it is a bit tired, the paint is flaking, the furniture is tired, smells of damp food at restaurant was the worst experience ever

    beds were extra comfy

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.2
    Restful and peaceful!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room Service was disappointing! I had to constantly follow up on my orders. The restaurant was busy on Sunday morning (breakfast) -the waitress had her hands full hence we ended up leaving without getting my order.

    The staff at reception was Wonderful!!! -Friendly and Helpful The decor was Beautiful-I was fascinated by the statue/statuettes of pigs all over the premises. I enjoyed the Spa treatment, Jacuzzi, indoor pool, Sauna etc The food was good -especially the homemade stuff like yoghurts, juices and smoothies

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    7.5
    Good but expensive boutique hotel but poor Makaron restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed with the restaurant. Good choice for breakfast but was served with a very rubbery omelette. The evening meal we had in Makaron was dreadful and expensive.

    Room was excellent and location of hotel was good providing you have your own car.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    Highly recommend this eclectic and friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fortunately for us, we landed at Majeka House by chance. British Airways had delayed our flight for 11.5 hours and we had to find our own accommodation at the last minute. In fairness, we chose Majeka House at random but I only wish we had had the opportunity to stay longer. The welcome we received from Wonder, the Manager, was truly wonderful. He arranged last minute dinner and transport back to the airport at 6 in the morning. The food was superb - a tasting menu - high recommended. The accommodation and decor were eclectic but excellent and the staff were very friendly indeed. Hope to return sometime in the future but highly recommend it to fellow travellers

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    5.8
    Lied to and tricked about the room we were paying for and received.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Poolside Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pictures and description displayed on the booking site for the pool side room we booked was nothing like the room we got. This was as a result of them only showcasing one of the interconnected poolside rooms which they have. After a dispute with the general manager about the pictures of the room shown and the room we were given, not even an apology was received or a simple 'sorry for the misunderstanding'. Funny enough the pictures were only updated on the webpage of booking after we called booking to complain, and this just confirmed that we were right and by adding pictures to the webpage of the other poolside room, that looked nothing like the one showcased, just showed that we were being cheated into paying for a specific room that appeared nowhere on the room choices. The shower leaked onto the bathroom floor as the door had a gap at the bottom. The pool area had no view as it said there would be. Our view was a grey wall. The pool was completely different to the pictures shown. There were no sliding doors opening up onto the pool area as shown in the pictures. There was no 2 seat dining table as described. The wifi was super slow and we reverted back to our 3G data instead. We shared our pool area with three other rooms instead of one other room as described. Nowhere did it state that we have to specify we would like the room shown in the pictures because there was no other pool side rooms shown. So how were we supposed to know you had other pool side rooms if you don't show us. The owner of the place was really sarcastic and ignorant and said he was not going to speak to Booking because they give them good business. Well that made sense because guests that were booking online were being lied to about what they were going to get.

    Breakfast was superb!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    8.8
    Gorgeous hotel with beautiful outdoor area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ambiance of the restaurant wasn't matching the quality of the food - it was a little too bright/awkward feeling. It would be great if the roof covers had been pulled back from the pool to allow for more natural light.

    Gorgeous hotel with beautiful outdoor area. The room was lovely, and all the small touches made it even more special. The food in the restaurant (we did the wine pairing too at Makaron) was fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    6.3
    Fell short of expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV in our room did not work and we requested for it to be fixed twice. This was never fixed during our stay which is disappointing for a 5 star establishment. Service at breakfast was sadly also very poor.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    6.7
    Enjoyable as a base to explore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is desperately in need of an update. It feels like it's stuck in a bit of a time warp. The spa, gardens and outside area could definitely benefit from a revamp. Too much blue outside! New outdoor furniture and some beautiful contemporary pots and stunning plants would make a big difference. It's all looking very tired. Likewise the restaurant and bar area are crying out for an interior update. The hotel is in desperate need of a style make-over to bring it up to date.

    Fantastic breakfast! So much to choose from, including very healthy options, excellent cooked breakfasts, freshly made juices, pastries and even champagne! Friendly staff, particularly the restaurant staff. Big bedroom and bathroom, great shower, very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    8.3
    An island in Stellenbosch!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet is not quite the standard of dinner particularly omelettes may be improved.

    Majeka House is very elegant and classy and we felt almost like on an island. The personnel is very helpful. The restaurant is uniquely contemporary and dinner was really lekker.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    8.3
    Very beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Poolside Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very beautiful and spacious. I think service was cery friendly and helpful but not exactly 5 star standard though this did not disturb our stay whatsoever.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    9.2
    Great Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's not located in Stellenbosch proper but easy to get an uber into town in 5-10 mins. The cocktails are a bit funky and not very good, suggest getting some of the classics back on the list and drop some of the grappa based cocktails.

    Lovely, helpful staff, lovely rooms, great semi-private pool, laundry included, nice location, good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    10
    Heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Poolside Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't think of anything.. Maybe an iphone 5/6 to iphone 4 converter or minijack cable for the sound system in the room?

    Super employees. This was definitely our best stay South Africa. Nice room with pool. Relaxing spa, everyting is perfect in this place. Janice and Wonder (and offcourse everyone else), thank you for everything.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    10
    What an awesome boutique hotel. We will definitely come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No vanity mirror in room, they made an effort. No top sheet, they made a change.

    The attention to detail. The decor and design, especially the choice of crockery made us feel like royalty.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.6
    Makaron outweighs Majeka House, but the experience worth its weight in gold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Poolside Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor and furnishings a bit out dated for price class.

    Quality of food and excellence of food preparation definitely excells the decor. Will go as often as I can for the giftsfrom the kitchen, the fruits of the chef and kitchen staff's labour. Absolutely worth your while to go out of your way to have dinner at Makaron. If you love water: the pools and the spa out of this world. How priviledged they are to have the service of excellent, intelligent waiters. Makjeka House accommodation is made extraordinary by the beautiful gardens, the exceptional pools and spa, but what makes the experience worth its weight in gold, is definitely Makaron restaurant and the excellent wine cellar.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.2
    Lovely Guest House in Stellenbosch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Jacuzzi was cold when we wanted to use it. Didn't like the pillows too much.

    Very modern rooms. 5 star restaurant. Very friendly staff. The beds are super comfortable. Complimentary wine tasting.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    6.7
    Nice but the cracks are showing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The image on booking.com of our room was far from accurate. There was no fireplace in our room and it was in the older block that did not have any of the flagship design features. The room had a damp smell and paint peeled off the walls in the bathroom. I was very disappointed as I believed I was getting the room that was described in the images on booking.com. a fireplace was also listed as a feature of this room. I was very very disappointed.

    The food was delicious, fresh and well presented.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    10
    Magnificent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The DSTV in the room was faulty and had to wait for the technician to fix it

    Bed was comfy and food was excellent.The staff had pleasant attitude and willing to take an extra mile

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    8.8
    Modern spot in quiet neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not that you need it too much for a holiday, but the TV and TV system was terrible. For a modern 5 star property, it should be better. In the morning I could hear people outside my room.

    I loved the cookie jar in the room! And great turndown service. Thanks for also treating me wonderfully on my birthday. The bed was super comfy, great size bath. Lovely staff. Gorgeous fireplace and bar area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Such an amazing place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Such an amazing place! We were so upset we only stayed there for one day. The beds were so comfortable, the staff very friendly and the breakfast absolutely delicious. Can't wait to go back!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful, romantic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn't work in our room, had to stand by my door to get signal (stayed in the furthest room from the reception, albeit, but still not acceptable from a 5-star place. Also, the jacuzzi was not hot the one time we tried to use it, especially disappointing after a lovely couples massage at the spa

    Lovely bed, great breakfast. Makaron is excellent, staff were all super friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel with very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfasts was amazing - Salmon jars and pastries were out of this world.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Delicious caneles on arrival!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Delicious caneles on arrival!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    A little gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wonderful spa experience...awesome breakfasts!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    We loved everything about Majeka :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved everything about Majeka :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Magical rooms, furnished impeccably
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it all

    Magical rooms, furnished impeccably

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful decor, super friendly staff , great food, gorgeous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful decor, super friendly staff , great food, gorgeous fireplaces perfect for winter weekend getaways

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    A small heaven in Stellenbosch
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent decor , comfort and the staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    The hospitality was phenomenal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hospitality was phenomenal

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    We enjoyed the hotel facilities and complimentary...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed the hotel facilities and complimentary refreshments. All the staff showed great hospitality, and we appreciated the well designed room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant breakfast, extremely comfy beds and excellent 5...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant breakfast, extremely comfy beds and excellent 5 star service!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    can't wait to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    small spa...I couldn't get a booking

    exceptional

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: