Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Grand Daddy 4 stars

38 Long Street, 8001 Cape Town, South Africa

#72 of 152 hotels in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 145 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t have a breakfast selection, they would only let me choose scrambled eggs on toast (the cheapest breakfast on the menu), so I had to pay for my breakfast every day because I didn’t want to eat that (even though my breakfast was supposed to be included), and the restaurant staff aren’t as friendly and helpful as the hotel staff. Also didn’t like that I couldn’t charge anything to my room, I had to pay for it daily.

    Convenient, check in and out process is great! Great location. If you have the option to book without breakfast, I would recommend that.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nice, but the lay out was somewhat inconvenient. No hangers to dry your wet towls eg. Limited room to lay down your backpack/suitcase.

    The staff was friendly and breakfast was really good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The basic internal rooms not so good as no natural light . No parking on site although as we had so much stuff as travelling with young baby they made space in their staff garage

    Quirky hotel ,great breakfast , great helpful friendly staff The de luxe rooms very nice where our daughter stayed and were very big The rooftop bar was fab The American camper vans on rooftop look amazing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Airstream Trailer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed only suitable for not so tall people (trailer queen size), faucet in the sink only provided a tiny bit of spray water so could not wash hands properly. wifi did not work on first day.

    central location, free parking service, trailers were a fun accomodation choice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service levels dismal. No offer to assist with baggage despite the lift being out of action. No one to assist with parking the vehicle.

    The airstream trailer was a highlight and something to remember.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast.....a lot has changed for the better in all respects.....we were delighted to return here after a couple of years . No hesitation in recommending ! Well situated and agreeable atmosphere , Thank you !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Airstream Trailer
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very compact and the basin didn't drain the water. The tap also had a weird spray and couldn't really wash your face or brush your teeth properly. Not sure if it was to save water but thought it was a bit strange.

    Breakfast was great, and our waitron was very attentive. The bed was really comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Airstream Trailer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn’t any parking at the hotel but there is a parking garage on the next street at the pick and pay

    I really liked the roof top bar and the rooms inside airstream trailers on the roof were really cool Check in and check out were smooth and staff were friendly Internet was very fast and free

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Airstream Trailer
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were very uncomfortable.

    Location, being up on the roof in Cape Town, the fact that the Sky Bar closes at 10pm so noise is not an issue when wanting to sleep, the staff, the quirkiness of the hotel etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mouldy smell in KAROO airstream trailer

    We were first assigned to the KAROO airstream trailer - it had an awful mouldy smell. We requested to be moved and the staff went out of their way to accommodate us. We were moved into Blooming Daisy airstream trailer. We were so happy with our stay. Sad that the sky lounge only stayed open to +- 8h30pm. Breakfast was amazing !! Staff so friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Airstream Trailer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception ordered taxi for us to go to Waterfront. Driver had no idea where he was headed so cost us a bigger fare than necessary. Reception should use well tried company

    The quirky accomodation with bar facility.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we have to move from the caravan to a standard room. It should be first come first serve basis since there is no way to book specifically for them.

    Love the Iced Coffee...I love the historical feel of the place

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking is always tricky, as you need to utilise a parkade a short walk away. The lively street outside is noisy from the room, not unbearable, but noticeable.

    The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of many amenities. Staff are friendly and rooms are clean and spacious enough.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Airstream Trailer
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was a bit of a mission, but hey, its all part of the experience, So still loved it

    THE BEST EXPERIENCE! Livving in a trailer ontop of the hotel is quite cool. Nice design and friendly staff made this stay super memorable. Will recommend this place any and every day! Something different, and people will be envious of all your photos

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Airstream Trailer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a great place! The staff were great as was everything else.we loved our trailer - so original and very comfortable. To finish it all off our breakfast was awesome. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We loved the staff -- they got out of their way to genuinely help us and they were always very friendly and very accommodating. They made our experience wonderful. The interiors of the hotel were awesome of course. The location was close to restaurants, shops and a few mins away from the Waterfront. Easy to find too. Thank you to all the staff at The Grand Daddy!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Airstream Trailer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not value for money even paying in pounds although it was an unusual experience

    This is a charming out of the ordinary stay . The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast great

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 214 has no natural light as it faces into shaft. Hotel have tried to brighten this up with glow in the dark fish. Avoid 214 if possible.

    Great location, good restaurant and fun boutique! Minutes walk to great bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Airstream Trailer
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Karoo trailer was noisy (day & night), smelly and had mold in the shower. There was a scented air freshener to cover the smell. Air conditioner was too loud and windy for a small space. Generally the trailer was quite run down. We were offered a suite after one night in the trailer, which was nice. The staff handled the situation well. Poor wifi in both rooms we stayed in. Slow breakfast, all portions had to be ordered off the menu. The basics (coffee, toast, yoghurt) should be in a buffet.

    Friendly staff Nice walkable location Fun interiors and decor A little gift bag with cookies and candy was nice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On this occasion we had a room with no natural light, very peculiar. We were not aware when booking that there were rooms like this. For 1 night not a problem, wouldn't like to be in one for a few days.

    We have stayed here before, perfect spot to be able to walk everywhere in the city. Staff welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Airstream Trailer
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My husband and I stayed in one of the airstream trailers for three nights at the end of September and loved our stay! The hotel is centrally located and in easy, and safe, walking distance from bars and restaurants. The onsite restaurant and roof top bar are also great choices for nightlife. Staying in the trailer was a unique experience that we loved. The trailer was cozy and comfortable. The staff was delightful and very helpful. Originally we were meant to transfer to a standard room after two nights but loved the trailer so much we decided to stay in the trailer for the third night and the staff made that transition so easy. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Cape Town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Airstream Trailer
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was down for three hours. Staff had no idea when or if it would come back up and had no suggestions for nearby venues I could use for WiFi instead. This made me spend a huge amount on data, and I would have appreciated some gesture on their part to make up for it. It really put a dampener on the entire stay.

    Quirky, great decor. Delicious food. Some of the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Airstream Trailer
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best staff! They were always helpful and made me feel very comfortable. They helped me with booking tours and anything else that crops up while travelling. I'm definitely going back there.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe that room service opened a little later

    The staff were very amazing, helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Airstream Trailer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Airstream Trailer
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a great feeling about the place , staff were fantastic and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Good accommodation and service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast A La Cart is not suitable...

    Location, great staff, hotel decoration

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Airstream Trailer Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not told there was going to be a planned every upstairs on our deck

    Everything. Location/ trailer/ breakfast/ drinks/ staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Airstream Trailer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi no connection rooftop

    The staff are amazing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unsavoury people lurking outside the hotel at night

    Friendly staff, centrally located, comfortable large room, nice roof top bar

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were fantastic and seemed to take great in working for the Grand Daddy!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking at the hotel.

    Nice people, decor and an excellent value for money room. Close to everything yet quiet enough.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    beautiful décor, great central location - the nice end of Long St!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Airstream Trailer Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its very noisy in the CBD form Midnight onwards, the street crawlers seem to come and make a hell of a noise, that regularly woke me up.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sugar Daddy Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Grand Daddy suit was spacious and luxurious. Lpives the breakfast downstairs. Will definitely be back!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Airstream Trailer
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The airstream trailers were awesome! Surprisingly cozy to sleep in, with cool outdoor terrace / root top to chill on

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room

    Good location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A day without WIFI, they needed a day to change the batteries in the safe and there was no place in the room to put a suitcase

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ONLY negative was that I could not see the outside world from my bedroom

    The staff were outstanding. I felt very very welcome.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price has gone up a lot since staying there a year ago.

    Staff friendliness

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sugar Daddy Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes it was a bit noisy

    Sugar Daddy suite very spacious and upmarket. Great rooftop bar

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor, the location and the comfort.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Cocktails

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Location. Very nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super nice staff. Super cool hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Airstream Trailer
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bin in the trailer, besides the on in the bathroom.

    The shower was my favourite. And the welcoming gift we got in our room for our anniversary.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very pleasant staff, clean rooms and very central, really would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no shower gel or shampoo in re bathrooms.

    The friendly staff and beautiful decor. I also enjoyed the size of the room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Airstream Trailer Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price a little high. Should either include free drinks or more breakfast!

    Love the trailer (air streamer) idea!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Airstream Trailer
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food....cheese platter.little food for price.....parking fees could be included

    Loved the atmosphere and location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unlucky part was the construction taking place directly outside the hotel obstructing the pavement along side the hotel entrance.

    Location of the hotel is ideal for a short city break, staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Having to ask for the Mini-bar to be stocked (in a 4 star hotel)

    The location of the Grand Daddy is excellent for an inner city Cape Town stay. The rooftop bar is a great venue for evening drinks. The facilities in the rooms are OK but, like Long St itself, the hotel has a slightly faded feel about it. However, the staff were generally very helpful, and it remains a reasonable central CPT option.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room had a view to a wall, not very nice. Most TV channels didn't work, telephone either.

    Very nice people and helpful, stylish hotel, very good food at the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Big comfy bed, enough towels and a spare plug to charge a phone, grand. Next time we'll give the trailers a go, they looked like fun. We could be the oldest campers in town!

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didnt like the breakfast, but that is an aspect of taste. Rooms were small, but good.

    Perfect location for partying, very friendly staff, quite and clean rooms, very good and clean room service, very special ans cool decoration on the top, awesome rooftopbar

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    More choice on the menu

    Staff were all absolutely lovely and so helpful. Beds were wonderfully comfortable. Fantastic atmosphere at the roof top cinema.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We booked an airstream trailer so the space eas very samall altough for 2 nights it's a nice experience; breakfasr should be better

    Great location, good design, nice rooftop

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That we only stayed one night :)

    Staff were absolutely fabulous,,, keep up the good work!!! Next Christmas Day, it may be a nice touch to add in a little more of the Christmas spirit - from one hotelier to another

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact that we couldn'tsee the city view from our room window because we had a room situated inside with no outside view of the town.

    The room was spacious and clean. Clean bathroom. Good staff attitude and best service ever. Now lets go down stairs at the Thirty Ate. Loved the breakfast. Good O'l fashion from ur menu. Love the fact that ur situated right in town. Everything is a walk away. Enjoyed our stay in ur hotel.

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The Staff are superb, especially in the restaurant. We traveled with a toddler and were made to feel very welcome, with nice touches like crayons and colouring books for out daughter.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite expensive for a local Restaurant staff were attentive, but got our orders wrong

    Location is excellent. Novelty of staying in a Trailer is fun Friendliness of staff

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed there on a sunday and most things are closed on sundays. The bar and restaurant of the hotel were not available

    Good location, the trailers are quite fun although there's not much space inside.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charged 1850 ZAR on a sunday where there bar is closed, cinema is off. You cant get any drinks. Even if it is noted on the site , it's a shame to charge the same amount as you dont do anything for guests. We left the hotel to find something else. They have great rooftop, but if nothing is open theres no point. They should close in stead of charging and giving no service

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although located in the busy center of town, there was no noise to hear. The sightseeing bus office is just a 5 min. walk up the street. We were glad, that the room provided a lot of stowage space for all the souvenirs we bought during the trip. The hotel's rooftop bar is a great place to have a drink in sunny weather. All staff members were very friendly and the concierge or reception helpful with reservations.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Their card machine did not work - i had to walk to an ATM to draw out money - It is not safe in Long street to be walking around with that type of money. - The Front staff was not friendly, when the yound lady asked her make colleague for a R20 as i had overpaid - it seemed like a mission for him - does the hotel not carry small change? - Came home and had bedbug marks on my feet?

    - Bedroom was comfortable - Breakdast was good and the service was good during breakfast

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Note that the trailer park is sometimes used for functions so could be quite rowdy. Check with the hotel before to schedule around this. We had an issue with the water supply to our trailer which was promptly resolved Sadly this happened a few times during our stay

    Since visiting this property a few years ago I have always wanted to spend a night in one of the delicious Airstream Land Yaghts. I was not dissapointed. Definitely a must do for the traveller who want something different and someone who want to plug into the 24 hour nightlife scene in Long Street

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great service and helpful staff - unlike in many SA hotels.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    all good

    The trailers were cool and the Grandaddy suite was huge.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi good in the hotel overall but didn't work in the trailer we had.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bathroom needed a bit more sprucing up.

    Rooms were very comfortable and staff was very helpful

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Central location excellent accomodation

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food, bar on rooftop & the caravans on top

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise

There are also 46 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: