Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Milkwood Lodge 4 stars

152 Seventh Street, 7200 Hermanus, South Africa

#52 of 69 B&Bs and Inns in Hermanus

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 31 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 17

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Very relaxed and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room with Private Patio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt poolside furniture could be improved. No umbrellas available for hot days when shade required.

    Friendly and informative owner. Quiet but central location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.8
    Was lovely and the owner was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room with Private Patio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe add a mirror to main room and better lightning for getting dressed and doing make-up.

    Lovely guesthouse with very spacious room and bathroom. Staff was very helpful and friendly and breakfast was amazing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    9.6
    Wow...pure bliss!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was our 20th anniversary and I asked for rose petals on the bed and a bottle of non-alcoholic bubbly last minute and to my surprise...wow everything was like I asked for. Some of the rooms have a kitchen area so you can opt for self catering as well. Thanks to the host and staff, keep up the good work!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    9.2
    Great short stay at milkwood lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Main House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One watch out if you've got small kids is the busy road you need to cross to get to the beach.

    Linda our host was extremly friendly and attentive. She made a lot of effort to accomodate my gluten and dairy free needs and was very knowledgable on the local area. Our honeymoon gift was also a very welcome surprise. We were very happy with the size of the room and its facilities.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.2
    Very pleasant will go back
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water when bathing could have been warmer . I think the geyser thermostat could be turned up higher .

    Owner very friendly and informative about local issues . Breakfast was nice and staff very friendly and helpful .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    It was wonderful, staff was friendly and the few days rest was much needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking

    I liked the privacy of the lodge

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Linda and her staff were very friendly. Will definitely book another visit to Milkwood Lodge.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Linda was by far the best host we met on our 12 nights in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Linda was by far the best host we met on our 12 nights in South Africa

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    10
    Home away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The host is lovely. She felt like an old friend.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.2
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Well organised and the premises and garden meticulously well cared for. Breakfast high class.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    8.8
    Spacious, clean and somewhat outdated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 keys for one room?! Not very modern but well kept.

    Quiet and clean. Spacious room with private patio. Nice shower and perfect breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    10
    Linda kindly offered us a choice of rooms and we loved the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Linda kindly offered us a choice of rooms and we loved the garden room. Perfectly located and absolutely no negatives. Highly recommended and we will definitely make this our home away from home in Hermanus.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    9.6
    The attention to detail here was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    That we left after only 1 night!

    The attention to detail here was amazing... Linda has thought of everything! The beds were so comfy and the facilities were of a high standard with a spacious bathroom. The lodge is set in beautiful gardens with a very nice braai area and pool. A yummy breakfast set us up for our day and Linda made some welcome suggestions to make our trip more enjoyable. The penguins at Stoney Point definitely were more impressive.

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    9.2
    The bed and bedding, cleanliness all very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    The bed and bedding, cleanliness all very good.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    9.6
    Accommodation great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Accommodation great. Service very good.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    9.6
    Great breakfasts, lovely rooms, wonderful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great breakfasts, lovely rooms, wonderful staff!

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    10
    The owner and staff were most welcoming and obliging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The owner and staff were most welcoming and obliging. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and hope to stay there again in the future if I visit Hermanus.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 17

Guests also reviewed these properties: