Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mimosa Lodge 4 stars

Church Street, 6720 Montagu, South Africa

#6 of 12 hotels in Montagu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 133 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was fabulous - the room was lovely and the doors opened onto a beautiful garden. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was so central.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room categories/locations are a little confusing. Never quite sure what you're likely to get.

    Great location in the centre of town. Handy for local micro-brewery across the road on a hot day when a cool beer is needed. Great restaurant and wine pairing menu. Nice cool shady gardens to relax in. Convivial atmosphere for pre-dinners drinks with other guests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Genuinely nothing that we didn't like as long as you set your expectations accordingly, i.e. this is a lovely charming, oldie worldy sort of place in a lovely remote setting 3 hours from Cape Town, NOT a modern all mod cons accommodation.

    Would thoroughly recommend as represented great value for money (remote town, strong pound vs Rand?). Beautiful location in a town that is a throwback of 20/30 years ago, very sleepy and charming with mountains all around you! The lodge was great with really friendly staff. Our room was nice and spacious with really high ceilings and was set about 20 yards away from the main lodge. Would really recommend eating there. It cost us the equivalent of £75 for two of us for a four course evening meal with wine pairing and the food and wine quality was genuinely outstanding. They make their own wine too!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bin for trash in the living room area. No bar fridge, considering that guests have to buy their own lunch and dinner. A fridge would come very handy.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room and the place in general is very neat. Awesome place to visit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows were a bit hard and uncomfortable. Basin plug in bathroom wasn't working so didn't hold a basin-full of water. Kettle didn't work unless you held it down. No dustbin in the main bedroom. Armchair springs had gone.

    Very tranquil setting.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Supper too expensive - menu seem to cater for foreigners. Suggestion to cater for lighter meal option for local visitors.

    Loved the peace and tranquility of the venue.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought the strange abstract painting in our room spoiled the character of the old furniture etc. A historical picture of Montague would have fitted in nicely! We were looking forward to dining at Mimosa in the evening but there was only one choice and that was pork on our particular night's stay. As we are not fond of pork we ate at another establishment.

    A lovely old hotel with character. We had an upstairs room with a large veranda looking down the street to the mountains. At the quiet end of town

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were like rocks and the mattress needed changing. The room was very dimly lit

    The staff were particularly friendly and really made the stay a good one.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold weather, but that they cannot help.....

    Bernie our host was very nice and super knowledgeable. Place is very tastefully decorated. Meal was superb and worth the money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pricey dinner by local standards but the food was excellent so I suppose you get what you pay for. Especially the fact that the restaurant is highly awarded.

    Excellent staff. Spacious, modern and clean room. Great setting. Fantastic food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Every one of the staff members were attentive and friendly. We only stayed one night, but it certainly was a pleasant experience. As a celebration of a special personal occasion, we decided to have the set 4 course dinner with accompanying Mimosa wines at the Mimosa Lodge Restaurant and it did not disappoint! Beautifully prepared & plated and absolutely delicious. Applaud the Mimosa Lodge Management for allowing trainee waitresses from the surrounding Montagu areas to work/shadow in the restaurant to gain experience and be able to apply their new skills at upcoming events / other restaurants in order to become financially independent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was poor. A bit of decoration inside wouldn't go amiss.

    Charming old-world lodge, in an interesting small town. Special dinner was excellent, if expensive for South Africa.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom rubbish bin had not been emptied after previous guest! Reported to reception who just said "oh". No apology, not what I expect from a lodge of that rating and price! Had the chef's dinner which was good but not to be raved over. Will not have it again.

    Garden rooms are very large as are the bathrooms, shower and bath.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Maybe Breakfast could be improved but that is minor compared to other experiences.

    It was a wonderful stay. The staff gave me a warm hospitality and the bed was very comfortable. I had a chance to join them for dinner. The dining was an art on my dish. I also enjoyed relaxing outside on the patio. The cold breeze at night and clear night sky were amazing.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No TV in bedroom. Breakfast buffet was first come first serve. We got there at am . Only cereal and fruit salad left.no muffins or croissants.. very disappointing because breakfastis included in price.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    arriving at Mimosa Lodge meaning to feel "coming home" This was already my 2nd stay and I will come back again... Do not miss to book the set dinner in advance, as it is delicious and can be compared with a Michelin Star cuisine... The whole team is prepared to go "the extra mile" for you!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Atmosphere not pleasant

    Price of the dinner they offer extremely high The rooms could do with a tv as many travellers like to relax watching the news or something before going out to dinner

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the historical center of Montagu, a very nice little hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved it immensely! We were welcomed warmly, our room upgraded. Food was delishious. We will definitely be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had a great stay. Very friendly staff and the Craft Beer establishment across the road was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful garden and spacious rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was very delicious!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room in a historic hotel. Friendly staff, great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lighting in room

    Fabulous dinner in restaurant - we were completely surprised by it!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and excellent Chef

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool!

    Thank you for making us feel very special ;-)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner is so friendly and helpful, made our stay so enjoyable. It is such a charming guesthouse. Loved it!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was comfy quiet and the hostess very friendly,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wardrobe was very small.

    We really enjoyed the meal in the restaurant, although it was a little pricey.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room

    The restaurant is top notch!!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The grotty television room.

    The warmth of the welcome, the rooms, the location and the gardens.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    very comfortable..excellent food

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con not working

    Great position. Excellent food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were all lovely, very obliging and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service telephone did not work as well as the room kettle.

    The personel were very accomodating en kind

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very warm welcome with superb dinner

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest I liked every thing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent welcome, friendly and helpful staff, lovely gardens and pool, fantastic restaurant, garden rooms secluded and private.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing Lodge (what a beautiful garden) and very friendly staff (Berny is an amzing guy!!). Nothing to complain about.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming Inn, great staff, delicious breakfast !!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    perfect food and hospitality

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay was too shorrt

    Very good breakfast.excellent cold meats.Rooms spacy and love the gardens.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The roof in my suite made some noise during the rain.

    The green areas inside the hotel, the friendly staff who accommodated our special requests happily, the beautiful finishes in my suite, the safe location, almost every thing. I loved it.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms need air conditioning to make them more comfortable, together with better lighting. Whilst the food was very good, we had to wait such a long time for it, e.g. 45 mins between each course. We gave up on dessert on the second night.

    Situation was very good. Montagu is a lovely quiet little town, and Mimosa Lodge is right in the centre. Good food. Staff very helpful on reception.

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The garden room could have been laid out a little better, everything was around the walls of a large room, only one comfy chair, stereo and kettle etc crammed onto small table. The room was nice and spacious, but we felt it had been built cheaply and it showed.

    Love the food, the breakfast was good. Nice garden and pleasant pool. Great old building with history.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It seemed that we might have gotten the worst room, not renovated, dark and very old-fashioned, nothing like the pictures online. Managing staff seemed rather annoyed. We unfortunately can't recommend to stay there.

    Nice old building and cute restaurant/breakfast area. Service staff was super friendly and helpful! Breakfast was ok.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Couple

    No hot water to shower- the problem was rectified. But a cold shower in september does not make anyone happy.i had to rinse my hair under cold water as well!!! Price of evening meal unaffordable-went elsewhere.

    Location. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was beautiful and surprisingly warm despite the high ceiling. We booked a classic room which was upgraded to a garden suite at no extra cost! The food was excellent. We enjoyed the dinner and the breakfast buffet had a great variety to choose from. We came in mid-winter so we unfortunately couldn't enjoy the rose garden in full bloom. The staff were friendly and helpful. We recommend Mimosa Lodge and will definitely be staying here again! Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had a wonderful evening in a fabulous guesthouse, definitely Montagu's best kept secret. Food was amazing. We'll definitely be back again soon.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi only in lounge area. No A/C in older part of hotel.

    Beautiful gardens and charming little pool. Friendly staff. Pre-dinner drinks with other guests. Food is very good.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lumpy pillows and only lukewarm water in the shower. All magazines and books were in German!!!

    large room, great bathroom,water and sherry when we arrived. Amazing dinner and breakfast. Very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    gourmet 4 course dinner,rooms facing gardens with surrounding mountains

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, the price was too expensiv

    No

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    huge room but no shelves, no chest of drawers, cupboard tiny - had to continue living out of the suitcase

    spacious room and beautiful garden

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hot water in shower

    Friendliness of the staff - nice garden - excellent dinner

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Be warned - no long pants, no dinner. This was not advised at time of booking.

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Did not have a good sleep as the branches of a tree was scraping the roof most of the night

    Venue, position, food was excellent, service great

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very high quality evening meal

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Mediocre light distroys ambiente in dining and hotel rooms. Excellent food deserves better visibility.

    Dinner not cheap but truely excellent.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Guests also reviewed these properties: