Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Misty Waves Boutique Hotel 4 stars

21 Marine Drive, 7200 Hermanus, South Africa

#4 of 19 hotels in Hermanus

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 535 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Executive – 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast both mornings was not up to scratch for the price even as included in price for room. Bacon very over done and omelette could at least be a 3 egg omelette. Service not the greatest in restaurant for breakfast.

    Setting

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Facing Family Suite - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    When i booked online i booked your place because you had the jet bath, i wanted to have a nice long jet bath. Unfortunately the jet bath did not work and this was so disappointing. Also i forgot my face cloth at home and one would expect a face cloth available to use there was nothing only towels. Bar fridge was empty this could also have been filled up.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Non Seafacing – 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The eggs were properly done as was requested, other than that everything top notch. Thank to Nobs for advising and upgrading the room for a better view.

    I think you must add something meaty in your menu

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice hotel in a nice setting (pool, little garden) and extremely attentive staff. We really felt we are welcome. The food in the restaurant is indeed very good. We definetely will be back! Thanks again to the staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Non Seafacing – 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was comfortable however very scweeky.

    The setup of the hotel exceeded my expectations and the staff was supa friendly. The room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The resturant on site needs waiters that are more on the ball. They were a bit slow when it came to service,

    the general cleanliness and attention to detail. The staff were also very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suites - 1st Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms felt a little unfinished decor-wise, could do with a few more pictures, some cushions, bed throws etc to make it feel more cosy, also provide proper toiletries and bathrobes for the price paid!! We weren’t very impressed given the current water shortages to see sprinklers and hoses left running on flowerbeds, particularly given the messages inside to guests telling them to conserve their water usage! Think they need to do their bit for their area!

    Good location to walk to shops and cliff views, spacious room, very clean, nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Facing Exec Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom tea coffee facilities be more imaginative - so tired of the same fiddly things everywhere - be different - a plunger and a bottle of milk! Gift of bubbly but let down by it being sweet.

    The bed was super comfy - the staff excellent!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Facing Family Suite - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous rooms, big comfortable bed and bathroom. Very clean, staff friendly. Ornate decor. Has its own private cinema as well as pool. Restaurant attached served delicious food and had very friendly staff. Slightly outside of main area but it’s only a short walk to restaurants/bars/shops. Definitely worth a stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2nd floor King or Twin Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought the penthouse suite would be at the top of the building, with nicer views. I was expecting the best position in the building. Not the case.

    Location and great restaurant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Honeymoon Suite - 1st Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The style is very subjective but a little too “kitsch” for my taste with decoration that is very specific and a little too excentric for us. Breakfast was a little simple, apart from the omelettes, which were heaven.

    Good location on the edge of the water and within walking distance to the restaurants either via road of alonf the cliffs. Big rooms and brilliant service, as well as secured parking. Nice hotel for a couple of days in Hermanus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2nd floor King or Twin Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were extremely helpful in organising a temporary passport for us as ours had been stolen. Samantha and the staff went out of their way to help us and guide us through the application process and also send information to the consulate in Cape Town. Without this there would have been even more disruption to our holiday and we were indebted to them for minimising the effect of our problem. Many thanks to all the staff, Brian and Linda

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite - 1st Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would have preferred a small sofa in the room to relax on, rather than the two stiff chairs. Jacuzzi was not very warm. Would be great to be able to use movie room later than an 8pm movie start (e.g. being able to watch one at 9.30pm after being out for dinner).

    Spacious rooms, very comfortable bed, friendly staff, excellent breakfast and room service food. Movie room is fun, pool and sun loungers are great. Location excellent for cliff walks and into town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Non Seafacing – 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Spaciousness of room, elegant furnishings, large windows providing excellent view to the sea, with comfortable seating area. Receptionist immediately upgraded us on arrival to a better room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2nd floor King or Twin Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant had NO atmosphere and NO pub. Driveway is very narrow and it is necessary to walk down the driveway to gain access to the restaurant which was also fully booked for the first evening of our visit.

    Bed was very comfortable. Close to town with off street parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Facing Family Suite - 1st Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except difficult to get into the excellent restaurant on site - must book well in advance!

    Delightful establishment, room beautifully appointed,nice touches such as welcoming cakes, great location overlooking ocean and town centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Executive – 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant service was absolutely poor. Forgetting to take orders, incorrect orders etc.

    Dinner in restaurant was good. It was Valentines day eveywhere in South Africa except at this restaurant. Absolutely no effort was made to this effect. I made the hotel aware that it was my wife's birthday and.... nothing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The warm friendly and professional management and staff . The Hotel restaurant is excellent great food and service. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Suite - 1st Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service at breakfast and the breakfast itself.

    We had room 101 at the front of the building. It was called a "honeymoon suite and was huge with a balcony and lovely sea views. All the furniture is dated and non matching. V. comfy bed. The whole hotel is rather a mixture of styles and strange decor - elephant heads and cherub medallions along side each other - but its location is brilliant. Breakfast just ok and he service rather bad - no one waitron waned to take charge of us - rather many waitrons milling around looking like they didn't want you to ask them for anything. This is a prime property which needs a total overhaul decor-wise but we were comfy enough and enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Suite - 1st Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame we could not get in for dinner first night. We were not warned we had to book.

    Restaurant for dinner excellent. Staff very helpful in diercting us to wine tastings. Lunch and beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Suite2 – 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi wasn't brilliant in our room but main lobby/pool area was fine.

    Much bigger inside than appears from outside. Very clean and comfortable. Great location. Friendly staff happy to help with anything form drinks by the pool to dinner reservations. Had 16 seater cinema - didn't use it but was available to us and looked fun!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The croissants were delicious. Had lunch by the pool. Had the toasted chiabatta with pastrami, beautifully presented with the best sweet potato chips I have ever had.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the extra touches....the cupcakes when we arrived....keeping the cinema open for us and making us popcorn to have with our movie....this was so special

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite - 1st Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cupcakes and complimentary bottle of wine were both lovely touches. Staff were extremely friendly. While the breakfast may appear a little "sparse" to some - it suited our needs exactly. Thankyou for a most enjoyable stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Suite3 – 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our third stay at Misty Waves and once again it was great. All the staff are wonderful. Our room had the most beautiful sea view. Dinner at the onsite restaurant was amazing the best meals we've had in a long time. Well done to the chief.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Locally produced home made bread. Standard of cooking excellent. Bedroom well appointed and clean. Lovely little garden next to the swimming pool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Non Seafacing – 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was acceptable but lacked the variety befitting such an establishment.

    The staff were very friendly and couldn’t do enough to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Honeymoon Suite1 – 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Not a single thing!

    I loved absolutely everything about Misty Waves. My room (501) was gorgeous: spacious, huge & comfortable bed, top quality linen, curtains with block out lining for sleeping in, charming seating area, lovely bathroom, sliding door opening onto a private balcony, and the highlight - the spectacular sea view from the moment you walk into the room! I read some comments about the heavy and out-dated decor, but I found it charming with an old world atmosphere. If the decor is not to your taste, the view and luxuries will most definitely make up for it! I had a look at the other rooms and room 501 is my favourite, especially if you are going to spend a lot of time at the hotel and in your room. Room 500, 501 and 502 are situated in the block slightly to the front of the hotel. Room 500 also has a lovely view with sliding windows, but no balcony. Room 502 is also a good choice with its own balcony, but it is set slightly behind 501 and as such, the view is not as unobstructed as 501's, but still pretty awesome! If you are visiting Hermanus mainly to explore the area, I am sure that you will be happy with any room in the hotel. The hotel staff was amazing – very professional, helpful and always friendly. Breakfast at the onsite restaurant, Heritage Cottage, was superb. The comfortable loungers at the pool are perfect for sunbathing, reading and just relaxing. The hotel grounds and gardens are immaculate and beautifully maintained. I spent nine nights at Misty Waves and I do not have a single complaint. If you are considering this hotel, just go ahead and book. You will not be disappointed. I can’t wait to return!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Non Seafacing – 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the pool is not really for swimming, but it's a boutique hotel so that's expected really.

    The rooms were very spacious, the beds comfortable, very clean and the staff were all very friendly. There was a power cut for the entire area during our stay, which was not ideal as all the local restaurants closed. However, the staff kept us up to date and provided us with torches for the evening.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Facing Family Suite - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. There are some renovations In process on the roof of the hotel, so it looks a little untidy at the moment, but it had no impact whatsoever on our stay

    This is a really lovely hotel. Nice location in a beautiful town, with really excellent staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite - 1st Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need to work on good wine list/cocktails and hard liquor to be served in good quality glassware and recommended by the staff (especially at the pool) . Try to keep the quests at the hotel to spend their money other than spending it somewhere else in town.

    Room size, views, and good privacy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Suite3 – 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was our second stay and once again all the staff are helpful & friendly. Nothing was to much trouble. Excellent well run hotel which we shall most certainly return to again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suites - 1st Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was beautiful and stylish. The reception at the hotel was very welcoming and we enjoyed the complimentary bubbly. The hotel is within in easy walking distance from everything. Will be back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing -- great in all aspects.

    Excellent in all aspects - especially on Christmas eve and Christmas morning with breakfast. We had two rooms (4 adults) and would certainly return. Easy to walk to town centre and nearby retaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2nd floor King or Twin Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's like the house that jack built... Too many different levels. The lift only to the 2nd floor, fine if you are fit and able otherwise a mission. The on-suite bathroom, is literally on-suite. No privacy as such. The vanity area looks smart but impractical, very little space to place, eg a small toilet bag... Also a step up from the bedroom area... The worst was an unpleasant odor which eminated from the waste water trap of the shower. The complimentary bubble bath did the trick of disguising the smell. Cupboards poor, crammed and not easily accessible, Not good value, I would not stay there again. The preview is very misleading, just because the check in, quietness and bathroom was good does not negate the other aspects which are more important.

    Great location, good on site parking. could walk to anywhere of note in Hermanus, when I entered. Everything looked grand. But later I noticed the different decors which did not marry very well in my humble opinion. Our room looked very impressive but I was put off with the step up to the bathroom area, I tripped more than once. very upmarket bathroom area., unfortunately the toilet is part of the open plan which can mean unpleasant odors... And noises, if you are a sensitive person, like me, you would feel uncomfortable as I did... To have to breakfast in the building next door is unfortunate, it would be awful in inclement weather. The service on our first day was poor to say the least, the only good point was the arrival and welcome which was excellent, a pity the service ended there, ( I chose a table that have been previously used but not reset.. I found my own cups an spanners...!! , it was very much better the second morning when a different manager was patrolling!!! ( the previous one did not have a clue, and seemed to be taken a back when I asked for something)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    We were upgraded free of charge to the honeymoon suite There was an in house mini-cinema. The staff and reception were absolute fantastic and friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Non Seafacing – 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can not think of anything.

    Room large,bright, and clean, large shower and jacuzzi bath. Very friendly helpful staff. Beside the sea, view of the bay. Walking is quick and easy to shops and restaurants. Pretty garden with pool, plenty of sun beds.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Non Seafacing – 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Misty Waves is a good base for visiting Hermanus. We stayed for two nights and very much enjoyed it. The reception staff were very helpful ringing round to try and book a whale watching trip for us and the staff serving breakfast were welcoming and cheerful. Our room was huge, comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Suite1 – 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked the Honeymoon suite and I though that would be very special - it was special in that the front door of the room opens onto the bathroom - that may be great for newly-weds but we were on the 25th Anniversary and we certainly did not appreciate that. - Pity!

    The view was excellent and so was the staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2nd floor King or Twin Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We stayed for 5 Nights the room was so nice and we had a lovely view from our Balcony I saw whales on 3 occasions from it in the Bay. The Staff were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble and Breakfast was delicious every morning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Facing Exec Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Very nice hotel with excellent service. The room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was very good. The hotel is located near the center of Hermanus, all shops and restaurants are in walking distance. The staff is extremely service oriented. At several occasions we noticed that everyone there is committed to go the extra mile.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Suite3 – 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No criticism.

    We enjoyed the location. We would repeat our stay. We would like the restaurant to offer more of a dinner selection.The food was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Suite - 1st Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was perfect in every way. We stayed in room 201, which was a lovely suite with a balcony overlooking g the bay. We were privileged to see whales from our balcony at play so absolutely mad our stay. The location of the hotel to centre of Hermanus is perfect. The staff were exceptional very friendly and informative. Absolutely loved this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Couple
    • 2nd floor King or Twin Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing of any consequence.

    The standard of accommodation was very good and the breakfast was of high quality with plenty of choice. The location was perfect being only a short walk from the busy areas so quiet when you want and busy when you walk only a short walk away.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite - 1st Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit “old” and in need of some finer detailed maintenance. Also higher spec or quality equipment. Simple, but important, things such as a sagging bathroom door, damaged box for toliet piping, extremely limited television channels and unorganised back yard of property, where we were required to park (guard house used as storage room, bustbins storage, building material, etc.). Guests should not be exposed to this.

    Service was friendly and hotel was neat.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Facing Exec Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    One reason for choosing the Misty Isles was the restaurant on site which we researched carefully before choosing and reserved a table by phoning weeks in advance by phone only to be told we had not booked however reception reserved a table for 3 at 7.30. On arrival at 7.30 we were told they had mistakenly given our table to another group. We insisted they dealt with our problem of 3 cocked up bookings and around 8.15 we were taken to a table and placed orders. At 9.15 I got soup but the other two starters never appeared. The chef came out and apologies and eventually two duck main courses arrived but were doth inedible as they were cremated. The chef came out apologised ad cooked a steak for my wife which was ok and I shared a cheeseboard with our guest. Given we had purchased 3 bottles of wine from the hotel at circa R180 each I felt that this should have been refunded in line with the chefs action of not charging for dinner . As a previous Resort Director I would at the very least made no charge for the accommodation.

    nice airy room and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi-if wasn't strong enough and I think the rooms could benefit from DVD players although I accept you have an on-site cinema.

    There was a lovely warm welcome and attentive service. The receptionist offered to book us a table at a nearby restaurant. The staff helped us book excursions and brought drinks to our room. We were given a treat as it was our honeymoon. The breakfast at the restaurant on-site was delicious and the food was abundant. The pool area was a nice place to relax in the heat of the day. The parking was great. We left our car in the secure car park at the back of the hotel. The location is excellent within walking distance to all the attractions and restaurants. They were also in contact prior to arrival and booked us a whale watching tour. There were loads of whales in the bay which we saw within 5 mins of walking out of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suites - 1st Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel offers a complimentary bottle of bubbly, rose or white wine on arrival. Unfortunately no red! Can't quite understand this policy.

    Overall a very pleasant hotel, staff is very friendly and helpful. The restaurant is excellent. That applies to breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Suite1 – 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Wifi was non-existent in our room which was difficult given my office is "mobile". You did pick it up if you stood by the door or were in the bath. I did report this to the excellent staff at reception and they gave me another password to another network but still to no avail. Upon check-out I was informed that they would address this problem which I am sure they will give the level of professionalism displayed by all the staff. I would say though that I do think it is slightly over priced. If it was slightly cheaper then I think it would tick all the boxes. However, it seems that hotels throughout South Africa are exorbitantly expensive - or at least that is my experience.

    Our room was super clean and comfy so no complaints there. The staff were very professional and friendly so again 10/10 Misty Waves Team. Location was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Suite - 1st Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Recommendation to a better restaurant. We were referred to the Lemon Butta restaurant. Food and service were sub-standard.

    Spacious rooms, atmosphere and interior, cinema, breakfast, safe parking, attention to detail, everything worked in the room, friendly and effective staff, complimentary bubbly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Facing Family Suite - 1st Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I sort of like the retro Louis XV style of the furniture in the rooms (not trying to be 'trendy' or 'hip') but the armchairs in that style not conducive to sloth lounging.....

    Mattresses are really good - firm and supportive. Buffet breakfast spread is excellent - the 'shot' glasses with granola and yoghurt were cute.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2nd floor King or Twin Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on both days was good but the service was chaotic. Too many people trying to get into rather small dining area. Should restrict breakfast to residents and not allow outsiders if hotel is full. Because of this the staff cannot cope even though they tried their hardest and were really apologetic and pleasant. Not their fault, management need to look at their policy regarding outside diners at breakfast.

    Enormous room. Balcony overlooking the sea. Very pleasant staff. Cat that takes the lift!!! Close enough to town. Swimming pool looks nice but did not use.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Suite2 – 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some odd changes of level in the room, presume that it has been enlarged, but nothing else.

    Fabulous room with balcony overlooking the ocean. Extra bonus was that there were plenty of whales close to shore. Conveniently located close to the town centre, so we took the short walk to the market and for dinner. Breakfast in the hotel was well laid out and plentiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite - 1st Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When energy saving globes are used, I prefer the ambience created by warm white globes over the harshness of cool white.

    Very comfortable and spacious room. Close to town Centre and Cliff Walk. Staff extremely professional.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2nd floor King or Twin Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If we could have stayed for another 4 days - that's the only thing that could have been better... :-)

    We stayed in one of the suites in the hotel. Excellent views of the whole bay area and the whales, very spacious and luxurious amenities in the room. The breakfasts were 5-Star and their in-house restaurant is really fine-dining. A great memorable experience all round. ps. If you get the chance you have to try the cauliflower and truffle soup - Best soup we've ever had dining out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2nd floor King or Twin Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that me and my wife had to sleep in a " separate beds"( altough together)! Could linen not cover both to make it one King Size?

    The renevations was great! The staff friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedding was of a high quality and the beds super comfy. The personal touch of the cupcakes, flowers and chocolate were superb. The breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not watch our film in the theatre due to time constraints.

    Friendly staff on arrival and departure made one feel special and appreciated. The beautifully decorated rooms and detail in the foyer created the boutique feel. The sound of crashing waves and location across from the ocean made for a perfect stay. Scrumptious breakfast and again friendly and attentive staff made the breakfast hour pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Facing Exec Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything from the time of arrival, presentation of the room & bathroom to the excellent service from the staff. A special thank you goes to Nicolene who went above and beyond her call of duty to make my stay an absolute memorable one. Thank you for the attention and finer details - it was sincerely appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Suite1 – 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 8 nights

    It would have been nice if they could offer dinner but there are so many nice eating places in Hermanus that it was really no problem.

    This boutique hotel is well situated just out of the noisiest area but still in walking distance. Very nice ornate interior. Excellent view. Walk over the road and you are next to the sea. Very safe. Lovely spacious room. The hotel also has a small cinema where you can watch movies in style or watch your favorite sport. Extremely friendly and helpful staff especially Lucky, the waiter at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Suite1 – 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When using the toilet during the night you activated the automatic light. This was annoying.

    Location overlooking the sea front. Spacious room. great English breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Non Seafacing – 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the 2 single beds in the room - would have preferred a double bed

    Close to the ocean, beautiful views - within walking distance of town and all amenities

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite - 1st Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    That I had to leave.

    The whole package, however the personnel deserves a special compliment ! The sea view from the well furnished room and balcony is impressive. Enjoying the complementary bottle of bubbly while relaxing in the spa bath in our large private en-suite bathroom made our outing also very special. The hotel and it's gardens, including the pools, are well kept and cared for. This creates a impressive view and relaxing environment and atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Facing Family Suite - 1st Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing really

    We loved coming back after a day out to our beautifully appointed en suite room. The breakfasts we delicious and presented very well in the adjoining restaurant. The staff were always very obliging and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Facing Family Suite - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have a little reading lounge with an array of good books. Rooms are beautifully set up - very neat, very fresh & inviting feel. Good balance of cosy yet private.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Non Seafacing – 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Compared to the quirky opulence of everything else, the breakfast is "OK". WLAN was very feeble.

    Modern building full of neo-Victorian furniture, boasting its own cinema - it doesn't get any more boutique than this. Extremely helpful staff, very spacious rooms, bathroom with jacuzzi tub, good location a mere ten minutes walk from Hermanus' old harbor. An outstanding place with an atmosphere worth remembering - probably the best hotel in Hermanus if you have to stay in for a day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Facing Exec Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful hotel in a great location. Perfect for a leisurely walk after breakfast with sweeping views of the ocean. Very secure property with friendly staff. A hidden gem for us was the restaurant. We walked into town but found this was the place to eat dinner. Tiny corkage added for those who have been to the wineries!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Suite - 1st Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The on site restaurant used for the inclusive free breakfast and also open for lunch and dinner definitely needed a complete refurbishment. It was shabby and in some places dirty and was not up to the excellent standard of the hotel.

    Great room overlooking the sea. Ideal location. Very friendly and helpful staff. A lovely hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Twin Executive – 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining area is a bit shabby for Misty waves. The was one day with no hot breakfast on the main table, with a limited menu and long waiting time for breakfast. The previous dining area which used to be upstairs was much better.

    Rooms were very clean. The staff were friendly. The Cinema on site is superb. The town is peaceful and the seaside is amazing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Suite - 1st Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was extra comfy. Liked the fact that the sport was put on for the Stormers game in the in house cinema when we requested it. Staff very friendly and helpful with organizing of massage.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2nd floor King or Twin Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were large and the staff were very friendly. There were nice additional touches such as cupcakes in the room on our arrival and a complimentary bottle of bubbly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Two things 1 - in the shower there is a fresco on the wall - it needs a clean - it looks like housekeeping clean everything else but forget that (as the rest of the place was spotless) 2 - the food in the attached restaurant for dinner was fine but not quite what we hoped for .. good quality but limited menu Would have been nice to have a bar (in fact there was next to the cinema) but this is a minor comment - as we loved this hotel and want to come back.

    Lovely hotel. Our only regret was we did not stay here longer. Nice location with a short walk into town. Breakfast was as good as any I have had in a hotel. We had booked a honeymoon suite - room was lovely. Well appointed - only issue was the wi-fi only worked in the bath room. Staff very friendly and room very clean (apart from one thing). The private cinema made for a lovely evening treat after an early dinner. We loved our stay here and hope to come back.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Annex - Large mountain-facing suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfasts were satisfying but not spectacular and the staff could have been more knowledgeable but they were always cheerful and helpful. When we go again we will opt for a sea view room.

    The bedroom was extremely comfortable and roomy. The porters and ground staff were very helpful and cheerful. The location was close to the centre but very quiet at night. We will stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2nd floor King or Twin Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quirky collection of furniture in bedroom. Spare shower room smelt a bit stale. Not sure about having shower & bath in the room. Breakfast annexe very scruffy with peeling paint but pleasant to sit outside to eat.

    Very large room with good sized balcony overlooking the sea. Modern shower and bath plus additional shower room & loo. Pretty gardens to the front. Plenty of parking to rear.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Facing Exec Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool was a bit small but otherwise can't fault it

    Bedroom was very spacious and the bathroom super with spa bath. Hotel staff were very attentive and helpful. Little extra touches like fruit juice available in the lobby. and complimentary cup cakes in bedroom on arrival were much appreciated.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: