Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. Limpopo hotel reviews
  4. Balule Game Reserve hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge

Reviews of Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge 4 stars

York Nature Reserve, R40, 1380 Balule Game Reserve, South Africa

#11 of 17 hotels in Balule Game Reserve

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 27 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    10

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 9

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.2
    Very nice stay - with some great safari drives
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was dry season when we where there and the Lodge provided a lovely oasis of greenery to sit and relax in the garden watching the odd buffalo or warthog test out the fencing! The sleeping accommodation was large and comfortable and the outside shower was, well... a little different. The evening meal taken with the other guests was an enjoyable affair and breakfast was a thorough mix with the usual offerings. They're got the game drives off to a tee. We liked the fact we kept the same ranger/driver for all the drives so we didn't go down the same routes again and again - and the ranger sought out species we'd not yet seen. I felt they try to group guests with the same arrival dates as well for the same reasons. A nice touch. So was it worth it? Well, leaving aside the comfort factor - we got to see 4 of the 'big 5' - close up. By that I mean within a few feet - a male lion was more or less by the wheels chewing his way through an Impala snack. No Elephants on our drives - but we did miss the last one (airport beckoned). We had a Ford Ecosport and I wouldn't have liked to have driven the 7km track to the lodge in anything less robust. Not a problem - just something to be aware of.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    We loved our stay at Mohlabetsi and highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I personally found the bed somewhat uncomfortable, however my family did not have any issue. Bring a good rain pancho, because theirs are nylon and not completely effective if it rains during a game drive.

    The facilities, room, staff, food and game drives were all extraordinary. It was very good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    We had the best time during our stay, everything is taken care off. Great location, conveniently located in the game reserve, safaris were amazing. The food, especially dinner, was delicious and very cosy in the boma.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    LOVED Mohlabetsi, Tony and his team...great family experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only slight discomfort was the outdoor shower, which would be a huge plus in hot weather, but we were there in winter, with cold early mornings and nights. As such, it was a chilly experience!

    Fantastic atmosphere and wonderful family-friendly lodge. Tony, the owner, and his team are warm and accommodating; Tony even gave our family a personally guided bush walk to accommodate our schedule. Food is excellent; Hamilton (our guide) and Doctor (tracker) were knowledgeable and great fun. The team also arranged an outing to Moholoholo Animal Sanctuary - which is highly recommended. We loved our stay at Mohlabetsi!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Very nice staff, superb game drives, good food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice staff, superb game drives, good food!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Mohlabetsi is a fantasic place to go on Safari. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! A very professionally run Game Lodge with excellent staff, superb facilities and fantastic catering.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    8.3
    Loved the staff, the friendliness of the entire team and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Loved the staff, the friendliness of the entire team and the safaris were wonderful

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    10
    Great staff, luxurious facilities, amazing wildlife,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great staff, luxurious facilities, amazing wildlife, delicious food, and a great way to experience nature's great wonders. The BEST!

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    Very friendly environment with everyone made to feel part of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly environment with everyone made to feel part of a 'joint experience'. Superb food and everything thought of and catered for.

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 9

Guests also reviewed these properties: