Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Montagu Vines 4 stars

2 Tanner Street, 6720 Montagu, South Africa

#1 of 14 B&Bs and Inns in Montagu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 243 B&B reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.8

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Wow, fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wow, we had a beautiful room with a fantastic view. So many lovely touches in the room. Loved the open fire already laid out for us to light and the heated blanket on the bed. Great hospitality, booking a restaurant and making suggestions for visiting the vineyards. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    We all agree that we will definitely stay at Montagu Vines whenever visiting the region.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it is impossible to find any room for improvement.

    4 couples attended the Wacky wine event and by chance found this gem in Montagu - Ant and Pam Townsend run the best B&B we have stayed in in the Cape. The rooms, food, service and the environment allowed us to enjoy in comfort.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    A fantastic stay in a lovely location with super helpful hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We upgraded to a garden room which was incredible. The owners were so helpful and went the extra mile to help us with our stay and the onward journey.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything,,,

    An amazing place, beautifully kept, and exceptional hosts, The room was very comfortable and the welcome drink was a nice touch. Breakfast was excellent. We wished we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    When in Montagu, stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect!

    Montagu Vines definitely exceeded my expectations! This place is the ideal spot to relax and enjoy life. The owners were incredible helpful in providing things to do in and around Montagu and even helped us planning the route for your next leg in the journey. The room are cozy and nicely decorated and have everything you'll need. The breakfast is amazing and you'll enjoy it with a magnificent view of the olive trees and the mountains.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    One of the best accommodations I have ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The room was very large, comfortable and tastefully furnished. Very comfortable bed. Lovely armchairs to relax and watch TV. Comfortable patio with stunning views. Stunning setting. The most beautiful large garden I have even seen. Includes a dam and plunge pool. Lots of flowers and roses that you can smell as you walk around the vast garden. Could have spent at least another day there. Excellent host. Even brought us a beer and glass of wine to enjoy on the patio. Within walking distance of town - restaurants etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    A wonderful, peaceful weekend away from the rush of city life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly and helpful staff. Relaxed ambience. Delicious breakfast. Clean room with attention to detail. Great shower. Quiet location with beautiful garden. Abundant bird life and good photography spot!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Wished we had been staying longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather than a splash pool a pool large enough to swim in would make it all perfect

    The room, the views, the garden area for sitting, the breakfast room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful, if expensive property on edge of pretty town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is a little way from the town centre, requiring a car trip to eat at night. Pool very small and grounds not very interesting to walk around (olive grove, small lake).

    Best breakfast of the trip, beautifully presented and served in a room overlooking the grounds. Extremely helpful staff and owners. Quiet rooms with small terrace outside overlooking the gardens and small lake. Lovely views. Riverside walks from the door.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Montegu vines was exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing

    Montegu vines was exceptional. The rooms were lovely and the grounds stunning. Breakfast was wonderful We found it a very relaxing stay. Pam and Anthony were very friendly and gave us great information on where to eat,visit and on our onward journey. Would highly recommend!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Great attention to detail, excellent staff, they even wash...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great attention to detail, excellent staff, they even wash your car without asking. The host Pam and Anthony could not be more supportive in making your stay a great experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Fabulous guest house in wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Bed Airconditioned Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Everything excellent - hope to return one day.

    Wonderful location overlooking olive grove and onto mountains. Owners, Pam and Ant friendly and welcoming. Reasonably priced drinks available to enjoy in their lovely gardens. ‘Splash’ pool to cool down. Fabulous bedroom and bathroom with gorgeous decor and spacious verandah. Lovely staff. Delicious breakfast using local produce. Less than 10 mins safe walk to village with small selection of shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Ideally placed for transiting Route 62, a most pleasant and welcoming establishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Bed Airconditioned Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    Situated on an olive grove on outskirts of a very nice town, but close to all amenities. Very high quality accommodation, with lovely grounds in which to relax. Welcoming, friendly and helpful hosts.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Delightful find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Warm, welcoming hosts, beautiful grounds, very comfortable rooms and beds. It is also well located with secure parking and just a short, walk into town. Stunning views too. A very relaxing and pleasurable place to stay. We only wished we had stayed longer and will next time!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Perfect guest house in lovely Montagu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    The location of the guest house, on the outskirts of lovely Montagu, is absolutely great. The lush garden with olive trees and mountains in the background is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a glass of cold Chardonnay... Our room was big and comfy, and breakfast was outstanding (great cheese selection!). In just a few words: this place is incredible, one of the best we've been to in South Africa!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful, peaceful and very relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Bed Airconditioned Garden Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was beautiful, the dining room is adjacent to the wonderful gardens. The house was very quiet and extremely relaxing, the hosts and staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The entire property has been beautifully decorated and furnished to the highest standards.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, Montagu Vines was an amazing find and probably one of the few places in the world that I would rate 10/10. Great hosts, perfect location in town, very comfortable, just perfect, we will definitely be back. I’ve travelled to Montagu many times over the past 15 years and this is the best by far

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location in this area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Bed Airconditioned Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to mention.

    Excellent Junior Suite. Top Bathroom. Sleeping/living room great!. Nice terrace with view. Perfect breakfast. Wonderful garden. Kind hosts. Located in an area of Montagu where is no pass-through traffic; nevertheless distance to restaurants is short. Owner's assistance for dinner booking and phone calls was really appreciated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful place to stay. Very quiet and beautiful setting. Fantastic location if you want to get some rest. Staff were great and rooms very clean and comfortable. This was our second time here and we will be back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    The most amazing and stunning guest house we have ever stayed. We would highly recommend a stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect

    This is an utterly, beautiful place to stay. Its quiet, spotless and the hosts and staff can not do enough for you. Rooms are to die for with beautiful views. We liked this place so much we booked again. We didnt want to leave.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    We enjoyed visit very much, the owners are hands on and very efficient. Thank you Pam and Ant,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed!!! The bed in the room was so high that I (being disabled and very short,) could not reach. We made an obstacle course to enable me to get into my bed. On reporting this to the owners in the morning they went out and bought a lovely firm step that I would use to get into bed. They and the staff were very attentive and caring, such lovely people. We hope to see them again sometime. I think we helped them by giving them tips as to what is needed for a disabled guest.

    When filling in the booking form I stated I was disabled and in a wheelchair and suggested wheelchair friendly accommodation. When checking the booking before we left I discovered that we were booked into a totally unsuitable room. The owner then suggested we upgrade to a luxury room which we did and we were comfortable there. But this of course led to us having to pay the upgrade prices.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    I’ve been traveling to and staying in Montagu for 35 years and Montagu Vines has been a standout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Bed Airconditioned Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being coffee connoisseurs we would have loved to have had access to coffee machine.

    Beautifully appointed room and wonderfully clean with crisp linen and fluffy towels. Not a thing we could fault.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    We will certainly book again, we absolutely loved the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Bed Airconditioned Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious room and bathroom. Private. Tastefully decorated. Host and hostess were so friendly and helpful. The property is very well kept. We will certainly book again, we absolutely loved the place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Spectacular place with fantastic views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I cannot think of anything. I suppose there is one thing; we had to leave! :-)

    This place was truly amazing. The room, which was more like a living room with its own open fireplace, was perfect. The beds were so comfortable, with electric blankets to keep us snug. Bathroom facilities were also excellent. The breakfast selection was very nicely presented and I cannot think of anything that was missing. The ladies taking the breakfast orders were so efficient and helpful. Our room, or should I say chalet, looked out onto the beautiful garden and lake with the mountains as a stunning backdrop. I was particularly pleased when one of the staff cleaned our car for us. We had driven a very dusty trail and the car was in need of a clean. We asked if he could clean it for us and although he did not have time there and then, he promised it would be done early the next morning, which it was. What a service!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Very pretty property and superb breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked to be there in summer !

    Beautiful setting, and owners took an interest in us as customers, with a chat over breakfast. Excellent facilities, log fire in the room which was great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    The best damb guesthouse in Montague
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Everything about Montague Vines G H is based on luxury and comfort. Pam and Anthony go out of their way to ensure your stay is perfect There breakfast is outstanding, there staff friendly, the gardens and view are spectacular. In general an absolute pleasure to have stayed there and will return at the soonest possible opportunity.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Heaven!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A true gem. Wonderful, friendly hosts. Full of helpful advice for our travels in the region. The breakfast, views and open fire made for a memorable stay. Can't wait to go back again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    Fabulous place to stay in Montague.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Bed Airconditioned Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a beautiful guesthouse. Friendly and helpful staff and owners. Excellent breakfast. Fantastic views from the room stoop. Extremely comfortable rooms, spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful guesthouse with a personal touch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfortable and the sheets were 100% cotton. It was the attention to detail that made our stay so enjoyable, like providing sufficient tea bags or real linen with the breakfast that stood out. Our hosts were very attentive and gave us lots of local information. The olive grove in the grounds added a touch of magic.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    We so enjoyed our stay at Montagu Vines and would highly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We so enjoyed our stay at Montagu Vines and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a guesthouse in Montagu. The staff were at all times courteous, friendly and helpful, especially those who served us breakfast each morning. The breakfasts were excellent. Our room was spacious and very comfortable, with a lovely view over the gardens and to the mountains from our front verandah.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Montagu Vines is the only place we would stay, when next in the area. Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't fault a thing! Anthony and Pam were fantastic hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Beautiful, peaceful surroundings, clean and comfortable accommodation, delicious breakfast. Walking distance to restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    Gorgeous stay in a small town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Bed Airconditioned Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only negative point was the hit and miss wifi but i think this is more to do with the remote location rather than the property itself.

    A beautiful location with a view out over the olive trees and a short safe walk to the town centre. We enjoyed the complimentary glass of wine in the garden and the very friendly hospitable and knowledgeable hostess. Breakfast was also wonderful. The room was very large and decorated beautifully with a terrace to sit and look out over the olive garden.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    5 star accommodation for 4 star prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I am pedantic, the fridge is a bit noisey at night.

    Montagu Vines is not a 4 star, it is far better than that. The accommodation, the views and the grounds are wonderful. The owners, Anthony and Pam have been there less than two years but they have attended to every detail. I have never slept in a more comfortable guesthouse bed, sheer luxury. The whole experience is to make your stay special, if you are thinking of staying in Montagu this is the best you will find.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    8.8
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the photos I thought that I would have à room on the big garden but was attributed à room at the back with a small garden it was all very nice just that from the website it was not very clear to me

    The place is lovely beautiful garden and we felt very welcome had a lovely breakfast on the terrace with the owners all very professional and we're pleased to have our car washed in the Morning

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    A Gem in Montagu!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a fantastic gem! We loved being greated with a glass of wine, the beautiful garden, the lovely rooms. All the small details like the huge towels, the little candy on the bed in the evening. The breakfast was hotel standard with tasty croissants and ,warm options ( egg bacon , french toast)Home made granolai, fruit salad , fresh coffee. It's that kind of place where one night is just not enough !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Beautiful serene & comfortable location with really super hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I enjoyed my breakfast but a couple of the friends I was with didn't think their cooked part of the breakfast was particularly delicious. the croissants were delicious and the staff at restaurant very attentive but not overbearing. the individual plunger filter coffees were a nice touch

    The owners/hosts were really friendly and warm without being in our space and we really loved it! The staff who welcomed us were friendly and efficient and accommodating. Overall a wonderful experience and I would recommend it to anyone!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    excellent accommodation set in beautiful grounds with stunning views in Montagu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    what's not to like?

    friendly and helpful hosts beautiful grounds excellent accommodation with patio good breakfast glass of wine provided by hosts at 5

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    10
    7 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I could fault at all!

    Everything! It was absolutely fantastic! Owners are very friendly and helpful & very hospitable! Highly recommend this amazing accommodation! From the settings, the rooms, the fresh linen on the comfortable beds, the cleanliness & tasteful decor & not forgetting the amazing gems of kitchen staff (Katrina +) they made a fabulous breakfast & so friendly & happy chappies. I will certainly be back & most certainly recommend this place to all who visits this beautiful town of Montague😊🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.6
    Peace and tranquility in the Little Karoo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A larger pool maybe but we knew it was only a plunge pool and it was perfect for us.

    Owners and staff really friendly and helpful. Beautiful scenic and tranquil location. Short walk in town and restaurants. Wish we had spent more time here.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.6
    Quality throughout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Bed Airconditioned Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ironing facilities in own room or ability to use an iron in own bedroom

    The quality of the room, the breakfast and the staff service was outstanding.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location for exploring Montagu and beyond!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The large acorns of the oak tree were banging on the tin roof. (Should be over in a week or two)

    Excellent location and setting with a beautiful view of the pond and the mountains beyond. Splendid breakfast with attentive staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    9.6
    Olive groves and mountain views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Bed Airconditioned Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only shame is that there is currently no more than a plunge pool, although the owners are planning to build a decent size pool on the estate in the near future.

    Montagu Vines is a most beautifully located place and our room looked out on olive trees and mountains. The owners were charming, greeting us, showing us around and guiding us towards a very good restaurant in the evening. The room was luxurious and well appointed and breakfast was magnificent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    10
    Good to be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The honesty bar now only has soft drinks, although to be fair a carafe of wine was offered on arrival the first night.

    We liked coming back after many years and finding great improvements made by the new owners. The old rooms have been spruced up and new ones have been built, but the relaxed and welcoming atmosphere remains as ever. The garden and grounds have been extended and are well looked after. The breakfasts were nicely served in a new breakfast room. The whole establishment was spotless.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    9.6
    In Heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything I didn't like except for problems with wi fi but we found that throughout South Africa.

    from the moment we arrived Pam and Ant the owners made us feel at home and were exceptionally helpful and kind. They had even booked a table at a local restaurant for that evening for us in anticipation. The property is set in stunning surroundings, with a pretty garden, olive grove and a background of mountains. It's within easy walking distance of the centre of Montagu. Breakfast is fresh and delicious and served with a smile. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    9.6
    Best breakfast during the entire holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is very small, its more like a fountain that you can "dip" in to

    Best breakfast during the entire holiday! Welcoming staff, glass of wine on arrival. Beautiful gardens. Owners happy to help with dinner reservations

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful location & dedicated owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    If there is a minus at all, it would be the size of the pool.

    Montagu Vines is a jewel - wonderful location with amazing views and very dedicated owners. The rooms are comfortable with good-sized bathrooms and care is given to a lot of details. Breakfast is excellent. And a glass of wine served upon arrival on the porch is a winner!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    10
    A great stay and would certainly book again if we visit SA in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location to town facilities, walkable. Garden and surrounding areas were immaculate. Breakfast excellent. Host & Hostess were very welcoming. Wished we had booked for 2/3 nights.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    10
    The best B & B in Montagu without doubt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Bed Airconditioned Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine - no dislikes at all.

    A superbly run B & B. The owners, Pam and Anthony were superbly friendly and helpful hosts. Gardens and grounds are beautiful and full of interesting bird life. Make sure you walk "The lovers' walk" just across the river to see wild giant tortoises. Car parking and access excellent and a good selection of local restaurants for dinner, a short walk away in this very safe town. Also big rooms and super bathrooms (we also had our own private patio).

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    10
    First class accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Regrettably. we had booked for only one night.

    Anthony was a perfect host and bent over backwards to fullfil all our wishes. Thank you very much for a memorable stay and a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    Great location with beautiful grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location with beautiful grounds. Very comfortable accommodation and absolutely spotless. Our hosts were very welcoming and provided excellent information on the local area and places of interest. Great recommendations for local restaurants within walking distance of the property. This was just a one night stop on our way back to Cape Town, but we should have stayed longer. This would be a great base for exploring the local area or to just relax for a few days. Would certainly stay here again and for much longer next time.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    10
    Great Guest House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Bed Airconditioned Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Long term road works limited our ability to explore Montagu other than walking to the restaurant.

    The best guest house accomodation we have experienced during our 2 trips touring the Western Cape. Had a very enjoyable meal at a recommended restaurant called Prestons.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    10
    Highly recommended! Exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Bed Airconditioned Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful ambience, delightful and attentive hosts, room and facilities clean as a whistle, much thought and fine taste has gone into every aspect, everything is beautiful.We enjoyed every moment there, starting with a Glas of wine on arrival. The hosts chat with us at breakfast and gave us great tips.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    10
    Most wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Bed Airconditioned Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most amazing stay from the moment we arrived to the time we left. We were served coffee on arrival, wine in the late afternoon and our restaurant for our evening meal was booked by our friendly hosts. Spoil yourself - enjoy a stay at this wonderful place.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful location, close to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a choice of table at breakfast.

    Lovely to have log fire made up and ready to light on a cold night. Beautiful location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Best coffee

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful and relaxing property. The breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner and staff were very welcoming and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    A delightful spot in a scenic location, offering a comfortable, well equipped room and an excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Magnificent garden, and conveniently located to restaurants in the town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    well deserving of a 4 star rating .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Bed Airconditioned Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing it was excellent

    well deserving of a 4 star rating .Was even better than last time

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    This is a perfect gem of a place to stay in the beautiful quaint town on Montagu
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Very relaxing and beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was amazing a real home from home and Anthony & Pam were wonderful hosts

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    We could not have wished for a finer place to stay after the drive over from Hout Bay, perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Bed Airconditioned Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    What was there not to like? Nothing! A perfect stay.......... Ours was only an overnight stay, next time it will be for longer....

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    N
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our well travelled guests said it was the best bed and breakfast they had ever stayed at

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Excellent. You must stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Bed Airconditioned Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exceptional rooms and magnificent views over the garden and olive grove with the mountains as a backdrop.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Best bnb we have ever stayed at
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Bed Airconditioned Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed every Aspect of our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Bed Airconditioned Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Calm and peaceful atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Lovely time had by us all
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great

    The property was beautiful very well kept and luxurious

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Perfect stay in Montagu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. We will keep on returning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.8
    Location good with lovely view of the mountains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location good with lovely view of the mountains. Gardens beautiful. Good hosts.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful staff, excellent location and fabulous property

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Nothing comes close.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Attention to detail outstanding. Amazing personal attention to all requests by the owners. Great hospitality and an unbeatable breakfast .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    a stunning property and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No criticisms

    a stunning property and location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    delightful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    beautiful garden

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    exceptional
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    fruit fresh.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    The croissants were fantastic and there was plenty of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The croissants were fantastic and there was plenty of firewood for chilly nights.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: