Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mooiplaas Guesthouse 4 stars

Volmoed, 6620 Oudtshoorn, South Africa

#28 of 48 B&Bs and Inns in Oudtshoorn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 135 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Short but memorable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating could have been better as the rooms are cold and our aircon was not working. The portable electric fan blow heater in the one room did not work properly and the others that we requested also were on their last legs. The TV in the room with the 2 single beds should be mounted in the opposite corner of the room so that one can lie in bed and watch TV.

    We appreciated and noticed the fact that the staff seemed to really live up to their service mission statement (posted in the breakfast hall/dining room for all to see) of serving the customer and going out of their way to go the extra mile in a friendly and willing manner. With a few extra touches, it is always relatively easy to impress and please most people. For example, the welcome drink on arrival, washing the car and a really nice touch for someone who appreciates filter coffee was the single cup plunger supplied in the room with a sachet of filter coffee. Lovely views out over the Klein Karoo plains with an infinity pool that must be great in summer. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast buffet spread and flexible, generous approach by the manager on duty (Andre I think). Great variety of fruits on offer and good cooked breakfast, with the option of having Ostrich eggs as well. There was even Malva pudding which may have been leftover from the previous evening! Comfortable Queen size bed and great to have electric blanket working well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely end to a Klein Karoo holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was cold, and the wifi was slow. But it was winter in the country. :)

    The bed was comfortable, the breakfast luxurious and toiletries were amazing. It was very cold and the heater didn't work that well, but this is an issue all over SA, not just there. I would return. The ostrich is an amazing meal as a special treat. My husband had the Karoo lamb, but the ostrich was better.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Great Guest House.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was delicious and our accommodations were excellent. We really enjoyed our time at Mooiplass Guesthouse. They were very welcoming. We loved the ostriches too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Truly wonderful experience that the photos do not do justice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are vaguely dated, but bathrooms very updated.

    From the moment we arrived, staff treated us with exceptional hospitality. We were made to feel welcome and appreciated and wanted to stay much longer than we had booked. They even washed our car for us overnight! Dinner was a good value and beautiful to eat overlooking pool, sunset, and mountains. Sitting by the fire pit with glass of wine for sundowners was A+.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Mooiplaas it definitely is !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally cannot fault it.

    Absolutely everything ! Loved the rooms and all the little details, sherry on arrival,,an explanation of the property, the way all toiletries are set out,the little sherry in the room for a night cap, the whole ambiance and wonderful service....even washed the car !!! I think a double smiley face would be better.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Yet again Mooiplaas excelled in every respect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Travelling with 88 yo mother in wheelchair. Mooiplaas even tailored the farm walk to her needs. This is a working Ostrich farm and a fascinating place to visit. Food superb as when my husband and I came before. A great, great place I’d recommend to anyone. The infinity pool is superb! There is a new spa and excellent gift shop. They even washed our car.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful views and lovely pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was a big disappointment; very dry scramble eggs and mushrooms overcooked

    Beautiful views and lovely pool. Good quality toiletries in bathroom. .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    Great getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no nice walks into the fields surrounding the property. Bit of a mess at the back of the property.

    I loved the setting. The rooms very comfortable. Meals good . Service good & staff very friendly & accommodating

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Memories of good times :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just everything!!! We were greeted so friendly and enthusiastic by Marshall, the room was huge and everything about it so comfortable and luxurious- we loved it! We also had dinner there - what a lovely setting and wonderful food! Don’t miss out on the farm tour in the morning! We would have loved to stay longer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    Good for one night in that area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit out of the way but great for one night Dinner was really good-Ostrich but breakfast was disappointing

    The dining area at the pool overlooking the Ostriches

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Excellent spot with friendly staff and great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - will be back

    Great rooms, furnishing, beds, bathroom - all really. Good sized pool for a real swim and exercise. Andre was just fantastic and is a real asset to the place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable accommodation with excellent spa and facilities in an idyllic and unique location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since the room door opened out to the parking area, a curtain across the door would be useful to block out light and draft at bottom. Didn't find out about the option of a farm tour until checking out. Laundry was rather pricey and it wasn't properly clean just a temporary glitch I'm sure.

    Unique location on an Ostrich farm. Fabulous infinity pool looking out across the mountains. Modern bathroom with lovely toiletries. Spa and treatments excellent. I had a fabulous facial and my friend had a couple of back massages. Complimenary car clean. Patio looked out across mountains. A way out of town but worth a stay for this unique experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.6
    Surrounded by birds of all sizes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little for vegetarians, veg served with dinner dripping with butter.

    Braied meat dinners were great. The views from the accommodation also great. Washing our car was a nice touch. Very good place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.6
    Ai maar dis lekker
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we only stayed one night. There was so much to see and do and the spa that we will go back soon.

    Andre was kind,understanding,helpfull, friendly,professional oh and we really liked him.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.2
    Good accommodation shame about the pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was in poor state.ie cloudy and far too many bugs swimming in it.This was so bad we didn't, feel able to swim in it.Definitely needed more attention and let the standard down. Cost of dinner was rather high compared with other places on our 6 week tour.The menu was not readily available and pricing was not made clear enough.That said,the food was good,

    We had a room in the newer property over the road from the main house. We had to walk or drive three hundred yards to the restaurant for dinner but our room was superb and probably in a more favourable aspect than the main house so the inconvenience was outweighed by the quiet and spacious location.Breakfast was in the new property and was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not ready on arrival, finishing in room lacking attention to detail....

    Friendly staff... very informative

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Great setting well managed obliging staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great setting well managed obliging staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Well deserved break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water shortage

    Staff helpfulness

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Attention to detail. Extremely clean. Spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful, peaceful estate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast can improve.

    The cottage with the private patio and view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.8
    Dinner was a bit pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was a bit pricey

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Luxury in a beautiful setting in a working ostrich farm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfortable room, infinity pool overlooking ostriches with the mountains as a backdrop

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our stay at Mooiplaas as the room was beautiful and very neat. The staff was friendly and
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I loved the atmosphere, the friendly welcome and staff. The whole ambiance and setting was relaxing and beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    André and Proud made us feel right at home upon our quest to take on the Cango Marathon.
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Ostrich fillet was a real treat!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    Very recommendable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Several of the dishes were a bit sweet (tomato soup, rub which was used on the meat).

    Very friendly staff. View into the valley. Food quality.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent B&B which also provides excellent evening...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent B&B which also provides excellent evening meals. The ostrich talk and experience was brilliant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Food was good the location, and my wife says the spa was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    aircon water in front of door, put a plat there that can use the water

    Food was good the location, and my wife says the spa was very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Amazing tour of the farm with Koos
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing tour of the farm with Koos

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.9
    A very nice place in Oudtshoorn, Dinner was Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was excellent, in particular the Ostrich Steak

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Loved it. Plan to be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful service from all staff, but Andre was exceptional. Pool was brilliant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    Room is big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air cons are a not very good.

    Room is big. Breakfast is nice. New pool is huge. Lived little ostrich babies. And Ben with stargazing tour is awesome

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Lived up to expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great hospitality

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Classically decorated rooms a luxurious treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Warm and informative welcome from Manager/Host Andre was equal to none.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.2
    A big recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly service, comfortable room, lots of little touches to make you feel extra welcome.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    10
    Amazing rooms, great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing stay in Oudtshroon. Perfect views from the rooms, great service. Will definitely visit again when in Oudtshroon.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Stargazing tour with Ben was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stargazing tour with Ben was amazing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    7.5
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was generally a nice stay. The staff was friendly and the managers were very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    10
    Everything, esp the bath, the bed, the room, the breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, esp the bath, the bed, the room, the breakfast, the dinner, the staff .. ;-)) absoutely nothing to complain about.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    10
    Awesome hidden gem in the klein Karoo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The service was unbelievable. Polite. Discrete. Kept the restaurant open for us when we arrived late. They even washed my car!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    7.9
    Very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful and very relaxing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful and very relaxing location. We had very comfortable rooms overlooking the pool. Excellent food and really enjoyed the scrambled ostrich egg for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    8.3
    A lovely warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Dinner was rather expensive.

    A lovely warm welcome. We had two interconnecting rooms, so great for families with young children. Very high standard accommodation and spotlessly clean. Amazing views. Discount off tour of the Highgate Ostrich Farm. Small playground for the kids.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    10
    Beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful surroundings. Friendly staff. Succulent ostrich steaks. Large suite with comfortable bed. Excellent private guided tour of the ostrich farm, along with fascinating talk on the history of ostrich farming. Met the ostriches and saw newly born and three day old ostriches. Great star gazing.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    10
    The food was excellent, the breakfast and dinner were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The food was excellent, the breakfast and dinner were outstanding. The staff was friendly and our rooms were nice and clean. We enjoyed every minute of our trip.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    10
    Very comfortable, roomy and well kept rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    DIdn't get to spend more time there:-)

    Very comfortable, roomy and well kept rooms. Ostrich steaks were a delight to eat. Breakfast selection was adequate and the service was superb.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    7.5
    Location on an ostrich farm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms do not have a cosy atmosphere, feel cold and austere and a bit dark. Lighting in rooms adds to the cold feeling.

    Location on an ostrich farm. Dinner and breakfast were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything. Fantastic luxury room, views from balconies fantastic, staff friendly,dinner and breakfast fantastic and we even woke up to our car being washed by a lovely man.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    10
    The food and service were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None to report.

    The food and service were excellent. The night sky showing all the stars was amazing. Great place to stay. Bedrooms were large and comfortable with A/C. All guest cars were washed on a daily basis

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    9.6
    Rooms and bathrooms spacious and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    i know you should not complain but there were problems with the wifi. You don't seem to be able to enjoy your holiday if you can't get the dam thing.

    Rooms and bathrooms spacious and very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    10
    Lovely large room with private patio and entrance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi very inconsistent but management were trying to sort it so could be a temporary blip. other than that, nothing not to like.

    Lovely large room with private patio and entrance. Great to have the option of evening meal on site. Very friendly and helpful staff and lovely breakfast setting. Got car washed each morning, a great touch. would definitely return.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    10
    A wonderful welcome from such friendly staff, especially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi although free is not very good.

    A wonderful welcome from such friendly staff, especially Andre. Great, comfortable room and lovely facilities in a lovely setting. The ostrich was lovely too.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    10
    The manager was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The manager was fantastic

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    10
    Great hospitality, very friendly owners, terrific evening...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great hospitality, very friendly owners, terrific evening meal and breakfast, wonderful views, spacious room, fantastic ostrich tour.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.2
    The food was great and the room is so comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The food was great and the room is so comfortable. Wifi is average, which is a South Africa thing. Eating an ostrich egg omelet was fun.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    7.9
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed comfort, but that doesn't matter if you are staying there just for a night.

    Location. Proximity to hotel and free airport transfers.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    9.2
    Big room and bathroom with a nice vieuw
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Big room and bathroom with a nice vieuw

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    9.6
    Hotel manager Andrew was not only very kind but also quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hotel manager Andrew was not only very kind but also quite entertaining

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    6.7
    Scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unit not properly clean and maintained.

    Scenery

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    7.1
    The manageress Monika was fantastic as were the staff who...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The manageress Monika was fantastic as were the staff who were charming

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    9.6
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything...

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    8.3
    Well looked after in a lovely setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well looked after in a lovely setting. Food and atmosphere were excellent

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Guests also reviewed these properties: