Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Morulana Guest House 3 stars

43 Wynand Street, Glen Marais, 1619 Kempton Park, South Africa

#37 of 61 hotels in Kempton Park

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 26 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Nice place with comfy bed and very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just need more parking space No long mirror in room Was some towels short, human mistake

    Nice place with comfy bed and very clean Friendly staff very good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.9
    Overall, it is a place that I look forward to using in my next trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was kind of monotonous. It needed some kind of variety!

    The beddings were spotless and very clean. The chalk of Irene, the Manager, was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Be safe then sorry.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast is the same every morning and its a bit boring.I really would have love to have different breakfast every morning.

    I will highly recommend this guest house. it is in a very safe neighborhood. Security controls and inspects all vehicles and persons coming in and going out. Staff very friendly and efficient. The room rates are excellent. I really enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Great Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a little bit hard but that is personal preference and the Coffee station had some dirty teaspoons on it. The towel rail in the bathroom also came loose and fell off the wall.

    Location was great! Super for going to the airport. Communication with the hosts was also great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    2.5
    i booked a double bed room and told them in reception my...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i booked a double bed room and told them in reception my partner will be joining me,i was never told about the extra money untill checking out...im so unhappy and will never visit the place ever again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    easy location when on a business trip to overnight and leave the next day.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms are a bit small. Dinner was not available as I should have prebooked the day before. However, we stopped and picked up a take away.

    Irene was really helpful and organised my pick up from OR Airport and the return the next day. The personalized attention made all the difference.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.9
    Staff and mananger very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't offer fruits or fresh fruit juice on breakfast, also the bathroom could be more cleaned, but it was a nice place to stay 1 or 2 days.

    Staff and mananger very friendly. Irene was a careful host.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    5.8
    Dissapointed
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointing, since our previous visit two years ago was outstanding. Dustbin was still full of previous occupants rubbish. On arrival, room was only equipped with one towel, we were two people. Bathroom inside door handle was missing. Pool was filthy, not that we intended to swim, but still. The person hosting us complained about change of owners, that is why things weren't as they were supposed to be, but my feeling is that she was leaving/changing jobs, not change of owners.

    Room was tidy, except the dustbin. Bed was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    7.1
    Hostess were super friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t very clean

    Hostess were super friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Irene is very helpful.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Irene is very helpful. We didn't know the area and she gave us directions.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    Double check the room
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty towel on arrival

    Safety measures that I put in place

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    Friendly service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed a little hard

    Friendly service Good size room King size bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Relaxed, quiet and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything! Very relaxed, comfy bed, good breakfast, flexible and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Irene the manager was excellent!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Great service and very helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in quiet area. No noise.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Place to be
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Quite place to relax

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    5.4
    There is no backup watertanks if the water is of.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is no backup watertanks if the water is of. There were no water when i stood up at 06h00 to use the toilet,shower or to brush my teeth.That is not exeptable for a guest house.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    7.9
    A very nice clean place that I would recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The drive from the airport to the lodge was through dodgy part but that would not detract from recommending it to other people.

    A very nice clean place that I would recommend to anyone.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    6.3
    We as family with our children and their families had a...
    • Family with older children

    We struggled to find the place, even with a GPS. When they had electricity load-shedding, we had to use candles. They know about this and should install a generator. The landlady made a total nuisance of herself. Kept on asking do we need something. The second night we had to go to our rooms because she sat with us for very long. When my wife packed up, she stood for very long in the door, looking what was going on in the room. More privacy is needed.

    We as family with our children and their families had a great first night there and had a braai. My son could even take his dog along. The breakfast was tasty and very big.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    8.8
    Privacy, homely, good security, spacious garden, friendly...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Noise of Aircraft taking off at OR Thambo

    Privacy, homely, good security, spacious garden, friendly staff, lovely freshly cooked breakfast, nice and compact, close to the airport

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    2.5
    Dim lights, mould on shower wall, birds nest of electric...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dim lights, mould on shower wall, birds nest of electric wires - kettle blew when switched on. Sub-standard for R580!

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    9.6
    Staff were friendly
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Twin beds

    Staff were friendly

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    7.5
    The location, the facilities and the proximity to good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room could have been a bit cleaner, especially the shower.

    The location, the facilities and the proximity to good shopping and dining areas.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    9.2
    Staff friendliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    All good

    Staff friendliness

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    9.6
    Extremely quiet and secure
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Extremely quiet and secure Comfortable bed. Owner went out of her way to assist us when we needed it Extremely clean and safe parking on site

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: