Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Premier Resort Mpongo Private Game Reserve

Macleantown District, N6 National Road, 5201 Macleantown, South Africa

#1 of 1 hotels in Macleantown

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 69 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They never gave us the option to choose the supposed upgrade or the room which we initially booked - which in our eyes was absolutely stunning & so much better.

    Loved the room we initially booked - they had “upgraded” us but it was not what we wanted or expected. We knew what we booked & when they put us in some sterile hotel we were not very happy. They did however change our room the next morning to what we had asked for which was much much better!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit outdated. They said breakfast was included but then had to pay... overpriced too. Dinner was overpriced too when you consider quality.

    It was secluded and could see wild animals from the rooms all day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River Lodge
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact there were no rangers to offer game drives and no one had the decency to email and advise us

    The room. The lions despite being in small enclosures looked well and happy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast 😭my omelet was full of oil, I requested Banting friendly food by that was not it at all, it had lot of oil and processed cheese.

    The staff was so friendly, the receptionist, Mdu the guy who feeds lions, the ranger, the two guys at the lodge-they were really good with us

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • River Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath water runs really slow... not sure if there is a reason for this but be prepared to maybe watch an episode before your bath has enough water in it.

    The rooms were soo spacious. Great African décor and super comfy bed! Bath tub was amazing too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the lack of variety of food and the meal prices. We where told that our bedding cant be changed cause the lodge was fully booked. mean while we had already spent a night there

    everything about it so peacefull and quiet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s the first game reserve I’ve been to where they charge separately for game drives, usually included as part of the package. Also, the policy to disallow own alcohol being brought into your room is a bit unusual.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of access to amenities; dangerous road conditions; borders on a rural poverty stricken community with inhabitants roaming the area. The smell of neighbouring RCL Food's division - Cobb Farms - waste of deceased chickens and other contaminated materials are left in metal bin for days before disposed of.

    Tranquility of nature made enjoyable with the provision of modern, luxurious accommodation. Staff are quiet, observant, friendly and provide personalised, efficient service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not to much of a big deal,other lodges ect. always ask you to place the towels in the bath if you want fresh towels.I did not see a wall plug for electrical shaver you normally find in bath rooms? We were sitting close to the fire place in the dining room at the main gate.We found that the table and our food were decorate from the ashes.So we were moved to another table.So be careful with the fire place maybe placing something around on the side of the first table next to it.

    I think the safari tour were the best as we never went on anything like that before,and in the cold but we were given some ponchos to cover us from the but of cold

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not what we had expected and seen from the photos, was expecting a rondavel but turned out only the river lodge offers rondavels. The road to the lodge was very bumpy with lots of potholes.

    The game drive was amazing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit cold in the room, in the lounge area and also for dinner we had to keep our jackets on. This is however something we are just not used to. Still had a great time.

    Staff was very friendly and flexible. Location is beautiful and the room we had as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't give tips to the waiters who had served us at the restaurant due to us not carrying cash on the day. However if the facility can make provision like in other reastaurants for us to swipe the total amount including tips and reimburse the waiters with cash, that will be great.

    Our experience at Mpongo Park achieved and actually exided our expectation. We wanted a peacefullness and tranquility and that was toped bt the friendliness of staff and scenery.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are some potholes on the way to the Game Reserve which need attention. Other than that our experience was👌

    We liked the location of the game reserve because it is not far from King Williams Town something we were looking for because we didn't want to drive in the dark. Also it is close to East London airport which is a bonus. The rooms are clean and spacious. The staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. The service at the restaurant was very good and quick.It was our first time at the game reserve and we will definitely come back!!🖒

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River Lodge
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dining facilities at the lodge we stayed in, had to travel approx 3 miles each way for all meals except when the lodge was fully on one night.

    Staff tried their best

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The buffet at dinner and breakfast were not good and the value was poor. Better to order off the menu, the food was much better. Also, the roads were in poor condition because of rain and they would still be difficult for a regular car.

    The food in the restaurant was very good. Watching the hippos at breakfast was nice. we enjoyed the game drive, very knowledgeable guide

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little too far away from everything. Facilities rather basic. Otherwise ok.

    Nice location. Very secluded and private. Best for getting away from it all.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too short a stay, needed more time

    Lolitha and Martin are exceptionally accommodating and went out off their way to cater for our family. Well done guys you guys are stars.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is quite small so probably wouldn't recommend for more than a threw night stay.

    Fantastic environment, greet rangers, wide spread of animals including antelope. The food in the reetaurant was delicious and great opportunity to see the hippos-overall excellent value for money!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River Lodge
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My girlfriend and I had the most amazing time it was her first time in South Africa and she was blown away by how beautiful Mpongo was and how awesome the game ranges and staff where to us :) will definitely be back .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One bed side pedestal and no mirror in the room. They also only provide 1.5liter water per room per day. You can't drink their tap water. Water should be free and readily available in the whole complex.

    Food was fresh, staff friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    The view of the river where my room was at, it was so beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    The honey suite and the people were very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quietness and tranquility

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Conveniently located, good facilities, friendly and helpful staff, good food. Reasonably priced game drive. Upgraded for free. Relaxing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of at this moment.

    Like is an understatement. I loved everything. Friendly staff indeed and the food was absolutely great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food prices

    secluded, quiet, not crowded

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tv in the room. That is too bad

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible tap water, no fridge in room.

    Great situation and staff and food. Beautiful animals, missed the elephants but saw the lions, giraffes, buck.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was super comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Network reception needs a lot of improvement

    Neatness, comfortable spacious rooms. Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on the second day was a night mare!

    Environment atmosphere, it was awesome!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lights in the path at night on the way to our room

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything really had a good time

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really was excellent

    Views were awesome

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    The game park is so refreshing and brings very close to nature.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tvs in the rooms..

    Food was excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant food wasn't the best. It was overpriced and there wasn't very much variety.

    We were upgraded to a better room for free.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Group
    • Huberta Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None

    Spacious

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Group

    Too expensive for what you get. Breakfast was not available at 7 AM. We had to eat dinnerin our room, not possible at restaurant. Game Reserve at was a bit disappointing, but maybe because I already visited Kruger and Hwuluwe.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were two staff members that were abrupt/ rude, one being at breakfast where the lady said to Us, as We where taking a seat, to not sit there and to rather sit on the top seating as she was setting tables. We are paying for the experience and did not want top sit so far from the view of the dam, and how much effort does it really take to re-set a table.

    beds, jacuzzi, the ranger Sean was very friendly and entertaining, the ranger Rodney was also very nice, watching the hippos in the dam at breakfast, the chefs (Bongani) and Mr Marx where good to chat to, waking up to nyala buck, hogs and monkeys just outside Our room. We were very grateful for the way We were accommodated.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The TV situation,people have different taste when it comes to TV viewing,please pay an extra attention when addressing that issue. Thanks.

    I liked the orientation,the wild life. The non-Network situation,i had a feeling like i'm in BigBrother Mzansi...lol.

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast took 40 minutes to arrive. Cooked breakfast had to be sent back as no time to eat it Continual and loud chatter from staff in kitchens. When we returned to room, having arranged a late check-out, there were two ladies in the room - one of whom was taking a shower. Management stated they were not staff - implying that keys are available to non-staff members - a serious security worry.

    Good bed. Curtains that actually keep out the light Dinner

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Attitude by supervisors was very much of a bass attitude. Apdating about food was poor.at some stage we could not even receive snack during the day even prepared to pay for that.reception by the gentleman who received us at night of arrival was marvelous. He love his work to an extent of helping with luggage s.pathway s are very difficult to walk and pull luggage especially during n after rainy days.we loved animals kept.attitude need to be addressed as soon as possible especially at the capacity of supervisor thank u.at this stage I will definetly refuse a chance to visit again even if I was for free.

    Environment

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is nothing to dislike a Mpongo Private Game Reserve.

    The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The facility itself is to notch. I enjoyed the morning Game drive the most.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't see all the animals BUT that's no ones fault BUT the animals.

    Staff members are always there for ur every need our tour Guide Thomas was incredible the experience was worth more than money He was informative and always there to Help and support.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food need some improvement here and there and maybe some aircons for the rooms for the price you pay. And then the pool pump weren't working so it was dirty and slimy

    The nature is beautiful and we enjoyed the baby animals, the lions and hippos and seeing stretch (baby giraffe) for the second time!

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The drive to river lodge could be better maybe try fix it.

    Overall excellent service

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Eggs were over cooked

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A beautiful place with great comfort and superb service.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No bad expirience, all was fine

    To stay middle in the Bush

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Still needs a little more work to boost the place

    very intimate place and the staff is so helpful

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The road to Mpongo is in a poor state

    Loved everything about our stay

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything it was a great stay, staff very friendly food was great enjoyed it

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    cant fault it at all

    Loved our time here, great food, great company! We will most certainly be back!

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small issues but would have been nice to have an Aircon in the room and also a small Television ....

    Everything

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: