Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of New Kings Hotel 4 stars

94 Regent Road, Sea Point, 8005 Cape Town, South Africa

#97 of 152 hotels in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 903 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The property being on the 2nd floor of the mall isn't that attractive, taking into account you have to use the parking area as an entrance. the parking lot gives a bad impression of the place. There must be a clear signage on the ground from the spar entrance. The aircon nobs weren't working, however when reported, it was attended to even offered to be moved to another room.

    The welcome by the reception was great. the property inside is good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would suggest they include porridge/oats to their breakfast as some of us don't eat what's on offer

    Spacious room, cleanliness, great location. They made a plan for my request for a room with a view of the ocean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didnt like much

    Honestly I have stayed there a zillion times but this was the pits. Mess up with room - the ad said separate bathroom; it was not - wifi never worked; staff always have an excuse for everything; breakfast room disgusting - greasy, dirty - we left and went to eat somewhere else. Poor show overall

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The signage to the New Kings Hotel is really bad, for someone from out of town, it is really frustrating trying to find the hotel and the reception. In addition to this, I was not advised that there were 2 lifts to the hotel. I went downstairs for dinner and then tried to go back up to my room, only to find that all the entrances on each floor were closed of with gates. I had no idea where to go and how to get back to my room and there was no information available to advise me otherwise. After going up and down the lift a few times and getting very frustrated, I realised that there was another lift in the building that I had to use. Visitors should be advised of this on arrival to avoid frustration and signs put in the lift for visitors who do attempt to use the second lift after hours. This inconsideration of out of town visitors really tainted my experience at the New Kings Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was really basic - staff not interested - management missing. WiFi connection is very frustrating with ureadable passwords that require constant re-connection. A lot of street noise from taxi's hooting for business (THey need to be told that they are destroying their future business)

    Double room was quite spacious and comfortable. Parking and location are excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from the outside caused by central ventilation system, but it keeps the rooms well ventilated and fresh. No room service late at night.

    Interesting decor. The room and linen was neat and clean with all necessities on hand. Close to shops, spa and health practitioners.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had cockroaches in our room and the stuff just provided us with a spray. The room, hotel and location was nothing like we expected based on the pictures. The hotel is next to constructon sites so very noisy and is above a small dirty mall so we also had food smell in our room.

    The breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room floors dirty Blanket dirty bed base cover dirty furniture looks old and tatty (even though I know they added new furniture 2016 or 2017)

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The scrambled eggs prepared on monday, 6th of May were awful and tasted stale. The staff seem to be happy to talk between themselves and give very little attention to guests. We struggled to get their attention when we needed help. There is no tobasco sauce, no beef sausages for my daughter on monday. My daughter does not eat pork. The breakfast seems to be run on a low budget and it was too obvious for me as a guest.

    The view from our room. The room is decorated beautiful. The art around the hotel looks amazing. Shops (Woolworths, Vida Cafe) are easily accessible from the hotel whilst the hotel remain private.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    would have helped to have an aircon manual as even the maintenace guy wasn't sure of how the maclaren aircon works. and the small fridge in room was not working got replaced but even replaced was a poor performer

    i like the area and the fact that there are shops downstairs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt like that the bath was not working I especially booked thatthat specific room for my fiance so she could relax in a bath.if I had known the bath was not working id take the normal standard room wich really isnt different. I understand cape towns going through a saving water crisis but then note on the site that bath dont work. Anyway over all was good

    Loved everything the cleanliness tidyness of the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some facilities getting dated. iPod facility in the room could be upgraded to USB input and thus support different devices.

    Good location in Cape Town. Friendly reception staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The excessive noise from the extractor fan mounted above room 502 on the roof sheets. It was loud, intrusive and unacceptable.

    Friendly staff, especially Etienne

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was terrible. The pillows were not comfortable and here was construction work which made for a lot of noise early in the morning

    Staff were helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The term mini bar used for room facilities instead of what was provided initially - a cooler

    When booking the room it stated each room included a mini bar, which to me means small fridge, however when we got there it was a cooler, I informed them that my granny is diabetic and her medication needs to be kept refrigerated, and the next day a real bar fridge, which was cold and not cool inside was brought to the room, am so thankful for that.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the scrambled egg would have been nicer if less greasy.

    The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. The Breakfast was well planned and enjoyable.. The hotel is starting to look worn, which is a shame as its situated quite conveniently to the promenade

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator stuck twice. But they fixed it later the evening. The wood furniture looked old but the room and bed was stunning. Loved the art work.

    Inside a small little shopping complex with Woolworths and Spar. Close to everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger than usual room size, excellent location and direct access to vida e, woolworths food & restaurants down the road. Secure and 2 mins walk from sea point promemade

    Room Size, location, cleanliness, luggage storage & secure parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is old and this is evident in the flooring and some of the furniture. The offerings on the satellite tv could be improved. The cleaning staff are not very silent in the morning

    Location and price. The property has a reasonable location in close proximity to the ocean. The price per night was also reasonable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could have been me but I felt like the last time I was there in 2017, the breakfast had a little bit more variety. The coffee much better, this time the coffee was absolutely bitter, I ordered 2 fried eggs medium and I got to fried eggs made into 1 egg with 2 yolks and well done. Shame the staff is awesome as always. Otherwise, everything was good.

    Shame the staff is awesome as always. Otherwise, everything was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the hotel is very hard to find. It is on top of a shopping centre. There was nobody to carry our suitcases up from the street level. The room was very small and had a musty smell and the air conditioner was not working properly. The shower is in the bedroom with no dividing door. The decor is terribly old fashioned. When I went down for breakfast at 10 a.m. there was hardly anything left. Just as well I had only booked for one night.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows on the beds were not very comfortable. The security in the hotel is non existent, where anybody can go from the underground parking or the food/shopping court get in the lift and arrive at your hotel room door. There is a security guard looking at cameras in the underground parking but when we came home on the Friday night at about 10h00 the guard was fast asleep in front of the cameras and we just walk past him got in the lift and into the hotel with absolutely no security at all stopping anybody entering the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival too many things didn't work, including the fridge which was never sorted, it was not cold. The window door did not open and the outside area was covered in mess.

    The room was spacious, clean and well kept.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was an issue with one staff member, but that was dealt with in a very professional manner, and everyone went out of their way to make sure we were happy after that. The TV stations could have been sorted out... too many duplicates and really random.

    we were very close to everything, and found it to be a very convenient but at the same time it was like we were on holiday with wonderful views and the constant sound of the ocean. It was also exactly like the pictures.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Repetitive breakfast every day, dishes were not replaced when empty, cheese hard, always had to ask for hot water, juice containers broken. LADY CHEF? walking around eating in the dinning room, when asked to replace croissants she mumbled EISH! staff talking very loudly to each other. Noise factor in the room rather unbearable and floors in the room filthy, cleaning ladies should check towels for HOLES before replacing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. Very limited continental choices. I asked for an espresso and the waiter told me to go to Vida e cafe. !! We stayed in 3 bedrooms for a one night stay. The first room had a twin bed ...We booked a queen bedroom. The second room had an extremely noisy air con. We stayed there but had to be moved at 4am, after we discovered that the air con had flooded the bedroom floor. The third room had an air con which made noise but no cold air.

    The breakfast patio had a lovely spot in the corner where we could enjoy an ocean view. After shuffling us 3 times, we requested a free night but were offered a 50% refund. This was very fair.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Wanted to keep our room on for a later check out than 11.00am - we had to pay £120 for an extra 5 hours- this was very disappointing!

    Overall a good experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear people next door having sex. Got me hot tho! Im sure they had a great time.

    That they could charge soo much and give soo little. Probably the worst hotel i stayed in in a long time

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was dirty when I got there. Carpets in the corridor are dirty and stained. At breakfast the grapefruit was rotten. Choose another hotel to stay at!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zéro value for money. Felt like living out of a freshly painted container box. No working Wi-Fi in room. No effort to improve guest experience even after many complaints.

    Friendliness of staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor in the room was filthy, aircon unit old and made a lot of strange noises, sheets didn’t fit the bed, buffet breakfast terrible with bad coffee communal area carpets in the hotel passages frayed and filthy as well as walls all marked and dirty and Wifi did not work at all and staff couldn’t be bothered to try and sort it out ...

    Bed was comfy and room was spacious

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air conditioners in the communal area were off leaving you with a stuffy reception and passage area. The carpets were filthy as were the lifts inside and outside. Breakfast was not up to expectations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you don’t like noisy streets & like windows open then this isn’t for you.

    Location brilliant. Sad though to see the staff so ambivalent about what’s happening in Cape Town and you can see the care of the hotel and rooms are suffering.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was average ... could be better

    I forgot some items in my room and was happy that I was able to collect it the next day - it was kept in lost property

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    the hotel occupies the top floors of an 8/9 storey building...the ground floors are supermarkets needing forced air for refrigeration/cooling....those multiple fans draw external air from beneath the hotel sea facing rooms...the noise of the fans is constant and havng the windows open was not an option for me. Deliveries for the supermarkets similarly arrive at a place directly beneath the sea facing rooms. The range of channels on the tv was disappointing and not on a par with other hotels in the vicinity.

    The hotel is quite new and the décor is fresh and spacious. There is a breakfast room which doubles later in the day as a modestly stocked cocktail bar and lounge area. Well located for the sea,the cape town tour bus stop point,the many restaurants,the local citi bus network for which a prepaid card is required and obtainable at the bus stop within 3 mins walk at Queens Beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a private taxi for return on silvester eve, but the driver (Jacob) left us behind . . . so we had no chance to get another one and we had to walk. We were lucky that locals picked as up because they were afraid about our security.

    The room and the hotel was really great, nice employes and a great breakfast. On new years day they serve headace tablets that was a nice gesture.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning unit broke and was not repaired. Opening a window instead meant I was disturbed by deliveries to the supermarkets below.

    Sea view from room 506

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The was a construction site nearby which made a lot of noise and we're not informed about it. The staff didn't assist much about going for activities.

    The bed wa comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The cleaners did not replace toilet paper or milk sachets daily.

    The croissants were delicious - I could not stop eating them! A very nice breakfast was available. Close proximity to shops, facilities and beach.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to room floor was not limited to guests only. Everyone can use the elevator from the foodcourt of the mall. Breakfast quality was average.

    Huge room including large bathtub, very helpful receptionist. Breakfast terrace partly offered seaview. Location great. Close by many restaurants in the main road as well as close to the promenade of Sea Point.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con unit above the bed leaked after an hour or two of it being on.

    The hotel is well located in sea point, there are plenty of shops and places to eat nearby. Plenty of underground parking available too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody to meet you or take your luggage up to your room. I had to do three trips from my car to the room taking up all the luggage. We where given somebody elses room as the accommodation was double booked. The glass lift is part of the balcony so every person on the lift can see you and look into part of the bedroom. The sliding door didnt lock.

    Room was clean. General staff very helpful. The breakfast was average . Centrally situated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We made the booking for our friends and gave our credit card as a guarantee but 50% of the 2 rooms booked was deducted. We contacted the hotel to ask if they could change the booking to a new credit card but they refused to do this. The rooms were old and having stayed there before were aware that they had refurbished rooms which we requested but they would not give these rooms to us. I am afraid that the hotel should pay more attention to the guests requests.

    Breakfast was good with wide selection

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom was not very good. Bathroom door did not shut properly, water seeped onto the floor which is uncomfortable as there was no bath mat. The toilet floor was not clean. Very complex entry to the lifts. Make sure you ask the receptionist how to enter the rooms if you intend to arrive after hours or go out and come back late.

    The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was beautifully set out and compared to many other hotels the staff was there t o assist us Will definitely return to this hotel Give a rate of 10 out of 10

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The petrol garage next door must receive a lot of complaints from all the surrounding hotels. They can easily dampen the noise with a simple solid structure. This is an upmarket area and they simply bring down the neighborhood. Sound travels and most noise comes from petrol attendants themselves

    Everything at the hotel was great - so nice that I checked to see if I had the right room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Better coffee, could invest in a bean to cup machine. Bar opened only at 2pm and a meeting at 1pm was not accommodated.

    Room comfortable and functional. The location was good for access to the waterfront and other meeting venues. Being situated on a busy street can be a bit noisy at times but easy access to the promenade made exercise easy and enjoyable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No proper signage from spar entrance to the lift and on 2nd floor nothing says you are at the New Kings Hotel reception you kind of have to ask

    Friendly, improvement with signage from the street to the hotel will help to easily gain access to the building. They have the quickest room service ever!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself was great, however from the description and the photos we were not aware it would be on the second floor, above shops and a public car park. Additionally the first phot is misleading as it isn't actually part of the hotel, more of the shopping centre downstairs.

    Room was a great size, big bath and shower, plus a separate changing section to the room. Receptionist was very welcoming and helpful, recommended a superb restaurant for our first night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty room and poor cleaning. Never been to such a dirty room before. The cleaning staff left our room door opened for an entire day when she left the room. We only arrived at the room very late and the door was opened...glasses and coffee maker weren't washed by the cleaning staff any day of our stay. We tried to warn the front desk and asked for another coffee maker but it was even dirtier. It was terrible.

    Location was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just add a pool, and its heaven.

    The view was spectacular! being able to see the peak of Lion's head was a beautiful sight. The staff was super friendly, room sizable! the mirrors, lighting, comfort was great. The breakfast was good too. The accessibility to local shops, boutiques, bistros, bus routes& stops is an added BONUS :-).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi gave us issues from the first day. They really need to look into improving that

    The staff was really friendly, the rooms were well cleaned and the entire hotel was well kept, really a great value for money. And the hotel was conveniently located, it was close to everything including the beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No HP sauce at breakfast.

    The location really works for me. I use a wheelchair to get around any distance. I can easily access shops, restaurants, coffee shops and the sea front without having to take the car. Easy access to MiCity buses also.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You cant sweem in the ocean,@ sea point as well as waterfront. There is no Mall nearhy.

    The bed room looks to the sea room 406 and dinning hall got same sea view. Only few steps to beach.Transport accessible to travell any where you like

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our previous stay we had given the reception staff comments on a few issues which needed to be addressed - non working light over mirror, no hangers, mirror over basin too high for someone in a wheelchair to see into (shaving therefore difficult) Sadly a month or more later on our return stay nothing had changed. Trying to open or close the vastly high and long curtains is a nightmare! Would curtain rods help here?

    Good to have one room with disabled facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location, close to a.o. Clifton Beach, Camps Bay and V&A Waterfront. Good parking facilities. Modern rooms with comfortable beds, tastefully decorated and a good view of the sea (see photo). Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to sleep in a 3quarter bed with a very small duvet cover. They didn't serve the best breakfast, not much option for bread. No hot cereal like oats. If you are a vegan you will be lost. No napkins on the tables. Very limited TV channels.

    Close to amenities. Beautiful location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked on line with a credit card, that took half of the booking of which was r805 and on arrival paid full amount of r1610 I was under the impression that credit card payment did not go through, I paid r1700 the receptionist could have picked up on the system that I should have paid r805 instead of full amount. A week later we then discover that our bank statement an amount of r805 was actually processed from credit card I then requested a receipt from new kings they sent me a receipt that indicates a r805 credit card payment and a cash payment of r805 and not 1610 I was shocked, called the reservation requested to sent me a cctv footage and the person who assisted me on arrival, they did not sent me a cctv footage and claimed that they could not see the money I gave that receptionist due my position and further advised me that they have suspended the employee who will be scheduled for a polygraph test and they requested 50% from me and should the employee found guilty they will re-fund and should the employee not found guilty I will be held liable for the full payment of the polygraph, I was soo annoyed as am working in an organisation where we serve clients and ensuring that business is sustained and also protecting employees, iv found that very disturbing and so irritating,

    I had good experiences before but my last visit changed my perception all together.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have hot water for 2 nights. TV wasn't working, and there seemed to be no effort in fixing it.

    Breakfast was good, and so was the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had difficulty locating the entrance to the hotel and the parking and eventually had to park in the street and explore on foot. One located, access by car was easy via a side road - not via the main street address.

    The variety of breakfast options available was excellent. The scrambled egg was not great - overcooked!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    they must just increase the variety in their breakfast menu a lil bit, it had most of the things but they is a room for improvement

    the space of the room , the view, the convenience of the hotel towards everything from shops, transport, beach is exceptional

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not problems, or reasons to stay away, but certainly quirks to keep in mind: 1. The entrance can be a little hard to find; I got lucky that some random guy on the street has obviously seen travelers struggle to find it in the past and helped me out. Maybe send a guide to people who book? 2. The open plan bathroom / bedroom concept - modern, yes; practical - not so much. 3. Pushing two single beds together to make a double bed is common in hotels. Pushing them together while still made up as single beds is not. 4. Tea / coffee facilities - great, but nowhere near a power outlet. 5. WiFi - the 1Gb that was provided was certainly generous, but demand of an evening clearly outstrips supply; it was fine in the morning. Don't bank on it if you have anything important to do of an evening. 6. Soundproofing is not great - I was woken by the neighbouring room watching TV at 3am.

    Great location at Sea Point; access from the airport via car was easy. The variety of items available for breakfast was great. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and generally comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel need to make it clear that they only do breakfast before you make the booking, it is a problem if you arrive late at a hotel, think you going to have dinner and they reply they dont do dinners you need to order a delivery food service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Access through the car park downstairs Receptions limited knowledge on how hotel facilities work Place in general is getting very tired - but with newish bathroom area Sheets were stained and found hair in the bed! Shower door would not open fully Information pack out of date

    Location, value, room size and buffet breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had no red wine at the bar!! They advertise late checkouts but the latest they will do is 12 o'clock and our flight was 1930!

    Great location. Friendly staff. Good breakfast and nice rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfats could vary a little bit. It was exactly the same thing everyday

    The hotel is placed on mini mall which is very convinient, rooms are very clean and spacious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We left the following feedback at the reception desk: Someone in a wheelchair cannot see in any mirror whilst at a basin (difficult for shaving). Mirror height in large toilet could be lowered. Also could do with a small shelf to the side of this basin as there is no room for accessible toiletry items. No hangers in the cupboard (except for the 2 with bath robes on) Very difficult to pull closed/open curtains - they are so tall - maybe a rod pull might help?

    Excellent breakfast. Room 501 set up specifically for a disabled person in a wheelchair (a very rare find!) Much appreciated by the both of us (my husband is a double over the leg amputee and I am his carer) Spacious room with all one might need.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to locate entrance to hotel from basement. Just small hotel sign and lift did not indicate which floor hotel was on. Furniture as you got out of lift was very tatty with veneer pulled off and even in the bedroom which really cheapened the overall look which was good. So I would say veneer coming loose on furniture just not up to 4stars. Tv reception was bad with lines

    The breakfast was very good. location good. Good value overall

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi is terrible, automatically log off all the time, and the 2nd day morning, I have to request for the new password from reception.

    convenient and safe location, close to coast. markets downstairs. seaview from room and restaurant. separate toilet with bath room. clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Orange water coming out of the taps Seagulls squawking all night long (windows weren't double glazed) Lights in the bathroom weren't working Door entry system was faulty The room wasn't particularly warm Wifi was limited to 1000mb - no good for business travelers - needs to be unlimited

    Location and serving staff in the restaurant. Parking facilities excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was super convenient. The hotel was very nice. Rooms very large and clean. Staff amazing. Arrange airport pickup. I checked out at 5am (for great white shark expedition) and they held my luggage until I left for the airport at 8pm. I would absolutely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not appreciate the fact that after travelling for 24 hours when I wanted to bath then the bath plug wouldnt work. Desmond moved us to another room, he was helpful. The water was brown when it ran into the bath and it took wasting alot of water before it was hot. I was told it was due to the drought and that it gets warm eventually.

    The breakfast buffet was a beautiful selection of fresh fruit and cereals, croissants and cold meat with cheese. Also warm selection.Luthando the waiter at breakfast was the better one and he was very friendly.The coffee was fantastic!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No signage so difficult to find if taking wrong lift from parking. Velvet chairs, curtains and bed throw not in keeping with fresh, clean, modern decor.

    Lovely selection of fresh fruit at breakfast and cooked selection.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No proper signage from parking basement. Electronic door cards not working . Poor WI_FI . Poor security ,staircase open to public with no security

    Location and parking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The armchairs in the room were not comfortable It would have been good to have a restaurant for evening meals.

    The quiet room (No.310 The breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: