Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of NH Cape Town The Lord Charles 4 stars

Corner Main Road (M9) & Broadway Boulevard (R44), 7130 Somerset West, South Africa

#4 of 6 hotels in Somerset West

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 458 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That it was difficult to charge my phone as your plug was very loose. I reported it but it didnt feel much better when I returned to the hotel. I'm not sure maintenance attended or not

    Super comfy bed and pillow. Great night sleep. Liked I could go outside. Liked the heater. And very very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is my third visit to the hotel. The fruit, cereals, yogurt, cold meats and beard sections were displayed beautifully and tasted well. However the food in warm section was oily, dried out and tasteless if you go to breakfast after 08:30. The bay-marines are not monitored and filled up regularly. Such a pity.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon (heating) was not working properly and it was cold. Then their blanket I requested also not nice quality. Lighting in the rooms quite dim for working.

    The gown and sleepers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom had a damp musk smell, the aircon unit did not work and only blew cold air and there were no additional blankets in the room. I met a client who had 2 cups of coffee but because we sat in the dining room were charged for a full breakfast (R165 for 2 filter coffees)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the room decor was very bland and basic compared to the lovely foyer and reception areas.We had a superior room, but it had no balcony or outside seating area and the bathroom could not have been smaller. May as well take a standard room next time.

    The staff - incredibly helpful, approachable,efficient,friendly. The restaurant food was exceptionally good - which once again brings me to the staff: well done to the chef and thank you to the waiter...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I would ask when we go there again is to get a room a little bit closer to the reception.

    Loved rhe extra touches,chocolates and water in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a big disappointment... needs an upgrade. Voile curtains were dirty and hanging on few hooks so looked shoddy, bar fridge only had 2 bottles of water in it and unfortunately smokers tended to congregate under our window (not the hotel's fault).

    We enjoyed our meals both our dinner and breakfast. Great variety at breakfast and good service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was disgusting! Black mould was highly visible on the tiles in the bathroom. Silicone was yellowed and pulling away from the bath and basin. The aircon sounded like a broken tractor. The "King size bed" was two single beds pushed together and the height of each mattress wasn't even the same. The sofa would have been more at home in a homeless shelter or rather it should be donated to the SPCA. I complained at checkout and had a manager call me. She did call but it was only to offer excuses like "I cannot check the problems in the room because housekeeping got there before me" well if housekeeping could fix that mess with handy Andy and a rag, they deserve a medal. Breakfast was not much better either. The manager offered a complimentary night but I don't believe I deserve to be punished any further.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are quite thin and we were woken quite early by people talking in the passages and someone stomping around their room. The buffet breakfast was nothing special, it had the usual spread and offerings. I felt the price charged for one night was rather inflated.

    The hotel is in a great location, close to a mall and other restaurants. You can see that the rooms have recently been upgraded as they have some modern finishes. The bed was very comfortable and large as was the shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't realise I paid half the payment and then the other half on arrival. I thought I paid it all at the beginning, this would be better. The lighting in the room was very bad.

    I loved the breakfast buffet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived at breakfast first morning at 10:10, I was told to help myself at buffet as breakfast was nearly over. I knew this but would still have liked them to smile and be friendly ? Bathroom: washbasin and shower clean on arrival but not the second day.

    Bed was comfy and had good room service delivery from kitchen. Your staff at reception are very friendly. Morning staff at front door smile and are friendly. I would like to see cleaner bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waitress reject us from entering the breakfast room and sent us to another room just because they think we're chinnese... I dont like they way they treat them i feel of offense..eventhough we're not chinnese..

    The other staff are nice.. The place is cozy.. And the food is superb

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We moved rooms two times due to poor sanitary smells experienced in the bathroom. The duty manager did try to make up by moving us to a suite.

    Staff were excellent & helpful. The location is brilliant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I made prior arrangements for 2*single beds telephonically the morning before checking it and was assured that it would be done. It was not ready on arrival. The gym could be bigger too with more equipment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the furniture needs upgrade, e.g. sun bed outside room (6007) was broken; bathroom furniture (shaving mirror, toilet roll holder) needs maintenance. Also, more shelf storage for clothes would be useful, but enough for short stays.

    Friendly and accommodating staff. Good breakfast. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Steep passages and defiantly not the guest below smoking at 06h00 in the morning killing the fresh air and clean smell for us. Should not be allowed to smoke in or around such a calm, clean and fresh aired hotel.

    The spacious room, the peace all around and the views when wakening up in the morning. The excellent breakfast and setting thereof as well as the peace throughout the hotel. Will recommend it to anybody at any time, that is why I booked my family for Easter Weekend..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee, compared to the rest of the breakfast fare the coffee was below standard for the hotel. The bare walls of the passages and hallways, the musty smell, a beautiful hotel which needs some tlc to spruce it up.

    Surprise upgrade on our rooms. Old world feel of the hotel. Fabulous breakfast. Real showers. Super fast and efficient check in and out. Gracious and polite staff who appeared to actually enjoy working there despite being so few.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Two things. It surprised us that the outside patio door of the room had not been replaced in the refurbishment (and we suspect this is true of most rooms). Unfortunately, we had a room at the far end of the hotel and it was a long, long walk especially for my wife with a medical problem.

    It is a spacious and very pleasant hotel with helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked three rooms, all three rooms smelled of mould. Carpets very dirty. Wi-fi was very poor. Coffee machine In breakfast room did not work. Stood there for about 10 minutes before anyone offered help, that is after already asking one of the waiters to asssit. Food tags at breakfast was not placed with the correct dish. Caused my partner to have an allergic reaction.

    Good locaction if you are visiting the winelands. Staff at reception was very friendly. Chiyanne at reception was absolutely delightfull!! Continental breakfast options very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed with pool in block5 looked very depressed and rundownand in need of refurbing

    Beds great size and comfort Room service excellent and quick and good homemade food for our little grandson . Good variety of places to eat food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was a very long way from reception and would have been nice with a view of something.

    overall a good hotel. great breakfast, lots of choice. lovely pool area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival foyer and reception was WOW, 4 star or more. Room very good as was bathroom. all facilities-very good but. It was 28degrees and 19th hole had no air circulation at all so moved to pool area. Lovely setting but please look at seat cushions. Outdoor breakfast area--seat cushions rate less than 1 star, very tatty. Bedroom sliding door to outside. How sad---maintenance on the door is about 5 years behind.

    see below

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I expected a double bed in my room not two single beds combined.

    The space to move around in the room. The warm receptionists; professional and courteous

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant expensive and meat was tough. Can not recommend. Breakfast.....not bad but new staff every day. Not very friendly. No cover for food so flies on food. Food not replenished and queues for eggs. Have to call for coffee. Some staff not good at all. Stayed at Beverley Hills Umhlanga three weeks prior and this was a come down from there. Aircon in room in totally wrong position...not effective.

    Bed was very comfy. Room was cleaned timeously.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were tired in terms of the decor. The upper pool required a good clean of the pool tiling.

    Staff were very helpful. Reception very clean and tidy giving a good first impression.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Excellent location with beautiful view of the mountains. Excellent and friendly staff. Above average size of room with fridge and bottled water. Excellent buffet breakfast, which was continuously replenished. Will certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing - everything was spot on.

    A lovely big, well run hotel with great ambience, friendly, welcoming and helpful staff and really everything you could wish for. Lovely big rooms with good views.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Put menu for the restaurant in the rooms so guests may place their orders from their rooms.

    The staff was very friendly and breakfast also catered well for the kids

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a well-established hotel on beautiful grounds (well kept with non-potable water in spite of severe water restrictions currently in place in Cape Town.) To me its best feature is its breakfast. The spread is really varied and contains everything from fresh pastries to seasonal fruit, bacon, sausages, a variety of eggs (including the option to have an omelette or any kind of eggs fried for you) fried tomatoes, fried mushrooms, baked beans, sparking wine, juice, cereals, preserves, Nutella, whipped cream, etc, etc, etc. The staff were friendly and helpful, room service prompt, the swimming pool clear and surrounded by comfy deck chairs , the breakfast AWESOME and the bed comfortable. Pillows were not overly puffy (like some hotel pillows). The room was basic for its price. I would have expected one or two trimmings like a nice table cloth or vase, or maybe a nice painting above the bed. (There was a series of pictures elsewhere in the room.) They could dust under the bed, but the rest is clean. The minibar fridge (which we emptied to put our own drinks in) did not cool down our drinks. The air-conditioning in our room was not very effective, but brought some relief. This is an old building, but it does not always show. The lobby has been beautifully renovated and modernized, but not all the wings of the hotel have been renovated, so I got an "old" feeling when you walked down the corridors towards our room. (The wooden sliding door which led to the small terrace outside our room, was really old with a very old-fashioned catch. But it worked.) The hotel has an on site bar, with a wonderful English Pub atmosphere. They had happy hour from 5-6pm (drinks half price) when we were there. (I believe it is a daily happy hour.) The hotel is walking distance from Waterstone Village shopping centre where you can eat out or find supermarkets, a bargain book store, gift shops, etc. There are fast food outlets within walking distance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacking a bit of finesse and extra polish. Staff are polite but not very efficient. Services are adequate but not exemplary. (Customer experience training would make a difference.) Facilities need a bit more attention to detail, for example, the paved area outside the Breakfast Room needed weeding and sweeping.

    Beautiful, well situated facility.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Original room (room 3008) hardly any cupboard space (maximum 60 cm wide. no drawers or other packing space), shelves collapsed on the floor of cupboard. We cleaned them ourselves using bath towel and attempted to reinstall prior to complaining. Sliding door of same room to outside decaying and off hinges. Therefor requested to move; got offered Junior suite at R450 / day extra. Junior suite (room 2003) good except funny smell: overflowing sewerage outside sliding door next to patio. Been there a while as such as evidence of the moss growing there. Complained to management who initially said didn't know about it. They called maintenance who did. That was on day one. was still the same when we left 3 days later.

    Upgraded room to junior suite on arrival: comfortable Breakfast good though staffing (chef) seemed to be under pressure. 2nd experienced would have made a difference and the place wasn't that busy. When one offers pancakes, one should have them available, not say 'no' because one has only a single chef on duty.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not a good experience. The toaster didn't work properly. The bain marie's had the incorrect labels on them. I waited at least 15 minutes for 2 soft-boiled eggs! It was all a bit disjointed!

    Very comfortable stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking through booking.com was quite tricky and frustrating. I ended up booking 2 rooms and I only needed 1. Luckily the staff at the Lord Charles Hotel were super efficient and friendly and sorted it out within minutes.

    Everything. Thank you.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The soap and shower cap boxes in bathroom had no soap or shower inside the boxes. Only had one bath robe with slippers in bathroom. Had to call twice to have a second robe delivered. Was delivered without slippers Also, the bar man was not very friendly when we asked him to make us cocktails. He seemed anoyed with our request, even though its in the menu

    The restaurant had good food that evening, but it was a bit overpriced for what it was. The breakfast was really good and the sparkling wine was a nice extra touch.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa for a huge hotel they couldn't accommodate the amount of people. The operating times for the salon and spa does not accommodate for guests we perhaps wants there hair done before dinner or Sunday morning before checking out.

    I loved the privacy but most of all the friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra length beds are super comfy and the rooms are spacious and clean. I loved the peaceful nature of the surroundings.A touching gesture was the box of chocolates, a congratulatory card and bottle of non alcoholic grape juice waiting for us in our room as we celebrated our 22 nd wedding anniversary.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a conference hotel amazingly poor and inconsistent wifi. Some rooms are a bit loud from the highway if one opens the terrace door. Early and not very flexible checkout time.

    Nice gardens and pools, friendly and helpful staff, some more recently renovated rooms quite nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very little storage space in room. Could do with an extra wardrobe. Very difficult to get staff to bring coffee to table at breakfast.

    Although the hotel was very busy, our room was very quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast had very few halaal-friendly options, and there was almost nothing left by the time my family arrived for breakfast.

    The rooms and pool facilities were good and the staff were friendly and helpful. The grounds are beautiful and well-tended. I'll be happy to return again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couch in the room was horrible, and there is a cost list for the mini-bar but the mini-bar was empty with the exception of a bottle of still water. At check in we had no help to carry our bags into the hotel because the staff seemed more concerned with tour bus that arrived just after us, which meant we were basically ignored.

    Location is great and bed is comfy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm felt like a sauna. The shower water was ice cold at 06:00 in the morning did not have warm water at all.

    The breakfast was amazing and the staff very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't sleep very well at all as the airconditioner keep on clicking on and off all night, which kept waking us up. the service at the pool was shocking and we had to get up and go order our drinks and lunch We were told breakfast starts at 7am but there is an early breakfast. We needed an early breakfast as I was told by the concierge that to get to stellenpark office park would take 1 hour. Nobody knew about the early breakfast so we went and sat in the restaurant all to be given a plate of 3 dry pastries and 1 apple, guava and dried out naartjie and none was peeled or presented properly (and this was PREPARED BY THE CHEF). I WAS SHOCKED. This was dreadful. I then left at 7am and got to stellenpark at 7.10am. Luckily my colleagues were in the office early, otherwise I would have sat outside the office park waiting 45 minutes for then, and after all, I could of had a decent breakfast at 7am. My company have booked me down again this week Friday to stay here, so we better get better service than this.

    We enjoyed the friendly staff at reception

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedside light too dim for reading. In fact with all lights on it was so dark one cannot find anything Annoying noise of a ?fridge? motor and no way of turning it off

    Good Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not so nice as both my wife and myself woke up with sore backs. Water was not hot in shower and even after complaining no change. Overall our stay was acceptable.

    The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Robes and towels old and over used in the room. The tea and coffee was unfamiliar. Although it is a nertherland and Spanish group hotel. I live in South Africa, but on request I was given five roses tea but not very nice coffee bags. Lastly the ladies toilet on the conference hall side had such a bad smell for 2 days of the conference and I reported this to a staff who had a office next to the ladies toilets.

    Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't have our booking confirmed Aircon wasn't working Twin instead of king size bed

    Manager and staff Friendly and accommodating Resolved our issues brilliantly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi disconnects, my door to the patio was broken

    The bed, the reason i drive from Bloubverg to sleep at the hotel. The bartender, friendly and efficient

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room service menu after 22:30 is VERY limited. Too limited. Bedside lamps too dull for reading. Hallways to the rooms very bland, cold and undecorated.

    Bed nice and soft. Climate control in room good and responsive, warming the room quickly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Michelle at the Garden Terrace went the extra mile for us, making arrangements to cater for our needs. A special thank you to her. Despite a problem with our room, Angelique at reception handled the situation impeccably.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was stark and the bathroom was small. Both the bathroom and bedroom were very badly lit. Breakfast was very ordinary and pre-cooked food wasn't hot. You cannot charge anything from the bar or room service to your room. A bottle of water costs more than a glass of wine!!

    Staff were friendly and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast room was more like a factory canteen. Definitely not 4 star.

    Reception staff very pleasant and helpful Comfortable room and comfortable bed. Location - close to everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we called housekeeping to request additional sachets of complimentary coffee and sugar and were initially informed by a staff member that we should have contacted Room Service instead and that we would have to pay for these items?? When we contacted reception, they simply sent a friendly lady to our room with sachets of coffee, sugar and milk - free of charge. I think there may be a disconnect between NH reception and housekeeping staff in terms of customer service/ hotel policy knowledge?

    The bed was super comfortable and staff very friendly and willing to help

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I think if anything the rooms could do with an upgrade and also my room did not have a bath not serious , very little cubboard space if one is staying for a few nights .

    Friendly Staff and great breakfast good security and friendly facilities for me as a handicapped person . Proximity to wine farms and Strand Beaches a bonus .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You cancelled our two night booking instead of amending it to one night ,so we had to book the one night as a separate exercise. We are still owed for the one cancelled night which you said would be refunded by the hotel. Can you help,please? One

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor communication i.e. Had booked twin beds, on arrival was told our room had one king bed (was rectified). Wasn't told you needed to pre-arrange a minibar, when trying to order room service they couldn't charge the amount to my room because reception forgot to pre-authorize my card on arrival (had to scrounge around looking for cash). Arranged a shuttle for 7:30pm when I arrived in the lobby, they were under the impression I had arranged it for 8pm. Chipped melamine furniture in the room (beds were however comfortable) and the bathroom had 3 strands of someone else's hair on arrival 🙁

    Good location, friendly staff, nice shower & great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water in the shower never got hot, and I was in a hurry so couldn't afford to phone and have someone try to look at the problem. There was also no conditioner in the bathroom and there was a little board that said guests could phone the front if they needed amenities, but again didn't have the time to phone and wait for it to be delivered.

    Nice located hotel on a nice property. Room was somewhat dated, but bed was comfortable and room was spacious. Staff was friendly and breakfast was great for a free option including a large variety of hot and cold options, sparkling wine, and nice homemade juices.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    3 of the TV channels didn't work. Wifi barely worked and there was no regular cellphone signal in the room. Twin beds pushed together. No one welcomed me or helped with my bags at upon arrival.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found drug parafinalia behind couch cushions (drug, blade and crystal meth pipe) from previous guest!!! We ordered room service one night and dirty plates etc wasn't cleared until 2pm the next day. Worst aromatic chicken curry I've ever eaten in my life. Will not be staying there again.

    Bed very comfortable. Staff very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say at all

    Best hotel service by far from our arrival to departure & Inbetween. Lunch was great too! The hotel even has dedicated parking for ladies wow!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disinterested and unhelpful staff, some room extremely long walk from reception, not all rooms have bath/shower- you need to follow up requests for either. broken patio door and broken furniture outside.

    location is excellent, secure parking and beautiful grounds

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    General comment as we had an overnight stay with a late check in. The staff was very friendly and helpful at reception and overall service was great and fast from room service to housekeeping ! Hotel room and bathroom was clean and well kept.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The trees around the pool areas could do with a prune after all these years they are now very tall and block the light meaning people struggle to get a sun lounger in the sun

    This is a lovely peaceful hotel in beautiful garden setting and the perfect end to a hectic Cape Town sightseeing holiday. We always do a week in the city followed by a few days here to re charge our batteries plus it's handy for the airport

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor poor management. Staff is not well trained.Our windows were so dirty we asked it to be cleaned and it was only done 8 hours later after repeated requests. Spiders in the corner behind curtains. The long beautiful hallways are stuffy. It smells between damp and dust not sure which is more. Staff was slow. This should be a 5 star hotel.

    Hotel as old charm with modern feel.The grounds and facility is absolutely fabulous. It's a shame that it is not kept in good condition.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being put in a room far from amenities. Only 1 barman at pub during happy hour .. took ages to get drink and take advantage of happy hour.

    Comfy bed. Good food. Service good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a big thing but I needed cash to purchase cigarettes from the hotel's vending machine. All I had was my credit card and my room account, but the hotel was not able to assist me get cash and I had to leave the property to find an autobank elsewhere.

    Beautiful spacious rooms and a friendly welcome. We were served out at the swimming pool by a lady Lesley who was kind and great at her work.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything about the lord charles is wonderful.the staff treat you like family,the pool is superb for an early morning swim,champagne breakfast and hollywood cocktails mixed by a top notch bar man.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Finding the entrance on arrival was a little confusing since my last visit. The extensive walk to the rooms at the rear of the hotel.....tiring when you have forgotten something or been out all day.

    The `Woman` Parking, which made it easier for transportation of luggage, shopping, disabilities etc. and was considerate of single women. Being closer to shops and Restaurants if required. The feeling of being away from it all, in spite of main roads and nearby traffic. Staff were kind, helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Certain parts of the hotel needs to done, The braai area at the far pool, woodwork all over the place, small things, but none the less distracting

    Very relaxing and quiet

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requires attention to detail when making up the room-items often omitted.

    Service has improved since our last visit a year ago. First floor rooms overlooking the garden and mountains are not yet refurbished but we love the view so prefer them.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The booking process online was time consuming via hotel website. Resorted to bookings.com. We needed to leave at 7am however breakfast only starts at 7am. They offered an early breakfast which was a small croissant and instant coffee. Not what we expect when we are paying for a breakfast. The rooms are very bland.

    The grounds, pool and reception area are great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All bedrooms are some distance from reception and require considerable walking. There is no lift. Basis bedrooms are comfortable but unwelcoming in their furnishing and décor.

    The Vigna restaurant was excellent - truly top class; all staff cheerful and helpful. Main lounge full of light and comfort.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved every second! We were sad to leave! So many ammenities, with the pool, gardens, tennis courts, gym, spa, pub, 2 restraunts, jacuzzi, dstv, it was everything we could have wanted.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift. (And no warning on website.) Bedrooms all a long walk away. Standard rooms large, comfortable and fairly clean; but bare, bleak and unwelcoming; below 4-star. (Ground floor suites much better.) "Mini-bar" has to be requested in advance; only slightly cools the bottles; no ice.

    Lounge and eating facilities excellent. La Vigna Restaurant well above 4-star. Good varied wine list. Friendly service. Wheel-chair provided for long distance back to bedroom.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The Wi-Fi in the bedrooms is patchy. You definitely need a car if you are staying as a holiday-maker as otherwise you are very restricted. This hotel nowadays is geared more towards one-night groups/coach parties/company events rather than individual longer term holiday-makers but that has not deterred us from revisiting.

    The staff are all extremely polite and cheerful. They go out of their way to be helpful. The Sunday buffet lunch is excellent at approx. £19 per head including champagne/soft drinks and coffee. The in-house restaurant, La Vigna serves very good food. Plenty of other good restaurants close by if you have transport. A shopping mall across the road. Beautiful grounds and security is good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning is as useless as its always been! Uncomfortably hot, even in november, and rooms facing away from the sea do not get any breezes, so a waste of time opening the french doors. The room has been updated but not so the air con. Also it is dangerous forANY ground floor room to have its doors open at night...it being africa.

    The st andrews bar, the restaurant, the convenient shopping place across the road, with an excellent hussars steak restaurant. The grounds are beautiful

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: