Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Nova Constantia Boutique Residence 5 stars

Corner Welbeloond & Muscat Lane South, 7806 Constantia, South Africa

#3 of 18 B&Bs and Inns in Constantia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 111 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would be lying if I say I hated anything. Everything was perfect. You have a lovely place

    Liked the reception I received as i didn't book I needed a place to sleep urgently. Comfort was out of this world. Friendly staff from reception, the chef and cleaners. Had an amazing time under the circumstances that brought me there

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything. We felt like we were at home there which is very important when traveling with kids. The location is very good to visit the main city/region attractions (waterfront, Table Mountain, Cape of Good Hope, Constantia wine route,...). And all the staff was top notch in dealing with our requests. We will definitely come back if we return to Cape Town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is one of the most incredible places I have ever stayed in. It is so unique. The focus is on nature in every way. The staff are in incredible. The food & wine amazing. It is perfect!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The hotel exceeded our expectations. The managers were very helpful especially with recommendations on restaurants and things to do. They did their utmost to ensure you enjoyed your stay - we did and can’t wait to return! All the other staff were very kind and helpful too. The pool was lovely with plenty of seating. Great location with lots to see in the area from wineries with excellent restaurants to the coast and Cape Town itself.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all great

    Fantastic service from Edita and her team; we were really well looked after for the moment we arrived until ther time we left. Great care was taken for us to get Tom restaurants without any issues were very interested in feedback on our restaurant experiences the following morning for th ebenefit of future guests.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    no complaints

    the staff were very helpful , nice pool , excellent breakfast . recommended excellent restaurants and gave us a lot of advice for touring in the area . my second visit and will return .they advise me it is receiving an update soon which will make it even better.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Has seen better days as there were many signs of wear (holes in the curtains, broken material in the seams of windows and tiles, stains on the walls etc) We had the room facing the parking lot and had no day curtains- so everybody could look into our room which was uncomfortable. Bad acoustic isolation, music could be heard from 7am on. Would have been a great place if it had been better value for the money... As it is it was way too expensive!

    Nice hotel with big rooms and bathrooms. Nice range of things for breakfast with fresh eggs and pancakes, fruit etc. We missed the fresh orange juice. Staff was very friendly and helpful, tennis court not new but ok. Enough chairs and towels at pool, free pool table and ping pong. Good neighborhood, could go for a run.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfasts were a little limited in quantity of items on offer. For example, fruit platter was very thinly sliced and limited in quantity. Concerned that later diners would not get very much! Croissants were small and, again. limited in quantity. Expected the same standard of breakfast as at their sister hotel.

    The private pool was a real bonus.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What didn't I like about the property?! There is nothing at all that I can possibly fault! The owner was unbelievably welcoming, gracious, helpful and hospitable - just couldn't do enough to make us feel at home and constantly tried to go the extra mile in any dealings with us. Booking a taxi for us and settling in advance was a good example of truly exceptional service. The room was simply out of this world, probably the best in which I have ever stayed. It had a wonderfully well-stocked bar with very reasonable prices, the pool and tennis courts looked fab, the setting is just beautiful, and breakfast was sublime. I didn't want to leave and will definitely be back. Thanks for an amazing stay!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low water preasure.Cape Town is facing a water crisis howeever and this could be an action towards this.

    The Breakfast was amazing. The staff was eager to improve the stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were warm and welcoming on arrival. And we were treated to an upgrade to the premium suite. It was very comfortable and spacious, with a lovely view from the balcony over which to enjoy a glass of wine. The location is great, with it being easy to visit the nearby wine farms or have dinner at one of the fantastic restaurants in the area. The breakfast was amazing, with a great menu from which to choose.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I LOVED it ALL

    Simply 5 stars.Beautiful room, excellent personalised service, amazing food and the best place in Constantia by far. A must for any business man or visitor. Thank you to everyone for an amazing stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was incredible, rooms were well positioned and serviced regularly. Great quality linen on the beds. Heated flooring and towel rails for cold Cape Town winters. Staff were very accommodating and extremely friendly. Wine farms are within close proximity of the property and the area is great for morning walks!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Suites
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There are only two small areas available for improvement. It would be nice if the shower pressure could be a bit higher and the breakfast options could have a bit more variety for the vegetarian. This was not so much a problem as the suite's kitchenette was well equipped with a microwave and plenty of space in the fridge for my individual food and beverage taste.

    Lee and his team have really outdone themselves. They went to great efforts to make my business trip as comfortable as possible. My clothes were promptly ironed every morning at no extra charge and the team went out of their way to research my travel options. My room was always kept spotlessly clean. Travelling in winter was no problem as the heating options were both gas fireplace and air-conditioning. The Jacuzzi on the suite's deck was a great relaxation with a stunning mountain view. The WIFI had ample capacity to cater to a Technologist's demanding business requirements. Definitely the 5 star touch with the warmth and genuine hospitality of life long friends.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Suites
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lee and his team are absolutely fabulous and truly went the extra mile for us. From the moment we arrived we were treated to incredible hospitality and made to feel welcomem. We had planned for a night as a pre-honeymoon honeymoon and Nova delivered :) Would certain recommend Nova to all those looking for a little something extra during a trip to Constantia wine country and will most certainly be back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the 2 bedroom lower ground floor apartment,so could do some self catering,v.useful.. Very minor comment, could have been slightly better equipped,lacking baking tray,oven gloves,t-towels etc! Beds, bathroom,cupboards all wonderful.Seating/lounge area was rather basic and could so easily be improved,more comfortable small sofa or comfy chairs,felt a bit like a' waiting-room' area!.Decor a bit dated,and some lamps required to improve lighting.My comments are intended be helpful,rather than hugely negative, we really felt it was a great place to be and enjoyed our stay.

    Staff lovely and friendly, great choice of breakfast, room very comfortable.garden/pool area nicely maintained,great for having quiet chill out time. Booking restaurants,taxis etc was very helpful. There was very little to dislike.! The location was in a quiet and good road,not far from Constantia main shopping area,and very easy to get to M3 and main routes.. It would be great and extremely helpful if an A-Z type map of the LOCAL Constantia area,ie street names ,could be produced to help visitors,find there way around as it is tricky and confusing,we did have problems finding the property and local restaurants etc..will return...

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not as good as I expected. Poor quality jams, yoghurt and bread. Cooked breakfast was OK. Also, I'm disappointed when I am billed for still water in the bedroom.

    Room was large but decor a little over the top

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Suites
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was good ,since it is infront of the mountains, but it is far away from the city center and the waterfront and camps bay , there is no options for lunch or dinner in the hotel .

    The staff were very helpfull and friendly , the made a trips schedule with us from the moment we arrived, the breakfast was fresh and delicious, they were cleaning our room every single time we go out ; even 2 times daily , definitely will recommend this to my family and friends

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment we arrived we were treated with 5 star service. Hannah was lovely, finding us a great restaurant and organising transport there. Breakfast cooked to order was the best in our ten day visit to Cape Town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints other than that the bedside lights were not very bright.

    As soon as we arrived we were ushered into the bar for a welcome drink---------or two!! We were then offered a free room upgrade as the hotel was not full. Our two day stay was great and I will stay again next year when in Capetown especially if Edita welcomes us again with the Steenberg merlot. Your hospitality was great, many thanks tom you and your staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts went out of their way to ensure that everything during my stay was as good as it could be.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The rooms was big and tidy and the breakfast was amazing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was class

    Breakfast was superb and bed wow

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful decor very peaceful and the best breakfasts ever!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely location, exceptional service from Rob and the staff, felt very welcome. Breakfast was delicious in delightful surroundings

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Suites
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was really great. The chef makes everything just as you ask for it. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It is quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice villa with very friendly staff in an excellent location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was not great.

    Fantastic facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure too low and too long to get hot water

    All good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Suites
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great Service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant we visited - not on site

    The rooms were extra warm on a chilly night The staff's attitude was amazing Service was exellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was awesome! Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    I highly recommend this place

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    great hospitality, great service great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    good bed good sleep!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely location, very nice interior design, slept like a baby. Personal attention and a great breakfast topping off a short but wonderful stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, good breakfast, lovey location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very well informed staff and good breakfasts. Pool very welcoming

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Overall excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner and staff all so friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights

    the staff and manager

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the service and communication of the staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing.

    The breakfasts were the best we experienced out of the four hotels we stayed in, three of which were 4 star establishments.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff serving breakfasts were great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything

    Relaxing friendly comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Funky smell no gym

    The staff the room would have liked a gym

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location and lack of restaurant in the evening meant have to taxi

    The service of the staff very helpful and organised my whole stay

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, quiet, friendly staff and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable and satisfied.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful staff, sorted out my take out dinner, with a nice glass of wine in the bar/lounge.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    This is a marvelous place. Beautifully designed. Expected James Bond to walk in any minute. Elegant but very comfortable. The staff are wonderful and very helpful. Breakfast is excellent. Cannot wait to return.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't thing of anything

    Fab location, lovely rooms, friendly staff and v. tasty breakfast. Honesty bar was also a pleasant surprise along with the very comfortable guest lounge.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not that impressed with the breakfast:-( staff was good just hot food options for vegetarians let us down. Even though we notified hotel way in advance.

    Beautiful greenery around near to National garden. Helpful staff with positive attitude. Area is very quiet & peaceful. Room was very spacious beautifully designed.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was ok, coffee poor. Food could do with an overall upgrade. Less greasy, like fried toasted sandwich. Still, overall a lovely stay!

    Big, very comfortable room. Wonderfull beds, but duvets a bit heavy and warm for my taste. Very quiet and beautifull surroundings. Staff very welcoming and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Maybe the view from our room of the car park??? But we did book late and got the last room

    Great friendly staff always ready to help. Breakfast room a good start to the day!!

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike, amazing!

    Fabulous location, high quality residence and excellent staff. Take advantage of the wine tours and tasting on your doorstep.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Excellent, courteous, helpful staff. The room was beautifully serviced; fresh towels etc. during the day, curtains drawn and bedcovers turned down in the evening.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The only minor, and that is very minor, fault is that bedside lights not good for reading. Otherwise excellent.

    Warm friendly welcome. Nothing too much for the staff. Very helpful with booking meals out.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wonderful location, and fantastic staff. I was upgraded to a luxury suite, which was absolutely beautiful, and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was lovely, and the lady who made it was friendly and so helpful.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to cut down on excellent South African wine as driving back from local wine estate after great food!

    Great room with excellent bathroom facilities.Warm welcome late in evening after delayed flight.View in all directions lovely.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could not fault, no bad experience.

    Beautiful rooms in quiet surroundings, pool & garden area well maintained. Short ride to several wineries & restaurants.Staff very helpful. Would certainly stay again.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    With load shedding a part of the SA reality for the foreseeable future, consideration might be given to putting in a generator.

    This is a very well run and comfortable residence. The owners and staff go the extra mile to make one feel at home. Although our room was a little small it was well appointed. We would certainly return.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room to our door had gap in it so didn't close properly and we were woken up every morning at 6am ish to kitchen staff setting up as it was under our room. Pool was grubby and in serious need of re-tiling. Our room/hotel was not 5 star as advertised. More a 4 star at best - the bathroom was the best part of the room. The hotel seemed tired and absolutely not world class accommodation as they advertise on their website - this is very mis-leading. We stayed in five 5 star boutique hotels across Capetown during our 6th trip here and this was our least favourite.

    Location was great for what we wanted to do in the area for the 4 nights we stayed here. Lee the Manager and the staff were lovely and very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    only 1 minor point that our bags were not taken into our rooms for us.

    lovely décor, peaceful surroundings, and excellent breakfast. only stayed one night but would definitely go back

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited meal choice of room service

    Comfortable room , friendly staff , great breakfast , quiet surrounds near constantia wine estates

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location and ambience

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    We loved absolutely everything about Nova Constantia.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The interior fabric of the residence was a little tired.

    Staff were extremely supportive/attentive. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cannot think of anything.

    Suited our needs - we were only there for two days. Would stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    awesome facility. would definitely recommend it . I will be going back there

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were signs of damp in the bathroom would

    Beds very comfy. Rooms large and kitchen facilities were more than adequate.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First class facilities, excellent and friendly service. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Felt loke living in a lovely home. Attentive but unobtrusive staff. Lovely setting. Close to lots of great restaurants and shopping.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    A very well run, and beautiful house converted to residential stay use, excellent

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast buffet could be better presented.

    Beautiful gardens. Superb location near some amazing wine estates. Would definitely stay again.

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: