Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ocean View House 4 stars

33 Victoria Road, Bakoven, Camps Bay, 8005 Cape Town, South Africa

#41 of 249 B&Bs and Inns in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 434 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Location and view was manificent.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location and view was manificent. Great view on beautiful gardens from room 6. But even ocean we could see from our terrasse. After check out and late flight they offered us a bathroom to refresh ourselves before going info 12 hour flight.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.3
    Location & view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception could be more personal touch (because we came from family lodges) We were 3 in one room & always get 2 new towels... bit strange... Pool ice cold, otherwise I jumped in.

    Location & view Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hosts went out of their way to look after us, amazing breakfast and the room was comfortable with fantastic views of the mountain as well as the ocean. Close to the beach and walking distance to the camps bay strip.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Overall Fantastic Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor in the room is concrete. It’s cold, hard, and uninviting.

    The location is fantastic. Camps Bay is the perfect base to explore Cape Town. Much safer and prettier than the downtown area. The breakfast at Ocean View is excellent. View from room 19 is superb.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.8
    l5* one of the best hotels we stayed in and we are well travelled
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were there in the winter and the bathroom and extra room at the back for my son was cold , there is no heating in them.

    The rooms are bueatifully funrnished and are very comfortable, very clean, the view is amazing ( Ocean on one side and table mountain on the other) the in room facilities are really good (mini bar good value, small details like chocolate at the bed turn down, weather card, comfortable beds and soft towels) laundry service is great and reasnable price, lovely beauty service and after stay service is great, lost property dealt with over and beyond service at a cost, the garden is wonderful and the breakfast is very good. Lovely to see so many locals being employed, wifi is great. Us and kids had an amazing time. great location, we had car but the Cape Town sightseeing bus stops 15 min walk away from the hotel so you don't really need a car! :) All staff members are sooo helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its close to camps bay (if you want the nicest views you must stay here, although its not thaat close to the city centre you can use uber and its cheap). The bedrooms are really comfortable. The staff is so happy, nice and kind and willing to help you any time. Totally recommend it (we came in winter but in summer must be AMAZING because of the views)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Super location, excellent breakfast, lovely staff, would definitely return if back in Cape Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing - everything was excellent

    If you go to Cape Town stay in Camps Bay (about 20 minutes from noisy, hectic centre of the city). If you go to Camps Bay stay at Ocean View !! We have travelled many places in the World and this was one of the the best places we have ever stayed. From the friendly greetings at arrival, the view from our balcony over the bay, the fabulous breakfast every morning and the helpful staff this place gets a 10. A special word about Mark who was friendly and very helpful with local tips on restaurants etc. ( but also professional and not intrusive) a real asset to the business.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    What a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a pity the beautiful bath tub could not be used, but understandable considering the water crisis. Maybe just adjust the description of the room to not specifically say bath tub included.

    What a view! The staff were very friendly and helpful! Very well stocked bar fridge and delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Exceptional!!! It is worth a longer stay :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owner of the place received us, he was super nice and helpful. We loved our bedroom, it was comfy, stylish, everything at once. It was also amazing that the stuff in the minibar was complimentary. Not only water or coca cola were in there, but a full bottle of wine and some snacks that we enjoyed while watching the champions league in our robes. Coffee, rusks and home-made muffins were also complimentary. The garden and the view to the beach were amazing as well. I wished we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Different Chef's Special for breakfast every morning .
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Different Chef's Special for breakfast every morning . Loved the variety . Staff were extremely friendly and professional ! Beautiful garden and fantastic location . The attention to details were also appreciated .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Service at Breakfast could be better, they could be less loud in the kitchen and concentrate more on the customers waiting for service.

    The view, room and WiFi

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful, fantastic, can't wait to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traveller Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I ran the Two Oceans Ultra marathon. There was an option of a simple breakfast at 3:30 AM for the runners, and the previous night the staff went out of their way to get my race supplies into the freezer for me. The help at reception exceeded my expectations, especially by JOHAN. We arrived early from Johannesburg, and even though our room was understandably not ready yet, we could have unplanned breakfast after getting up at 3:30AM (again.) And the guest house, finishes, attention to detail, views... everything is stunning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.4
    Underwhelming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traveller Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Passing through the garage and a dark circuitous path to get to the room. We expected more from the breakfast that was rated as exceptional.

    The views from the property.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didnt like!

    A fabulous setting with lovely views. The property is well named! Although on the main road it is set back and secluded by trees and shrubs so no intrusion from traffic and no traffic noise at night. Close enough to centre of Camps Bay to be able to walk to restaurants (10/15 minutes) but provides a quieter environment than centre of town. Easy access to beach. Very friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    we will be back it was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    check out procedure

    the accommodation, staff and service were all excellent in a very relaxed atmosphere. The breakfasts were lovely. The one issue was checking out early in the morning for an early flight. We had warned the staff but struggled to find anyone to let us out the security gates and we had to take the gate remote with us to post back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.9
    Amazing view and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at the new separate annex. Very comfortable room. Amazing views. Feels like staying in a private accommodation though. Long walk down to main building . No safe in room and once the room was not hoovered property as there was sand on floor. The new massage room is nice but located on the ground floor of what is a garage. Not very appealing. The massage was ok but nothing more. Finally, service and staff at breakfast seem to be more occupied with themselves than serving. We had to beg to order eggs. Each day. Staff doesn’t seem to be too happy or smiley which is not a good sign. They seem to argue amongst themselves

    Amazing view and location. Pool is very small but that’s hardly an issue given the proximity to amazing beaches. Staff at reception were very helpful. Always willing to assist and go the extra mile. That said, there are things to improve: Overall we left feeling OK but not great about the place, unlike other places we stayed in South Africa.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    Very special and unique place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no evening dinner or bar.

    The view from the room is great. Feels like your in nature while you’re still in cape town city. Staff is friendly, breakfast good. Location great. Our room wasn’t super luxurious but had definitely a comfortable and nice feel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.5
    Its okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traveller Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wasn't aware that the room was in another building.... the pool and sunbeds looked nice but a bit deserted. No bar or dinner available, only breakfast and lunch. We had to park in a garage which had a very narrow entry so a bit of a challenge. Location at the end of camps bay near the main road.

    Nice breakfast however the staff could not handle the stress the first morning we were there... We could leave our suitcases on our last day and pick them up at 8PM since our flight was at 00:30PM. Concierge on duty was very helpful when we forgot our swimsuits. Room was beautiful and spacious with a balcony, however it was in a separate building so you had to walk to the main guesthouse. That made it very quiet though, which I like.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful setting, nice but basic room - definitely go for room at front of hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traveller Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel & beautiful setting. Really great breakfast & cute pool area. The room we were staying in was quite basic which we were a little surprised by (though lovely spacious bathroom & was very clean). Handy 10min stroll to main Camps Bay strip & 2 min taxi home - very accessible in that respect.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.9
    Great views, v.
    • Family with young children
    • Traveller Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    - There were no staff after 7pm. Our room was also in a separate building to the main guest house building. No iron in the rooms.

    Great views, v. clean and staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    We fell in love with Cape Town, with Ocean View House as our self indulgent and secure base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel offers a fantastic breakfast but no dinner. You need to venture out to nearby Camps Bay for restaurants but there are great options to choose from.

    The hotel is picturesque, with a private and pampered feel. The room was well appointed with great views and the personal touches in the daily servicing including weather forecasts were appreciated. We felt safe and secure at all times.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable, quiet but many steps
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps and more steps...rooms are not in one building and hotel is on a mountain slope. To get to breakfast was quite a distance and if raining not ideal. If mobility impaired make sure you get a ground floor room near the reception.

    Beautiful view from the balcony, large bathroom

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was perfecr

    Great location and great staff, it was our second time in the hotel and will be back again. The whole experience was great, all staff were great and the location is just perfect. 1 min walk to the mean street and it is a lovely walk, beautiful coffee shop near the hotel with best coffe ever. It is a great place to stay and I highly recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Unbelievable place to stay!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Booking changed our room, but Mark still accommodated us without question.

    Unbelievable place to stay with the best staff. I was very sad to leave!!!!!! Can't wait to come back and highly recommend, just not when we go again, because I want to make sure we can get in. lol Loved the staff, especially Cindy, Chef (which gave us huge nuggets) and Mark and Werner. And kitty!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Great stay! Very safe location, beautiful views regardless of mountain or ocean view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traveller Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was super clean. Property had a couple of buildings, there were only three rooms on our floor so privacy and quietness was guaranteed. Supreme was very helpful and courteous, even gave my husband fish food to feed the coy. Each encounter with the staffs was pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.3
    With a little more attention this accomodation could even have scored much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were Travelling with younger children, which we corresponded. Shouldnt book us rooms than on different floors. The respons was active, but iT feels weird that we had to pay extra for connecting rooms. WiFi down in our rooms for complete stay.

    Pancakes on demand@ breakfast. Terrific. Room with a view. Excellent beds. Modern deco.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Perfect winter stay for two
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traveller Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast chief's specialties are amazing. Security and office staffs are kind and very helpfull. Wifi not working in our room, free room swap offered. Excellent stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful views, relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traveller Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spacious room,incredible views and the tranquility was everything that determines a perfect holiday. The staff was friendly and helpful, and they went all out to accommodate my toddler.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.9
    only a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traveller Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the attitude on check in was cold and not welcoming particularly from one of the ladies at reception. the guy that took us to our room was very good. our room was at the back of the property so we had a street view

    the location is excellent . views from the property are breathtaking. walking distance to the beach and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful location and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We felt rushed for breakfast. Someone came to the room at 9:15 to ask if we were coming for breakfast and then 10 minutes later we got a call asking us if we were coming down. Considering breakfast went until 10 am, it didn't seem necessary.

    The hotel is in a great location in Camps Bay, just over the hill from Cape Town City. There is a main gate and lots of parking on the inside of the gate. Check in was quick and efficient and someone was available to help with our luggage. The room was comfortable and quite spacious. We were on our honeymoon and they left a bottle of bubbles in our room on ice upon our arrival. A really nice touch. The view of the ocean and the mountains from the room was stunning. It was about 70 rand to get downtown Cape Town using uber from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    6.3
    Great place but poor general staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traveller Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were cold, didnt say good bye as we left and they had a general average attitude. Breakfast staff were cool, owner and admin were cold/grumpy.

    Great view and garden

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Perfect stay, thanks for the great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traveller Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff and the breakfast is excellent! The reception team has always a recommendation for hiking and tours as well as for coming again ;-)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Perfection to the T! Nature at its best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest the wasn't anything we did not like.

    To be honest it was perfect. Exceeded my expectations. From reception to security to all staff around OVH was amazing, helpful, friendly and professional. It was an amazing weekend that we experienced.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Individualistic charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room, friendly intimate atmosphere, attention to detail and excellent breakfast. Beautiful garden with ancient Milkwood trees against pectacular backdrops of mountain and sea.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.2
    Ocean View House offered us a warm welcome and comfy accommodation in stunning surrounds.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This is really a small thing, but I would have liked to have had a bath as well as a shower!! It might also be an idea to note that the guest house is staged on three levels - an integral part of it's charm - but I would think that this could make things quite difficult for anyone infirm or disabled. There are also a couple of lovely koi ponds, so parents with small children would have to keep an eye on them.

    Arriving in Cape Town after dark, Ocean View House sent a driver to collect us from the airport, which was great, and we then had a hire car delivered to us the next day. Very easy to access, the guest house is on Victoria Road - just above Camps Bay - and with welcoming hosts and wonderful breakfasts, we had a very comfortable stay. The garden and surrounds were lovely, the views of the mountains, sea and sky were stunning and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    The most stunning place in Cape Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traveller Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The website needs to explain the property is on a hill and there are many stairs if you don't have a ground floor room

    The property is beautiful. The entire staff was amazing especially Carol the head of housekeeping. She put together a special evening for my parents who were celebrating their 70th wedding anniversary. Everyone, from reception to the staff providing our breakfast to the night watch staff did everything they could to insure we had a wonderful stay. We will definitely go back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.9
    Great location and views from Bakoven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traveller Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the WiFi in our room was so weak that it made simple browsing of the internet impossible. I think the manager is aware of this, but it really needs to be improved. A shame really because everything else was great.

    Location - peaceful, picturesque and convenient for Camps Bay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Fantastic views and great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!!

    We had a sea view room which had its own garden area with sun loungers and the extra pennies were definitely worth it. We also had a space in a private garage which connected straight into the room which was fabulous! Easy walk into Camps Bay and the Bootlegger over the road did fab breakfasts too!!! We stayed in room C4.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    6.7
    Not entirely satisfied stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mismatched decor It has a "warren" of rooms, breakfast commences too late for business, disorganized check in, walked into another guests room while they were sleeping. Cheap furnishings in the bedrooms

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.1
    Go big...or don't go at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traveller Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It must be said that we booked (what I assume to have been) the worst room in the establishment, and the fact that it did not have sea views were conveyed to us. Having said that, we sill felt the room did not warrant the rate. There are more special and better value places in Cape Town. Perhaps clean the walls in Room 3.

    Nice spot from which to mountain bike and explore. Staff were friendly and seemed sincere.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.2
    We travelled as 2 adults and two kids but booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traveller Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We travelled as 2 adults and two kids but booking.com had not passed this info to the property. They allocated us 2 rooms on different floors which was not ideal with a 6 and 8 year old. This should not happen

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Can't wait to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The close proximity to the main road of our room. The room itself was fantastic, but it was a little noisy and I felt slightly vulnerable. It would have been nice if the pool was heated slightly. It was freezing!

    Location, room, breakfasts, sunbathing area, cleanliness, staff, bathroom floor! in fact almost everything.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    7.9
    A beautiful and comfortable guest house about 15 minutes' walk from Camps Bay beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traveller Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a little expensive. The walk down to Camps Bay beach takes about 15 or 20 minutes and while it is a pretty walk during the day, it is probably not advisable to walk such a distance back to the guest house after sundown. Luckily, sedan taxis are plentiful on Camps Bay's main beachfront road.

    Beautiful garden and a pool for cooling down. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel shame about the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traveller Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's quite a way out of Camps Bay so you can walk but need to get taxi back. Get a sea view room. Our room was terribly disappointing being accessed through a garage and looking onto a back street where dogs barked all night. Breakfast not included either so watch out for that! Probably worth paying extra for a nice room with sea view but that option wasn't given on booking. However most hotels we find will give you a better room if available and they are not full. They were certainly not full but we still got the rubbish room. Pool was freezing!!!

    Lovely gardens and friendly staff. Comfy bed and a nice bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    Fantastic place, great breakfasts, even got gluten free for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very slippery shower/toilet floor.

    Fantastic place, great breakfasts, even got gluten free for me. Nothing was too much trouble. We will return for sure.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    Breathtaking view - get the seaview rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want to go out at night, you must make a few steps down the road to central Camps Bay - its safe however

    Large modern room with breathtaking view (seaview room). Excellent food, nice pool.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    6.7
    Customer service costs nothing.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traveller Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, Katrin (the manager) is quite possibly the rudest I've met. We had numerous issues with our room, which we gave them the opportunity to rectify. After 3 disrupted nights with the smell of sewage in our room, and the promise of an upgrade to a penthouse apartment by two members of staff, she then decided to change that because she couldn't make any money out of us for it. We complained to her, had a big discussion and she then begrudgingly moved us. After that, we didn't even get a 'hello' from her when she was sat in the front office. The other staff member (Kim) who had then obviously been told off for saying we could have the penthouse then was exceptionally rude when we checked out - we weren't even asked if we'd enjoyed our stay. Such a shame as Mark and Carol were both lovely. In comparison, every member of staff at the Radisson Blu where we have now moved to have been friendly and cheerful every time they see us. The guest house is lovely, but purely on the attitude of some of the staff and the manager, I'll take my yearly business elsewhere (and tell all my work colleagues to do so also).

    Location was great. Good parking. Room standard was good - nice terrace to sit on. Views from balcony spectacular. Good beds and bed linen. Very peaceful grounds.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    10
    A great place to stay and be cosseted
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Superb service and location. Walking distance to Camps Bay, without the noise and the huge number of people. Gardens were amazing and the view of the Apostles from the pool deck was fantastic. Braai evening on Thursday evening (put on every 2 weeks) superb and. Lot of fun.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    10
    The place to stay in Camps Bay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pool Deck Traveller Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We viewed the guesthouse in January 2016 stayed there in January 2017 and booked again for 2018. You are greeted by warm friendly staff who cannot do enough for you. The cleanliness of the guesthouse is there to be seen and the views are amazing.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    10
    Dont miss out; just book it.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traveller Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    There was some building work going on right next door and that was a little irritating at times but no doubt this won't be going on for long.

    A beautiful location, just out the way but still walkable in to town if you want more. Clean and friendly and nothing too much trouble: guaranteed a nice time.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful view .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some of the staff was great and other just ok. They seemed not interested in the guests. They should have a camera at the gate so the driver picking us up did not have to go into the reception again. Litle far to restaurants in camps bay.

    The breakfast staff was very nice and the breakfast very good. The driver that do sightseeing with guests is a wonderful and knowledge full mann.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.8
    Lovely place, but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traveller Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an issue with ordering lunch, the kitchen was short staffed, so 2 toasted sandwiches took over an hour to make! And it cost us R240! The walk to our room was a bit of a maze, through garage basements and upstairs. But it was very quiet once we got there.

    Location was great, most of the staff were helpful. The gardens are well kept, very tidy, and peaceful. The view from our room was of the mountains, which was great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    10
    Location, location, location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Deck Traveller Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Location, location, location! Views of the majestic 12 Apostles mountains and the Atlantic Ocean from right outside our room. Breakfast is included in the room charge and it was unbelievable- a cooked-to-order breakfast that included one of the best omelets we have ever enjoyed. To say the staff is wonderful is a massive understatement; everyone we encountered made us feel special and went out of their way to satisfy our every request.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel with fantastic views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traveller Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The original room we booked turned out to be in a different building to the main hotel. Although the "mountain view" of the 12 Apostles was good enough and the bedroom was nice, it didn't have the ambiance of the main hotel building. Felt more like we were in the annex. However staff moved our room as soon as they could and we were very happy with our new room.

    Sea view from hotel bedrooms is breathtaking and great location for Camps Bay. Hotel is quiet with lovely pool area. Rooms all beautifully decorated in a modern style. We have stayed here before and it was just as nice on our return. We had a bit of a room hiccup but staff sorted that out as soon as was possible.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.2
    Amazing views and perfect tours, however some members of staff need an upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we had the smell of gas in our apartment the off hours reception handled the situation very poorly and let us wait 3 1/2 hours , we couldnt sleep until 4 in the morning. I found it also ridiculous that I had to use my own phone to call the reception team , since the most expensive room has no own phone...

    Wukile is the best tour guide Breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    10
    Great location superb service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much... might be better to have 2 coffee machines and toasters as breakfast was busy

    Great place, really helpful staff. We took 2 trips organised through hotel our guide was great really knowledgeable and made our stay very memorable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    10
    Very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traveller Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having a telephone in the room.

    The superb views at both the front and the rear of the building. Really likes the private car park. Beautiful gardens with fish in ponds. Enjoyed having our own balcony.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    9.2
    Fantastic accommodation at Camps Bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traveller Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you order a transfer/ taxi, check the prices first. Ocean view house has their own driver, who is a great and knowledgeable guy but prices are significantly more expensive than official taxis.

    Nice & relaxed location. Stunning views: table mountain & seaview. Modern rooms and good breakfast. Well maintained property, friendly and highly service oriented staff. Fantastic choice slightly outside city centre. 10 min walk to the beautiful camps bay beach and plenty restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    This is a superbly run establishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    This is a superbly run establishment. The staff are friendly and efficient, and the breakfasts outstanding. It's about a ten minute walk to the main delights of Camps Bay and the beach. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Quiet location but only minutes to Camps Bay and convenient for any destination in Cape Town. The room was very comfortable and there was an excellent breakfast. Great!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    luxury accomodation for high price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traveller Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi was not usable.

    View was amazing, room was clean and beautiful. Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Awesome
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bed was huge and super comfy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great place to stay. Wonderful view and staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    This place is value for money 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traveller Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything about the property is just amazing 😍

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed

    Location and the view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful and perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traveller Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful and perfect location. Staff extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Would stay again, the gardens were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The aircon heater needs to be looked at, it constantly rattles and shakes which kept waking us up.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    interesting design in the bathroom, excellent breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    interesting design in the bathroom, excellent breakfast, nice staff, especially in the restaurant, good internet connection and excellent location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    The breakfasts were really amazing, great variety on the menu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfasts were really amazing, great variety on the menu

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    The garden area made us feel we in a different country
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice if the pool was heated a bit

    The garden area made us feel we in a different country

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Thtat we only stayed 3 nights

    It must be quite a challenge to get your service to the same level as the views but these guys have done it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was very limited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very limited.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Best location and its very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best location and its very clean. Stuff are friendly Love the quietness

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ocean View House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: