Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Olaf's Guest House 4 stars

24 Wisbeach Road, Sea Point, Sea Point, 8005 Cape Town, South Africa

#140 of 249 B&Bs and Inns in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 56 B&B reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. I enjoyed my stay

    Staff were very helpful. The bed was very comfy with two TVs, one in your bedroom and one in a little loving room. There is a kettle and tea, coffee in your room. Two bathrooms with great shower facilities. House keeping is subtle so you don't notice it which is good. You come back into your room and its clean with bed made up. Breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly and attentive staff and owner. A strike by cabs and buses threatened our ability to make flight to London and Raymond and his staff worked quickly to make a reservation at an airport hotel and did not charge us for a planned second night at Olaf's. We missed staying another night but made the flight and are home in Seattle, WA now. Thanks to Raymond and staff!! Rich Wiley

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No assistance with luggage for a four star guesthouse? No parking on property, but outside in the street. No mirror close to hair dryer. Tariff of R4800 for two nights is ridiculous. Garden area at outside room in bad condition, taking the four star rating in consideration

    Beds comfortable. Breakfast good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome, after a mix up over arrival and access was not very friendly. Luckily we had a helpful and persistent taxi driver who sorted out the problem for us.

    location very convenient -

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts were a highlight and the staff very friendly and helpful. Location beautiful and easy access to Victoria and Alfred waterfront. A place to chill very easily by the pool

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was big and clean, however I found the furniture a little old. The pool was much smaller than what looked in the photos and always a bit dirty.

    The location is very good. Located in a quiet street of Seapoint next to the promenade. The staff is really friendly, always trying to make you confortable. The breakfast is pretty good and complete, maybe I missed some croissants or pastries but pretty good in general.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom shower with reduced functionality - time to renew or refurbish; carpet in bedroom causes problem for people with dust allergies.

    Good relaxing atmosphere; nice garden for breakfast; very good location central in Sea Point

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a room with a tiny shower room. Shower is so small you can't move. The 'terrace' to the room is really the entry patio. Cleaning staff woke me early both mornings sweeping outside my room as did the staff setting up for breakfast which was right outside my room... The desk in the room isn't big enough for the kettle and a computer. PI'll is all very hard. Very noisy location - pubs / restaurants on the street - sound filters through.

    Very little

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Totally nothing.

    Ok. This place was totally great. In every aspect, really, you've got to see it! I would definitely recommend it for any kind of travelling, and especially holidays. I will hardly look for another place in Cape next time.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was cold and the heater was not working :(

    The location of the guest house is very convenient, friendly stuff, good breakfast :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location was great for access to the hop-on hop-off system, clean room, great breakfast, helpful friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    All the food at breakfast was of the best quality.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very good. The staff was fantastic. If we return to Cape Town we will stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cozy room, nice location, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Foam pillows.

    Excellent location, quiet and peaceful. Very good breakfast, nothing was too much trouble. Raymond and staff very welcoming, home away from home.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no fridge in the room, no blackout curtains, breakfast poor.

    calm place and street, near the beach and shops, near the city center but out of the crowd, beds confortable, air conditoning working well, etc.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Everything was excellent. Great location, in a quiet residential street. The sea promenade and tourist bus station around the corner, the Main Street of the Seapoint area with shops and restaurants around the other corner. Very comfortable, clean room and bathroom. Many small details which make the guest feel welcome and respected - even a 'panic button'. Tastefully and homely furnished living room, with lots of fruits on the side table. In a niche a small table with two carafes, one with port wine and the other with sherry. A wooden well stocked bookcase with books in different languages. In the dining area a refrigerator stocked with a good assortment of cold drinks. Nice spacious veranda. Excellent breakfast, served both inside as outside on the veranda. Very friendly and helpful personnel. After spending a couple of weeks on a farm in a wildlife sanctuary I was in bad need of a hairdresser. One of the personnel ladies, Cindy, took me to a very good one, whom i would have not been able to find on my own, as it was on the second floor of a small shopping mall on the Main Street. Not far from Olaf's House, but nevertheless, for an outsider impossible to find and to know its quality. The shuttle which brought me to the airport when leaving came in time and the driver was very pleasant. The owner speaks besides English also German and is pleasant and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing we didn't like.

    How personable & helpful Raymond was. House was beautiful. Outside area, very comfortable. Had a great stay would recommend Olaf's B&B in a heartbeat.

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Our rental car was broken into right infront of the guest house (there was only a picnic blanket in the car) The guest house has high security which can make one feel safe but also quite nervous. Guest house does not allow guests to come over past 10pm!

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfect place/base when staying in Cape Town. Piecefull place (no city noise) in sea point, friendly staff, clean & comfortable room, good breakfast!!

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Above all, the friendly staff always make the biggest impression on me. Both my wife and I slept better than we do at home - their beds are excellent. :-)

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Finding a take-away box of boiled rice in our room's chest of drawers was a very bad first impression of quality of cleaning. The room was very spacious, however bathroom is in need of some maintenance.

    Location of the guest house is great. You can hop on the red tourist bus at the end of the street. Olaf and team were very nice and helpful with booking tickets for the sightseeing bus and the cable car. Breakfast is very good.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely courtyard setting, everything was clean and well presented. Staff all very helpful. Handy for the hop on hop off bus, Sea Point promenade and Main Street shops and restaurants

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wonderful place to stay, lovely hosts!

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free rum

    Ambiance.friendly staff and Owner

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Couple

    Poor Coffee

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Located close to beach, restaurants within walking distance. Safe.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All was great!

    Great for import, lovely pool and close to beach.

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent breakfast including variety of bread (German "Brötchen")

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    We arrived very early in the morning, our room was ready for us and a lovely breakfast waiting, Staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Owner and staff were very friendly, courtious and helpful

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved this boutique guest house! Fabulous breakfast on offer each day and friendly staff

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: