Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Old House Lodge 4 stars

31 Voortrekker Street, 6970 Beaufort West, South Africa

#7 of 18 B&Bs and Inns in Beaufort West

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 119 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was not working . DSTV satellite tv was not working. No hot water in shower on arrival . Receptionist could not advise us where to eat dinner in Beaufort West .

    The room was clean and tastefully decorated .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot and cold tap in shower not identifiable and there was no hot water available in the morning. Towels was not fresh and full of stains. Basin tap was leaking in drought stricken area. Bathroom maintenance overdue such as toilet seat not hygienic need replacement. Broken furniture in bedroom. No 2 point plug for celphone charger.....

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing just the toaster

    we had a laugh and so did fellow travellers as the toaster was kaput and advised staff a new one was needed to be purchased but rooms were excellent and so was the food the babootie was lovely enjoyed by all and a bonus that dinner could be had in accomadation and a beer or 2 after a long drive

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con directly above the bed... toaster wasn’t working on the day

    Standard of the room is 5 star!! Loved the comfort of the bed Barbara is amazing and professional Coffee and breakfast simple but just what’s needed when traveling Lovely atmosphere especially the garden

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 11 fell very short of luxury. The curtain hooks were broken so left a few centimeters hanging off the rail. The window looked straight into a bamboo wall. The ceiling was cracked and the paint was chipped. The side tables were cheaply painted with silver paint. The food consisted of two over cooked and inedible lamb chops and boarding school vegetables and mash. No idea how The Old House quality as Luxury or who is responsible for approving the 4 stars, but perhaps they should be pulled into the office and given a stern talking to. A deeply unpleasant experience. But the staff were at least impeccable and were the only luxury I experienced.

    The lavender outside at the main entrance

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointing dining facilities, limited wine choices and restricted to 750ml bottles, pre-ordered lamb chops very small, over done and only 2 on the plate. BTW, guests should be told they have to pre-order dinner, we did so only because we wanted Karoo lamb & thought we'd be arriving late.

    Comfortable secure rooms, friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stay, good was good. One lady who did everything, I take my hat off to her, checked us in, served us dinner, showed us to our room and was there early for breakfast, well done!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found this place by chance when we looked for a stopover place for a night in Beaufort West - and liked it so much that we stayed on for an extra night. Enough said :-).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was unfortunate but the information regarding supper was a bit confused and also we were asked to make our selections which we did well in time only to find that both the sweets we had chosen were not available. Suggest that if not available - cross them off!

    Comfortable accommodation in pleasant surroundings. The bed was very comfortable and we had a nice shower room. It is well located for the town but is on a fairly busy road. Glad we had a room at the back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    High class bedding and blankets but perhaps an electric blanket on the bed for the Karoo winters??

    Very clean and tastefully furnished. Beautiful establishment.! Very friendly and professional personnel - thank you Melany and Devonice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The meal - a warm set dish, with no side roll or salad - was overpriced and well below standard. The wine list ... ouch!

    A neat room with a pleasant atmosphere and surround. Nothing out of the ordinary but comfortable enough.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com messed up our booking by booking 1 instead of 2 rooms. Thankfully the staff gave us an extra mattress on the floor, so we crammed into a room. Not nice after driving 1000km to experience this.

    Friendly and helpfull staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    First room (outside) was a bit disappointing. There were flies when we got in and the air-con was not working. However, once I reported this to the host, she was more than just helpful. We were promptly moved to another room (inside) and offered a complimentary breakfast. In future, I will insist on an inside room Pricey - but I think those are seasonal rates

    The location The decor The outside lawns/sitting area The very friendly staff - what a pleasure to deal with people who take customer service seriously The room facilities depending on which room you book - we had a double shower and a large bath The mini bar The host/manager was excellent. Welcoming, easy to talk to and very quick to sort out our minor problems. She really put new meaning to 'Karoo hospitality' for me. I loved staying here and would stay again without a doubt Number of TV channels were impressive

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The guest house itself is absolutely beautiful! Stunning rooms with exquisite furnishings and an extra touch of luxury. We only stopped over for one night but would've definitely stayed a few more days if it were possible. We will most certainly be returning as often as possible.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely nothing to complain about!

    A beautiful surprise in the middle of the Karoo! Spacious & stylish room. Extremely friendly staff. Awesome food!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner-Lam tjops

    The bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome accommodation and breakfast! Staff were very accommodating and friendly. Great value for money!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean facilities. Friendly and accommodating staff. Perfect for an overnight stop.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have loved a cappuccino!

    Love the room and breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    DSTV wasn't working

    Spacious room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet smell was all over the room. They should open the windows to air the room before guests arrive.

    Breakfast was fabulous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nothing to complain about.

    Very friendly staff; excellent facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked twin beds, and ended up having to share a bed with my daughter. Breakfast was a real disappointment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very comfy, felt secure and enjoyed an excellent breakfast before we were on our way.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was dark

    It is soo pretty.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower! No pressure@!

    The breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid more than what my invoice from Booking.com was, WiFI not working, no milk in the room at coffee facility

    Clean, spacious

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi wasn’t working.

    Friendly staff Good breakfast Affordable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom light was not working and there was no WiFi. The beds weren’t comfortable either

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothi g

    Great comfortable stay loved airconditioner

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very helpful and efficient. The room was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people staying in the guest house with me did not sleep the whole night, was very disappointing after a long drive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing staff, great room and food was delicious!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No replacement toilet paper

    Very private

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were too hard

    After hours assistance was good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise & poor management

    Old property

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When asking for the invoice at payment time, the invoice contained incorrect amounts which unnecessarily delayed our departure.

    The venue was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noice outside couldnt sleep well, or say when we slept at all

    The beds

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy street after 22h00.

    Breakfast was nice. Staff very frienly and helpfull.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing place is terrible... hot, noisy, no TV...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise, absence of a toilet brush.

    Elegant furnishings, friendly and attentive staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent lamb chops!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were cockroaches everywhere and there was a breakin when we were there and our mountain bikes were almost stolen.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was not on the property.

    Great staff.. amazing place to stay

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent stay , will definitely return. Beds super comfortable , spacious room , friendly helpful staff. Beautiful gardens.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should be included with the tariff we paid.

    Pool was very welcome as it was very hot.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service was excellent, so clean comfortable and had everything one could want.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No cold water in shower the next morning.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff needs to be more informed about Beaufort west in general.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having a splash pool to cool off. We visited in a time of a heat wave.

    The interior of the guesthouse was beautiful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the property is on a noisey street

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location very noisy. Aircon also very noisy.

    Staff very friendly

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea packets short and electricity tripping 😔

    Quiet location and good linen and aircon!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds very comfortable; staff extremely friendly and helpful; dinner excellent. Lovely garden with small pool. Good location, easy to find.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was too soft and showerhead needs updating as it cannot be rotated to the side. Food was average and cannot understand how both lamb roast and chicken pie can be served at the same time.

    Bronwyn was extremely helpful and friendly. Loved the classical decor and room ambience. We felt very welcome.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    My experience at the Old House Luxury Guest House was wonderful. The staff was friendly and the food fantastic! I will definitely make use of there services again.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Couple

    That the TV did not work for the first day and half of our 2day stay.

    Not on the main road so was nice and quiet, air-conditioner worked and nice big bed and minibar. It was more than we expected. Breakfast was also good.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I had to wait a while at reception, before I could use a toilet.

    The room was comfortable and very stylish. The supper was very welcoming. The staff very professional &helpful.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    It was quite loud during the night is our room due to traffic outside. The aircon had a problem because it made loud noises once it switches on. Breakfast where expensive for what we got.

    The rooms where excellent, the receptionist where very friendly and helpful, dinner was great!

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Over rated and over priced .... We specifically booked the more expensive room but was disappointed in the lack of attention to detail and comfort. Not 4 star quality

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For the price the room was small and had no wardrobe or space for more than one bag. How can they offer only 2 red wines, one of which was box wine, both were R40/btl, then not have the better one (KWV) because the storeroom was locked and manager off site. We insisted they fix this and she did. The other red wines were classed as Collectors Wines and >R3000 each!! Waitress did not know how to open the bottle. Main course for dinner had both lamb roast and chicken pie on the same plate, no choice but we told them to remove the chicken pie.

    The butternut soup.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We are allergic to cats. There were 2 cats who kept on joining us in our room.

    The room is very comfortable, staff very friendly, garden delightful.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great food and great service. Really enjoyed our stay!!!

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food (dinner) could do with a change of menu - but was good!

    Easy to find, comfortable rooms, pleasant staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Seemed overpriced but perhaps these are the December prices

    Nice gardens

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cramped room Road noise

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic food

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Online Booking process can be improved

    Friendly sraff

There are also 59 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Guests also reviewed these properties: