Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Oude Werf Hotel 4 stars

30 Church Street, 7600 Stellenbosch, South Africa

#6 of 37 hotels in Stellenbosch

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 669 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Housekeeping in rooms could improve - more attention to detail is needed for the money that is paid.

    The beds were very comfortable. In terms of service and attention to guests - have to mention "John": exceptional service! Would not get a better location in Stellenbosch! Very good for solo travellers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Water from the tap was poor. And there is a bath tab in the room, there is no cap to prevent water go out.

    The view from the room is nice. there is wide window which i could see the mountain thourough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Oude Werf is a hotel we have stayed multiple times because of their great service and rooms - cannot fault a thing. The breakfast is also really good - lots of choices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The delux room was too small for comfort. The way the washrooms are divided is not ‘a delux arrangement’! the decor was good, beds comfortable, and the room was functional.

    The staff were great. The location excellent. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Welcoming was great, staff friendly and efficient. Beautiful room with comfortable bed and room was clean and neat with updated décor. Breakfast was excellent a great spread with food prepared tastefully and fresh. Excellent location in the center of town close to many bars and restaurants. Will be back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plastic water bottles in the rooms. Plastic bottles have a life span of 200 years. Please change to glass or put a filter in the bathroom tap so the water is filtered automatically. Otherwise bring a water jug upon check in.

    Bed was super. Shower was divine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The croissants were definitely extra flaky, and very fresh. One of the best hotels I have stayed in - the staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was beautiful, the pillows just right, a very nice spread for breakfast, and of course the location in the centre of beautiful Stellenbosch was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff were amazing- we had a super early departure and missed the breakfast, so they prepared to go bags with food and snacks for us. The is great location for the numerous restaurants and bars in town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff need to work on their friendliness and service. Rooms opposite staircase were noisy though.

    Rooms really good and comfortable. Room service dinner excellent. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant wasn't so impressive, possibly because it was a quiet period, so not many people. The food was decent, but not particularly amazing. The breakfast was simple, but effective. I think that for such a nice hotel, they could focus more in giving a more impressive experience at breakfast and dinner times.

    Room was super charming, and really liked the way in which it was designed. The location of the hotel was very nice, allowing us to get a good sense of Stellenbosch city centre and walk around the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hallway carpet to the rooms on ground level got wet and smelled musty. Also difficult to keep it clean with constant traffic.

    Overall a very pleasant experience with friendly, professional, yet endearing personnel who are always ready to assist. Staff has been well trained and are very good at ensuring guest comfort. Room was spacious and comfortable. Rooms are quiet, beautifully decorated and shower was very large. Hotel very well situated in centre of historic town within walking distance to many shops, restaurants and town centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some hit and miss service in the restaurant - server wanted to take my bread away during my starter and again during my main meal, which I thought was strange, as I had not finished it. On one morning for breakfast, there was no cutlery on my table, so I went up to ask for some, specifically asking for a spoon as I had yoghurt, and the waitress reluctantly brought me a knife and fork and then appeared flustered when she had to go back to get a spoon for me. Only the lady cleaning the tables at the end of my breakfast noticed I had not been offered tea or coffee and offered me some.

    I got sick at the hotel and the staff who helped me followed up to ask me how I was the following day, which was nice. Staff in general were friendly and rooms were comfortable and tastefully done, integrating modern touches with the traditional features.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in an old style room u like the usual modern ones . Although the room was big it was on the road and very noisy and cold

    Central , easy walking distance to restaurants and sites.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the centre of Stellenbosch and all major sights. Valet parking is extra PLUS. Clean and silence rooms. The breakfast was very good. Nearby you can find several good restaurants, wine bars and pubs. Driving time to/from Cape Town only half an hour.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing all excellent.

    Very spacious rooms with comfortable beds. Old hotel with modern twist. Excellent location near to all the shops and restaurants. Lovely peaceful garden. Staff all very efficient and friendly. Excellent buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No major problems (apart from hopeless internet) but we came from a sister hotel, The Vineyard in Cape Town, which was really good and this hotel suffered by comparison. Couldn't understand why they tried to get me to settle the bill on check-in.

    Good location. Nice food. Interesting old building with lovely views from the bedroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower cubicle was stained around the bottom edges and the coffee wasn't great!

    The location was perfect, very central to amenities and loved the bathroom layout. The restaurant was large and busy and there was a huge choice for breakfast. The bar area was very comfortable and great service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was amazing and the blockout curtains ensured that the room was dark even though street lights are directly outside the window. Sound-proof with no noise from busy streets outside

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Helpful, friendly staff. Particularly the valet and concierge who were always on hand. We had planned an extra night and couldn't be accommodated because the hotel was full. The staff even transferred our luggage to the hotel across the road - thats real service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was absolutely terrible and there is zero management. The rooms have absolutely no privacy and you will have pool goers looking up directly into your bedroom which was extremely awkward. We kept our curtains closed for the duration of our stay. The room was still not cleaned at 1:30pm despite there being a sign on the door from 8am. The manager was extremely rude and sarcastic.

    The hotel has a nice ambiance with great potential - unfortunately the management seems non existent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a mixup with my airport pick up, eventually I had to take a taxi. The error was, in fact, on a third party's side, and the hotel did everything to reconcile the situation (thank you, Yolandi).

    Wonderful hotel in the centre of Stellenbosch. Beautiful decor throughout, very professional staff., excellent breakfast selection. Pool area and the bar outdoor seating very nice and relaxing - trees provide nice shade on a hot day (although when sunny, it may be difficult to find a sunbed next to the pool - all are immediately taken). Good food in the on-site restaurant, but also many dining options nearby. Very comfortable bed and room very spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only regret is having to leave after two nights.

    In a word: Outstanding. Perfectly located in the centre of the universe in Stellenbosch. Staff are very professional, friendly and attentive. Fantastic breakfast with great variety. Good wifi. Valet parking. Water restrictions are no limitation at all (seems that everyone gets into the spirit of conservation). This place is a gem.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The very friendly staff who made every effort to help us. The position of the hotel in the tree lined street is excellent. We chose to return to this hotel and were pleased to find the restaurant was as good as we remembered. So good that we chose to eat all our evening meals in the vine covered courtyard.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the covered breakfast patio. Excellent location in central Stellenbosch. Wonderful and helpful staff. Certainly the parking attendants.luxurious rooms with trendy look.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pricy. According to booking.com that expensive room was the only one left. Struggle to see on web what prices there are for different rooms.

    Location is very convenient. Room is spacious. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our rooms were a long way from reception, down a twisting corridor that became very boring after a while. You didn't want to forget anything in the room, that's for sure! Too much poor bread, and processed meat and cheese on offer at breakfast, but this reflects the taste of the predominant clientele.

    Great beds. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A great stay overall, but both mornings we were there, piles of (clean) laundry had been left outside our door, which took the edge off our trip to breakfast! Also we had a large space outside our room but the balcony was open to at least two other rooms and to staff occasionally passing by so it didn't feel very private. We felt it was a bit overpriced but realise that Stellenbosch is probably quite an expensive town to stay.

    From the minute you step into the spacious reception area of this historic building you feel welcome. All the staff are friendly and helpful. The bar, dining and pool area, although quite small, are very attractive. We had a really tasty meal in the outside dining area on both evenings. Our room was large and beautifully furnished with a lovely, modern bathroom. Great big top opening safe in one of the drawers was useful too! Right in the centre of town, it's convenient for shops, restaurants and historic buildings.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool area is small based on the number of guests. As a potential solution, they could place more loungers of the grass area.

    Croissants were buttery and delicious. The staff were exceptional. The room was elegant and tasteful. We would definitely like to stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool área is poor, the rest areas are inadequate. So if you get a tour operator there with 10-12 guests, you are on a loser as there is simply nowhere left to go. Although we booked this hotel 11 months ago, the hotel does not allocate a specific room to its Booking.com clients until they arrive. You therefore get the best AVAILABLE room, which in our case was poor. We booked and paid for a luxury double, which was supposed to be their highest level of room. However, it was clearly not as it had no balcony. The balcony is important for your down-time as I have already said, the hotels communal areas are restricted and inadequate. In Stellenbosch, after a hard days eating and drinking, this is important. The traffic around Stellenbosch is horrendous and travelling times should not be underestimated.

    Good location, parking available, helpful staff. We took taxis when going out at night and these were readily available and cheap by uk standards. (download the Uber app). The surrounding countryside is awesome, the food and wine quality superb, and the people very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price I paid (Approx R4000/night) I expected more in comparison to similarly priced hotels. Service in Restaurant was slow. The room wasn't well stocked. No biscuits for Coffee on 2nd night etc. I requested a proper double bed but had 2 singles pushed together.

    Location was good and bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service in the bar was not good ,

    We liked the beautiful room , the swimming pool , the location in the centre of Stellenbosch and the restaurant. Valet service was super !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The poolside bar service and bar service in general wasn't up to standard with the rest of the hotel experience. Pesky flies on the breakfast buffet.

    The car valet service was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area is gorgeous but quite small and shaded if you wanted some sun. There are a limited number of sun loungers in sunny areas. I also didn’t love the food here- but that’s probably because we are comparing to the exceptionally high quality we experienced throughout South Africa. I’m coeliac and had pre-advised The hotel in this regard but they weren’t very prepared when we arrived and as such eating there was a bit stressful.

    Room was beautifully decorated- on the smaller side of rooms this price we have stayed in. The bed was enormous and very comfortable and the general decor of the lounge area and reception was lovely.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The initial room we were assigned was not suitable for a four-night stay (not even a desk--just a small table with no chair) and the room was small and dark. Hats off to Anton for arranging a new room for the next three nights which was very pleasant.

    Nice breakfast, pleasant staff, pleasant restaurant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    A very comfortable hotel run by a friendly crew, perfect for a relaxing stay in the centre of historic Stellenbosch. The hotel is a quiet haven and with an excellent valet parking service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is very small

    Located in the very center of Stollenbosch the Oude Werf hotel will provide you with everything you need for a chillful and romantic stay. We have had a separated apartment with a fireplace which was simply magical.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to request for a room with balcony otherwise you get another room. Different then advertised.

    Friendly people, good breakfast and nice coffee.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant service was Slow & Sloppy. Very poor house keeping service. Bed covers just dumped on the chair in the evenings.

    Warm & friendly environment. Perfect location. Front of house staff alwzus very obliging .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am very concerned that the hotel does not ask guests to save water! Nowhere are there any signs about the absolute dire state of our current water shortage in the Western Cape.

    Beautiful hotel,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitos in the room (we could have been warned) Breakfast buffet basic for the price

    Nice decoration... great locations in the middle of Church street

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault anything.

    Before we could turn of the engine we were greeted, car parked by valet & bags taken to room. Wonderful room. Staff were excellent. Food really enjoyable. The whole experience of staying at the hotel was superb.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't want to have a ground floor room overlooking the pool area. There would be no privacy. Luckily our room was not in that part of the hotel

    The hotel has a charm that few hotels have which is possibly partly to do with the place in Stellenbosch's history that it commands. The hotel staff were excellent, booking us a 90 min walking tour of Stellenbosch, a reliable taxi to and from a wine estate where we had supper and fulfilling a number of other ad hoc requests, over and above just doing their jobs. The hotel rooms are comfortable and well appointed. Everything said understated, relaxing elegance in a perfect location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was extremely poky with a tiny round table on the one side of the bed which couldn't hold a book and a glass of water at the same time. No balcony and a glass enclosed bathroom, (shower only) with very little privacy. The suitcase stand is ineffective as when your suitcase is placed on it and opened, it falls off. We found the accommodation to be excessively pricey. Very disappointing and over-priced offering nothing special.

    The ambient of the hotel in general is lovely. The breakfast is superb and the muffins outstanding!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only ate breakfast there but I was quite surprised at how "ordinary" breakfast was. I also was not told about the breakfast menu which was very disappointing as I would have preferred to have ordered from that instead. Too late after I had eaten.

    i loved the linen & bed. Location fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe some beef options for breakfast. but nothing of note.

    The staff were amazing! The hotel was stunning the food out of this world. Location was ideal so pretty. Your in the center of town so everything is walking distance. Yet still quiet. Beds were a dream to sleep on. The facilities were beyond what I expected. Well worth the extra money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light switches were very confusing

    The historic mansion. The modern rooms were very well equipped. Decor was lovely understated and soothing. The staff was terrfiv

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls between rooms are very thin, we could hear the folks on either side. Plus the WIFI was the worst we experienced this entire trip. Very disappointing at this price range.

    The location is great, and the property is very "Designer", so it's a bit odd to have the glass wall of the shower in the bedroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so friendly and helpful and the location right in the center of town was excellent . Rooms are interestingly decorated but a little on the small side. Decor in the entrance hall does not do the hotel any justice - it looks like an old museum when you enter the hotel , and yet the rest of the property and the rooms are refreshingly modern .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt there was abit of pressure for us to book tours through the hotel. This is a general feeling in ZA though. When I asked the reception about a reserve park to visit he insisted we need to book a tour, but we went for the hike on our own in the end and we were absolutely fine :)

    Loved the location of this hotel. It is surrounded by buzzing restaurants and is on a beautiful green streets.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Always running out of toilet paper. Include an extra in closet?

    Location amazing. Breakfast perfect. Fireplace and bar beautiful. Front desk and bell staff went out of their way.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some misunderstanding in booking the car transfer from airport-hotel. Tried to contact the hotel through booking and directly on their website with no luck.

    Loved the breakfast: delicious and with a lot of choice. The staff is really helpful and nice. The hotel is a warm and very good furnished and the location is perfect. Bedroom was very comfortable. Loved the Charlotte Rheys products in the bathroom!!!! ❤️

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is quite poor. Service is very lacking. Plenty of waitresses but you always wait for having a (non hot) coffee. The hotel is much more beautiful in the pictures. You can definetely find alternative better places in Stellenbosch.

    The front desk staff is always ready to help you with the organization of the various activities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a lovely room facing the street, but very silent. The breakfast was delicious and the bar a lovely area to chill. It is location is great and you are able to go for lovely walks from there in the quaint area of Stellembosch town centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For those that are not aware this is the first established hotel in South Africa (of course renovated!). Fantastic location and great restaurants walking distance. The breakfast is also very good and internet is fast. Definitely recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A larger variety of coffee during breakfast. In other words a nice espresso.

    One of the more interesting hotels I've been at. A great architectural design with indoor efficient and beautiful design as well. Spacious rooms with a very comfortable facilities and high cleanses. The service is excellent and breakfast is good as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect place to stay. Really nice hotel, Very kind stuff in particular John in the reception he really gave us some good tips and maps to locate around, he was excellent. Breakfast is really good. We recommend this hotel for sure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not up to standard for a hotel of this grading. The same thing every morning..after 6 days staying there very boring. The food was cold as well they serve it in serving dishes that is not doiing what it should..keeing te food warm.

    Excellent location for shopping and exploring Stellenbosch. Parking is availsble for your car in a covered secure garage.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the food at breakfast is great, it took an age to find someone to fill up the milk jug and we then waited about 15 minutes for it to be returned to the serving table. Service in the breakfast room could be improved. The quality of the picture on the TV was very poor.

    Supremely comfortable, clean accommodation in central location. The atmosphere is totally professional and yet warm and welcoming. Reception and room staff are most helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The biggest bed I have seen. It was all very nicely presented and both breakfast and dinner were marvelous. Very clean and staff very helpful. Only room we have stayed in with an expesso machine in the bedroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cocktail offering in the bar could be expanded.

    All staff members without exception were extremely helpful, friendly and willing to do anything to make our stay special. Clean, high quality and abundant towels. The fact that while the hotel is situated on the main tourist street in Stellenbosch, there was no street noise, as the rooms face a beautiful inner garden courtyard.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The loud music playing in the courtyard near our bedroom kept us up until we phoned reception to request it be turned down

    Beautifully and stylishly renovated, whilst still maintaining the historic value of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Fantastic location! Great staff that were very helpful -- i.e. I asked about running in the morning and the front desk staff immediately pulled out a map and showed me a great route.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room furnishing offered virtually no drawer storage. Room was on the small side considering we were booked for a week.

    StFf service was excellent - all staff were extremely pleasant

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was on the street side and noise from the house gate and ventilator was too high. No excuse from manager came and I would have e pected at least a coffee or drink offered for this.

    the furniture, location, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely traditional style hotel but modernised in a way that really works. Our room was great and very spacious - the bathroom alone was bigger than some hotels I've stayed in! Great location in the heart of Stellenbosch.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything - could not have had a better place to stay from the location to the staff, food, services etc. You name it they did it exceptionally well.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite expensive for South Africa, for Europe it would be on the cheap side

    Very stylish hotel, very good room. Modern take on oldfashioned "things" like lamps, pillows etc. Breakfast was very good. Location superb!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hooks or rails near sink for hand towels. Building going on at back of property with crane working overhead. We were located above kitchen so could smell the cooking.

    Modern large room and bathroom. Location right in old part of town excellent. Friendly staff. Lovely breakfast. Nice little pool and garden area.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant staff are not very attentive and could do with some additional training, but they were all very friendly.

    The room was beautifully decorated and the bathroom very spacious, modern and clean. The bed was extremely luxurious and comfortable. The hotel is well situated and in the heart of the pretty, albeit somewhat touristy, part of Stellenbosch. One is surrounded by quaint galleries and shops as well as a variety of magnificent coffee shops and eateries. The outside area of the hotel is lovely as is the decor in general. Porters and reception staff are very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I WAS WOKEN UPAT 7.30 AM WITH BUILDING, HAMMERING AND ANGLE GRINDERS RIGHT OUTSIDE MY BEDROOM. DUST WAS AWFUL AND COULD NOT SIT ON MY PATIO OR SLEEP LATE. THIS WENT ON ALL DAY EVERYDAY. I WAS NOT WARNED. MY ROOM NO WAS 311. I WANTED TO PARK IN THE HOTEL AND HAD TO GO ROUND THE BLOCK IN PEAK TRAFFIC AT 4.30 5 TIMES AS THE ENTRANCE WAS BLOCKED. NO ONE COULD HELP ME. THEN EVENTUALLY WAS TOLD TO GO IN AND PARK. I HAD TO LEAVE AS THE PARKING WAS SO SMALL AND NARROW. IN THE OLD DAYS THEY WOULD PARK THE CAR FOR YOU. THE SERVICE ON THAT DAY WAS SHOCKING. I SPOKE TO 3 MEN OPUTSIDE. THIS WAS THE 19TH OF JANUARY AND I HAD TO DRIVE BACK TO ACADEMIA RESIDENCE TO PARK. I USED AN UBER TO GO BACK AND FORTH TO THE HOTEL. BREAKFAST SERVICE WAS NOT GOOD. WHERE THE FOOD STOOD FOR THE BUFFET THERE WERE FLIES HOVERING OVER THE FOOD.I DID NOT HAVE THIS EXPERIENCE WHEN I STAYED THERE THE FIRST TIME. I WILL NOT GO THERE AGAIN.

    ROOMS WERE VERY CLEAN

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is difficult, limited breakfast and food average, poor attention to detail- wilted roses on table. I expected it to be like the Vineyard hotel (?same owner?) not at all! Expensive.

    ?

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    noise level. breakfast was disorganised. no one to serve us coffee. saw a waitress rub her finger over butter dish before giving to customers.

    loved the bed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited parking.

    The staff friendliness, excellent facilities, location, cleanliness, room comfort, view of pool area. Restaurant was excellent, great food and well priced.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dinner menu could be improved - and the bar ran out of gin!

    Quiet even though room overlooked car park and hotel entrances. Buffet breakfast good. Swimming pool area well maintained.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was too hard & so were the towels, not tumble dried probably air dried for enviromental reasons but I want to feel soft luxurious towels not hard towels. Reception staff with the exception of one member ignored us passing through on 3 ocassions, surely a polite greeting would not have been too much trouble ?

    Bedroom had nice statement pieces of furniture and was a great size. Linen was lovely. Bathroom area was great especially the shower which was very spacious. Hotel location excellent.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Oude Werf Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: