Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Penny Lane Lodge 3 stars

5 North Avenue, 7130 Somerset West, South Africa

#58 of 60 B&Bs and Inns in Somerset West

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 26 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 15

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved how at home I felt at this lodge and how friendly the staff and owners were. Tranquil. Total peace!! I will definitely encourage others to book a weekend away if you just want to escape your reality for just a weekend. A penny well spent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We just stayed at penny Lane for one night on our way to Montagu but the hosts were friendly, it´s clean and the facilities are perfectly ok for the money. Overall I can recommend it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are very noisy as they are linked to other rooms, you can here every word the neighbors are saying, therefore they could also hear what we were talking about - ergo, no privacy. The bathroom was old and shower in bath difficult to get in and out of. Stairs to the room was very narrow and steep.

    The friendliness off the staff. Very helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should have checked that everything was in order. Like cutlery, there were only two plates, what about bowls for cereal, glasses, why just Cremora as milk? Why not a small carton of say Longlife milk also?

    Nothing in particular

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Very comfortable room, handy for central Somerset West and an easy drive from the airport. Loved the balcony and the view. Everything I needed for my short trip - slept very nicely too! Would certainly use again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light outside shone threw the thin curtains all night and I couldn't switch it off. There was a water leak somewhere that dripped all night. The room was very close to a busy road and the traffic was noisy. The TV was snowy There was one teaspoon The air conditioning did not work and you couldn't leave the windows open

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Chalet 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I did not like

    The owners are super nice friendly and most welcoming, the place itself it's beautiful nice and comfortable..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No visible staff apart from booking in.

    I loved the privacy and quietness that the self contained Chelsey provided.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Shower was leaking

    Quitness/ Swimming pool/ Braai facility

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    The supply of tea and coffee was not enough for the duration of our stay. Lighting for the outer stairs needs to be improved.

    The availability of the swimming pool. Safety features, eg burglar bars on some windows, safety nets on the verandah that is upstairs, plus the availability of carports.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the security was a big factor for me - remote access gate and secure parking for a lone traveller was good. cleanliness of the flat and the servicing each day.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing bad to say...

    On our whole 1 month long vaccation throughout South Africa, we have not been to a lodge where we had more fun and felt more welcome, then Penny Lane! Of cause you must not expect a 5 star accomodation, but the flat was perfectly clean and the appointments (fridge, second bathroom, grill and table outside, ...) definitely beat our expectations! But the most important thing is: The Owners were more than friendly and would help us with problems and questions at every time of the day! They gave us lots of advises on what to do in SSW, supplied us with cold beer when we were overwhelmed by the Southafrican heat and even took good care of a friend, who hurt his knee while hiking, which is in my oppinion absolutely not naturally... We had great times, sitting at the bar counter, listening to Kevins stories and jokeing with him! Overall it was an amazing stay and I will definitely stay in Penny Lane again, when I visit SA next time!!!

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Awesome place, secured parking for my car, chalet clean and well equiped

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A few maintenance issues (for eg. tap not fixed in properly), no ice available upon arrival.

    Very clean and comfortable accommodation.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    beds were terrible

    Location

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 15

Guests also reviewed these properties: