Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Place on the Bay 4 stars

Corner of The Fairway and Victoria Road, Camps Bay, 8005 Cape Town, South Africa

#95 of 152 hotels in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 463 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Beach front location - clean and well equipped
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift up so had to drag our bags up a few flights of stairs but nothing too major! If it's busy, off street secure parking is limited but that will always be the case.

    Location excellent - right on the beach in Camps Bay, close to loads of restaurants/bars and felt safe and secure. Studio had great views of the beach, huge skylight and kitchen looked well equipped (although we didn't have time to use it!) Staff were friendly and helpful. Price was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.8
    Only the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was dirty. The bathrooms were old (30 years +) and were terrible to use. The sliding door to our terrace could not be locked.

    Location and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.7
    Phone in the room did not work.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Phone in the room did not work. Did not like being right on the street in 303. Painters outside my room on first day - had to keep curtains closed. Hot tub did not work which was one of the reasons I booked the room. I should have been offered a discount as they could not accommodate me in another room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    A Great View
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 17 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels and bedsheets were stained and slightly dirty even after they were cleaned. The signal for the TV channels wasn't good.

    The view from the apartment was amazing and the location of the apartments is very convenient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location and facility! Comfortable, clean rooms with nice views. Would definitely come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location! Close walk to nice restaurants, bars, and beautiful beach. Safe and upscale area. Room was very comfortable. Stayed at Place On The Bay and The Fairway, same owners, both great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    Right on the beachfront of one of South Africa's best...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lift was out of order and someone was banging on something at about 02:00 in the morning for quite some time. I would normally go and investigate, but it sounded pretty violent, almost as loud as gunshots. This kept on going for about 10 minutes and my problem with that is, it seems that there was absolutely no one there who could take charge of the situation or respond to it in the appropriate way. The guests were left to fend for themselves.

    Right on the beachfront of one of South Africa's best beaches with great restaurants

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Excellent location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location ! Clean and spacious family unit situated across the main beach and within walking distance to many restaurants and shops. Very friendly and helpfull staff ! Highly recommend staying at The Place on the Bay. We wIll most certainly return for a longer stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location next to Camps Bay Beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some maintenance issues (such as lift not working) as owners want to demolish the whole building and redevelop.

    Great location next to Camps Bay Beach. Staff helpful & friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Very clean, spacious and had own patio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't what we expected, it didn't look like the picture online and when I asked they explained that the picture is off the penthouse. The room we had was basic, clean and has anything you need for a self catering break. Felt more like a basic holiday camp then a hotel.

    Very clean, spacious and had own patio. Lovely location, friendly staff, pool and view of the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    The hotel was in an amazing location to get out and about to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool wasn’t the best but did not affect our stay at all!

    The hotel was in an amazing location to get out and about to explore Cape Town and the surrounding area. Perfect for the beach and our room was clean and comfortable. The staff were amazing, so friendly and couldn’t do enough for you. Really brilliant place to stay if you want to make the most of your holiday!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location and clean functional apartment which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lock on my balcony doors was broken.

    Fantastic location and clean functional apartment which was perfect for us as we were out and about most of the time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.4
    Location is very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole property is very tired, security not great, nor is it friendly for young children. Lots of broken equipment and facilities which are dangerous

    Location is very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    The room we stayed in the last two nights was amazing.
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in the last two nights was amazing. Seaside view with a lot of space. The bed was great and we loved having s Kitchenette! Amazing price for an amazing location. The staff was wonderful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    My best choice when in Cape Town, work or pleasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing location, and great view from the room: beach and mountains. All venues and restaurants are on the same street, and beach just accross the street. Spacious rooms, very clean, quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    3.8
    All of the hotel needs desperate refurbishing inside and out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything!!!

    All of the hotel needs desperate refurbishing inside and out. We've stayed there several years and sadly its getting too bad to stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.0
    Old, filthy and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is as dirty as we Never saw till now in SA, the pool with dirty water, the staircase filthy and stick, windows you can t see through, all plants almost dead, birdshit all over etc rooms are quite big but old with rusty taps, halfbroken windowframes etc. We paired more than 3000 brands for one night....its not even worth a thousand. We were told that the hotel will be destructed end of the year so nobody cares about the maintenance. What a pity......go somewhere else......

    The view on the sea. Very nice receptioniste.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    6.7
    The location was great but for the amount we paid I expected it to be much nicer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property wasn’t in good condition. The curtains were filthy with stains on. The cot had dried chewing gum stuck to the side. It was tired looking, dated and needed money spent on it. The kitchen looked like it hadn’t been changed since the 70’s.

    The staff were pleasant and helpful. The location was fantastic. Lovely views.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    6.3
    Great stay shame about the water situation but that’s nobody’s fault.unfortunatly I don’t think the
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price has increased a great deal,and the property has had no investment to justify this.example main patio door lock didn’t work had to use a bolt tosecure

    Location and parking are great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    Top location, Top service, Top Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel and staff made our 31 anniversary very special, the deco on the bed sekt and wine with chocolate. A very special surprise which made our day. The hotel left no desire open.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    As a self catering hotel-apartment, we couldn't have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms were a little dated and could perhaps do with some touch ups, but this should not detract from this being rated as excellent for the price and type of accommodation.

    As a self catering hotel-apartment, we couldn't have asked for anything more. The apartment (2 bed) was very clean, rooms were spacious, kitchenette was more than adequate and the staff were very helpful and polite. Despite severe water restrictions, the pool was still operational. The location is excellent - adjacent to the best restaurants and bars and a stone throw from the beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Best thing is the position - you are right on the beach with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Whilst it was great to have a plunge pool (and I was surprised it was still open given the water shortages), it was actually very difficult to get in and out of, as the ladder only possessed a top rung. But hey! The main pool looked lovely. If you have to make a criticism, the property is a little bit dated inside - the bathrooms could probably do with an update - but if that's the trade off with being in such a great location then don't let that bother you.

    Best thing is the position - you are right on the beach with its strip of cafes but far away enough not be affected by any noise. Looking out at the sea in the morning is fab. I liked the fact that we had our own plunge pool, however the main pool also looked nice and i never saw it overpopulated (in fact I never saw anyone in it at all!)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.9
    Good spot in Camps Bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no staff at reception after 10pm and no security to be contacted after hours

    Location is camps bay is great and there is plenty of parking. Rooms are spacious and clean with everything you need

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    6.7
    The location was the best thing about the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unit was very badly equipped as far as utensils in the kitchen were concerned. The private pool of our unit is not maintained. My husband hurt his foot on a big nail which was on the floor of the pool which he didn't see. The steps of the pool were broken so it was very difficult to climb out.

    The location was the best thing about the place. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Very nice place in a perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower of the upstairs bathroom did not work well. As the place to park the car in the hotel was reduced, if we got late at night maybe there was no space. Anyway we managed to park in the hotel the five days of our stay!

    The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. It was very convenient having a toilette downstairs and a complete bathroom in the first floor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    The rooms were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were great. Outside of building needs an upgrade - as do rooms. Good condition but old fashioned. Believe building has been sold and renovations will happen soon. Location superb. All in all great spot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.9
    Very relaxing and totally enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No water shortage signs to save water.

    paying extra to not be on the ground floor was well worth it for the view and double front balcony.Could not be more helpful although they could not give us an late check out for late flight they kept our luggage and had toilets and rooms to change in when we were ready to leave.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.3
    Good location and reasonable value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lift was out of order. The rooms whilst very clean and freshly painted are in need of upgrading, especially the bathroom.

    The accommodation was very clean. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.6
    Marion, who manned the front desk was so helpful and deserves a special mention!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The staff were amazing, very helpful and friendly.Nothing was too much trouble for them. They booked trips,cabs ,restaurants and trips for us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    4.6
    Nice to be near the beach but overall disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needing to ask to be let in and out of the garage and not provided our own key, the bathroom window was broken and had a sign and duct tape on it, bathroom was outdated and had rusty nails, bathroom shower door didn’t close fully, ceiling fan only worked when lights were on, AC didn’t cool enough, lack of outlets to charge phone- had to unplug lights for this purpose, only 3 irons for whole hotel, no hairdryer provided, having to buzz to get in the hotel in stead of using a room key or some other secure method (we had to say our name each time which is fine but I would imagine anyone can hear you say that and use it another time), hotel needs some updating to Make it worth the price

    View of camps bay beach, secured parking, free beach towels

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.6
    The place is a little gem. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kids begging in the roads and the noise they made until late in the night needs a solution . I know that the 16 th of December is a public holiday and there is nothing that can be done about the mass of beach goers but some of them behaved barbaric. Alcohol abuse was rife and fights broke out in the evening over this weekend. There was a lack of public toilets on the beach and we saw people urinating in public. None of this is your fault but I would not come back here over this period.

    The location was fantastic with good views of the ocean and easy access to the beach and restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    4.6
    Avoid as much as possible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - cleanliness: room furniture were very old, bed was itchy, etc. - Room: we got room 206... extremely dark with no privacy. Anyone walking outside can see us, so we had curtains down all the time. - Common areas: pool was closed (no reason given), cigarette butts outside, etc. The hotel has a superb location but needs to be refurbished ASAP. It should not be marketed by your website if you need an honest opinion. We checked out the day after even if it was non-refundable.

    Location is top notch.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    4.2
    Toxic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price, I paid around R3800 with booking.com and when I arrived at the property I found out that they were selling the room for R2700. The bed was old and uncomfortable, the floors are old and has chips in them. The bathroom was completely disgusting. The bath tub had cracks. The taps were old. The curtains was torn in places. I will never use booking.com again because I was ripped off with price and I will never go back to place on the bay. This truly messed my wife and I holiday.

    Only the view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Sun kissed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's right across the Camps Bay beach and a whole host of restaurants along the street. It's child friendly and has beautiful surroundings. We loved every minute spent in Camps Bay, we'll definitely do it again in the near future.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.5
    Ideal for our stay in the area to spend 2 days at the Cape Town Sevens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An old building needing modernisation. Air conditioning unit in Rome was dated, inefficient and noisy. Window frames need replacing

    We had the balcony room on the top floor with a stunning view over the beach. Accessibility of the rooms could be difficult for some as no lifts and lots of stairs to negotiate. Proximity to my citi bus route and a lot of excellent restaurants was ideal. No other facilities other than a pool at the site. Only one supermarket in Camps Bay which closes at 8 pm if you need milk, water etc. It can get very windy at Camps Bay especially if you need to open the windows to cool the room. Breathtaking views in every direction. An excellent location for visiting Table Mountain if you don’t wish to drive as the bus stop is opposite the apartments.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.6
    The property was in a superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathrooms were a bit dated, but worked fine.

    The property was in a superb location. We could watch the waves from the balcony, and walk to restaurants (yet shielded from the music). The beds were extremely comfortable; and the staff very helpful and friendly!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    3.8
    Not a 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not a 4 star hotel, very old tired building and grounds, disappointed with the cleanliness and overall standard of this hotel, the pool area wasn't useable. The curtains and toilet were dirty, bathroom tiles broken, the maids repeatedly left the windows open all day long despite being in a busy area. We paid for a week but left after 3 days. Do not stay here if you want a nice hotel.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.8
    Great location near the beach and restaurants and good price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially placed in a room at the back with no view and no balcony even though we requested it. George was very helpful moving us to a much better room once we told him.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our balcony view of the ocean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    4.2
    Poor accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place is very old .. Dirty old toiles was the worst no decent blankets No decent parking Need to buzz to enter sometimes park off road Very bad wind in spring 50kmh daily I would rather pay for more but better quality Much better around at same price Lifts dont work and no it doesnt say that on booking.com Old horrible stairs very dangerous for small kids as no proper railing on side can fall off

    Location only nothing else

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.2
    Sea View room was totes amazeballs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sea View room was totes amazeballs!!!! The view over the Camps Bay beaches was stunning. Definitely pay for it!!!!!!! Open top bus stop is near hotel & such a good way to see the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.6
    We loved the location and designed so that there wasn't noise from other residents.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms and kitchen were showing signs of wear but really clean

    It was immediately on the beach with great restaurants within a stones throw. The beachfront has a vibrant fun buzz about it. Explorer Bus stops in the bay. Loads of hot water and we were upgraded without asking which was a bonus. Bedding was good quality and comfy bed meant good nice sleep. Nice towels too.Supermarket just up the road.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.8
    We had an absolutely magical time, the ease of being able to walk everywhere made it even better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the bath made it a little uncomfortable, as we are people that prefer to shower, it would've been more convenient to have a separate shower. The mattress on the bed was a little too hard

    The staff were so welcoming and friendly, the location is beyond amazing and the room itself was very comfortable with great sea views. Really helped to have an air con with the heatwave. I would definitely recommend it to anyone!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous location across the road from the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As previously mentioned the building is a little tired but that in no way took away from the very enjoyable stay we had there.

    Fabulous location across the road from the beach. Lovely views. Close to bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Amazing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would not have gone for a dip in the pool. Was a little dirty. Only only downer! Not to put you off as the beach is across the road!

    Absolutely loved our stay. Perfect location. Perfect facilities. Complete cleanliness & comfort, cleaned & fresh towels everyday. Amazing staff. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    5.8
    2 star at 5 star prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Make sure you get a balcony with a good view - hotel has no other redeeming qualities. Hotel makeover long overdue - no lift, out of action for some months apparently so no consideration for guests - no sunbed mattresses and dirty pool - no other facilities - chipped tiles and flaking paintwork on furniture and in rooms - no curtain in bathroom - wooden toilet seat (how sanitary is that these days) - 10am checkout policy (at this price??)

    Fantastic view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    View from the room was amazing, the apartment was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    living area & Kitchen on ground floor and you have to climb up for the bed rooms.

    View from the room was amazing, the apartment was very spacious with all the amenities and the staff were wonderful. Apartment was very clean with comfortable beds and a very generous living area with fully equipped kitchen. Super Market/ Restaurants/ Beach are just few steps away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.7
    Run down and desperately in need of a makeover
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Penthouse with Private Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Lift no longer works - and so penthouse is a climb of 49 steps. - WiFi in the penthouse is appalling - you end up giving up when simple pages will not load. - The large terrace is decked with wood. Unfortunately there are numerous screws protruding and raised which would rip your foot open if you caught it on one of them. For this reason it is not child friendly. - broken and chipped tiles around the pool - paint flaking around some windows and door handles beginning to rust and come away from the doors. Whilst at first glance and the official photos look fabulous, a few hours in the place and the need for investment become obvious. - spoke to reception staff who advise that the place is due to be demolished and rebuilt, which explains why management are not going to spend money they can get away with not spending. There are plenty of better value places in Camps Bay for less money. I would recommend looking at others.

    Location is great, the penthouse is fullly equipped, and has been a luxury apartment in its time. However as it has not been maintained (painting, broken pool tiles, poor WiFi, broken lift) it now feels tired and is not good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    Wouldn’t go back to this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was really uncomfortable and the elevator was not working so everyone was really loud at all hours of the night which made sleeping difficult

    Location was nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing- all good

    Fantastic place, rooms are in good condition just a little outdated. Needs to be modernized. Maintenance on building could be done and reception area is dull and outdated. Aware that the place has been sold.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.7
    Great location, nice staff, a bit tired but overall good value for being so close to the beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The front of house isn't great - you access a dark check-in area from a side gate. The pool isn't very nice and there's no bar, breakfast room etc. The room itself is large but everything is a bit tired looking and dingy.

    Nice bed, good location, nice staff!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.3
    Penthouse room made this stay amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The photo advertised on booking.com is NOT representative of most of the studio rooms sold on booking.com. The photo is actually taken from their penthouse suite. Considering it was our honeymoon and was the last 2 nights of our holiday, upon arrival we were a bit dismayed and disappointed at the quality of the room, as it was nothing like the photos online. We asked for an upgrade - they couldn't due to lack of available rooms but offered a discounted rate for the penthouse suite. The lift wasn't working so had to walk up and down 5 flights of stairs - not really an issue as the guys offered to take our bags up/down. The penthouse itself - floors are a tad dated but extremely spacious inside. 1 master bedroom, 1 junior suite, kitchen and multiple bathrooms with huge bath / shower area. The terrace! Wow - what a terrace - the views are incredible. And there are doors leading out from master bedroom to the terrace and to our private pool!! However, the pool area was dirty with birds droppings around the edges - this should be cleaned and maintained on a daily basis. The staff did clean it upon request however not very thoroughly - didn't feel completely OK to jump in and swim around! My advice - book the Penthouse room, even if its only 2 of you / perfect for 4 people or young family. It's by far the best room going here, the views will not disappoint. Rooms are cleaned daily which is a nice bonus, ample space and super comfy bed. All I would ask from the staff is that the pool and surrounding area is cleaned thoroughly before you arrive and maintained. Great location too, at the start of Victoria Road, on Camps Bay Beach front - lots of nice restaurants / bars - spoilt for choice.

    The views were amazing - especially at sunset.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    4.2
    Reasonable - but the place need some TLC. Some plumbing and painting maybe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The booking information presented on booking.com at the time of the online booking, was absolutely misleading. The booking reservation confirmed a seaview from this room that we booked. When we were checked in, we found that we were put in a room with no seaview - and not even a place outside the room to sit. This was absolutely ridiculous.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect

    Fantastic Penthouse! The rooms were amazing, pool and entertainment deck was awesome. The staff were well mannered and could not be any more helpful, such a pleasure staying here and can’t wait to get back here!!! Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.8
    This was a great place to stay, as long as they fix the lift!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Penthouse with Private Pool
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The lift was broken to the penthouse so we had to walk up 4 flights of stairs up and down which I would have thought would have been seen to immediately and not left considering the price I paid to stay there, this also meant there was only one set of keys to use between 4 people on different schedules which was not ideal.

    The penthouse itself is gorgeous, the bathrooms and bedrooms are comfortable, clean and spacious. I was told the pool was heated in the penthouse which it was not so didn't get to use these facilities at all as it wasn't the warmest time of the year. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I felt safe at all times.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Perfect location, friendly staff, spacious rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - we had a wonderful time!

    Place on the Bay appears to have been taken over by new management. The staff are wonderful and the 1-bedroom apartment we stayed in was enormous. It had everything we needed and more - as well as beach views. The beach is literally across the road and there are a wide range of restaurants etc close to the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    The place is beautiful and very comfortable. I got a nice discounted rate for my seconds stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk lady doesn't have a nice attitude towards solving matters. Her way of talking to us wasn't nice at all when we delayed to check out. Respect and human factor is important to acknowledge when addressing clients

    The front lady desk doesn't have a nice attitude towards solving matters

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have loved the same room but with a better sea view.

    Location was awesome❤️ Beds were amazingly comfortable. Room had private hot tub but was not weather permitting. Would definitely return😊 Staff were great...very helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.4
    The blinds in the bathroom were rusty.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The blinds in the bathroom were rusty. Curtains were ripped. Towels had stains. Very simple interior. Would not recommend this place to my friends.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Bigger and will kitted studio, with an amazing beach view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A manual guide to use the air con would have made setting it up easier. The wifi has a medium strength But this is us being picky because these still worked to our statisfaction. These are just áreas for improvement

    The location is great! The studio had everything that we needed, the bed was very comfy and everything very modern. The bathroom was bigger thank expected, and well finished with very good water presume. The studio has an amazing view of the beach from the balcony. The studio was well furnished and also bigger than expected, with the added benefit of a safe for extra security. It had a working air conditioning unit and good selection of tv channels on the tv. The studio has a mini kitchen me with complimentary plates, mugs, cutlery, pots, cooking utensils etc. The studio is very suitable for a longer stay if needed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    4.2
    Not great for cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and toilet in particular were filthy and the room was very basic with old decour, overall we weren't very happy with our stay but glad it was just for one night.

    Location was good and had everything we needed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.4
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts wasn't working .. Lots of steps to climb. Poor building work cracked .. Bath was dirty and it advertised a restaurant on premises which there wasn't .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.4
    It was frustrating as the place disappointed from the pictures expected it to be more upmarket!
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There isnt adequate parking available and parking bays are extremely narrow - parking is on a first come basis. There are no lifts and hence carting ones luggage up stairs becomes a laborious task especially when u have kids. Electrical equipment was not fully functioning. Soap dispensers were not working . Place not equipped with adequate crockery . EG just 1 drinking glass . Pictures from booking.com were very misleading as it shows just the Penthouse . Our was nowhere close to the pictures. Staff were not helpful and very unaccomodating . The loaction is the only consolation to this venue. I would rather have booked a hotel !

    The location was the best part of this facility!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    A breathtaking and unforgettable experience with the best views of Camps Bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As it's a apart-hotel and as such a self-catering apartment we could have used a few more standard utensils but everything additional that we needed (like an ashtray for the balcony and a cheese grater) were provided by the staff in a very prompt and courteous manner.

    The staff, the location, the property itself. The room was exceptional and the views were unbeatable. Cannot fault the property nor it's staff at all. It was all truly amazing. The Room was light and "airy", a great size, a great layout (for a studio) the bathroom was clean and well presented as was the kitchen area and main living area. The bed was the perfect size and super comfortable, sheets were clean... and again the staff were amazing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing. all was amazing

    Staff were amazing. They couldn't have done anything more to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Location was amazing and restaurants were on doorstep, so no need or desire to travel further. Thank you

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    6.7
    Perfect location but hotel is in ruins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything in the otel was very old and in bad situation. It needs to be renewed urgently. Wi-fi was awful.

    Very good location. A few steps far from Camps Bay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    We had a tremendous stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff should wear a recognizable t- shirt or outfit that identifies them as part of the facility. Not only for them to be proud of where they are working but also for guests to treat them with respect for what they do. Unidentified people knocking at your door is not on. Then. The porch area outside the bedroom must be cleaned. It is one of the biggest assets of Place. I do think Place on the Bay has a lot to offer with a lot of potential. Touching up paint, fixing a tile here and there. A gem of a place.

    Absolute gem of a location and the kitchenette was fantastic!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    6.3
    No Where we are told that there is building site right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Where we are told that there is building site right accross the way infront of the apartment where WBHO is building ; False advertising as you are showing a lovely view .... which is not the current situation .... they need to then offer discounted tarrif for the inconvenience of the building and hammering going on.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location with a breathtaking view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had an amazing view from our bedroom video and we didn't pay much for that privilege. Aside from being a stone's throw away from the beach it was located right next to restaurants and even a supermarket. Perfect for a family!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.1
    It was okay overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff don't respond after midnight to open the door and on check out at 4 o'clock in the morning nobody answers to help us with the luggage

    Mostly the location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Had a good time, relaxed and enjoyed our stay. Will definitely go back very soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that there was no lift, escaltor. As we had our 6 month old son with it was difficult to carry his pram up the flights of stairs.

    I loved the vibe, the room was amazing. Very quiet and elegant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice location but can be noisy at night due to lots of bars and restaurants in the vicinity
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge made a little noise but not the end of the world Street noise and drag racing at 1 am Sunday morning is disappointing but not the hotels fault

    Location and sky roof in the room Wonderful sea views

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.9
    joyful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pedestrian gate from the beach side,one is required to ring the bell for reception to open the gate every time coming from outside.They should use the system that allow to open the gate with your room access card or pin.

    The place was very clean,service,WIFI and neat

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.9
    pillows were a little comfy, staff members were extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    at least one medium size mat( small rug)in the room because the floors have tiles and very cold in winter

    pillows were a little comfy, staff members were extremely good and friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Service from GEORGE MOYO was tops!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms need an upgrade.

    The service received from GEORGE MOYO was impeccable and worldclass. He went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and accommodate all our needs. Thank you GEORGE! The location was 10/10 !! Right on the beach, excellent balcony with view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    4.2
    Great disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise. Old fashion. Not a king size bed more like double. Lift broken.bathroom clean but moldy. I was not happy at all

    Was not what I expected. I expected modern and chic. Noise levels at 12-4am in the morning was more appreciated. Old and needs a good revamp

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    3.3
    Shockingly bad, ask the cockroaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is actually closed and has been so for months (although the staff were kind enough to prepare a room for us as we had already paid through your site which claimed they were available). While the hotel was supposedly only due to open the day after we checked in, it is in a terrible state of disrepair; the shower head fell off, bath has gouge marks through the fibreglass, TV did not work, recent fumigation made it impossible and dangerous to breathe, there were stains on the bedding, the floor was filthy, hotel pool is not usable and numerous cockroaches were running up walls and into our luggage. It is disgusting and shocking, especially for a 4 star hotel on Camps Bay.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Place on the Bay traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: