Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Point B Guest House 4 stars

14 Pine Road, Green Point, 8005 Cape Town, South Africa

#151 of 249 B&Bs and Inns in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 75 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.5
    Point B guesthouse is safe and the facility is clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a room on the main floor, right across the hall from the kitchen. And very close to the breakfast room. It was a little noisy but not too bad. The bathroom door is not an actual door and therefore privacy while in the bathroom is minimal.

    The facility is safe. The breakfast room as well as the porch outside is nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    Staff very helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom is really small , but has everything you need

    Staff very helpful and friendly Nice outside seating at pool area for drinks / coffee in the evening Our room was on same level as breakfast area , not conducive for sleeping a little later , although staff were very quiet. Breakfast is really good and service 100% Location fantastic for Stadium events Narrow streets around the guesthouse problematic because people park in the street and don't think about access for other vehicles .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Nice place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Better than any other hotels I know. Breakfast was served in the garden next to a swimming pool. Very comfortable furnitures for resting. Guest house is protected by electrical fence and cameras to feel save. 15 Minutes walk to V&A waterfront.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    10
    The room I stayed in was on the upper floor and was huge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I stayed in was on the upper floor and was huge. Very modern, great facilities, mini bar, massive shower / wet room. Location was good, a 5 minute walk to the main road which has lots of bars and restaurants. An uber is never more than 5 minutes away. I can't comment on the breakfast because I could never be up by 11 😃 The property offers an honour bar system and the entertainment area / pool area is very smart.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    5.0
    Would look elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom in room number 3 is like a shoe box with nowhere to put anything - ok for an overnight stay but we were here for 5 nights so was not comfortable. Same in the main room, there is a bed and large cupboard but not much space. I saw a cockroach in our room one night - it went through a small gap in a piece of wood that formed part of a panel on the wall so we couldn't remove it either! We were also give toast that had obvious spots of mould on one morning at breakfast! Unfortunately would not stay again!

    Location is OK and close to a few nice places to eat but I prefer further along in Sea Point with more easy access to walk by the ocean and a bit more going on. Outdoor seating area for breakfast was pleasant and bed was large and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    8.3
    Comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast service a bit slow, (for business guest)

    Staff was extremely helpfull. Supporting with starting my car and printing/scanning a contract. Breakfast was very good, nice fresh fruits

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    6.3
    Thousand fake Buddhas
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    But : - the first contact with one of the owners consisted in asking us why we did not arrived the night before as he couldn’t sell the room to other guest. He was claiming the payment of a 6th night we never confirmed (we asked the price of an extra day through Booking, but changed our mind, so we didn’t confirm) - the owner checked and had to recognize there was no confirmation indeed - the first night (and the four next ones) was painful because of a powerful spot displaying a day like light directly in our window - during breakfast, we first found the waitress were tense or «bizarre» despite their kindness, but realized that the reason was that the owner is horrible to them : they were terrified, and you could feel it in the air (beyond the longe music) ! (we also had to wait 20 minutes every day before we were asked «if» we wanted «something» from the kitchen, and wait another 15 mn to have it : we gave up the last day…) - when I went and asked for the check before leaving, and had the surprise to find six nights and not five in the bill, and an agressive attitude of the owner : I reminded him there had never been confirmation, and he had to recognize again that we had booked only five nights, then he changed the bill - after I have paid, he presented another invoice, saying that I would have to pay for the cleaning of our son’s mattress and maybe pay for the whole mattress… Our 8 years son had a little pee accident one night, that we declared immediately the next day to the staff (we were said that there would be no problem at all!). So, he started showing me the prices of a new mattress (the mattress had the year «1998» written on it…!), all this with the same aggressive and haughty attitude. I said I wouldn’t repay the mattress (of course !!!!), but paid the 980 Rands he charged me. - we went away without any thanks from no one from the staff of the hotel, and without help for our luggage.

    We spent five nights last week in the Point B B&B. The first impression is a peaceful and stylish bed and breakfast, with beautiful flowers, plants and buddhas everywhere and soft longe music in the air. The personnel is very polite and serviable. In a few words : what you can expect when you pay 2100 R a day in Cape Town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Fantastic guesthouse within a very short walk of Greenpoint stadium.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The kettle was very very slow.

    The owners were very helpful and friendly and they went out of their way to help me whenever I needed it. I so appreciate that. The staff were also great and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.3
    Secure and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed better sound proofing. Limited tv channels.

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff, great location & brilliant brekky!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, great location & brilliant brekky!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    4.2
    They did not change our bedding throughout our entire stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did not change our bedding throughout our entire stay and the smell was not pleasing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit tired

    Good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to leave at 6.30 am and staff got up An hour early to make us breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    Great guesthouse in Green Point
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Desk to work on in room

    Comfortable with a great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.2
    Awesome Stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be better.

    The rooms are very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful, stylish, over delivered
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That orange juice ain't freshly squeezed. Limited parking if you come with a car

    Wonderful comfortable, bright, quiet room. Great location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    Parking was lacking, had to park on the street sometimes.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking was lacking, had to park on the street sometimes.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    9.2
    Staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Room very comfortable. Thank you

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    10
    Affordable, luxury accomodation at green point in CT
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    little parking

    very clean and comfortable i thought it was excellent value for money and in a good central location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    10
    Great find
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location excellent breakfast area painted staff clean Spacious room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    7.9
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful place. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    9.6
    Fantastiic stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there we no plugs by seated, desk area.

    The unit was clean and fresh, staff excellent and breakfast very good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Great guesthouse, would stay again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    very comfortable stay at a very good location. staff went out of their way to make us happy. great breakfast!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    5.8
    Average
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    didn't appreciate the welcome I received after a delayed flight and very long day

    Clean and presentable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    9.6
    Amazing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner/manager was very welcoming and kind. The staff were pleasant. It felt like home away from home. I would definitely go there again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    10
    Hilton and Bradley were exceptionally welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Maybe more TV channels.

    Hilton and Bradley were exceptionally welcoming. The facilities were excellent, clean and well equipped and very charming. The breakfast was a highlight I thoroughly enjoyed. I recommend this place to anyone who desires a high end friendly service. I will visit again for sure.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay a lot mostly down to the friendliness of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    We enjoyed our stay a lot mostly down to the friendliness of staff and the good location. Bradley was booking tours for us and was helpful regarding directions and infos about the town. The house is old and has a lot of character, a nice outside area. Breakfast was spot on! Would definitely go back.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    7.9
    Very central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Description of parking availability is misleading. There are only two parking bays which are not secure and we're not available. Had to park car in another street as the street was too narrow for any parking. I was told breakfast was at 7:00. I came out of my room at 6:56 and there was no sign of anyone or breakfast.

    Very central location

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2015

    8.8
    Breakfast was Awesome nice continental spread with fresh...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room smelt like smoke in the en-suite (maybe the last person in the room was a smoker?). Would have been nice if the Lights outside in the court yard could have been switched off at night (or block out curtains fitted to room).

    Breakfast was Awesome nice continental spread with fresh fruit and Hot breakfast on request, Parking right outside the front door (Space for 2 Cars). Location was good, close to V&A Waterfront.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    6.7
    The Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room was very small and cramped, with no bath and no secure parking. Parking is in the street. And free wifi means unlimited not 100mb a day.

    The Breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    10
    Everything was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No complaints

    Everything was great

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent breakfast Great relaxing atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    7.1
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The cold reception we recived on arrival Parking Double beds for two guys

    Good breakfast

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: