Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pontac Manor Hotel & Restaurant 4 stars

16 Zion Street, 7646 Paarl, South Africa

#7 of 13 hotels in Paarl

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 39 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty shower full of groud. Towels smelled mouldy. There were no plugs for the hairdryer which required a round plug and the staff could not supply one. Very thin duvets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The exterior of the building is pretty but the rooms have not been updated in what seems like 10 or more years. The reception was sniffing very loudly on arrival. The bathroom was very basic (poor paint on the wall) and needs an upgrade with very basic soaps and lotions provided, and the TV was snowy and some channels barely visible. I am sure the hotel was lovely at some point in its history but certainly not near to what was presented on the website. I don’t think I could recommend this hotel in this price range to any friends or business contacts.

    The room was comfortable and well sized.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was travelling with my husband. On arrival, tired at midinight, we were taken to a room with two single twin beds which looked different to what I saw online when I booked. The room was freezing cold with a window wide open & didnt appear as if it was prepared for incoming guests. On complaining, the staff member said he would first need to call Management. He came back to tell us there were no other rooms! We told hom we were NOT going to sleep in single twin beds as we didnt book and pay the amount of money we paid for two nights to sleep in single beds. He left and after a 20 minutes came back and took us to a more decent room with a double bed which was up to the standard we paid for. Management never apologised to us in person. We felt their (Management) treatment was shoddy and potentially racially biased as we are black South Africans. I doubt very much that they would have ignored white patrons the way they ignored us the day after.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gentleman at the front desk on my arrival day was friendly and professional, making me feel welcome. I liked the fact that the hotel is accessible 24 hours a day, especially because I attended a wedding and only came close to midnight, and was afraid that maybe I would struggle getting in. On my check-out day, the lady who was at the front desk was also warm and polite. The breakfast spread was excellent, with a wide variety of food to choose from.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No notification about pool being closed due to water restrictions allthough other properties managed to run on grey water.Room decor and bathrooms are a bit tired.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No underfloor heating in bedroom as per property description. (This was a winter stay) Underfloor heating in bathroom did not work "Award Winning" Restaurant turns out to be a steakhouse next door!

    Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms have been newly refurbished and some of the table lamps not yet connected otherwise it was splendid -thought you might like to know.

    We were in Paarl for a family wedding and between events Pontac was like a home from home. Our every request was granted and we were really well cared for. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    on the sunday morning there were hardly any scrambled eggs left by 07h45 when i went down for breakfast. no toast left. the bed side lamp on my side of the bed was an emergency light and i could not read in the poor light without having to get up to switch the main lights on and off at the door. the staff were rather noisy below in the kitchen when preparing breakfast. paint a bit run down and the carpets were not as clean as they could and should be. bathroom window stuck?

    beds were comfy, breakfast was adequate. will recommend it. charming grande dame.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Quiet place and a great restaurant next door. Perfect

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a manager on duty at night - I checked in at midnight, no wait, all hassle-free.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matresses not good Asked for Kingsize bed ,got 2 single beds instead

    Place needs a bit of tender loving care

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower had hair in from previous people - asked them to clean while we were out for the evening which they did not do!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was pretty standard but the hotel is outdated. It was clean though and we just needed a place to crash for 1 night

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The abscence of a shower in the bathroom

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and central, spacious rooms and nice little bar with veranda on property.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no baby crib available

    a beautiful building with friendly and helpful staff and a lovely breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    Exellent location with easy access to wine farms, excellent restaurants & mountains.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel forgot my wake-up call. Sometimes it feels like people completely under-estimate what the consequences for that can be. I was absolutely raging as was late for a meeting first thing (the only reason I was staying!) but saw no point in kicking off about it.

    Nice breakfast made to order.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our stay could have been longer

    It is a beautiful colonial house with atmosphere, staff and food to match.. Well located for the tourist or businessman alike.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet was a bit slow and inconsistent. The breakfast was excellent but for an evening meal you needed to go next door to the Cattle Baron. The Catlle Baron was good but the menu was a little restricted.

    Staff were really friendly and efficient. Made you feel very welcome and the breakfast was excellent. Would definitely return.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi basically useless even before it no longer worked for the next 5 days. Poor communication prior to visit. Bathroom needs upgrading to include a proper shower unit.

    Location near town centre. Quiet and comfortable. Cattle Baron restaurant is good. Staff pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel had no idea that I had booked and paid. Luckily they were not full (even though booking.com said that there was only 1 room left?). No food service during the day, as advertised on website. Rather basic room for the price. Very limited TV.

    Lovely pool and garden setting.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    By FAR too expensive for a hotel in Paarl...you arenot in Paris!!

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly hotel with wonderful staff. Excellent location and facilities. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lighting on the path from carpark to front door

    The room was lovely

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: