Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Port View Guest House 3 stars

13 Upper Portswood Road, Green Point, 8001 Cape Town, South Africa

#205 of 249 B&Bs and Inns in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 91 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    - No reception or someone to ask - I asked for an early breakfast and my request was not taken seriously - The room smells bad - Don't expect a good sleep: there are mosquitoes every night and the wall isolation is really terrible - Very basic breakfast I am surprised how this place has a high rating. This place doesn't deserve 3 starts at all.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location, great value for money, friendly staff, could be better furnished.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have preferred a work table in the room.

    Extremely well located, easy access to the V&A waterfront where I was at a conference, it was in a quiet street. Heading up back for a run it was possible to get up Signal Hill. Port View BnB is great value for money, much better than nearby AirBnB, with friendly staff and good breakfast. Facilities were not great but I would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.3
    Prime location in Greenpoint and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi can be on and off, but nothing serious. The walls are thin, so remember to keep it low when in the premises.

    Very prime location in Greenpoint and the place is clean. The staff is also nice and you are given a key that allows you to come in and out as you want.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.8
    An oasis of rest in the bustle of Cape town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An oasis of rest in the bustle of Cape town. Nice shady recliners next to the pool surrounded by trees and plants. An enjoyable Breakfast to prepare one for a day of sightseeing. I loved the view of the ocean from my private balcony.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Very relaxing and we will most definitely book again in future as the place was clean and comfortabl
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free breakfast as advertised.

    Breakfast was not included in the price as advertised but everything else was wonderful and it was very close to the venue for my meeting and easy access to all tourist attractions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice , clean , well situated
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No private parking as mentioned on booking.com

    Everything was fine. Nice old style place , very clean and well situated. Only one bad point about the private parking which does not exist !!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    Value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit outdated and may need a touch up especially the bathroom.

    The location was perfect because you could walk to restaurants and the breakfast was good. The staff was great especially Miriam, she was very welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    great location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - stayed in Room 3 which was very noisy as situated off entrance hall and main stairwell so all arrivals and departures could be heard through the door. View out of window directly onto the next door property's wall. Avoid this room if you can. - The property deducted the full payment about two weeks before the stay though 'pay at property' was indicated on the booking. Though aware that a card was needed to reserve the stay, and that the property might deduct first night's stay, the entire stay was deducted with no notice well in advance of the stay. Best to be aware if you are budgeting for your trip and need to know payment dates. - A screaming baby was in the room next door so for three nights in a row it didn't stop crying and screaming ... it was very disruptive and if staying longer it may have been nice to have been offered an alternative room as the guesthouse did not seem to be full.

    Great location for access to the Waterfront, Sea Point, easy to get into town, parking available, easy to book airport shuttle to the property (I used asct.co.za twice - very easy and reasonable price, driver on time - ZAR250 one way). TV in room (terrestrial only, no satellite), wifi available, great shower, hairdryer, tea and coffee, extra blankets. I also hired a road bike from Bike & Wine in Loop Street (great value) to cycle around the winelands, and the b&b had no issues with me having the bike in the room! Very good breakfast! Easy also to book an additional night when stay was extended when partner joined the trip, paid cash at the property. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    6.3
    A FAIR PLACE TO STAY IN THE MONEY
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothimg much ... All was fair enough ..very simple breakfast

    A simple place but at a very good location.. 1.7 km from V and A which is the activities hub ..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    6.3
    Hungry...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is served only from 8am. During my stay the staff was delayed and only arrived well past 8am - I had to leave without having breakfast. I was told they would compensate me for the inconvenience but am still awaiting a call.

    Nice location with easy access to restaurants and other amenities.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Coming back 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The house looks so nice and everything is all tidied up and well kept. The facilities, the breakfast and especially the staff is great! And I loved the view from the balcony where you can have breakfast on the garden with the palters and pool. Also, it's just a 15 minute walk from the V&A Waterfront.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    A pleasurable stay all round.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one TV channel had good reception.

    The breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    great stay, would recomend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing!

    friendly reception, clean rooms, fairly priced mini fridge, parking space, good breakfast,.. Can't say a bad thing about it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Great value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location close to the city center by foot. Night you'll need uber. Nice staff really clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Have to come back here again, so beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to water shortage the pool was empty, disappointing but very understandable!

    Beautiful place, ideal location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.9
    The location was awesome, WiFi also great but the TV was not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the TV was not working properly.

    The location was awesome, WiFi also great but the TV was not really working and the breakfast was fair.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    The hosts are extremly helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts are extremly helpful and friendly. Always greeting you with a smile :). Would go back any time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    perfect location easy access to wherever i needed to be
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the stairs :)

    good comfy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.1
    Good location in a central part of Cape Town CBD.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location in a central part of Cape Town CBD.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed too short to enjoy the establishment

    The honesty bar fridge and snacks in the room was awesome!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    Very comfortable
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought the towels were a bit old! Also, the limited parking is a bit of a concern but otherwise all good!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.5
    The wifi did not work when I needed it
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi did not work when I needed it

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking limited

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    I didnt want it to end
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The place was fantastic no interruptions no noise everything was user friendly. Would definitely go back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    The calming atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool and the bedroom we stayed in.

    The calming atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    5.8
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast at 8 is too late for someone on business, no parking on site

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.2
    Great location. Comfortable and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head in room 5 had no holder on wall so had to have baths

    Great location and breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    9.2
    Rich breakfast and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had no port view

    Rich breakfast and very helpful staff. Nice garden and swimmingpool.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    9.2
    Walking distance to Waterfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple accommodation but spotlessly clean and comfortable. Good breakfast. Walking distance to Waterfront. Have stayed there three times now

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    6.7
    Got very little sleep , warm and noisy guests.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mosquito's , People coming in 12am at night. No Sound proof rooms.

    Space

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    7.1
    Holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast to late. 8-10h AM

    Quiet, neigborhood safe, price, reception

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    3.8
    Port view.... there is no view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds, tv, shower heads, dirty carpets

    There was free wifi for one night

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    7.1
    good service from the staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that the place does not have DSTV channels and Wi Fi connection is bad.

    good service from the staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    8.3
    Comfy stay close to the Waterfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't view the port!!!!!

    Very friendly welcome and help by Nazeema.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking, cleanliness

    Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    7.5
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and good value

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    8.8
    Lovely garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs a bit of TLC

    The view from the room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    7.1
    Fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit noisy if other people came in.

    Fine room for a couple of nights with a comfort bed and good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    7.5
    Close to V&A Waterfront, but very quiet neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I'm not a bath type of person, so prefer a shower. Showering in the bathtub means that the windowblinds get wet. But that is all I can say that could be improved, according to my preferences.

    Close to V&A Waterfront, but very quiet neighborhood. We had a room with a terrace, so we had a nice view. Comfortable room and very friendly staff. Good price/quality.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    8.3
    The bed was super comfortable, I loved the view and fresh...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. The main issue is that the steepness of the incline the building is on means it is difficult for people with heavy luggage to get it from gate to reception and then take it up 1 or 2 flights of stairs unassisted. 2. The management is not on site so if you want to check in late or leave early you need to make sure you can connect with them. 3. We had a car but there are only 3 dedicated spaces for guest cars so it means that if you arrive late and have no space you have to park on the road where there is no security.

    The bed was super comfortable, I loved the view and fresh air, and we were very close to the waterfront. It also felt private but we had our own space on our balcony to enjoy the views of the city. The managers were both very helpful and Danielle really tried hard to solve our problems in connecting to our airline.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    9.6
    I had to leave early the next morning and the staff provided...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unfortunately parking only in the street which is not ideal in terms of security and finding a spot somewhere to park.

    I had to leave early the next morning and the staff provided me with yoghurt and muesli etc. to have something to eat at least before i left.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    7.0
    Beds were very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bath was dirty. It was stated that there was on site parking. In fact there are only 3 spots in front of the place otherwise there is only street parking

    Beds were very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    5.4
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed mattress was very poor There are only 3 tables for breakfast so when I came down I have to wait for a table to leave before I could eat There was zero supervision while I was there - when I wanted to settle my tab for the mini bar I had to go and find a staff member and the only one available was the lady in the back kitchen Room was very noisy - fridge sounded like and old car idling

    Location

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    7.5
    Staff were friendly and very helpful and accomadating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Your beds are an absolute nitemare they kept on seperating it would be nice to be given a choice of a bed those single beds really really suck

    Staff were friendly and very helpful and accomadating

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    9.2
    Firstly the staff was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The WiFi was a bit slow but was FREE and there was no Movie channel, but as we only stayed there for the concert it was no problem really.

    Firstly the staff was amazing! A special thank you to Danielle who went above and beyond the call of duty and helped us out. Secondly, the location is really good if you want to safely walk down to Green Point for dinner before walking over to Green Point Stadium for concert. Breakfast was good and if you can get room 5 or 6 they have a little balcony. The beds were comfy and the minibar had drinks and crisps. The pool was sparkling clean.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    8.3
    Lack of DSTV
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lack of DSTV

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    For the price, I expected more quality.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    5.8
    nice stocked fridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    two beds joined together, no tv channels working

    nice stocked fridge

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    8.8
    Location was great, in a nice setting with a pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The accomodation (room) was getting a little tired and run-down and in need of a renovation

    Location was great, in a nice setting with a pool

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    9.6
    The bed was very comfortable had a good nights sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bed was very comfortable had a good nights sleep.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    6.3
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was quite small. The staff was not so engaged.

    The location is good. You can reach The Waterfront by a ten minutes walk.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    7.1
    good value, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    internet was weak and variable

    good value, location

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    9.2
    The staffs were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location was good but it doesn't seem to be very well known to taxi drivers.

    The staffs were very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    5.4
    Breakfast was good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Tooo hot....no aircons

    Breakfast was good

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    10
    Great place and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great place and friendly.It is like being at home.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    7.5
    Staff was friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Luxuary Room upstairs needs aircon!

    Staff was friendly and helpful Location great Pool great Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    7.9
    Comfort and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    None

    Comfort and peaceful

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    7.1
    Excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The overall condition of the property is a bit too 'tired'

    Excellent location

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    9.6
    close to city centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    close to city centre

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    9.2
    Comfortable relaxed atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Comfortable relaxed atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    8.3
    Great location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    was noisy in room 2 due to being so close to the breakfast room, television reception was almost none existent

    Great location and value for money

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    9.2
    Breakfast included - varied and good selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast included - varied and good selection.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    6.7
    Room 5 and 6 have the best view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast is simple. Poor filter coffe.

    Room 5 and 6 have the best view. ASK for them! Walking distance to Waterfront

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    9.2
    friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no waterfront view

    friendly and helpful staff secure location nice room

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2015

    10
    I loved this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I loved this place! The staff was so wonderful, and the hotel was beautiful! Great service!

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Guests also reviewed these properties: