Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Splendid Inn Pinetown 3 stars

65 Kings Road, 3610 Pinetown, South Africa

#2 of 5 hotels in Pinetown

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 104 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    5.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that I bored meet and braai stand to braai for my family and the duty manager refused me the opportunity after everything is bought.

    I was happy with the cleaners as they kept my rooms to date and cleaner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The payment procedure. It was very confusing and the staff had different instructions with this regard. On my 4th day at the facility the room card stopped working and when I went to enquire I was told it's cause I haven't paid for the remaining days. After I was advised I can pay the remaining amount on the day of checkout. This was very unsettling as it seemed like i was running away from a loan shark or something. When initially I wanted to pay the full amount upon arrival but i was advised otherwise. The lady at reception who had given me attitude about paying switched her story when I asked for the manager and she was nice infront of the manager.

    The room was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    House keeping was extremely rude. They would knock and just let themselves in before we could respond. Every morning we had several people come in for two hours for house keeping, really disturbing when you're trying to relax. A bra fridge would have been appreciated Breakfast is unnecessarily expensive - nothing special about it for that price.

    The cleaniness. Close enough to the areas I was keen on seeing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hairdryers in other rooms we booked, telephone not working,mats were stinking and would recommend fridge and microwave in rooms

    Peaceful and quiteness, beautiful rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guests coming back to their rooms at night were talking at the top of their voices and slamming their doors. Total disregard for yr other guests which is disrespectful

    Bed and rooms very tasteful and comfy, overall very impressed. Did not eat breakfast at hotel.The receptionist on duty was wonderful, friendly disposition and greets her guests very well

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t have a fridge for my personal food. I also wish the air conditioning was making that much noise. Either then that, everything was perfect.

    The receptionist was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant look dull and the staff didn't give us our data until one of us asked for it so that means 5 of us didn't use the data as it was not offered.

    Bedding was nice and comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC made so much noise. It was like having a machine working in the room. It had to be switched off so that i could sleep and then of course, the room got hot. So it was a choice - either you bear the heat or you bear the noise

    Nice room and quick check in and check out

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    service (staff) Entertainment (boring channels) dessert

    staff unwelcoming and that's such a deal breaker, especially when you're there to celebrate and have fun such a downer. will not be going back there, ever!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The name Splendid does not appear anywhere. Staff.. some are very bad but there are those who are considerate. Communication regarding services needs to be improved for instance the breakfast and so forth. Parking is a bit of a nightmare when the facility is fully booked.

    The rooms are clean but the beds are of poor quality. No fridge in the rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The church servise on Sunday morning I dont understand it we travel to relax and have peace not the noise ..... kindly assist good people

    Cleanliness even the passage the carpet looks good and relatively new

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Toilet bowl was not properly cleaned. - Staff very noisy along the passage while cleaning.

    Staff went an extra mile and helped me bump start my car.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are not welcoming and don't care about the comfort of the guests. Plumbing and airconditioning is extremely noisy. Great relations is rude. No refrigerator in the room was an absolute shocker. We could warm food in the evenings because the only microwave avaliable was in the kitchen which was locked at night.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The free WIFI was quite slow and had a cap of 500MB per day. There was noise during the night from the street outside

    The Premier hotel was an unexpected find - it is a very good chain hotel in a rather industrial area of Pinetown. Definitely up to the standard I was expecting and security felt good in an industrial location. Pinetown is not a location where one would expect such a good hotel as there isn't much nearby in terms of vacation attractions, but this was great for a business stay. The staff were all great and very helpful and the rooms were clean and comfortable - exactly as one would expect for a 3 star hotel. The hotel food, both breakfast and dinner, were very tasty and the staff efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    service of the house keeping staff. we got less value for our money. refills were not done(toiletry and tea stuff). receptionist on duty kept giving lame excuses on sunday morning

    the comfort of the room was nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What I didn't like is, emergency exit doors were lock during the night which is not good, a specially the door close to parking(assembly point).

    The place was clean, stuff was friendly and the security was on point & parking and place is easy to find as well.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service at reception. I requested for a hair dryer on the day I arrived which was Friday and was told twice that she had to ask the manager. The hairdryer only arrived on Sat. afternoon. I ended up buying 1 on Sat. morning because I couldn't wait. Staff need to understand and respond quicker whenever the need arises, after all when I checked online, it did say that you provide hairdryers for the rooms, hence I did not carry one.

    Ambiance was great. Very scenic,

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 guests 1 towel ! We stayed 2 nights and they still replaced with 1 towel. Key card didn't work on day 2 and the staff insisted we put it next to the cellphone and created the problem ourselves. Firstly they should have warned us when we checked in and secondly the key card was never anywhere close to the cellphone !

    Safe secure and clean . Nice and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High noise levels

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price... room space... space for kitcheb

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning was not working at all. The swimming pool was not clean. This prevented me from using it.

    The environment was very cozy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too noisy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff efficiency Did not know that payment was made in advance Charged twice for breakfast

    The accomodation

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Clean room and carpets

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive breakfast. Its a ripoff!

    Study table in the room was lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room mats smelt of dust. The pool was far and not easily accessible Being situated at the entrance

    The outdoor sitting area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Needed a smoking room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The alcoholic prices are too much, even though it a hotel

    I liked almost everything, beside few variety on the menu to choose on

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon was noisey. The breakfast was a rip off. For R155 each I expect a lot more.

    Nice and quiet

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a bit pricey

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noisy staff. Every morning we were prematurely woken up by staff yelling in the corridors.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    It offers a cosy atmosphere you would expect from your home. The staff is friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Bar fridge or Microwave in room. Arrived late and couldn't warm our take aways

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Bar fridge or Microwave in room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not have breakfast had to leave early.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room space

    Cleanliness of the place Stuff at reception

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the fact that my 4g was jammed and I could not use my phone as a hotspot

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The church service on Sunday is bad bad bad

    Spacious rooms

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is beautiful and accessible

    Lovely Hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building was stuffy without ventilation. Limited parking space. Smelly carpets.

    Decent breakfast in the morning. Nice reception area.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet wasn't ok. difficult to manoeuver with the 500MB. The welcoming wasn't warm.

    The place was quiet

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service staff noisy early morning

    Neat and clean rooms. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking but not so bad

    Enough space in room so guide good stuff channels are Sharp

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location where the property is is a little dingy and downtown-ish.

    loved the rooms, were beyond what i expected from the property

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a carpet smell. Place was very noisy

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waking up to a church service on the ground floor

    The breakfast was excellent , the room was spacious and comfy

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ft

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff very unhelpful - hairdryer did not work, kettle did not work - room was not very clean

    nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet was wet daily by the window

    The omelette was to die for! The room was really beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was a problem ended up not able to use it

    Clean rooms

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast, there was no buffet. a lot of people left did not eat breakfast.

    there were crusants. but the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning lady had an attitude

    Never got any croissant

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the booking page said bed and breakfast but i had to pay for breakfast separately. Bad faith on behalf of booking.com

    Clean and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Food its great

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    had to be moved from first room after a cery cold nite with big hole on wall. staff was helpful in move

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath not draining fast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The people in the next door rooms were very noisy till early morning hours

    rooms are nice big, comfortable and clean

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room service was limited

    The staff attitude

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Family with young children

    I was inconvinienced twice, Day of arrival sleeper couch was not arranged my kids slept on the floor, I also requested that they do my laundry, when I returned late in the evening my laundry basket was still full, had to wash the clothes myself as I needed the clothes for the next day,(Sunday) The reception lady said she wasnt aware that laundry is not done on weekends, either that all was well.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I really didn't like the fact they took a scan of my ID. I have no idea why a hotel would need to keep a copy of your ID unless it was a dodgy hotel. I have no guarantee they will not be using that scanned copy to make fake ID's with. I was told it was to verify who I was, but as I was standing right in front of her, I can't see why she couldn't just look at my ID to verify it was me. There is no elevator to the upstairs section and I had to lug heavy suitcases with no assistance both up and down the stairs. The aircons are old units that make a lot of noise

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Supper was adequate, but lacking flavour. Not much of a choice for vegetarians.

    Yes, the croissants were lovely and flaky! The staff were really helpful and the stay was just the right thing for me after a very intense and busy Sunday.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were ok . The staff can improve by giving the client complete attention instead of chatting to other staff members at the reception .

    The level of cleanliness and the breakfast was great.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast is very pricey for what was on offer, and the "hot" food in the bain-marie was all cold.

    The room and bed both were very comfortable and clean.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Family with older children

    other guests singing in the early hours of the morning. minor maintenance issues.

    friendly staff. willing to accommodate my requests as much as possible.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noice... due to how its build it will always be like that.

    All in all ok. What else should you expect. They did not great ezpectation of 5 star so it was in line with what i recieved

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They looked at us really blankly when we asked for a late check out..They were ok when we extended our stay but on the last day after breakfast cleaners were already in our room as they forgot about our late check out. Also, the breakfast is extortionate if you pay for it, UK equivalent of £12 or something similar for something not so spectacular so avoid if not included. Pool doesn't look so clean and isn't too warm either.

    Room itself was very comfortable and modern. Wifi worked well enough when they gave us the codes.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The food was shocking especially the lunches ( fish was tasteless, curry was inedible ) . The food quality has to be improved upon. Quality is the the key

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, I love everything

    What a wonderful hotel! We were given one very big one bedroom apartment, with one big loving room. Bed very comfy, staff very friendly. We were also given lots of wifi, wifi speed also fast. Very wonderful overall experience.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Couple

    Friday night awoken in the early hours by an alarm coming from a nearby factory. Early hours Sunday morning awoken by rowsy guests which continued for about 2 hours. The night duty reception battled to keep them under control.

    Clean comfortable hotel, good value for money

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The noise level is really very high - our room was near the laundry room and the staff were talking so loudly continuously from early in the morning that it woke is both up. This was far worse than our previous stay where our room was near the stairs, which was just as noisy. Each room has a bathroom window that faces the passage so you can hear people talking and laughing no matter which room you have. Also climbing stairs with a heavy bag is not ideal - there are no lifts.

    The room was spacious and confortable

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room was not cleaned on Saterday, reason given is that we arrived late and no cleaner has been allocated.

    Receptionist was welcomming although we were very late as we arrived after 3 am, due to traffic on the N3 h/way, but he still had a smile on his face and welcomming, no attitude or whatsoever.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Aircon could do with an upgrade, considering the heat and humidity in Durbs, rooms definitely need a fridge.

    The receptionist Virginia was exceptionally accommodating abd helpful, she could teach the other receptionists a few things. Restaurant staff very friendly, dinner was delicious. Rooms are very spacious and clean.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    waiting for the rooms to be cleaned after check in time. Didnt have tea cups in my room

    Staff very freindly, spacious room with a clean pool. The area is quiet. Nice place for a get away

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    everything

There are also 43 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: