Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Premier Hotel Regent 3 stars

22 Esplanade, Beach Front, 5201 East London, South Africa

#7 of 10 hotels in East London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 132 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    5.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chexk in and out process is primitive

    The check in and out process is extremely slow. You need to improv e on this aspect. Why the hell do you make copies of guest IDs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can NOT switch of bathroom light, this makes the room very bright, so we did not sleep well Had to go to reception to ask them to turn of the music, that was played very loudly outside in the corridor

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bed was very small in width. Please get a bigger one! Also, there was no DSTV channel S200(sport blitz) in your TV to enable guests to watch sport highlights. Such a service is readily available in other hotels who also charge the same rate as yours. Similarly, news channel 403eNCA was not available, and this is very disappointing as it is arguably the best news channel in the country currently.

    I left early before breakfast time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The aircon & safe in the room weren't working & there is no free wifi as advertised. It's not a cheap hotel and for the price I paid, I expect to get what they advertise. There was a group of us staying at the hotel and we all had the same issues.

    Centrally located and the rooms are big.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The aircon didn't work, the fan was faulty, there was no fridge in the room, the room service i had to go and order from the bar, and what i got was not what was on the menu. The room rate is very over priced! will not stay there again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dstv channel to few, nothing for kids, room service litter all over floor the entire day, key card not working everytime u return to room, noise management, surcharge for everything. Changing channels to inappropriate channel at guest request. Everything gets referred to maintance, no plugs overnigh,no feedback from reception. Reported alll these issues to night manager.

    Size of room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. I ordered an extra large bed, but was given a standard double bed. 2. There is no swimming pool at regent, we had to go to the ICC side of the hotel 3. Massage place was closed

    sea view, easy access, cleanliness, friendly staff - also assisted with charging my cellphone.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was terrible. Rice was off and the butternut was full of water. That was in Friday. We didn't even go for dining again as we could not trust the food again.

    I love the comfort in their rooms tidyness.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath / shower water was cold / not hot. The room service closed at 23h00. The room temperature was very cold and the heating system was not satisfactory.

    The overall experience was great. Staff were very helpful and kind. Their breakfast was generous.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    First of all, I had a problem with the shower. It is a bath with a shower in it, for a luxury room that was a big problem. My wife struggled to get in to the shower and I asked for the hotel to change my room for one with a walk in shower, the were going to check and come back to me but they did not. My wife said to leave it, she is not going to pack her clothes again. Secondly, I did not find a dryer in the room, fortunately we brought out own one with but the problem that there was no plug near one of the mirrors in the room, so my wife had to dry her hair without it. No where on the booking was the question asked if we had special needs.

    I like the spaciousness of the room but that was it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice to see through the windows. There was a build-up of dust and grime, mixed with the sea spray. The safe did not work. For our purposes, it was adequate for a stay-over for the wedding we attended.

    The Hotel is best described as "adequate". If you are expecting luxury then you need something else.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no fridge in the room......we could not keep our water or anything cold..... Nothing to watch on the t.v.....

    The breakfast was very good but to expensive........

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A high price to pay for 3 star facilities. Location on beach front and by ICC so convenient, but for that price I won't be staying here again. No room fridge, no safe, broken shower head that was never repaired, water takes about 10 minutes to heat up, noisy hotel guests where it seems to be the norm to host parties/gatherings in their hotel rooms until late into the evening. No breakfast included in the hefty rate. Poor WiFi connection and needing to log in with your voucher number each time you leave your room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First room we got did not have safe or fridge. complained to very unhelpful staff. After much aggravation we were moved to another room, this time with a safe, but no fridge. Eventually fridge came. No hairdryers in room. Got one from reception, this too did not work. Hotel claims to have gym facilities but you have to book with neighboring ICC and "if they have space"you can go. Feel that we paid a pretty penny for our stay there, and feel ripped off. Some hotels in Sandton charge less and you get more. Food was expensive, and heaven R25 for two cans of coke. Rip off!

    Close to where Iron Man was being held

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Front desk staff could have answered the multiple calls I made. I had to visit the lobby 3 times to get attention as nobody answered the phone despite 5 front desk standing around. Whilst there another guest came down to complain that they had been waiting an hgour to get some ice. Not take an hour to send Maintenance person to check Air-conditioning. Not have to pay for dinner and breakfast at each visit but to add the cost to the hotel bill. No fridge or Hairdryer in the room Shower separation does not prevent water from spraying all over the floor. Phone call to confirm accommodation and arrangements could not be handled by person answering the phone. I was passed onto 5 different people before I could get confirmation of room and restaurant. The joke of the matter was that 2 days later somebody called me to confirm the arrangements again. The quality of the food and the selection in the main restaurant was poor considering the prices charged. Dinner on Saturday night in the small restaurant - payment facility not functioning so I was sent to the lobby. Got to the lobby and was not working there so they sent me to the bar to pay. I refused and advised them to add to my hotel bill. Friday night a room 2 doors down was venue for a private party. Many people in the double room drinking and making a noise. Door was left ajar so all the noise spilled out and made it uncomfortable for us - they stayed all night and continued into Saturday morning. No staff took any action

    The room was clean and tidy. Bell boy was friendly and helpful Staff in the bar were friendly and helpful. The small restaurant was great - food and staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was located facing ICC delivery area. Very noisy. Bed linen (flat sheet on "double" bed did not fit (2 singles put together) Aircon was not working TV Channels poor limited choice. Only 1 coffee sashay in room. Shower head old and messes onto bathroom floor. Extractor fan in bathroom inadequate. although there was a bath - no bath foam. Price of room very expensive for standard and no meals included in price. Ceiling fan in bedroom wobbly and noisy. Sliding door in "lounge" area not working. Hanging lights in foyer need new bulbs - most of them fused. By far the worst accommodation and reception that we have ever experienced. On arrival we waited for a long time while staff were eating chocolate cake and staring at us. Very bad first impression. On departure there was absolutely no interest in whether we had enjoyed our stay!!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors handles not in good condition. Other inside doors handle too low. Safes broken. Bath tub not in good condition.Phone not working. Staff too slow to respond to request. They don't even know or have any brochure,of anything around the place. Let alone trying to get information to assist the guests.

    Rooms nice and spacious.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No gym in the Premier Hotels Regent, which is where I stayed. Used the beach road as my outdoor gym then. Gym is available in the sister Hotel Premier Hotel King David next door.

    The two different rooms I stayed in were spacious, Sea facing. The first night was a standard room. The other two nights were in a 1st floor suite. But the telephone line wasn't working properly. They were quick to call maintenance without my request. When I said the hotel must be old, the maintenance staff was quick to mention recent renovations. Which is a good thing on his part to point out the non-obvious things.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like to spend the whole trip without WiFi yet they said its free and available

    Next to the beach and see through the window, wow see breese

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No directions to the restaurant from the lift.I was used to the old dining room which was closed and no signs put out to the new dining room

    the room and the view were superb

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Weak and slow internet signal in my room. Aircon located at floor level in corner of room. Balcony with seaview but not a chair to sit on.

    Clean and spacious room Friendly staff at reception

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that bath is combined with shower I want both of them to be separated especial it irritate that when you open bath also there is a small leak on shower tap

    I like that your staff was so kind to me and were very help full to me .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were dirty and very old furniture,rate actually 1star

    Hotel very pathetic,will never stay here again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water was not hot enough

    The bed was comfortable, the room spacious and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    your floor rug dad a bit of a damp smell

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walk in the rain to the dining hall

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi service is the worst I have seen in ages.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no fridge in the unit and no TV in the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great facilities and awesome food!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.. Lived everything.

    The rooms are quite clean and very quiet, that gives peace of mind.. And the view was quite amazing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good condition

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Just a compliment everything was excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smell of smoke and cigars. Balcony dirty. No ice machines and bar staff cheeky when requesting ice basket

    Room size and bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no consumable water and refidge which was a bit inconvenient

    The room was extremely clean and with comfortable beds.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were disinterested. Even when complaining they were just disconnected & seemed as though we were being a nuisance

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are stuffy and air con didn’t work properly, you had to go out of your room to another facility to go and iron your clothes...

    nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The spacious room we had. Everything in that room was well prepared!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable beds, situation of the property, staff,great sea view

    Staff went all out to make me and my family feel comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    View and space

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electronic key give in a ordinary envelope Room not ready on arrival Lot's of noise from people singing loud in the corridor

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sliding door could have been greased. To slide effortlessly. Supply of toiletry was for one instead of two.

    The view of the ocean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water always available

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view

    The property nice and I like the view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff. Expected to get a bar fridge.

    Closer to the beach

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were never informed about the ironing station our arrival.

    I booked for 2 but toiletries werre for 1 person.Milk was limited.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon was difficult to operate

    The facility was great. The rooms were extra comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels are too old, I was moved to 3 different rooms within my stay due to the smell of the room and no hot water

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water

    location, see views

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Quick room service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not enough refreshment replacements, eg coffee, milk

    Room very comfy. Bed slept well.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The condition of the one lift it is noisy need some maintenance

    Room was comfortable . Staff was very professional

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view and the service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I've booked 4 rooms and ask to be next to each other . they said yes .... arrived there , the rooms was 402 , 412 413 419 .........

    The view

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon WiFi terrible hotel looks tired at the edges reception under staffed no atmosphere

    Room was clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi too slow

    The location. Staff were helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no news channel on the dstv package.

    The bed was very pleasant and super clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please provide bar fridge

    Nice Rooms, sea views

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedmaking not properly done . Please check on this .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kids running up and down the passage early hours of the morning

    Breakfast and supper were mouthwatering

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service from staff is terrible

    Lovely location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is everything

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view, in front of the sea

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows were way too soft, slow internet, air conditioning needs work.

    Ocean view rooms

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yes

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a normal double a bigger bed will definitely be better

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was not easily accessible

    The sea view was the best.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very loud next door neighbours in the room next door. Banging doors at 4am, loud voices, and children in the passage making noise!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Couple

    No Bar fridge, only one regular coffee and one decaff, what if a couple both drinks regular coffee. Serious refurbishment is needed, the price per night does not justify the 3 starts the price is a few hundred lower than the 4 star Regent ICC next door and that hotel is modern and much better, I will stay there next time. The hotel has gone backwards over the last 4 years. its a pity but now I know not to stay there again.

    I have stayed here 3 times already for the Ironman race once a year, I love the convenience of the hotel being close to the race start area. the size of the rooms are also good.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beds were EXTREMELY uncomfortable, ceiling fan in bedroom only (noisy, struggled to sleep), maintenance did not sort out and no offer of another room. Did not think hotel offered good value for money. Courtyard Hotel included breakfast in tariff.

    Location of hotel

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is dilapidated and needs a revamp. Stayed in an overpriced suite with only a ceiling fan. Advertised air conditioner was located in the lounge area. Shower in bath with chipped tiles. Basic amenities.

    Hotel is directly over the road from the ocean with beautiful views

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Please install airconditions in the rooms Bar fridge is a necessity I also didnt see a hair dryer Guest really prefer to iron clothes in the room,please consider that

    Perfect housekeeping Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff who went out of their way to make me feel comfortable. Initially I was placed in a small room with not much natural light, I requested another room and was then moved to a very comfortable room.

There are also 60 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: