Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of President Hotel 4 stars

4 Alexander Road, Bantry Bay, Sea Point, 8001 Cape Town, South Africa

#104 of 152 hotels in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1572 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside the bed was very uncomfortable,as well as the pillows.And please upgrade ur dinner menu really disliked the cheesecake not a winner at all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Can be costly especially if staying longer - as it adds up. Great if you got it for a good deal or sale.

    Excellent hotel. Very comfortable and convenient. Huge rooms. Breakfast - superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not wind proof, when it’s windy, it’s difficult to sleep with the noise from the doors and the windows

    The Hotel provides a Travel Buddy, that’s a Mobile phone for each room, you can carry it with you and make unlimited calls or use Internet for the period of your stay... It’s an Outstanding service provided.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very professional and friendly. The breakfast buffet is worth waiting all night for. Unfortunatly we ran out of time to eat at the restaurant, next time !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved everything about the Hotel nothing to complain about.

    Loved the Island Restaurant we invited friends over for dinner and we all were very satisfied with our dinner. We were a table of 11 and the service and food were excellent. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air-conditioning system I think can be improved, it was the only downside but not bad!

    It was great - the hotel was awesome in a great location with brilliant views on a sea side, and with a lovely staff and hospitality. And how can I forget "handy" who came very handy :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were asked to pay in full upon arrival and they wanted to hold an additional amount on our credit card for extras Our dustbins were not cleaned and we did not get clean towels until we complained. Our room was not serviced by 2,30pm even though we had left the room with a please service sign at 9.30am

    The location is wonderful, the food and food service is very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shuttle service is not good as it is operating only a few times in the day with two or more hours intervals and it ends too early at 8, and as a result, too many people are waiting for one minibus that has not enough places for everyone and they need to pay for a taxi.

    The room was big and comfortable with the magnificent view of the mountain. The bed was large. There is a small kitchenette with a kettle, small fridge and a microwave. Breakfast includes may choices. The swimming pool area is beautiful. I enjoyed my stay there and will stay there again in the future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only possible negative for visitors not familiar with Sea Point is that there are not decent beaches and the water is cold.

    Our stay exceeded our expectations. The position is ideal for our visits, having lived in Sea Point many years ago. The staff were friendly, the breakfast was great and there was just a feel of beung welcomed. Would certainly consider another visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    you can improve your shuttle service to accommodate people who are physically disabled your truck is too high for a physically injured to use Make sure that your rooms has bathroom facilities accommodating paraplegics (wheel chair bound) ... #flat spacious shower for wheelchair #bathroom holders next to the toilet (for balance) #lower bathroom sinks/cabinet I couldn't use the gym due the stairs (make ramps to the gym)

    i like everything about President hotel but

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The passage carpets that appeared worn out and not so clean. In some sections of the passage the paint looked worn out too.

    Had a fabulous experience during my stay. I particularly enjoyed waking up to the soothing sound of the sea waves. I liked the view from my room . The bed was comfy . The breakfast was excellent. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corridor carpets looked worn out

    The room and it's furniture were great. The bed was so comfortable. I enjoyed waking up to the sound of sea waves. I enjoyed the view if the sea from my room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Bedroom One Bathroom Apartment Sea Facing
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 345 Shower Drain is very slow to let the water out. Please unblock drain. A little bit of maintenance on the rooms and passage walls paint and carpet required.

    Bed comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 13 nights

    No smoking rooms available, sitting outside for a smoke the waiter demands you to order something.

    Location, breakfast, nearby restaurants and laundries.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like finding out when we arrived at the hotel that they said we had cancelled the booking. It didn't make send that the airport taxi service we organised via the hotel had not also been cancelled, they said the booking had been cancelled on the 17th April which contradicts the email we received on the 26th April via booking.com, advising The President Hotel were expecting us on the 1st May and looking forward to our stay with them. The member of staff on reception said they would organise us a new room, but they were charging us an additional R3000 as VAT had gone up since we made the original booking in October 2017, after I stressed that we had not cancelled the booking and we had also budgeted for the holiday based on the original price they agreed to honour that. When we got to the room it did not have a mountain view like we had initially booked, we now had a view of buildings and a car park. It was a disappointing start to the trip, and the last thing we wanted to deal with after travelling for 2 days before arriving in Cape Town. Other than that we had no other issues with the hotel and the rest of our stay was a pleasant one.

    The location of the hotel is great, there is a city sightseeing bus tour and one the the bus stops is very close to the hotel. The hotel itself was modern, clean and spacious, the staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Claude was the highlight of my stay, he made me feel completely at home and attended to my every need. I had your IT department assist me with printing of documents. The room was very comfortable and breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The veiw and atmosphere of the hotel. The food was beautiful, great service from the staff and they were very accomodating. Large clean rooms with everything you need in it. Swimming pool and pool service was great. Would defo go back to this hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to leave breakfast because i could not get anyone to clean table and provide new plates & glasses. This went on for 15 minutes. The childrens area was directly under my room - very noisy all day!

    Location is great, Amazing views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really enjoyed the handy cellphone with complimentary with free calls and data, also the lovely coffee machine, the large family cabanna was spacious and comfortable for our family of 4. The pool was lovely and the play area made our stay great because i children had entertainment thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No negatives really - pillows were a bit hard but that is just a personal preference. Not a big deal.

    The hotel was excellent all round. Breakfast was good. WiFi was strong in all areas of the hotel. Rooms were spacious and clean. Location is excellent! Staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had lunches elsewhere when we were out and about.We then come back around 20h00 in the evening craving chicken wings etc but only to find that they don't serve it at all at their restaurants

    Breakfast was good and allowing for late riser like myself and my partner

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waiter at the bar rushed us on because he wanted to leave we paid and then he still stayed on.

    The bed was super comfy and the drinks at the bar enjoyable. The view also breathtaking!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to wait for a table in the breakfast room and people were not very happy about it. I hope they will find a better solution when there are many people in the hotel.

    Excellent location. The room is very comfortable with a small kitchenette. The mountain view is magnificent. Services in the hotel are very good and done with kindness and efficiency. Lifts are working smoothly and breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safty...for older legs Shower in bath..no support rail to climb out... The retaurant...feel very impersonal...to open. Tourists desk...lady couldent speak Afrikaans...or more .."i dont understand you ..i dnt understand Afrikaans...the way she made this point was perceived by me..very negatively...she could have stated the fact...with a "sorry..can you please repetead...in English...etc.

    Clean neat modern. Room very spacious...with fridge..microwave and sink Under cover parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms being advertised with sea view but actually does not have a sea view, or very little view. Although breakfast options are good, waiting in a queue for a table and infrequent availability of some items and coffee (!) not good. Tables were messy and dirty.

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for a room with sea view. Nearly no sea view. Room 435. The extractor of the toilet was broken and no window in the toilet.

    The hotel has a nice outside area, pool, loungers and terrass. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment’s only have partial sea views due to another building between the President and the Ocean. While the view was still fine, it was a little different to what we expected when we booked a sea view room.

    Staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. Although they had no record of our booking on arrival, they quickly resolved that issue when we showed them confirmation of booking. The motel is well located and was easy for us to get to many different parts of Cape Town. The walk from the motel up the coast to V & A Waterfront was beautiful. included breakfast was good and bed was super comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.Please please, the pool needs the pool heating, no one could enjoy it because of the cold water. 2.Kindly have a bigger shuttle Waterfront maybe a 22 seater in the morning and evening, there are lot of people who use the shuttle during those times. 3.Most of the visitors at the hotel were very rude, especially to the employees, sometimes you would find the breakfast buffet full, the hotel staff would apologise for the inconvenience and ask us to wait to be seated, but you visitors just being unreasonable and rude to the staff. The other thing it wouldn't hurt for the visitors to greet one another to create a good atmosphere because already the staff is treating us with a smile.

    The breakfast buffet was more than I could have expected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could start earlier at 6am. My last day needed to leave for airport and 7am. Late opening x breakfast at 6.30. No coffee around. After 10 mins needed to ask x coffee. Service for breakfast could be improved. Restaurant menu should be put in room info book so one doesnt have to go to restaurant to see selection. No soups available in restsurant or room service. If one not feeling well and wanting to eat light.

    Room was very big. Bed super comfy. Was able to open window for fresh air. Lots of lifts so never had to wait long. Great selection for Breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Reception staff and some middle management 'trainees' need to be on the ball at busy times (especially when cabin crew /tour groups arrive daily) it can be chaotic at certain times of the day. In SA there are intermittent issues with the internet which also makes check-in/out very slow at times. I got the feeling that daily cabin crew room change over requirements took priority over some of the other guest rooms housekeeping schedules. The free hotel shuttle is very useful if you're new to CT but the hotel could do with reviewing the timetable - there are long or very short gaps between drop off and pick up depending on time of day and which direction you're travelling - another mini bus may be a good idea (that isn't assigned to airline crew). I recommend you check your bill the day before check out to save time.

    I loved that it was walking distance to the beach and promenade there are lots of local bars, restaurants, shops, small shopping malls and a laundrette very close by. It’s also close to a MyCity bus stop and on the City sightseeing route. The free daily shuttle service to the Waterfront is a bonus. The President has a pleasant outside bar & restaurant/bistro and the infinity pool is lovely and refreshing on a hot day. The buffet breakfast was excellent with freshly made smoothies and lots of choice (a bit chaotic at busy times)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The drive through from the entrance only allows for one vehicle at a time and at times when there is more than one bus the entrance it creates congestion

    The food was good and the staff were exeptionally the best.Liked the view from the restaurant looking to the pool and overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom One Bathroom Apartment Sea Facing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My fiancée wallet was taken from a locked safe with no communication and it was an act of theft with no strategy and quick response and solution to the problem from the hotel , control and security staff.

    The reception staff and porters

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stuffing of the duvet inner was mostly at the foot end of the duvet and not evenly distributed. The corridor leading to the rooms did not smell fresh.

    The croissants were in fact delicious as well as the rest of the breakfast. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A minor issue but on the morning of check-out, it would be good for the staff to wait until check-out time before coming in to clean. Twice they came in to clean before 10 (check-out is only at 11).

    Spacious and comfortable rooms, good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Waiters assisting at the breakfast could have been a bit more proactive in cleaning tables once someone has left, however, they were very friendly.

    Bed very comfy. Good location. Clean and well kept.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A big, great hotel. It's quite old, so some areas are a little tired looking (the corridor mainly), but the areas you actually spend time in are absolutely fine. The sea view was beautiful. The breakfast was fantastic. Loved the handy in our room. Used it every day instead of our own mobiles. All staff very friendly and helpful. Would happily return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff didn’t seem to care less when you had an issue- they simply ignored it. The pool was freezing. The sheets weren’t clean on our arrival-even found several hairs on the sheets

    The breakfast - lots of choice. The room was nice and big and had a great view of Lion’s Head. WiFi connection was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The corridors were very long and bare - no decorations on the walls at all and the carpets were stained. One door opposite our room had huge scratch marks in zigzags, which hadn't been repaired. Our pillows were really fat, which gave me a stiff neck.

    The location was lovely. Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a Center for thieves. My locked bag was broken into by the house keeping people and all the money was stolen. The hotel refused to take responsibility and had the police meet with us to file a formal complaint. The police said that this hotel has 2-3 such incidents every month.

    The location was super and the food was equally good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were only two things which were; we paid for a mountain view and we got a car park view. This was Shane as you paid for which rooms you wanted. The second thing the service in the evening took half an hour to order and then half an hour for drinks to arrive. In total sat there for nearly an hour before anything. This was mainly in the bar area. This happened most nights

    Hotel was great and in an amazing location. The travel buddy you get in your room was awesome. It helped us with getting around Cape Town andAlso ring our parents for free. Our rooms were clean and a great size. The facilities were great. Food was great and the staff were Gerry friendly and helpful. The breakfast was awesome. Fresh fruit , fry up , pancakes you name it they had it .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff was rude and unhelpful. Cleanliness of the room was only fair and the view we were promised was not delivered. The ATM was not working when we arrived to exchange money and so we had to walk to a bank.

    Free breakfast was delicious and had nice variety and restaurant staff was friendly and efficient. The guy who drove the waterfront van was very welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our group was overcharged for an extra room and two extra vehicles. When reception was made aware of this they pretended to do a refund on the credit card. 4 days after checking out (6 days after the mistake) the money has still not been refunded

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked and paid extra for a Seaview room, however when we got to our room the only view of the sea we had was a small little piece and we basically had to stand on the bedside table to see it. We were travelling with someone else, and when we arrived at the time we said we would check in our room was ready, but our travel companion had to wait a hour in the lobby for their room.

    The buffet breakfast was delicious, with a wide variety of food. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Clearly well trained. The location is perfect to do activities in and around the city, with Uber always nearby as well as safe parking spots if you drive yourself.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    my only complaint would be the service in the restaurant - but overall the food was good.

    Location , the hotel and rooms were fab! Overall the staff at the reception, Travel and spa desk were great and accommodating to all requests and very helpful. Super clean and comfy rooms, great views and the pool and the shuttle to the V&A was a bonus!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cold, the air conditioning was not functioning. The first evening I requested at reception for maintenance to look at it,no one came. The second evening after approximately 1 hour later, after requesting again at reception Maintanenance arrived and fixed it. The next day we had the same problem. Finally, the day before we left they replaced the wall temperature gauge!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel was a huge disappointment. On arrival the first thing we saw was a giant rat in the car park. Then the room we were given looked nothing like the pictures on Booking.com - it had dirty stained carpet, and was at the back of the building with a very small sea view. Luckily on the second day we were able to change rooms but no refund or discount was provided. The bathroom had 4 signs about the water restrictions but both the tap and shower head were leaking. There is also a big fountain and pool which seems extravagant given the drought.

    We enjoyed the yoga class. The car park was large with easy parking. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Our mattress was a bit sunken in and the hallways need a lick of paint.

    Amazing breakfasts and lovely waiting staff. Pizza's by the pool were fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    staff had to be chased or reminded sometimes to get requests completed. e.g drinks by the pool.

    the free use of a smart phone was excellent and very useful . concierge was very knowledgeable and useful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like, all of it was amazing!

    All of it, from the meeting at the front desk to the saying goodbye on our way out. It was an fantastic stay and best way to celebrate me and my wife 31 wedding anniversary!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The front desk staff were pathetic really, when we arrived our room wasnt ready then we waited 3 hours and it still wasnt ready then we asked about 3 times and no one even came to get us when it was ready while we were sitting in the lobby waiting! Everytime we asked the staff at the front desk for something they made it seem like the biggest chore. They make you deposit like 600 rand for pool towels after already putting down a 5000 rand deposit as well ! Rediculous. The WiFi was pathetic. Hardly worked. The pool was too cold to swim in, whats the point then. You need to order drinks about 15 minutes before you actually want them because the staff take so long to get you anything. On check-out the lady didnt explain that the amount owed on the hotel bill would be taken out of the deposit and rather made it sound like we had to pay even more. Overall the staff were really bad. I probably will stay in Camps Bay next time.

    The breakfast was really good. Everything you could want each morning. The pool was nice to look at but too cold to get in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    too noisy! too many sea gulls soaring over pool and breakfast area seemingly all the time! great stay for groups or young people who want to have some party atmosphere! just not a very quiet place.

    amazing view, one block away from the seaside! nice vibe, clean rooms, good comfort, cool pool, very big breakfast buffet!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel passages and rooms are very shabby and in total need of revamp Such a pity for such a wonderful hotel,staff and location

    Nadia at reception outstanding went far and beyond Doormen and staff excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When I made the booking I put in a special request for an apartment with a balcony on the top floor. I still called twice to check that we get this type of room and again when we arrived at the hotel at 10:30am. The room wasn't ready when we arrived so we went out to have some lunch with friends. I even called the hotel at 1pm to tell them that we will only be back at 3pm and asked them please not to give our room away. But when we checked in, our room did not have a balcony and when we enquired at reception we were told that all the rooms with balconies were already occupied. I am still so upset about this as this weekend was for our Anniversary, which I told the hotel about from the beginning. I really don't know what more I could of done to request a room with a balcony!

    The pizza was one of the best pizzas I have ever had! All of the food we had, with the exception of breakfast, was truly delicious. I did feel that breakfast was a bit of a let down, esspecially compared to the other food we had. We were also so impressed with the Smart Phones that you can take around with you and make free local calls. I had never seen this at any other hotel before. Another great highlight was having our own espresso machine in the room ;)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Can be a struggle to find somewhere to park at times.

    Sea Point is a good location for a stay in Cape Town, the price we payed for the pleasant room was very keen compared with other hotels we checked out. Hotel staff very helpful/friendly. Breakfast was very good and varied but beware the gulls if you eat outside. Sea just a short stroll away. Area seemed very safe even in the evenings. Several restaurants and easy walk away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No negatives.

    The hotel has a almost perfect location in Bantry Bay .. just minutes from the sea and with a good selection of restaurants within 5-15 minutes' walking distance. Fantastic breakfast with great variety. Extremely helpful and attentive staff. Lots of parking (R60 per night additional). Super quick check in and check out. All the basics done very well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Front desk staff was exceptional they introduced me to management made me feel at home.its was my birthday weekend overwhelming love felt like home.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very disappointed in general. Pictures are very different from the reality. We booked a standard room with a seaside view. We first had a very warm welcome but then discovered that we were having the worst room in the entire hotel (just next to the reception where you can hear everything) and without any view that we were paying for. After a very bad night we asked to change our room. After the first changement, bad news again ! Without even speaking of the nonexistent view, we were on the 6th floor and there was a machine on the rooftop just above our heads running all day and night long so as we couldn't sleep again. After a second night almost without sleep, we had to insist several times in order to finally have the room that we were paying for, and we finally had it for our last night (after three nights and threats to call the manager). If you book the hotel be careful not being on the ground or the 6th floor. We discovered that several rooms on the 6th floor are having the same soundproofing issue. It seems that the other floors were renovated. We stayed at four different places around Cape Town and the President hotel is way too expansive considering the service and accommodation provided.

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower was not draining so you stand in water, and the restaurant was full and we had to go out for dinner which was not what we wanted. We wanted a romantic dinner where we could just walk to our room. You need to be told when booking your room to book for dinner.

    I loved the handy in the room and your super friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room said Mountain View, we face a block of flats, the hotel seemed a bit run down. There seems to be functions everywhere we had to move away a few times. We paid to use the facilities!

    The pool area and breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception charged twice for the room, didn't manage to fix the issue in a reasonable time (it took 2 weeks) . I had to spend 20 min every morning and evening at reception to try to get this fixed and one clueless receptionist was even blaming me for their mistake. The first room I had was sub standard for the price., and was not the type of room I actually booked. Second was fine. Breakfast was included in the room but I had to pay extra for cappuccino!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't feel special but rather like a commuter at a station, so my overall experience is quite negative. Check-in was painful and confusing. As it turns out there wasn't credit on my room so I shouldn't have put booked items to it. I tried to resolve this at checkout, but it seems an odd system. Toilet didn't flush properly and there was a unpleasant smell from the bathroom.

    I slept fantastically.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On check the reception did not take a swipe of our credit card, then got a letter on day 3 to say that this needed immediate attention, we went to reception luckily enough the Reception Manager was there, apologised and said don't worry, as it was there mistake, we will take payment on your departure. That evening we had a pre dinner drink and were told that they could not process our payment an to sort it immediately! We were made to feel very uncomfortable!

    The size of the suite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower took ages to get warm so 2 minute showers were impossible. Water temp fluctuated when it eventually was ok. Shower door leaks onto floor - pathetic. ( Both rooms . ) Rooms were tired, carpet in 611 - shame ! Room 251 terrible lay out, I felt we were pushed into the corner. In general .... the worst hotel for the highest price on our bike trip.

    The guards at the booms were great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really enjoyed our stay at the president hotel. Friendly staff, amazing breakfast, valentines evening picnic and movie under the stars was incredible. We are currently planning our next visit to the president

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I felt the breakfasts could be improved upon. Wholewheat bread is a must and the scones were not great at all. I also object to having to pay for machine coffee at breakfast when I am spending close to R15 000 for my stay! I also had an unfortunate incident with theft from my bar fridge (reported to the Housekeeping Manager) and I would like some feedback as to what has transpired since.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    they have compromised my credit card and there was no help received from staff. it is very suspecious hotel. service really bad ,ac not working properly.and nobody bothers

    no it was really bad.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room furniture is old, needs a major refurb. Holes in door frame from all the alterations made over the decades. Awful bathroom toiletries - that terrible cheap shampoo and soap from a dispenser nailed to the wall!

    Staff always cheerful. Position is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is a bit disorderly as one can't clearly see tables in use outside, and breakfast waiters/ waitresses not always around

    Complimentary coffee, handy phone, being able to order drinks and food at the pool, the new bar facility outside, the swimming pool, brilliant location with amazing views of the sea and mountain

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym was small and hot. The seagulls are rather a nuisance but the hotel seems to be trying to keep them away on the terrace.

    Location is fantastic. Great breakfast. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was in the bath tub, hard to get in and out. Pool should be solar heated for use through all weather and would be nice if there was more seating around the pool as it gets busy. Too many seagulls when eating outside, had my food stolen from me as i was about to eat. The shuttle times to the V&A should be more frequent.

    Location, location, location. Walking distance to the beach and resturants. Beautiful views.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I WAS TOLD I MADE TWO PHONE CALLS. ONE IN THE AFTERNOON AT 2.30 PM AND ONE AT 3 AM. I NEVER MADE ANY CALLS AND DON'T EVEN KNOW THE NUMBERS .

    BEAUTIFUL VIEWS , LOVELY BREAKFAST AWESOME POOL AREA, FRIENDLY STAFF, BED WAS REALLY COMFORTABLE, PERFECT SEA VIEW , ENJOYED THE LOUNGE AND THE BAR

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff at breakfast was not too prompt to satisfy customer requests. there were always some things missing on the table, coffee, cuttlery, towels. Every time we had to ask more than once to get them. Long waiting time at reception. There are 5 poistions but usually one or two are covered. The Terrace was not always clean, staff took long time to clean tables after breakfast, lunch or dinner.

    Very good location. Very good breakfast. Nice Terrace and pool. Restaurants nearby. Free shuttle to Waterfront even if few time per day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My wife and I have traveled reasonably frequently and we have NEVER stayed at a hotel that provides no news channels on the TV. No CNN/BBC etc. The rooms/corridors of the hotel are very "tired". They need an upgrade. The chairs around the pool also need an upgrade. The bar/sitting area around the bar is fine as is the dining area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t ready even though we reserved room with separate beds at time of reservation and was after 2:00. Waited for room to be readied and finally told it was available. Went up only to find the cleaning cart in the room and the beds not made up.

    The room was very large and was comfortable. Would have enjoyed the room/bath even more had they not been experiencing a drought. Location was excellent. Breakfast was large and had a large variety of foods.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no mini bar in the room and my room service order on my first night came really cold.

    Handy. This is a sure nifty way of not having to worry about communication especially for foreigners

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: