Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of President Lodge 4 stars

9 President Road, Edenvale, South Africa

#5 of 19 hotels in Edenvale

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 65 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It feels like a big parking garage with apartments built around it. Rooms also have beige tiles which only reinforces this feeling. Interior is somewhat sad and bleak.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom space is quite limited, but the shower was big enough.

    The staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. Janette even drove us to the restaurant and back. The room was nice and the bed was comfy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose the guest house because of the location "close but not too close to the airport". The next day we went on straight to Blyde River Canyon. That fit very well. The hosts are very friendly and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Amazing stay. The staff were very welcoming and friendly which made the rest of our stay great. Choice of warm or cold breakfast. Oh and there was a free bottle of liquor :).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The electric sliding gate across the road for that security company was rather noisy, especially when it was frequently used during the night.

    Friendly service. Breakfast was great. Everything a person required for the stay was available, neat & clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super helpful and friendly hosts complimented my stay. Room was clean, comfortable, and delivered on all promises. I will definitely return to this facility!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manager wasn't friendly or hospitable. She made us feel as if she did us a favour by accommodating us in her property. Overall I will never stay in that place again because of her attitude.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area in which the lodge is situated does not offer much in the way of dining. Not much was open when I tried to order food and so I had to order a taxi to take me to a fast food restaurant just to get some dinner.

    The breakfast in the morning was wonderful. The staff was extremely polite and attentive. The quality of the room was what I expected for the price. The security at the location is top notch and made me feel safe during my stay. The staff offered to come get me from my room when my tour operator arrived rather than sit in the reception area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stopped twice and 2nd visit very short notice, but Elaine and Dion great to host again. Would recommend to anyone as relaxing, family run venue. Both interested in customers plans/arrangements and help/advise as much as possible. Thanks to you both!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly clean quite

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could have been a bit more varied.

    The bed was amazing. Staff nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    From the shower came different tempered water .

    Good breakfast. Comfortable bed. Clean Pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, bedroom. The staff,, everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I felt at home and the hospitality was good. Very friendly and helpful staff. Thank you to Jannette, Elaine and all staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    The staff is the best , the room and the breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people where very friendly , very accommodating, the breakfast was excellent . All in all this place is excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the extra care of the ride to and from the restaurant! And the beautiful bathtub. And the amazing hosts.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    It was my second time staying at President Lodge and I will most definitely stay there again. Everything is top-notch.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hospitality. Friendly staff. Quick check-in. Excellent breakfast. Clean and modern rooms. Comfortable bed and high quality linen and towels.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a mirror at the desk/dresser to do makeup

    Bed and linen were superb!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really!

    Helpful staff, keen to ensure good stay. Convenient location, everything was perfect

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect service, great shower, sensational breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very personal service and excellent staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Safe location, but a little isolated from anywhere to visit in the evenings.

    Hosts Marinus and Jenette were wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lodge is conveniently situated close to the airport and they were very accommodating of my need for an early check in. Both the bedroom and bathroom were spacious and clean. The rooms is well furnished with everything you'd need.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great staff, Beautiful location, great rooms and overall great experience. Friendliness and over and above great hospitality. Will use again in future and refer as well.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No bar facility and staff available when we got back from having dinner out at about 8:30 pm on the Friday evening. Everything was well closed up for the night, way too early - especially for a Friday night. Putting a footrest on the wall in the shower would make the room perfect.

    I especially liked that a safe was available for my gun. The room in general was really great. The WiFi was a big plus point too. I would certainly stay here again - my wife and I actually discussed making this our "goto" place for out regular Edenvale trips.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Couple

    No door on bathroom

    Welcome and obliging staff willing to assist , good location , clean , comfortable value for money , good breakfast and Wi Fi worked .

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We came late after arriving at the airport after a long flight from the USA. The directions to the B&B were easy to follow. The owners and staff were extremely helpful, both with our stay, and giving us advice about South Africa. We felt at home and we will stay there again when we have the chance. Thank you for the great start of our South African trip!

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were in unit #8 which was right on the road. A lot of noise in the morning. Lighting in the bathroom was bad.

    Owners were great - very accommodating. We arrived much earlier than planned and they got us right into a room. It's a nice property as long as you don't get unit #8 (it's right on the road).

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent location for those who need to rest up after long flights to Jo'burg, and then continuing on (e.g., Botswana etc.). Very friendly proprietors, who even drove us to the nearest amenities. Excellent value. Great breakfast, and lounge areas.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    The friendliness of all the staff and felt like a home away from home

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    always check the temp of the bath/shower water,and request improved temp

    the staff were very helpful,and if you had a problem it was sorted out

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, professional and comfortable lodge.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Real 4 star room with fantastic service

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The size of the room

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Browse President Lodge traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: