Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of President Lodge This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

9 President Road, Edenvale, South Africa

#5 of 19 hotels in Edenvale

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 65 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2018

    5.0
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It feels like a big parking garage with apartments built around it. Rooms also have beige tiles which only reinforces this feeling. Interior is somewhat sad and bleak.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2017

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom space is quite limited, but the shower was big enough.

    The staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. Janette even drove us to the restaurant and back. The room was nice and the bed was comfy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    8.8
    We chose the guest house because of the location "close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We chose the guest house because of the location "close but not too close to the airport". The next day we went on straight to Blyde River Canyon. That fit very well. The hosts are very friendly and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    8.8
    great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Amazing stay. The staff were very welcoming and friendly which made the rest of our stay great. Choice of warm or cold breakfast. Oh and there was a free bottle of liquor :).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    10
    Will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The electric sliding gate across the road for that security company was rather noisy, especially when it was frequently used during the night.

    Friendly service. Breakfast was great. Everything a person required for the stay was available, neat & clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    9.2
    Super helpful and friendly hosts complimented my stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super helpful and friendly hosts complimented my stay. Room was clean, comfortable, and delivered on all promises. I will definitely return to this facility!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2017

    5.4
    Manager wasn't friendly or hospitable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Manager wasn't friendly or hospitable. She made us feel as if she did us a favour by accommodating us in her property. Overall I will never stay in that place again because of her attitude.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2017

    9.6
    A very nice lodge by close to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area in which the lodge is situated does not offer much in the way of dining. Not much was open when I tried to order food and so I had to order a taxi to take me to a fast food restaurant just to get some dinner.

    The breakfast in the morning was wonderful. The staff was extremely polite and attentive. The quality of the room was what I expected for the price. The security at the location is top notch and made me feel safe during my stay. The staff offered to come get me from my room when my tour operator arrived rather than sit in the reception area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2017

    10
    Good, relaxing stay and looked after by Elaine and Dion. Room great and breakfast also. 10/10 :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stopped twice and 2nd visit very short notice, but Elaine and Dion great to host again. Would recommend to anyone as relaxing, family run venue. Both interested in customers plans/arrangements and help/advise as much as possible. Thanks to you both!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    10
    Top Spot
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All was good

    Good location for my business connections nearby. Friendly and helpful hosts. Large comfortable rooms. Good breakfast. Secure parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    10
    Friendly clean quite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly clean quite

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    7.5
    We were comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could have been a bit more varied.

    The bed was amazing. Staff nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    10
    It was a pleasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    8.8
    Very nice staff. Well suited for business travellers.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    From the shower came different tempered water .

    Good breakfast. Comfortable bed. Clean Pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2017

    10
    I would definitely stay there again when I am at Johannesburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast, bedroom. The staff,, everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2017

    10
    Nice quiet place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I felt at home and the hospitality was good. Very friendly and helpful staff. Thank you to Jannette, Elaine and all staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    10
    The staff were very friendly, the room was very quiet, the breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/a

    The staff is the best , the room and the breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    10
    The people where very friendly , very accommodating, the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The people where very friendly , very accommodating, the breakfast was excellent . All in all this place is excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I loved the extra care of the ride to and from the restaurant! And the beautiful bathtub. And the amazing hosts.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    It was my second time staying at President Lodge and I will most definitely stay there again. Everything is top-notch.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2017

    10
    Will highly recommend President Lodge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hospitality. Friendly staff. Quick check-in. Excellent breakfast. Clean and modern rooms. Comfortable bed and high quality linen and towels.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2016

    7.5
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Need a mirror at the desk/dresser to do makeup

    Bed and linen were superb!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2016

    10
    Excellent option to stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really!

    Helpful staff, keen to ensure good stay. Convenient location, everything was perfect

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2016

    9.2
    Perfect service, great shower, sensational breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect service, great shower, sensational breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2016

    10
    Very personal service and excellent staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very personal service and excellent staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2016

    7.1
    The lodge is conveniently situated close to the airport and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lodge is conveniently situated close to the airport and they were very accommodating of my need for an early check in. Both the bedroom and bathroom were spacious and clean. The rooms is well furnished with everything you'd need.

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2016

    10
    Great staff, Beautiful location, great rooms and overall...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great staff, Beautiful location, great rooms and overall great experience. Friendliness and over and above great hospitality. Will use again in future and refer as well.

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2016

    9.6
    I especially liked that a safe was available for my gun.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No bar facility and staff available when we got back from having dinner out at about 8:30 pm on the Friday evening. Everything was well closed up for the night, way too early - especially for a Friday night. Putting a footrest on the wall in the shower would make the room perfect.

    I especially liked that a safe was available for my gun. The room in general was really great. The WiFi was a big plus point too. I would certainly stay here again - my wife and I actually discussed making this our "goto" place for out regular Edenvale trips.

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2015

    9.6
    Welcome and obliging staff willing to assist , good...
    • Couple

    No door on bathroom

    Welcome and obliging staff willing to assist , good location , clean , comfortable value for money , good breakfast and Wi Fi worked .

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2015

    9.6
    We came late after arriving at the airport after a long...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We came late after arriving at the airport after a long flight from the USA. The directions to the B&B were easy to follow. The owners and staff were extremely helpful, both with our stay, and giving us advice about South Africa. We felt at home and we will stay there again when we have the chance. Thank you for the great start of our South African trip!

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2015

    8.8
    Owners were great - very accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were in unit #8 which was right on the road. A lot of noise in the morning. Lighting in the bathroom was bad.

    Owners were great - very accommodating. We arrived much earlier than planned and they got us right into a room. It's a nice property as long as you don't get unit #8 (it's right on the road).

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2015

    9.2
    Excellent location for those who need to rest up after long...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent location for those who need to rest up after long flights to Jo'burg, and then continuing on (e.g., Botswana etc.). Very friendly proprietors, who even drove us to the nearest amenities. Excellent value. Great breakfast, and lounge areas.

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2016

    8.8
    The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2015

    10
    The friendliness of all the staff and felt like a home away...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Nothing

    The friendliness of all the staff and felt like a home away from home

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2015

    7.5
    the staff were very helpful,and if you had a problem it was...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    always check the temp of the bath/shower water,and request improved temp

    the staff were very helpful,and if you had a problem it was sorted out

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2015

    7.5
    Friendly staff, professional and comfortable lodge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, professional and comfortable lodge.

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2015

    10
    Real 4 star room with fantastic service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Real 4 star room with fantastic service

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2015

    10
    The size of the room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    The size of the room

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Browse President Lodge Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: