Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Colosseum Luxury Hotel 4 stars

Corner of Century Way & Century Boulevard, Century City, 7441 Cape Town, South Africa

#54 of 152 hotels in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 564 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.3
    Great, except room cleaning service. Very unpleasant appearance sort of irritation ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cleaners very unfriendly and always had an irritated front whenever we mentioned we not ready please come back. When we check in and got to our room the carpets had spots of dirt. Every day we returned it remained which proved the rooms were not being vacuumed. We further tested the cleaned my kid left pieces of paper on the dining floor it remained from our second day until we checked out . Table had tea spils which remained unwired.

    Simba extremely helpful Very professional and attentive to clients needs. Breakfast staff very welcoming

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    What a great way to end our trip!
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi seemed to drop every few minutes; cleaning staff didn't knock and tried to come in in the morning before we'd checked out (lucky I had our door locked) - this was a bit strange.

    We were lucky enough to get upgraded to a Presidential suite - wow. Panoramic views of Table Mountain, very modern and spacious apartment. Loved it. Will be back for sure.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    3.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The temperature control did not work in the room and they did not provide alternative rooms but rather brought in a heater that did not sufficiently heat the room. it was extremely disappointing and we will not stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Very happy with the location and this was my third time and will stay agian there
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Every item from arriving, until departure was excellent. The reception was very friendly and very helpful Good location for relaxing and other traveling outside Cape Town

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent! Will definitely go back
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Shuttle to the airport was to be charged? This needs to be clear on the amenities available (website etc)

    Room layout, excellent staff- always ready to help

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    We had a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Firstly, was put in a fairly cold room with no air con regardless of the cold condition on the day. However, this was rectified as we had a room move into a more comfortable room.

    After requesting for a honeymoon package on making the booking, the hotel went the extra mile in making this happen

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was charged for parking in the drop off area on last day, since hotel share front parking with building.

    Excellent location and friendly staff. Very clean and extra comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful Weekend Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic weekend trip to Cape Town. The Colosseum Luxury Hotel was amazing, we had a stunning balcony with an exceptional view of Table Mountain. My daughters loved the fact it was walking distance to Canal Walk for shopping, also have to say a huge thank you to Simba on Reception who was exceptional and very helpful. Thank you everyone at the Colosseum we will be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and suited my needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was limited in terms of variety of food on offer. Aircon in first room was not working so had to move - this should be checked before a guest arrives Found the fridge/cooler ineffective get a proper fridge

    Hotel is very central to everything. Loved the fact that there is a woolies and Vidae just downstairs. Beds and bedding was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    No regrets
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi... The hotel says it's available, but whenever we tried to use it, it didn't work; even after raising it with reception

    The location is great, close to city centre, V&A, table mountain, and there's a mall literally 5minutes walk away. The breakfast is really something to rage about. Our 2 bedroom suite was great and big enough to accommodate 3 adults, 2 kids and a baby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    A home away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a room with a Mountain View.

    We enjoyed the hotel’s delicious breakfast and the staff was very helpful and extremely kind. We’ll definitely book this hotel next time we’re in Cape Town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    My overall experience was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Breakfast had few options. Juices were not natural and fresh. The balcony was very dirty with bird poop. The corridors were dark, I think more light should be puton the corridors. Few TV channels. If the security guards on the parking area below the building were not at their station to open the cancel/barrier, you could not get into the parking.

    Breakfast staff was friendly Size of the room Confortable bed and pillows Room Service was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, great Location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor. Noticed some things needed some maintenance. The balcony was large but not maintained

    Location is great. We've stayed here before. Lovely suite. Great, friendly and accommodating staff. Breakfast was lovely. 2 thumbs up!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    The whole experience was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing

    The whole experience was amazing. Everyone we interacted with was friendly. It was our wedding anniversary and they made it a truly magical experience

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast could have been better, maybe more experienced...
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better, maybe more experienced people at the grill as the demand for warm food is high and there is quite a delay. Also morning coffee is essential and the service around coffee was slow and not always up to par

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    The room was big, the bed comfortable and the facilities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service provided by some of the staff members was below par. We also didn't enjoy the breakfast though. The TV was a tad small

    The room was big, the bed comfortable and the facilities were good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    In short i was there for a weekend and would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the room and how the room bathroom is set up. More variety is required for Breakfast.

    I really enjoyed accessibility to the mall right next door. I find that for locals the prices are a bit pricey as they are to similar to international hotels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed..and won't return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny and overpriced Have stayed in better establishments at a substantially lower price The room key card never worked and on each occasion I had to return to reception to be accompanied by a staff member to have the room door opened..no effort or attempt was made to rectify the problem. The bathroom was not cleaned sufficiently and hair follicles were to bound in the floor.

    The location and proximity to the canal walk shopping centre

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    chicken liver, too dry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    chicken liver, too dry. That I had to pay full amount again R4800 although I made a booking through booking.com. and also paid with my card online card. I send email to both parties and no one replied yet. That spoil my weekend

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.3
    New build hotel in conference centre!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    New build hotel in conference centre! Size of rooms more than enough! Walkways to rooms like rat-tunnels! Modern architecture combines bath in sleeping room with toilette behind glasdoor! Very good breakfeast,very nice people and service!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.2
    Good Location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dislikes; Booking was done and paid by myself for my brother. They insisted that Credit Card Must be presented. Initial payment was cancelled and new payment processed. That was a delay. No stove top.

    Likes: Location Comfort Pleasant staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    Good Hotel, Perfect for Families overall enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 20 nights

    I did not like the noisy corridors and been put among a lot of noisy families, Also did not like the wash hand basin in the bedroom, I would of preferred one in the toilet, which could also have benefited from been a bit soundproof from the bedroom.

    I liked the friendly Staff, who where always on hand to help, I liked the separate lounge and bedroom area, I also liked the breakfast facilities, the with free parking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    Rooms are great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking...not ideal when travelling with luggage and kids Lighting in rooms needs ro be simplified...the light switches are cumbersome

    Rooms are great Staff are excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    5.8
    Very sceptical of the security at this hotel as when we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very sceptical of the security at this hotel as when we checked out the porter packed our bags into our car however one bag with valuable goods was not packed into our car. We were on our way to the airport and only realised the bag was missing when we arrived at the airport. It’s very suspicious that one bag was not packed into our car and had not been located by hotel security. Keep an eye on all your possessions if you stay at this hotel!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the pool was not functional but we understand that this is circumstantial due to the drought.

    The layout of the room is excellent and allows for some privacy when sharing a room with kids. The hotel staff is well trained and super helpful. They go the extra mile.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    The suite was our home away from home for our family holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Presidential Two Bedroom Penthouse
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Electric outlets, lights and aircons had their problems.

    Friendly and helpfull staff. Clean suite every single day. Nice waking up with an espresso from the Nespresso machine in our kitchen. Kids enjoyed fast Wifi internet. Short drive to the city, mountain and Waterfront and walking distance to Canal Walk mall.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    5.4
    Hotel a four star but not four star service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Requested breakfast packs for my family which was prearranged with reception. This was not communicated and we didn't get any breakfast packs for our early trip to the beach. Staff at the breakfast area very unfriendly and when we asked for something they would pull up their faces. Requested beach towels which was not brought to my room. One has to access the shower through the toilet which was very inconvenient.

    Close to shopping mall. Basement parking available. The one exceptional staff member was Terry at the breakfast area who was warm and friendly and my kids liked her.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.7
    Will look for a better hotel the next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The corridors are too small, makes you feel claustrophobic while walking through them. The pool was closed due to water shortage; well, chose a wrong time to be in Cape Town. Not worth the money paid specially since pool facility is not available.

    The rooms were quite big which was a plus.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.1
    Their rooms wow their r open and clean everyday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their cooked breakfast they do not change vor and chips everyday,they said there is WIFI nothing lutho No WiFi at all

    Their rooms wow their r open and clean everyday

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    Good Hotel for families with really friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Made several calls (an emails) to the property before arrival to ensure the two rooms I booked (traveling with young kids) were side by side and upon arrival that was not the case. Luckily the issue was rectified the following day.

    Staff was really helpful.. in particular Keenan who helped sort out a check-in issue for us and was super pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.2
    Will book again. Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its a bit dark in the hall way to the room.

    Clean. Love the luxury of the room. Bigger that what we expected. The breakfast was wow. The cook was so friendly at breakfast and i could see he loves his job, Even if its just serving a egg to a 3 year old. Loced it

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful!!!👍🏻
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool because of the water restrictions in Cape Town. Bar fridge in the room was only a chiller, not a full fridge / Freezer.

    Friendly staff all round. Room clean and well presented. Great location, right next to Canal Walk Mall and theme Park. Very safe and very much family friendly environment. Enjoyed breakfast in bed every morning.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.8
    LOVING IT..My daugh
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast menus is lack of variation. Disappointed, considering the name says Luxury hotel. Breakfast menus need upgrading.

    Excellent service from the staffs. The rooms are very spacey and so clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.4
    Not soon again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt strongly of cigarette smoke, reception staff and all evening/nightshift staff were extremely cold and distant, unfriendly and unaccommodating. Our welcome as we checked in was to say the least unwelcoming. A short "there's the Mezzanine" was all we got. No directions to our room, no directions to get to the undercover parking or proper signage from parking back into hotel, altogether a disappointing experience and not at all value for money.

    Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    I'd book there any day
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I booked for 2 adults and 2 children and I got my wonderful room only to find 1 King bed. House keeping had to bring in 2 single beds that were not as Cousy to accommodate. Otherwise, all was good

    It's a home and office away from one's actual ones. The bed and sheets were amazing. I slept so comfortably and my 3months Baby was sleeping 90% of the time I was there. That's how comfortable and Cousy the bed was. Very few hotels feel so executive and homely. The tranquility is amazing which is key to any hotel stay. Well done

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    5.4
    fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially booked for 2 then got there and changed room for 4.they accomodated us but in the room toiletries etc was for 2 people only.when we came for bfast they had to double check for 4 people cos on the list it said 2 people.cleanliness for a four n half star hotel wasnt to standard.

    Service is good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    I would have expected complementary water on a daily basis...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have expected complementary water on a daily basis given the cost of stay in an Executive Suite. I expected the Kitchen to have more utensils (we had 2 spoon, 2 knives, 2 teaspoons, etc.) no bottle or wine opener For room service, the waiter took the food covers away with him\her each time they delivered food. I have never experienced this in other upmarket hotels. There's no GYM or swimming pool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    The staff was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested rosr petals and champagne for my wife's birthday. This was not done. They eventually had to setup while we were in the room. This was terribly disappointing

    The staff was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    The room was a very good room for a family of 4 people...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could have been a little bit clearer, but, it was OK - as we weren't in the room the whole day and it didn't affect us very much.

    The room was a very good room for a family of 4 people (family room with 2 bedrooms). It was spacious, but if you look for something big, try not to get the family room. The breakfast was ok, it didn't have a lot of variety, but it was good. The staff was friendly and helped you when you needed help. Also, if you don't want to eat at a restaurant, there's a very good Woolworths downstairs which has loads for a quick dinner. The distance to the city / surroundings is very short, you can get very fast to all the places you want to visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous stay with no fuss.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One minor thing in kitchenette, dish cloth for self service.

    Excellent breakfast and staff. The view of our apartment and convenient walking distance from famous canal walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Spacious room with kitchenette and microwave was a bonus. Basement parking for our rental car, with direct access to the hotel. Lovely breakfast with friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    marvelous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the service was excellent, breakfast was superb and the staff very friendly. they even assisted me when I wanted to change rooms, to have a room with a bath and balcony.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    The stay was just excellent. I cannot wait to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast food is bit ordinary especially when staying for a longer period it becomes boring to eat the same food everyday. The hotel must add some flavour.

    The staff were excellent and the comfort of the hotel is just superb. The hotel went beyond their call of duty in organising a memorable occasion for our anniversary on the 9th August 2017.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    We had an absolutely awesome stay and this was just what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing that I did not like

    It was a relaxing weekend away from home and convenient as the Shopping Mall was within walking distance as you do not always feel to drive when you take some leisure time out. Everything at the Breakfast was always fresh and tasty. The lady in charge at the breakfast made all the guest feel very special.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.5
    Average Stay... Great Breakfast... but would sadly not return...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This stay was a weekend getaway in celebration of our anniversary... below are our comments on what we didn't like: Special Requests: Requests noted on Booking.com are not even looked at or noted on a guests booking. "We don't get the requests from Booking.com" Receptionist (Arrival): Standard hotel information not provided on check in this was only an after thought when we were leaving the desk to go to our room. We also requested a smoking room with a balcony which we were accommodated in on a previous stay. When we questioned this, we were told that it would be an additional R 400.00 to upgrade our room and "We don't get the requests from Booking.com". As it was not communicated on arrival that we did not have a balcony and that a balcony would incur an upgrade fee we were rather annoyed and further so when we were taken to see a room with an excuse for a balcony and still asked to pay the additional fee. The door to the "balcony" could not even open properly that's how tiny the balcony was... When we requested to check out and a refund we were told "No, please let me speak with the Reservations Manager, we do not want you to leave" and that we would receive a call in a few minutes. We arrived between 20:20 - 20:40 and only ended up getting settled well after 9pm... Chipped Crokery: Chipped teapot brought to us two days in a row. Tea/ Coffee: We were not asked if we would like tea or coffee on both morning of our stay we had to ask for this. My husband on the first morning went to the tea station to ask for tea, he was ignored as the waitor just ignored him. My husband is not one to easily get annoyed but he was rather annoyed by this.

    Great Location Great Breakfast Selection Breakfast Egg Staion The lady on our second morning was lovely! Cannot remember her name unfortunately. Decent Size Room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is really good, but it's the same menu for the three days we stayed there. If they change the menu every other day would be awesome

    The staff are really friendly and helpful. the rooms are cosy and spacious. it was a really good stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    An enjoyable stay in a modern, accessible, comfortable and affordable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was cold. Had to ask for an extra blanket - it should be in the room. Towelling gowns and slippers would be great.

    Great position. Had easy access to shops, theatres, the waterfront, major tourist sites, etc. Liked the parking facilites. Liked the restaurant and room service. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    Perfect weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was horrible was only able to use it for WhatsApp messaging which was shaky most times

    My husband and I found the location ideal for getting to nearby tourist sites in capetown and the service was good. We stayed at the executive room which was quite large and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Nice place stay. Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The TV in the bedroom area could have been better

    It was more than just a hotel room. I had a kitchenette to cook whatever I wanted. Breakfast was also good. A good variety to choose from.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.2
    Really great accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a family room the coffee table is a really hazard. Our kids almost knocked the glass slab off a few times. Also we didn't really understand the transparent toilet wall?

    Really classy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.8
    I would return and stay again. Very comfortable
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It would have been nice to have a gym on the premises. There is a gym across the road that you can use for a fee.

    The staff were amazing. So friendly and helpful. It was like having your family around. Big hugs in the morning when we came down for breakfast. Very polite and we felt really relaxed in the hotel. The restaurant has specials each night and the prices are very reasonable and the serves will leave you completely full. We enjoyed room service when we arrived home late and the food always arrived nice and hot. There was always someone to park our Mercedes when we rolled up to the hotel. There is a Woolworths next to the hotel with a few other restaurants. There is a large shopping centre only a 10 minute walk away with so many choices of shops and restaurants. We also found a laundry shop just around the corner that was able to wash all our clothes for a very reasonable price. $4 plus. Free wifi. It works better down in the lobby than in your room. I would certainly stay here again. Very happy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wifi was very slow and did not work properly. It was only an issue because I had to work on emails and battled a bit. Also the aircon we battled with, I did never ask for assistance on that because we where hardly in the rooms.

    The service was amazing. everyone working in the building was friendly and incredibly helpful. They went above and beyond to assist in all matters

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Luxurious hotel I look forward to staying in every time!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was luxurious, the WiFi perfect, and the bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The breakfast variety was excellent, so was the room service. The staff are fantastic, friendly and helpful. I've stayed here three times and will continue to do so on future trips to Cape Town

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.8
    Another comfortable visit
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bedroom had no window!

    I saw a lot of the same staff from last time I was there which is often a good sign! Good atmosphere and the staff are helpful. The breakfast is very good and also well managed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Staff were awesome and very accommodating, rooms were great and very clean, will go for the Table Mountain view the next time. Breakfast was excellent and staff at the restaurant were very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.2
    Luxury all the way!
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I loved everything. Nothing to change.

    Staff was friendly and they welcomed us with warm hands. We felt like we were at home and the breakfast was enjoyable. Service as well was perfect and we enjoyed our stay, they even accepted us since we arrived a bit earlier on Friday. The view was lovely, we were not far from Canal walk shopping centre, which made it a bonus coz we just walked there!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.5
    holiday weekend away left me more tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was booked in for a good rest but the rooms aircon was not working at all so the room was extremely hot. I was not happy that they put me in a room which they knew had no aircon when we complained a portable aircon was sent to the room and this one made such a noise I could hardly sleep... although it is a fantastic hotel the main reason we came to colleseum was to get away from home and rest and have a relaxing weekend this did not happen I left more tired than when I ARRIVED. it was also my birthday money was spent and I was not left fully satisfied. I would love to relive the experience sometime again but be put in a room that has aircon that works in the sweltering heat.

    the breakfast was fantastic hotel is fantastic

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Fantasic stay with superb accomodation and freidnly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not like the lighting in the passages/hall ways as is was quite dark and made the hotel seem dingy in comparison to the beautiful reception and rooms. The hamburger patty was the only food I can fault as it was over seasoned.

    The staff were super friendly and the accommodation was great. The breakfast was more than sufficient with a good selection of cooked/fruit and European breakfast options including some specifically for the kids. 800m from the Canal Walk shopping centre with restaurants and shopping (+400 stores). approx. 20 min drive to the V&A waterfront.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    Perfect location of this wonderful hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location of this wonderful hotel. Really impressed by the friendly staff that ensured I had a truly memorable stay! Beautiful spacious rooms that include a lounge area as well as a kitchenette!! Absolutely perfect!! Definitely recommended.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.9
    The staff was super friendly and took care of all our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff was super friendly and took care of all our requests with a smile. Initially we had an issue with the Credit Card Payment but the staff was as concerned as we were and were very helpful in finding a solution for the issue and they provided the solution. The room was adequately provisioned and furnished and the staff was more than willing to provide the extras we needed. We all had a wonderful experience at the Hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.9
    My stay was nice and staff was helpful and my family enjoyed our stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the aircon was controlled some where else not in the room and the fridge sometimes will off and is too small.

    The bed was comfy and the view was not bad at all.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.6
    The breakfast was delicious with an abundance of fruits and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Penthouse Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The description was deceptive. There is NO pool at this hotel, and despite filtering for hotels with pools, this hotel still showed up as a choice. The pool is at another hotel, with very limited hours and not for kids after 5pm. Also, the bed was much too firm for me.

    The breakfast was delicious with an abundance of fruits and made to order omelettes.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.9
    Lovely place but maitenance can be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had smelly shoes under the bed that didn't belong to us. Must have been previous occupants.that was very unpleasant.

    The room amenities (microwave, kitchen sink etc). The massage studio was amazing!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.8
    Experience to remember
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue I had was the cushions that were a little uncomfortable.I had a stiff neck the following morning which can really be improved on.The restaurant also didn't stock any cidars or champaign which was a bit disappointing to.communal breakfast I too wasn't a fan of if we could've had breakfast brought up to our room it wudve been superb.No remote to adjust the A/C

    I liked the fact that we could just be left alone nd could pick up the phone if we needed anything.the hotel is nice nd central from lots of pretty places.really convenient and the booking process was quick and easy.staff super friendly and efficient.food really nice

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    10
    Chin chin resturant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the chin chin are so so welcoming very friendly ans very proffetional. A special thank u to Rene (supervisor) (not sure if the name ia correct she is a colloured lady ohhhhh she is a darling. She is sooo sooo friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    7.9
    Good Value for Money
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am given to understand that there is a standing arrangement on a Wednesday for a corporate booking for breakfast from 9.00am. This must be communicated to the individual guests on arrival for breakfast. With your staff re-arranging the set up makes me as an inidvidual very uncomfortable. I want to take my time with my meals, and felt rushed due to the activity that ensued with the re-arrangement. I did bring this to the attention of the duty manager.

    Overall it was an excellent experience. I have used this accomodation previously

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    Really worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    They made our Golden Wedding Anniversary very special. The room was done with all rose petals, bottle of champagne and a lovely desert with sugar coated grapes. Could not do enough for us. Only had to ask and whatever we wanted was there. Very friendly lovely people.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    4.6
    We have stay in this hotel for 8 nights and during all this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We have stay in this hotel for 8 nights and during all this time they were not able to fix the Aircon (and didn't propose a change in room). Also when we arrive at the parking we had to carry our luggage until reception since there was no one to help us. Sink linking and toilet not working properly - staff also not able to fix it. Only one baby feeding chair available so if more than one baby having breakfast my soon had to seat on my lap. Bottles of water in the room are complementary so we only got it in the 1st day. Our room was in the beginning of the corridor and was quite noisy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    7.5
    Nice stay and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No Pool

    Nice and Friendly Staff, located a little outside of Cape Town City Center, but didn't matter to me as was close to my work location. More of a business Hotel than for Tourism

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    8.8
    Excellent service from staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maintance work needed in suite. Cracked tiles and chipped toilet seat cover should be replaced.

    Excellent service from staff. Overall comfort was good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    5.0
    Comfortable hotel, friendly staff but lacks serious service delivery
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their breakfast served leaves alot to be desired.they had a workshop held on the Wednesday 1st day of our stay & those people got served before the hotel guests. We had to wait 1/2hr to 40minfor our breakfast & were even told to move away from our table to make way for these people.the 2nd breakfast we got served they made the incorrect breakfast and I got served a breakfast with ham in which i almost ate & I am muslim. They are inefficient & only 1 woman making the eggs for every one. We chose a family room but was given a bar fridge which could only accomadate milk, water & juice. I was unable to keep my babies yogurt, fruit & food in the fridge & it didn't even have a freezer The cleaning staff don't change the sheets if baby has messed milk on it and if you remove the flat/ top sheet they don't even replace it with another. They also don't sweep the place out or clean it properly so by the end of our stay I couldn't even leave my baby to crawl around the place. Doesnt seem like there are any managers that actually supervise the cleaning staff or the cleanliness of the rooms. As our stay progressed the room got less cleaner Most definitely would not stay at this hotel again because its definitely not value for money

    The massages are great. The hotel staff like the porters & front desk are friendly

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    5.8
    It's all in the details and we were not satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's all in the details and we are not satisfied. Not sure if it's just their custom and how they did things in their country, but we're just not happy. The ventilation in the bathroom was poor, so each time anyone showered, the walls and toilet were wet. There were certain light fixtures that fell down so low that could poke my eye or hit my head. They only provided complimentary water on the first day and not on the other days. Some of the bedding linen and pillow covers had dirt stains. On the second day, the WIFI stopped working. If you're a light sleeper, the soundproofing isn't great and you could hear the traffic downstairs, the cars on the highway, and the noisy people drinking downstairs at the bar (especially if it's on a weekend). If you want to add an extra small bed in the living room, it's not allowed even you asked to be charged for it. The general staff were friendly except for the people at the main lobby counter. I wouldn't call this a 4 star hotel.. it is definitely more like a 3 star.

    I liked the location of the hotel and the size of the rooms. Overall cleanliness was okay too, but there were so many details that just made our stay not satisfactory.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.6
    Effortless
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Faster wifi please Ability to use own multimedia: hdmi Hot chocolate please

    Electric outlets awesome Bathroom great Room cleaning service super Thanks for not treating me like a coat-hanger thief!! Basically, small touches are on point, and staff were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    9.6
    Our weekend stay at the Colloseum Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think they could do better with the fridge they have in the room.Its tiny and narrow that fitting a plate becomes a problem.

    We always receive a friendly and warm service each time we stay there. The breakfast staff are happy to walk an extra mile to accommodate our culinary needs.We requested a late check out and that was granted.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    4.6
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not as clean as expected. Curtains are dirty and cutlery not sparkling clean. Get the feeling cutlery and crockery only get rinsed and not washed. It was also the worst massage every. Booked for a full body and reflex. It seems the lady doing the massages has no formal trying and just gave me a back and foot rub.

    Nice size room and bed was comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: